Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 30th January 2017, 16:44   #1  |  Link
orion44
None
 
orion44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The Background
Posts: 206
The recorded game looks bad when played back in software players

I recorded a game with fraps. When I played back the game in three different software players,
the game looks blurry compared to the in-game quality.

Here's how the in-game image looks like:



And here's how the game looks like in KMPlayer, PotPlayer, and Windows Media Player, respectively:







How do I fix this?
orion44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2017, 18:18   #2  |  Link
cork_OS
Registered User
 
cork_OS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Minsk (Blr)
Posts: 149
1. Try madVR
2. Check that capture codec is lossless
__________________
I'm infected with poor sources.
cork_OS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2017, 18:31   #3  |  Link
Bloax
The speed of stupid
 
Bloax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 319
The captured footage is suffering from chroma subsampling.
Bloax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2017, 19:34   #4  |  Link
orion44
None
 
orion44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The Background
Posts: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by cork_OS View Post
1. Try madVR
2. Check that capture codec is lossless
1. I tried madVR in KMPlayer, and the video still looks the same.

2. Capture codec is fraps, and I also checked the "force the RGB lossless mode", but it made no difference.

Could it be that this problem is related to video renderer or video scaler, or something?
orion44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2017, 19:51   #5  |  Link
Ghitulescu
Registered User
 
Ghitulescu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,643
I see no blur.
I see a video range change, probably PC vs. Video.
__________________
Born in the USB (not USA)
Ghitulescu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2017, 19:58   #6  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,922
There is plenty blur, especially on the red text, which is a key sign of chroma subsampling.

What I don't see is the typical washed-out look from range mis-match however. The colors look the same, its just all blurry.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders

Last edited by nevcairiel; 30th January 2017 at 20:05.
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2017, 20:01   #7  |  Link
orion44
None
 
orion44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The Background
Posts: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghitulescu View Post
I see no blur.
I see a video range change, probably PC vs. Video.
Weird. On my monitor all three images look blurry when compared to the in-game screenshot.

Last edited by orion44; 30th January 2017 at 20:04.
orion44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2017, 20:30   #8  |  Link
cork_OS
Registered User
 
cork_OS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Minsk (Blr)
Posts: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by orion44 View Post
Could it be that this problem is related to video renderer or video scaler, or something?
Strange situation forces to make strange assumptions:
1. Fraps codec isn't fully lossless
2. Blurring due to little scaling
3. Blurring due to turned on post-processing in videocard driver settings
__________________
I'm infected with poor sources.
cork_OS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2017, 22:31   #9  |  Link
orion44
None
 
orion44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The Background
Posts: 206
I opened the fraps blurry video in Virtual dub, set the video to "Full processing mode", set the compression to "Uncompressed
RGB/YCbCr" and encoded it to AVI. When I opened the encoded video in KMPlayer it wasn't blurry anymore, it looked exactly the
same as the in-game image. Does anyone know what's happening here?

I've been messing with player settings entire day, and can't find the solution. Is the problem with the fraps codec, or with software
player decoders, or with my nvidia graphic card?

All I want is fraps encoded video to look the same as the in-game image (i.e. no blurring).
orion44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2017, 23:34   #10  |  Link
raffriff42
Retried Guesser
 
raffriff42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,376
> 1. Fraps codec isn't fully lossless
Fraps' YV12 codec does chroma subsampling; Fraps RGB codec does not.
RGB requires writing twice as much data to the HDD per second, but this is no problem with a low-res source, like this appears to be.

> 2. Blurring due to little scaling
It would be better to point-wise upscale the original by 2x or even 4x before subsampling and final compression with x264.
(In VirtualDub: resize filter, 200%, mode="nearest neighbor")
raffriff42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2017, 13:53   #11  |  Link
orion44
None
 
orion44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The Background
Posts: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by raffriff42 View Post
> 1. Fraps codec isn't fully lossless
Fraps' YV12 codec does chroma subsampling; Fraps RGB codec does not.
RGB requires writing twice as much data to the HDD per second, but this is no problem with a low-res source, like this appears to be.

