Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 8th December 2019, 18:01   #58061  |  Link
WuNgUn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 48
Okay... Can someone please set the record straight for me? Lol
What colour profile do I want?
4K HDR TV, most of my media is 4K HDR 10 bit...
Currently using 4:4:2, 12 bit (limited) output fine.
4:4:4 is probably preferred, but since MadVR is doing its chroma magic, it probably isn't necessary...?
If I use RGB full, I don't get the proper black levels...
WuNgUn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2019, 18:12   #58062  |  Link
olli66
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 15
I found the solution. Windows installed a new NVIDIA driver without asking or I didn't notice. I uninstalled and installed the old version which works. Strange though, since over a year no new NVIDIA driver that works on my system with HDR passthrough...
olli66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2019, 18:15   #58063  |  Link
WuNgUn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by olli66 View Post
I found the solution. Windows installed a new NVIDIA driver without asking or I didn't notice. I uninstalled and installed the old version which works. Strange though, since over a year no new NVIDIA driver that works on my system with HDR passthrough...
I used a driver cleaner this week (name eludes me) it wiped the old vid driver and sets up windows so it doesn't load windows update drivers on reboot...
Definitely ideal
WuNgUn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2019, 20:10   #58064  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 997
because I havent got a lot of HDR material i've only justy noticed this, my new RX 5700 seems to be playing back HDR material a little unsaturated and for want of a better work dim. If I turn on HDR in windows and play the same movie using windows films and Tv it looks normal.

I havent done any fault finding yet and I didnt reconfigure or reinstall MADVR when I got my new card which I might also try, someone else a while back said something similar though i'm sure.
__________________
OLED 4k HDR EF950-YAM RX-V685-WIN10 444 RGB 60hz-AMD RX 580 19.12.2 KODI DS - MAD/LAV 92.17/0.74.1 - 3D MVC / FSE:On / MADVR 10bit
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2019, 20:13   #58065  |  Link
WuNgUn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 48
I'd definitely check MadVR display properties/HDR settings and double check that "pass thru HDR meta data" is enabled...
I'm on Server 2016,so I don't have HDR in the OS at all, but I can definitely tell when it's enabled and when it isn't.
WuNgUn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2019, 20:25   #58066  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 997
Quote:
Originally Posted by WuNgUn View Post
I'd definitely check MadVR display properties/HDR settings and double check that "pass thru HDR meta data" is enabled...
I'm on Server 2016,so I don't have HDR in the OS at all, but I can definitely tell when it's enabled and when it isn't.
yeah check everything that side, i have this issue even if I tone map and dont output to HDR, its really odd, its just MADVR too, evr render is fine with HDR to SDR in MPC bE as well.

I'll try rolling back the latest driver as I've just wiped MADVR and reinstalled using default settings and this made no difference.
__________________
OLED 4k HDR EF950-YAM RX-V685-WIN10 444 RGB 60hz-AMD RX 580 19.12.2 KODI DS - MAD/LAV 92.17/0.74.1 - 3D MVC / FSE:On / MADVR 10bit
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2019, 20:58   #58067  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 997
I got something wrong, if I tone map to SDR in MADVR the picture is ok, the problem only occurs when I passthrough to display or tonemap and output to display, again though, oddly MADVR is doing something different to windows player in that windows milms and TV is playing the movie correctly.

this is really odd, sure I didnt have this problem initially and i've dropped back to the first driver i installed.

anyone any ideas?
__________________
OLED 4k HDR EF950-YAM RX-V685-WIN10 444 RGB 60hz-AMD RX 580 19.12.2 KODI DS - MAD/LAV 92.17/0.74.1 - 3D MVC / FSE:On / MADVR 10bit
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2019, 21:01   #58068  |  Link
WuNgUn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
I got something wrong, if I tone map to SDR in MADVR the picture is ok, the problem only occurs when I passthrough to display or tonemap and output to display, again though, oddly MADVR is doing something different to windows player in that windows milms and TV is playing the movie correctly.

this is really odd, sure I didnt have this problem initially and i've dropped back to the first driver i installed.

