Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD & BD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 27th November 2013, 14:08   #18481  |  Link
RobertM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 424
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crocluvr92 View Post
My drives are SSD's
SSDs are usually pretty small. You do have room for all of the extract, working files and rebuild? I would say you need 100GB free space to be comfortable.
RobertM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2013, 14:13   #18482  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,453
Quote:
Originally Posted by mparade View Post
My player is capable of playing flawlessly "Full 3D" content without any resize of the frames. Could you ensure a hidden option in the future (like Full_3D) to make Full 3D backup (not movie-only backups but with menus, extras) with "full sized frames" (without any resize of the frames)? I know it violates the BD specs, but it can surely be playable on the newest media tanks. And on top of it all, if I set the output to non-3D on my player I am sure that I can play flawlessly a Full 3D content disk in 2D mode as it were according to BD 3D specs (we discussed in the 3D discussion forum). This way "full detailed full disk 3D backups" could easily be produced using the power of x264. For sure such contents could only be played on certain players.

I would really appreaciate it.
Sorry, But I have no plans to create a BD disc that is not compliant. That's just asking for trouble. I do, however, plan to create a version that builds full resolution backups that ARE BD compliant.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2013, 15:52   #18483  |  Link
mparade
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 575
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Sorry, But I have no plans to create a BD disc that is not compliant. That's just asking for trouble. I do, however, plan to create a version that builds full resolution backups that ARE BD compliant.
I see Mr. Dobbs, and sent 40 extra bucks to support having that function the sooner.
mparade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2013, 16:15   #18484  |  Link
Crocluvr92
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobertM View Post
SSDs are usually pretty small. You do have room for all of the extract, working files and rebuild? I would say you need 100GB free space to be comfortable.

I have almost 1TB of free space for working and storing, thank you very much.
Crocluvr92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2013, 16:24   #18485  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,453
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crocluvr92 View Post
I have almost 1TB of free space for working and storing, thank you very much.
You really need to look at overheating. I know you don't want it to be a system stability issue... but everything points that way. When it works for a while before it crashes with the same type of video source (as you logs show), that's far and away the most likely cause.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 27th November 2013 at 16:28.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2013, 17:15   #18486  |  Link
Chuckwagon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crocluvr92 View Post
I have almost 1TB of free space for working and storing, thank you very much.
I didn't see in your posts if you've tried this or not, but have you run x264 by itself, without running BDRB? If so, what errors did it display, if any?
Chuckwagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2013, 17:57   #18487  |  Link
RobertM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 424
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuckwagon View Post
I didn't see in your posts if you've tried this or not, but have you run x264 by itself, without running BDRB? If so, what errors did it display, if any?
Another idea is to run a trial where x264 out of the loop. Set a custom target size of 50GB so no encoding will be necessary and see if the job completes correctly.
RobertM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2013, 22:43   #18488  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Scarborough, Canada
Posts: 955
Crocluvr92
Do you have Samsung SSDs with Samsung magician software running on your system?
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2013, 08:48   #18489  |  Link
Audiophile1178
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 83
Crocluvr92, do you have another mechanical HDD to use and try? Whenever I'm diagnosing a computer issue (or any other issue) I find it's best to always strip everything down to the bare minimum and start from there and SLOWLY put one piece in at a time until you find what's causing the issue.

If I was in your situation this is what I'd do:

1. Make sure you're running at stock settings on your motherboard. This step isn't fully accurate as you still might have to do some fine tuning to keep it stable. For instance, when I built my new PC I couldn't run any CPU intensive tasks as the CPU vdroop was causing all sorts of freezing. I had to enable LLC at medium settings to offset vdroop enough just to run at stock as anything lower and my PC would freeze.
2. Get the SSD out of the equation and try a traditional mechanical HDD.
3. I don't know how much memory you're running but try using only one stick.

Regarding RAM, you stated that you tested it but you didn't state how you tested it or maybe I overlooked it. Did you use the newest Memtest (5.00 RC1) for your test? Also, when you tested your RAM did you test 1 stick at a time and run memtest for several hours doing multiple passes? I find that it's best to do 1 stick at a time so that you know for sure which stick is bad (if any).

Link to latest memtest versions:

http://www.memtest.org/download/beta/


BTW, I have my PC (AMD FX-8350) overclocked to 4.8GHz and can run BDRebuilder ALL DAY LONG without issues as well as other people so I think that it's probably hardware related. Now with that being said, my PC isn't 100% stable as I can't pass certain benchmarking tests but for everyday use I've never experience any issues. I'm currently running a disc through BDRebuilder as I type this.