> 2. Blurring due to little scaling
It would be better to point-wise upscale the original by 2x or even 4x before subsampling and final compression with x264.
(In VirtualDub: resize filter, 200%, mode="nearest neighbor")
Thanks, raffriff.

If I have a lossless video without chroma subsampling, and decide to encode it with x264 or xvid, will these codecs encode
it with or without chroma subsampling?
orion44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2017, 14:17   #12  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,352
X264 support encoding in RGB (don't use it) and YCbCr 4:4:4 but this can't be decoded by hardware decoder and it can only be used on PC with a decent CPU. stand alone box youtube and other host and playback devices doesn't support 4:4:4
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2017, 20:39   #13  |  Link
mariush
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 590
Youtube will recompress what you upload to YCbCr 4:2:0 , so there will be some loss of quality.

You should encode your video to h264 10 bit YCbCr 4:4:4 ... since the video may not be decoded in hardware, you may as well use 10bit encoding for better gradients and other things.
mariush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2017, 21:19   #14  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,743
Things that usually go wrong when capturing game footage and then convert it:
-PC levels vs. TV levels
-wrong colormatrix aka BT.601 vs. BT.709
-chroma subsampling can really screw up quality, blurry result
-extremely bad quality of hardware encoders

Really a lot can go wrong (and it usually does ), if not literally everything.

Edit: It's very important to realize btw. that most video players simply ignore flags for color matrix and range.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2017, 22:25   #15  |  Link
CruNcher
Registered User
 
CruNcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,949
Quote:
Originally Posted by orion44 View Post
Weird. On my monitor all three images look blurry when compared to the in-game screenshot.
That is definitely also the case and the WMP result comes the closest to the original but still strangely processed the others get even crazier processed and file size also visibly exploding.

a big mess none of the 3 pictures bellow holds the original input sharpness and many unnecessary conversions seem to going on, the captured results are all different from the output in some way chroma or luma.

Per eye WMP is closest to the original chroma result KMP and Potplayer result totally off,still WMP blurs.

On the 2nd one KMPlayer ? the whole depth perception even seems to change visible data is even lost like there is a slight zoom going on shifting everything out of it's input space there is something majorly wrong on that KmPlayer result totally wrong setup somehow resulting in the most unnecessary conversions of the other 2 creating unnecessary overhead.
__________________
all my compares are riddles so please try to decipher them yourselves :)

It is about Time

Join the Revolution NOW before it is to Late !

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168004

Last edited by CruNcher; 31st January 2017 at 23:14.
CruNcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2017, 23:15   #16  |  Link
raffriff42
Retried Guesser
 
raffriff42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,376
Even the first example looks a bit ragged, because it's been point-wise upscaled by a non-integer amount.
Better to capture (in RGB mode) at the native game resolution, maybe in window mode instead of full screen;
then upscale by an integer multiple, targeting 1920x1080 or just below, adding black bars if needed;
then convert to YV12 (for compatibility, as others have said) (using Rec.709 matrix), then compress with x264.
raffriff42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2017, 23:19   #17  |  Link
CruNcher
Registered User
 
CruNcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,949
The ninja characters proportions look a little odd and the door and window looks also odd proportion wise everything feels warped horizontally, you of course right
__________________
all my compares are riddles so please try to decipher them yourselves :)

It is about Time

Join the Revolution NOW before it is to Late !

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168004

Last edited by CruNcher; 31st January 2017 at 23:36.
CruNcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2017, 08:57   #18  |  Link
Ghitulescu
Registered User
 
Ghitulescu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,643
Quote:
Originally Posted by orion44 View Post
Weird. On my monitor all three images look blurry when compared to the in-game screenshot.
I saw the pictures on my old linux computer and these were not fully displayed.
I had a second look at them on another computer and these are now fully seen, including the red writings.
Indeed, one can now clearly see the loss of chroma resolution.
__________________
Born in the USB (not USA)
Ghitulescu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2017, 14:27   #19  |  Link
orion44
None
 
orion44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The Background
Posts: 206
Since this chroma subsampling is normal when encoding with XviD and x264, I decided to just encode the fraps video as it is.

Thanks for all the answers.
orion44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.