anyone any ideas?
Also, be aware, that when your Sammy TV changes resolution or refresh, all your TV pictures settings go default. For each rez/refresh, you need to go thru your TV settings and set up everything.
WuNgUn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2019, 21:17   #58069  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 997
i'm not using PC mode, never have, therefore settings are same for all refresh rates, had not problems with same settings with my RX580 so I think its a driver issue with this card, I could shove my old 580 and see but thats a major faff, was hoping someone would have an idea exactly what was causing it, its not my TV settings, its definately an issue with what MADVR is sending to my TV when in HDR mode.

i can work around this issue by using tone map to SDR as this card has plenty of grunt to do that, but I want to know whats causding the problem.
__________________
OLED 4k HDR EF950-YAM RX-V685-WIN10 444 RGB 60hz-AMD RX 580 19.12.2 KODI DS - MAD/LAV 92.17/0.74.1 - 3D MVC / FSE:On / MADVR 10bit
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2019, 21:55   #58070  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 997
Quote:
Originally Posted by DMU View Post
Which leads to an unsaturated color in the "AMD HDR" mode with Vega iGPU.
Screenshot.

hi, it now seems I have the same issue as you, did you solve these on you Vega card?
__________________
OLED 4k HDR EF950-YAM RX-V685-WIN10 444 RGB 60hz-AMD RX 580 19.12.2 KODI DS - MAD/LAV 92.17/0.74.1 - 3D MVC / FSE:On / MADVR 10bit
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2019, 22:14   #58071  |  Link
mkl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 4
Is there a way to save the 12bit RGB full color depth setting in nvidia control panel for 4k30hz resolution so that it gets selected during movie playback, even if the rest of the time the resolution is set to 4k60hz 8bit RGB full?
If I set the resolution to 4k30hz 12 bit RGB full and then change the refresh rate to 60hz, the 12bit color depth is selected during movie playback until the next reboot but I'd like a permanent solution for this.
I'm using the 4k30hz 12bit setting because that's the only way I get (almost) no color banding on my LG C9.
mkl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2019, 22:58   #58072  |  Link
DMU
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
because I havent got a lot of HDR material i've only justy noticed this, my new RX 5700 seems to be playing back HDR material a little unsaturated and for want of a better work dim. If I turn on HDR in windows and play the same movie using windows films and Tv it looks normal.

I havent done any fault finding yet and I didnt reconfigure or reinstall MADVR when I got my new card which I might also try, someone else a while back said something similar though i'm sure.
Hello! At that time you did not have such a problem with color saturation?
__________________
R3 2200G / Vega8 / Samsung UE40NU7100
Win10Pro 1909 / 4K RGB 60Hz / AMD19.12.2
MPC-HC 1.8.8 / madVR 0.92.17 / FSW / 10bit@60Hz
DMU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2019, 23:03   #58073  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 997
Hi, i've recently upgraded my RX 580 to a RX 5700, I now have the same issue you had I think, colours are unsaturated with MADVR and HDR and a little bit dimmer in dynamics overall, only happens with MADVR HDR with AMD API, windows HDR is fine but who in their right minds plays anything on windows player
__________________
OLED 4k HDR EF950-YAM RX-V685-WIN10 444 RGB 60hz-AMD RX 580 19.12.2 KODI DS - MAD/LAV 92.17/0.74.1 - 3D MVC / FSE:On / MADVR 10bit
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2019, 23:11   #58074  |  Link
DMU
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
Hi, i've recently upgraded my RX 580 to a RX 5700, I now have the same issue you had I think, colours are unsaturated with MADVR and HDR and a little bit dimmer in dynamics overall, only happens with MADVR HDR with AMD API, windows HDR is fine but who in their right minds plays anything on windows player
If I understand you correctly, is your RX 580 showing normal colors and the RX 5700 is a little unsaturated?
__________________
R3 2200G / Vega8 / Samsung UE40NU7100
Win10Pro 1909 / 4K RGB 60Hz / AMD19.12.2
MPC-HC 1.8.8 / madVR 0.92.17 / FSW / 10bit@60Hz
DMU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2019, 23:54   #58075  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 997
yes my RX 580 was fine. The new RX 5700is quite a bit unsaturated and a little lower in dynamics overall I think, if I turn the saturation up from 55 my normal setting to 75 it starts to look a lot better but it still doesnt look right.