P.S., Do what you want with the above info as I'm merely trying to help as diagnosing computer issues is never fun and is definitely time consuming.




One a side note, can you complete an entire run of x264 benchmark?

http://www.techarp.com/showarticle.aspx?artno=520

Last edited by Audiophile1178; 29th November 2013 at 08:54.
Audiophile1178 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2013, 16:01   #18490  |  Link
mtbgtr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1
Issues backing up Thor

I have read through all the posts, guides and FAQ's and have seen similar issues with other discs and may have missed the fix. I cannot make a movie-only BD-25 backup of Thor. I only get an 8GB m2ts file in the Stream folder. I apologize if this has already been answered.
__________________
LG BD-RE BE14NU40

Last edited by mtbgtr; 29th November 2013 at 16:03. Reason: added movie-only
mtbgtr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2013, 21:44   #18491  |  Link
slvrsrfr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 33
Hi, Jdobbs,

I'm experiencing the same issue as rendez2k, re: this post:
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?p=1654202#post1654202

I have 3 standalone players, and the titles on the menu show correctly only on one player, which happens to be the newest one I purchased back in June. On the other 2 players, I only see the menu background picture.jpg. However, on the latter 2 players, if I enter in a number for a title, e.g. 6, the player will start title 6. On this particular BD-R, I have 12 episodes of Carivale Season 1, that were ripped from 6 DVDs (2 episodes/disc) using anydvd.

These are my 3 bd players, with #1 being the player that works as expected:

1) Sony BDP-S3100
2) Panasonic DMP-BDT210
3) Sony BDP-BX57

Please let me know if you want any other info - I'm super excited about the ability to compile/merge DVDs like this; I've been wanting to do this for a long time, and haven't had success w/ other programs!!! Thanks, JDOBBS!!!
slvrsrfr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2013, 06:17   #18492  |  Link
wakko709
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 87
[11/29/13] BD Rebuilder v0.45.05 (beta)
[19:36:35] Source: UNDER_THE_DOME_SEASON_1_DISC_3
- Input BD size: 23.48 GB
- Approximate total content: [02:08:53.642]
- Target BD size: 22.95 GB
- Windows Version: 6.1 [7601]
- Auto Quality: Good (Very Fast), ABR
- Decoding/Frame serving: DirectShow
- Audio Settings: AC3=0 DTS=0 HD=0 Kbs=640
[19:36:37] PHASE ONE, Encoding
- [19:36:37] Processing: VID_00000 (1 of 4)
- [19:36:37] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00000]
- [19:40:01] Reencoding video [VID_00000]
- Source Video: MPEG-4 (AVC), 1920x1080
- Rate/Length: 23.976fps, 60,262 frames
- Bitrate: 19,899 Kbs
- [19:40:01] Reencoding: VID_00000, Pass 1 of 1
- [20:18:11] Video Encode complete
- [20:18:11] Processing audio tracks
- Track 4352 (eng): Keeping original audio
- [20:18:11] Multiplexing M2TS
- [20:22:37] Processing: VID_00001 (2 of 4)
- [20:22:37] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00001]
- [20:26:29] Reencoding video [VID_00001]
- Source Video: MPEG-4 (AVC), 1920x1080
- Rate/Length: 23.976fps, 59,353 frames
- Bitrate: 21,235 Kbs
- [20:26:29] Reencoding: VID_00001, Pass 1 of 1
- [21:03:04] Video Encode complete
- [21:03:04] Processing audio tracks
- Track 4352 (eng): Keeping original audio
- [21:03:04] Multiplexing M2TS
- [21:07:34] Processing: VID_00002 (3 of 4)
- [21:07:34] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00002]
- [21:11:56] Reencoding video [VID_00002]
- [21:11:56] Keeping original video (no reencode)
- [21:11:56] Processing audio tracks
- Track 4352 (eng): Keeping original audio
- [21:11:56] Multiplexing M2TS
- Error in attempt to multiplex: MUX_00002.meta
- Can't open file: E:\WORKFILES\VID_00002.AVS.264
[21:11:59] - Failed to build structure, aborted
---------------------
- Windows Version: 6.1 [7601]
- AVISYNTH Version: [2.5.8.0], Ok
- HAALI Splitter: [1.9.42.1], Ok
- FFDSHOW: [4504], Ok
- WIN7 preferred AVC CODEC: Ok
- WIN7 preferred VC-1 CODEC: Ok
- WIN7 preferred MPEG2 CODEC: Ok
- FFDSHOW VC-1 set to "wmv9", Ok
- FFDSHOW MPEG2 set to "libavcodec": Ok
- FFDSHOW AVC set to "libavcodec": Ok
- AnyDVD settings check: Ok.
- BD Rebuilder v0.45.0.5, Ok
- X264: Ok
- AFTEN: Ok
- FAAC: Ok
- MP4BOX: Ok
- WAVI: Ok
- TSMUXER: Ok
wakko709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2013, 14:33   #18493  |  Link
RobertM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 424
Quote:
Originally Posted by wakko709 View Post
[11/29/13] BD Rebuilder v0.45.05 (beta)
[19:36:35] Source: UNDER_THE_DOME_SEASON_1_DISC_3
<SNIP>
- Error in attempt to multiplex: MUX_00002.meta
- Can't open file: E:\WORKFILES\VID_00002.AVS.264
[21:11:59] - Failed to build structure, aborted
This problem, where files seem to get lost after they are created, has been reported before. I think JD is currently working on it.
RobertM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2013, 00:12   #18494  |  Link
wakko709
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 87
okay.
wakko709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2013, 14:05   #18495  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,453
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobertM View Post
This problem, where files seem to get lost after they are created, has been reported before. I think JD is currently working on it.
But it was fixed in the last release...
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2013, 14:18   #18496  |  Link
RobertM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 424
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
But it was fixed in the last release...
Hmm.... Wakko is using the latest release, but his symptoms seem eerily familiar. It wasn't a common problem, to be sure. Only happened to me once, I believe.
RobertM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2013, 14:27   #18497  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,453
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobertM View Post
Hmm.... Wakko is using the latest release, but his symptoms seem eerily familiar. It wasn't a common problem, to be sure. Only happened to me once, I believe.
That error was exactly that was happening. I'll have to check and see if there is another way it could occur.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2013, 20:08   #18498  |  Link
Shylock
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: France
Posts: 19
@jdobbs

