Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 20th April 2019, 00:43   #55841  |  Link
Alexkral
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 319
Well I think it's not that easy when you don't know the MaxCLL that madVR is using, clipping could be happening for whatever other reason.
Alexkral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2019, 03:15   #55842  |  Link
grendelrt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 15
So I noticed that when I have FSE enabled on Windows 10, I am getting a mismatched composition rate to display rate, 60hz instead of 24hz. Should composition rate even be showing in FSE? If I turn off FSE I get 24hz/24hz. Any inherit disadvantages to leaving FSE off? I do use MadVR for SDR and HDR tonemapping.
grendelrt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2019, 03:45   #55843  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,903
the FSE used in win 10 isn't exclusive anymore it should be there but that how FSE now works. FSE avoids bugs like sending 10 bit to the GPU driver when the GPU has to send 8 bit where it will produce banding (powered by nvidia).
there is a way to get a more "FSE" FSE on win 10 but you should be fine with WFS which can easily get a composition rate mismatch too.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexkral View Post
Well I think it's not that easy when you don't know the MaxCLL that madVR is using, clipping could be happening for whatever other reason.
HDR-SDR 3D LUT are created for this. this may matter for tone mapping which isn't used here.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2019, 03:58   #55844  |  Link
grendelrt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
the FSE used in win 10 isn't exclusive anymore it should be there but that how FSE now works. FSE avoids bugs like sending 10 bit to the GPU driver when the GPU has to send 8 bit where it will produce banding (powered by nvidia).
there is a way to get a more "FSE" FSE on win 10 but you should be fine with WFS which can easily get a composition rate mismatch too.



HDR-SDR 3D LUT are created for this. this may matter for tone mapping which isn't used here.
Thanks for the reply, sorry I may be misunderstanding this part, are you saying it can be an issue when dithering from 10bit source to 8bit output?
grendelrt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2019, 04:17   #55845  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,903
the GPU driver doesn't dither in this case it does in FSE.

it's not a good idea to send the GPU 10 bit (madVR 10 bit output) when the GPU send 8 it to the display anyway.

a 10 or 8 bit source have nothing to do with that and shouldn't affect your choice if you send 10 bit to the display or not it's way more complicated this topic but in short you are fine with 8 bit anyway.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2019, 04:20   #55846  |  Link
grendelrt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
the GPU driver doesn't dither in this case it does in FSE.

it's not a good idea to send the GPU 10 bit (madVR 10 bit output) when the GPU send 8 it to the display anyway.

a 10 or 8 bit source have nothing to do with that and shouldn't affect your choice if you send 10 bit to the display or not it's way more complicated this topic but in short you are fine with 8 bit anyway.
I am currently sending 8bit to display due to the 12bit bug with JVC projectors, whenever that gets fixed (hopefully) I might go back to 12bit output.
grendelrt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2019, 04:22   #55847  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,903
then make sure you are not outputting 10 bit with madVR ever.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2019, 04:46   #55848  |  Link
Cowboydude99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 58
What am I doing wrong here!?

Hi. What am I doing wrong here!?

if (srcWidth == 1920) "1080p"
else if (srcWidth == 720) "720p"
else if (fps > 30) and (srcWidth == 2160) "4K60"
else "4K"


It seems that if the screen size is 2160, it always plays the "4K" profile. If I remove the 2160 on line 3, then it works normally...
Cowboydude99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2019, 05:24   #55849  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,903
why don't you take a more well known working solution?
you should either start from the top or the bottom not in the middle of something.

Quote:
else if (srcWidth == 720) "720p"
that will not trigger on a 720p movie and using "==" means it's only true if it is the same value.

same for 2160 which file has a screen width of 2160? 1920, 1280, 3840 are common.

just take the example from madshi here and change it to your needs.
Quote:
if (srcWidth <= 1050) and (srcHeight <= 768) and (deintFps < 31) "SD 24fps"
else if (srcWidth <= 1050) and (srcHeight <= 768) "SD 60fps"
else if (deintFps < 31) "HD 24fps"
else
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2019, 06:19   #55850  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 4,406
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cowboydude99 View Post
if (srcWidth == 1920) "1080p"
else if (srcWidth == 720) "720p"
else if (fps > 30) and (srcWidth == 2160) "4K60"
else "4K"
I suggest:

if (srcHeight <= 720) "720p"
else if (srcHeight <= 1080) "1080p"
else if (fps < 31) and (srcHeight <= 2160) "4K"
else "4K60"

And as huhn mentioned, you should start at the smallest or largest resolution. I prefer starting at the smallest.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2019, 06:52   #55851  |  Link
QBhd
QB the Slayer
 
QBhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 697
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cowboydude99 View Post
Hi. What am I doing wrong here!?

