Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > PC Hard & Software

View Poll Results: Was this helpful to you?
Yes. 29 87.88%
No, I'll explain what's missing here in my post. 4 12.12%
Voters: 33. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 24th May 2003, 14:26   #1  |  Link
Scipio
translation mod
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: http://german.doom9.org/
Posts: 284
Hardware problems / How to test system stability

Hardware problems / How to test system stability

Since there are some problems with computer-software which have nothing to do with bugs or errors in the code of the program, users should also be aware of possible hardware failures.


Symptoms for hardware problems include:
- random reboots, system crahes often
- programs freeze, do not respond to user actions
- certain programs freezing during heavy use (e.g. when encoding)
- ...

Reasons for failures
- hardware defects, bad or too old parts (nothing lasts forever...)
- overheating due to insufficient cooling / overclocking
- transport damages (either during shipping or e.g. at LAN-parties)
- ...

Result: wrong calculations, parts overheating and shutting down (e.g. overheating protection on modern CPUs/mainboards), random errors or freezes, etc. etc. see symptoms above.

General CPU-information (model, temperature, ...)
- If you want to know which CPU model is in your PC, then grab CPU-Z and in case of questions post the screenshot in the forum.
- Temperatures can be read best with "SpeedFan".
- Just download (at the bottom of the page), install and start it.
- You can (and should) first run SpeedFan and then one of the above-mentioned stress test programs in order to watch the CPU temperature.
- The CPU temp should not rise above 65C during 100% load; actually, it's good to stay below 60C.



How to test system stability

1) with Prime95
(calculates prime numbers, with error detection, heats up CPU)

- Download Prime95. The download is located at "Step 1. Download the appropriate program for your OS."
- Unzip, start, then select "Just Stress Testing" during the first start of the program.
- Go to Options and run the "Torture Test".
- Let your PC run for several hours.


2) with cpuburn4 (download see below)

Quote from the Readme:
Quote:
*** WARNING *** These program is designed to heavily load CPU chips. Undercooled, overclocked or otherwise weak systems may fail causing data loss (filesystem corruption) and possibly permanent damage to electronic components. Nor will it catch all flaws. *** USE AT YOUR OWN RISK ***
I've made simple batch files using cpuburn4 in conjunction with runprio.exe for maximum stressing of components.

Important: Be sure to close all open documents. If your PC crashes during testing, your data will be lost if you don't. I'd recommend not to use your PC while testing, since it will be very slow during testing (the test is run in high priority mode).

After downloading the ZIP file, do the following:
- Extract.
- Now run one of these files:

!burnP5.bat - Intel Pentium w&w/o MMX processors
!burnP6.bat - Intel PentiumPro, PentiumII&III&IV and Celeron CPUs
!burnK6.bat - AMD K6 processors
!burnK7.bat - AMD Athlon/Duron processors
!burnmmx.bat - to test cache/memory interfaces on all CPUs with MMX
!burnbx.bat - an alternate cache/memory test for Intel CPUs

- let your PC run for at least two hours (better: 8 hours, or even 24h). If it doesn't produce errors you are pretty safe that you've got a stable system.


3) Testing your memory (RAM)

- Download memtest86 and create either a bootable Floppy or a bootable CD (see website for images).
- Boot your PC and run the test (read the instructions).
Attached Files
File Type: zip cpuburn4+runprio.zip (37.3 KB, 2392 views)
__________________
[Translation Guidelines] - [Overview of Doom9 translation mirrors] - - - [German Doom9]
When arguing with an idiot, make sure he isn't doing the same.

Last edited by Scipio; 24th May 2003 at 15:29.
Scipio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2004, 02:28   #2  |  Link
DaveQB
Theora and Mkv fan! :)
 
DaveQB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sydney
Posts: 347
I have heard countless times that GoldMemory is a more thorough memory checker.

I am not sure if this is valid or not but an alternative

www.goldmemory.cz

Also, checking HDD for errors is also wise.

Most HDD makers have diag programs on their site for ATA and SCSI.

In fact i have a bootable CD that gives a menu to choose Goldmemory and multiple HDD testers :
Western Digital
Seagate (Seatools)
Maxtor (PowerMax)
Fujitsu
IBM
Samsung
Plus many other tools
I can host the ISO if anyone wants it, bout 23mb's
__________________
Can't we all just get along?

Opty 146 @ 2.5Ghz || nForce3 ||1x330 + 3x120gig || CX23881 Capture Card
OCAU || My blog

Proud to be an Aussie!
DaveQB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2004, 02:49   #3  |  Link
jed
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Hobart, Tasmania
Posts: 62
DaveQB i wouldn't mind a copy of that ISO sounds very handy
jed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2004, 02:03   #4  |  Link
DaveQB
Theora and Mkv fan! :)
 
DaveQB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sydney
Posts: 347
i'll post a link tonight for everyone, when i get home from work.
__________________
Can't we all just get along?

Opty 146 @ 2.5Ghz || nForce3 ||1x330 + 3x120gig || CX23881 Capture Card
OCAU || My blog

Proud to be an Aussie!
DaveQB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2004, 09:18   #5  |  Link
DaveQB
Theora and Mkv fan! :)
 
DaveQB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sydney
Posts: 347
Sorry for the lengthy delay, work has been busy (took my first day off in 2 weeks to watch the superbowl

Ultimate_Doom9_edition_ver1.6.iso
21.2MB

I whipped this up quick (removing retail software)

Let me know if its ok.
__________________
Can't we all just get along?