I've thrown everything at it today bar a windows reimage, i've tried several different recent driver versions too. Still very few RX5700 owners so cant say for sure this is just an issue with my setup though, nobody has come back to state they have the same issue.

my current chain:

windows 10 1809 - AMD RX5700 MSI OC - desktop set to FULL RGB 4:4:4 8 bit - MADVR 10 bit and higher, 0-255. LG 4k HDR OLED EF950v (2015 model) - set to HDMI 1 in bluray mode, set ti "HIGH" colour space. Ultra deep colour and high colour gamut on.

I've also tried different combinations of 442 RGB limted at 10 bit, nothing fixes it, only plays normally in WINDOWS FILMS and TV which is interesting as the other bug with EVR renderer and this card is also fine in this app, suggest AMD API / DRIVER issues to me.

This is a great gaming card compated to my 580 but i'm starting to think about selling it on ebay and putting my 580 back in.
__________________
OLED 4k HDR EF950-YAM RX-V685-WIN10 444 RGB 60hz-AMD RX 580 19.12.2 KODI DS - MAD/LAV 92.17/0.74.1 - 3D MVC / FSE:On / MADVR 10bit
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2019, 00:04   #58076  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkl View Post
Is there a way to save the 12bit RGB full color depth setting in nvidia control panel for 4k30hz resolution so that it gets selected during movie playback, even if the rest of the time the resolution is set to 4k60hz 8bit RGB full?
If I set the resolution to 4k30hz 12 bit RGB full and then change the refresh rate to 60hz, the 12bit color depth is selected during movie playback until the next reboot but I'd like a permanent solution for this.
I'm using the 4k30hz 12bit setting because that's the only way I get (almost) no color banding on my LG C9.
It used to be possible with some older Nvidia drivers, but not the newer ones. It could be considered a driver bug.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2019, 00:13   #58077  |  Link
QBhd
QB the Slayer
 
QBhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 492
@mclingo

I'm not seeing what you are seeing with my 5700 XT, but there is also a vagueness to your description... maybe you just had oversaturation in the past and liked it...

The one thing I do get from time to time is HDR not kicking in fully. The logo will pop up bright on the TV, then instantly dims and the video is washed out. The way I fix this is to skip to the next video on the playlist and jump back. I have just chalked that up to a quirk in my setup since I really don't want to do a fresh install of Windows like I should :P

QB
__________________
QBhd is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2019, 01:49   #58078  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 997
nah, its nothing like that, its the same issue DMU has I think, it plays fine but is massively under saturated, not a bit.

I realise that these look awful, these were taken for comparison only, even allowing for my poor camera work, these were taken within seconds of each other on same camera and lighting conditions. colours and saturation are way off as my camera is crap, the left image looks totally fine in person and is correctly colours and saturated, this is the windos HDR image, next to its is the MADVR AMD API HDR image.

https://1drv.ms/u/s!AgvFafeelEBij75T...lRjNQ?e=JeGh4P


also what display are you using, you have nothing in your sig.
__________________
OLED 4k HDR EF950-YAM RX-V685-WIN10 444 RGB 60hz-AMD RX 580 19.12.2 KODI DS - MAD/LAV 92.17/0.74.1 - 3D MVC / FSE:On / MADVR 10bit

Last edited by mclingo; 9th December 2019 at 01:55.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2019, 01:55   #58079  |  Link
DMU
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
hi, it now seems I have the same issue as you, did you solve these on you Vega card?
No, this is not solved. If you want, you can use madVR in OS HDR mode. Choose what you like best.
__________________
R3 2200G / Vega8 / Samsung UE40NU7100
Win10Pro 1909 / 4K RGB 60Hz / AMD19.12.2
MPC-HC 1.8.8 / madVR 0.92.17 / FSW / 10bit@60Hz

Last edited by DMU; 9th December 2019 at 01:57.
DMU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2019, 02:04   #58080  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 997
Quote:
Originally Posted by DMU View Post
No, this is not solved. If you want, you can use madVR in OS HDR mode. Choose what you like best.
i tried that but I couldnt get it to work, it looked awful, washed out in a different way.

How exactly did you achieve MADVR in OS mode?
__________________
OLED 4k HDR EF950-YAM RX-V685-WIN10 444 RGB 60hz-AMD RX 580 19.12.2 KODI DS - MAD/LAV 92.17/0.74.1 - 3D MVC / FSE:On / MADVR 10bit
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.