...
Code:
if     (srcHeight < 641)  and (deintFps < 25) "720p23 Univisium"
elseif (srcHeight < 719)  and (deintFps < 25) "720p23 bad crop"
elseif (srcHeight < 721)  and (deintFps < 25) "720p23"
elseif (srcHeight < 1041) and (deintFps < 25) "1080p23 35mm Film"
elseif (srcHeight < 1081) and (deintFps < 25) "1080p23"
elseif (srcHeight < 2161) and (deintFps < 25) "2160p23"
elseif (srcHeight < 577)  and (deintFps < 26) "576p25"
elseif (srcHeight < 721)  and (deintFps < 26) "720p25"
elseif (srcHeight < 1081) and (deintFps < 26) "1080p25"
elseif (srcHeight < 541)  and (deintFps < 31) "540p29"
elseif (srcHeight < 721)  and (deintFps < 31) "720p29"
elseif (srcHeight < 1081) and (deintFps < 31) "1080p29"
elseif (srcHeight < 577)  and (deintFps < 51) "576p50"
elseif (srcHeight < 721)  and (deintFps < 51) "720p50"
elseif (srcHeight < 541)  and (deintFps < 61) "540p59"
elseif (srcHeight < 721)  and (deintFps < 61) "720p59"
elseif (srcHeight < 1081) and (deintFps < 61) "1080p59"

That's currently my scaling profiles... as you can see, I start with 23fps content and go all the way down to 60fps, and for each framerate I also start small and go high with the source heights. If you don't watch any of the above content you can remove lines or add lines if something is not there. I continually come across sources the need to be added since they fall between some of these profiles (either source height or framerate) either pushing the GPU too hard or not hard enough.

QB
__________________
QBhd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2019, 09:21   #55852  |  Link
omarank
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
there is a way to get a more "FSE" FSE on win 10 .....
.
Can you elaborate on this?
omarank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2019, 09:56   #55853  |  Link
ed4053
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 1
Hi,
I'm using the latest mpc-hc (1.8.6) on win10 and when I install madVR(0.92.17) the OSD in mpc changes, its background going from opaque to semi transparent. On many videos, that makes the OSD
impossible to read. The only OSD setting in mpc-hc (the OSD font setting) doesn't seem to do anything anymore and I can't find any OSD settings in madVR.
Is there anyway I can manually edit some madvr files (settings file, shaders ...) to turn the OSD background back to opaque, or at least change the font color to increase the contrast ?

thanks
ed4053 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2019, 13:15   #55854  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by toki View Post
It was home cinema control. I'm not sure what was bringing them up. I have madVR preferred in mpc-hc. Another thing that is bothering now is the HDR and calibration. It looks cloudy to me and I really want to calibrate it, but 1: I'm not exactly sure how and 2: I'm worried that it's going to ruin the tone mapping. I would really just like madVR takeover and do it. If anyone could guide me on how to calibrate HDR, that would be great. I've been reading not to mess with brightness/contrast/backlight, but it really needs it.
I would still convert HDR to SDR with pixel shaders. The next official build should make calibration more automatic as you only need to enter your display peak for all movies.

Edit: You should also make these changes in the Nvidia control panel for that GPU:

https://forum.doom9.org/showpost.php...&postcount=151

Last edited by Warner306; 20th April 2019 at 16:39.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2019, 17:29   #55855  |  Link
toki
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warner306 View Post
I would still convert HDR to SDR with pixel shaders. The next official build should make calibration more automatic as you only need to enter your display peak for all movies.

Edit: You should also make these changes in the Nvidia control panel for that GPU:

https://forum.doom9.org/showpost.php...&postcount=151
That program is exactly what fixed my stuttering issues with the card when I got it. For some reason, 4k is still stuttering in HDR mode. I do have it to pixel shaders, tried it both ways, but I like the look of pixel shaders more, and the 97% just seems to be whatever is bringing up all the madHcCtrl. Sometimes like 4 will start at the same time, others, it's 5 at same time. I go into task manager and end task on them, restart mpc and it's fine, back to 59/61%.
toki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2019, 19:50   #55856  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,903
Quote:
Originally Posted by omarank View Post
Can you elaborate on this?
by running mpc-hc in compatibly mode with disable full screen optimisation checked.

use this at your own risk.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2019, 20:35   #55857  |  Link
omarank
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 187
Compatibility mode for Windows 8?
omarank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2019, 20:43   #55858  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,903
https://abload.de/img/50ik8u.png
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2019, 07:52   #55859  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 1,666
What is the benefit in detail of checking this compatibility mode?
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2019, 15:23   #55860  |  Link
dzonibegood
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 7
MadVR HDR green tint

Hey guys, I need a bit of assistance to this puzzle. Now i've been using VLC3.0.x player for HDR playback (sony XF90 is the display) and it is very comparable but i was suggested by several people that madVR is more precise for HDR playback.
Now I have freshly installed MPC and potplayer just for madVR and for some reason on both players when i select madVR renderer and when i compare it with the VLC, players with madVR have this very feint green tint color to it. Do i have to select something on the madVR to get the best color reproduction that's identical to the blu ray players?

So far VLC had the most colorful and precise reproduction to the players with madVR. I'm asking because surely i'm using madVR wrong as it has been suggested by everyone so far that madVR is the closest to the real thing.



All the movies are blu ray rips in a remux and they aren't altered and compressed versions but uncompressed both video and audio.
dzonibegood is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.