I'm having another issue when trying to backup my Disney/Pixar blu-ray collection.
This time it's with Brave. It's different from the bug I decribed in my unanswered post #18444.
The disc, Region B french release of "Brave" was ripped with AnyDVDHD 7.3.7.0 and the resulting iso image is playing fine.
BDRB processed the disc to the end reporting no issue whatsoever.
The resulting Blu-ray plays fine until it reaches almost the end. At this point, both on TMT 6 and my standalone player, it freezes for few seconds, then it resumes. The same bug a couple of minutes later, and then, flawessly to the end.
I notice that these bugs occurs at the junction of different m2ts parts of the disc.
Tryed to process again, but this time, just for test, I selected a BD50 target to avoid reencoding of video. The resulting Blu-ray issued the same bugs.
I join the .ini and the log

Code:
[Paths]
SOURCE_PATH=I:\
WORKING_PATH=F:\BDWORK\
DGIndexNV=C:\Program Files (x86)\DGdecodeNV\DGIndexNV.exe
DGDecNV=C:\Program Files (x86)\DGdecodeNV\DGDecodeNV.dll
[Options]
VERSION=0.45.0.5
MODE=0
ENCODE_QUALITY=3
AUTO_QUALITY=0
AUTO_BURN=0
AUDIO_TO_KEEP=eng;fra;fre;jpn;
SUBS_TO_KEEP=all
SD_CONVERT=0
OPEN_GOP=0
RESIZE_1080=0
DEINTERLACE=1
SD_TO_1080=0
CONVERT_WIDE=0
DTS_REENCODE=0
AC3_REENCODE=0
AC3_640=1
AC3_192=0
KEEP_HD_AUDIO=1
AVCHD=1
REMOVE_WORKFILES=0
MOVIE_ONLY_LOOP=1
REMOVE_OUTPUT=0
USE_FILTERS=0
BDMV_CERT_ONLY=1
USE_LAVF=1
IVTC_PULLDOWN=1
ASSUME_DVD_PAL=1
UNMASK_CHAPTER=1
COMPLETION_BEEP=0
AUDIO_TRACK_LIMIT=0
SUBTITLE_TRACK_LIMIT=0
CUSTOM_TARGET_SIZE=23500
DTSX_ENABLE=1
MULTIPROCESS=1
ENABLE_TEST=1
TARGET_SIZE=47366
DGDECNV=0
MOVIEONLY_TYPE=2
ALTCRF=20
ALT_TARGET=1000
ALTMETHOD=0
ALTAUTOCROP=0
MIN_M2TS_SIZE=30
ENABLE_BLANKING=1

RESIZE_1440=0
OUTPUT_3D=0
Attached Files
File Type: txt Brave.txt (30.1 KB, 7 views)
Shylock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2013, 03:50   #18499  |  Link
HWK
Registered User
 
HWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,059
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shylock View Post
@jdobbs

I'm having another issue when trying to backup my Disney/Pixar blu-ray collection.
This time it's with Brave. It's different from the bug I decribed in my unanswered post #18444.
The disc, Region B french release of "Brave" was ripped with AnyDVDHD 7.3.7.0 and the resulting iso image is playing fine.
BDRB processed the disc to the end reporting no issue whatsoever.
The resulting Blu-ray plays fine until it reaches almost the end. At this point, both on TMT 6 and my standalone player, it freezes for few seconds, then it resumes. The same bug a couple of minutes later, and then, flawessly to the end.
I notice that these bugs occurs at the junction of different m2ts parts of the disc.
Tryed to process again, but this time, just for test, I selected a BD50 target to avoid reencoding of video. The resulting Blu-ray issued the same bugs.
I join the .ini and the log

Code:
[Paths]
SOURCE_PATH=I:\
WORKING_PATH=F:\BDWORK\
DGIndexNV=C:\Program Files (x86)\DGdecodeNV\DGIndexNV.exe
DGDecNV=C:\Program Files (x86)\DGdecodeNV\DGDecodeNV.dll
[Options]
VERSION=0.45.0.5
MODE=0
ENCODE_QUALITY=3
AUTO_QUALITY=0
AUTO_BURN=0
AUDIO_TO_KEEP=eng;fra;fre;jpn;
SUBS_TO_KEEP=all
SD_CONVERT=0
OPEN_GOP=0
RESIZE_1080=0
DEINTERLACE=1
SD_TO_1080=0
CONVERT_WIDE=0
DTS_REENCODE=0
AC3_REENCODE=0
AC3_640=1
AC3_192=0
KEEP_HD_AUDIO=1
AVCHD=1
REMOVE_WORKFILES=0
MOVIE_ONLY_LOOP=1
REMOVE_OUTPUT=0
USE_FILTERS=0
BDMV_CERT_ONLY=1
USE_LAVF=1
IVTC_PULLDOWN=1
ASSUME_DVD_PAL=1
UNMASK_CHAPTER=1
COMPLETION_BEEP=0
AUDIO_TRACK_LIMIT=0
SUBTITLE_TRACK_LIMIT=0
CUSTOM_TARGET_SIZE=23500
DTSX_ENABLE=1
MULTIPROCESS=1
ENABLE_TEST=1
TARGET_SIZE=47366
DGDECNV=0
MOVIEONLY_TYPE=2
ALTCRF=20
ALT_TARGET=1000
ALTMETHOD=0
ALTAUTOCROP=0
MIN_M2TS_SIZE=30
ENABLE_BLANKING=1

RESIZE_1440=0
OUTPUT_3D=0
I recommend use tsmuxer to combine all files into one and use that for BD-RB. This will eliminate seamless branching from disc and see if it works for you.

1. Open mpls file in tsmuxer, not sure which one uses BDInfo to find out.
2. Choose output to Blu-ray folder with in tsmuxer.
3. Select blu-ray folder as a source for BD-RB.

Just a note, doing this will only backup movie only.
__________________
If you fail to plan; you plan to fail, would you not agree? Think about it.
HWK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2013, 04:44   #18500  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,453
Quote:
Originally Posted by HWK View Post
I recommend use tsmuxer to combine all files into one and use that for BD-RB. This will eliminate seamless branching from disc and see if it works for you.

1. Open mpls file in tsmuxer, not sure which one uses BDInfo to find out.
2. Choose output to Blu-ray folder with in tsmuxer.
3. Select blu-ray folder as a source for BD-RB.

Just a note, doing this will only backup movie only.
I'm not sure how that will help -- since BD-RB also uses tsmuxer to combine the files for movie-only, and you can't do a combine for a full backup (without reauthoring and eliminating its original structure).
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.