Opty 146 @ 2.5Ghz || nForce3 ||1x330 + 3x120gig || CX23881 Capture Card
OCAU || My blog

Proud to be an Aussie!
DaveQB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2004, 04:18   #6  |  Link
jed
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Hobart, Tasmania
Posts: 62
Thanks for posting that, i'll try it next week as i am busy right now.
__________________
I never did mind about the little things!
jed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2004, 01:59   #7  |  Link
ukb007
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Ultimate_doom9_edition_ver1.6.iso

Hi DaveQB

Ive downloaded Ultimate_Doom9_edition_ver1.6.iso (21.2 MB) and burned it with NERO 6.0.0.0. The CD came out with a volume label of Multiboot Diagno and it contains a folder named isolinux which contains the following:

Basic.img (1440 KB)
bootmsg.txt (2 KB)
cdrom.img (1440 KB)
cupid.img (1440 KB)
Fuji.img (1440 KB)
gm.img (1440 KB)
ibm.img (1440 KB)
isolinux.cfg (1 KB)
kill.img (1440 KB)
Max.img (1440 KB)
memdisk (15 KB)
msnet.img (1440 KB)
NTFS.img (1440 KB)
Sam.img (1440 KB)
Seatools.img (1440 KB)
tomsrtbt.img (2880 KB)
WD.img (1440 KB)

The .txt file says:

"The Ultimate diagnostic boot CD
Creator: David Ward (DaveQB)
Ver1.6

1) Basic clean boot
2) GoldMemory 5.07

4) Seatools
5) PowerMax
6) Western Digital
7) Fujitsu
8) NTFS tools
9) Samsung

11) Tom's Linux boot
12) Network boot
13) IBM
14) Intel CPU ID tool
17) Erase disk

0) Boot from first harddisk (0x80)
a) Boot from first floppy drive (0x00)
q) Skip CD-Rom boot (try next boot device)

When no key is pressed for 300 sec, or when you hit Enter "0" will be run...

Type command at the prompt..."

I apologize for being dense. I dont know how to use files with this .img extension. And the .txt file was helpful, but I was unable to fully understand the messages in it. Will you or someone else please tell me?

Regards
  Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2004, 03:06   #8  |  Link
DaveQB
Theora and Mkv fan! :)
 
DaveQB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sydney
Posts: 347
hehe no worries champ.

The disk is a 'boot' disk.

1) Put it in
2) reboot system
3) go into your BIOS/CMOS settings and make sure CD is the first boot device.
4) save and exit.
5) system will boot up off the CD with a menu (like you found in the txt file)
6) hit the number of the program you want to run. ie 1 for a clean boot etc.

the .img files are images of boot floppies.
The disk is designed so that it loads the image file intoi memory and it runs like you have booted off a floppy of said image.

Makes sense ??
Clear as mud right ??
__________________
Can't we all just get along?

Opty 146 @ 2.5Ghz || nForce3 ||1x330 + 3x120gig || CX23881 Capture Card
OCAU || My blog

Proud to be an Aussie!
DaveQB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2004, 08:03   #9  |  Link
Scipio
translation mod
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: http://german.doom9.org/
Posts: 284
Hi Dave,

to make things even clearer in your readme, you could add your explanation in your posting above to your readme file.
__________________
[Translation Guidelines] - [Overview of Doom9 translation mirrors] - - - [German Doom9]
When arguing with an idiot, make sure he isn't doing the same.
Scipio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2004, 01:27   #10  |  Link
ukb007
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Boy, we sure as hell can all get along!

Thanks, DaveQB.

As nicely said by Scipio, I'll now make a second disc with your last post in the readme.

You may perhaps make another CD-image (.iso) with this revised readme. The reason I'm asking is that not many of us mortals can read Promish, the language of the gods (programmers), even though it is supposed to be a dialect of the English language.

Regards.
  Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2004, 02:32   #11  |  Link
DaveQB
Theora and Mkv fan! :)
 
DaveQB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sydney
Posts: 347
Sorry everyone.

I thought it was made obvious in my first post in this thread
Quote:
In fact i have a bootable CD that gives a menu to choose Goldmemory and multiple HDD testers
I will change the Readme to reflect this

PS i sure as hell dont consider myself a programmer, i just used Bart's way to make this bootable CD
__________________
Can't we all just get along?

Opty 146 @ 2.5Ghz || nForce3 ||1x330 + 3x120gig || CX23881 Capture Card
OCAU || My blog

Proud to be an Aussie!
DaveQB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2004, 12:17   #12  |  Link
BlackSun
CoreCodec
 
BlackSun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Toulouse
Posts: 726
Just use the Ultimate Boot CD, this is what I use most of the time at work (computer tech)

http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/

Contains:

Hard Disk Installation
MaxBlast 3 (Maxtor)
DiscWizard 2003 (Seagate)

Hard Disk Diagnosis
Drive Fitness Test (IBM/Hitachi)
PowerMax (Maxtor/Quantum)
DLG Diagnostic (Western Digital)
Data Lifeguard (Western Digital)
SeaTools Desktop (Seagate)
SeaTools Desktop (Seagate)
Diagnostic Tool (Fujitsu)
SHDIAG (Samsung)
HUTIL (Samsung)

Hard Disk Device Management
IBM/Hitachi Feature Tool
AMSET (Maxtor)
UATA100 (Seagate)
Ultra ATA Manager (Western Digital)
SMARTUDM
ATA Password Tool

Hard Disk Wiping
AutoClave
Active@ KillDisk Free Edition
Darik's Boot and Nuke

Hard Disk Cloning
HDClone (Free Edition)
g4u

Partition Tools
Ranish Partition Manager
XFDISK (Extended FDISK)
SPFDISK (Special FDISK)
TestDisk (used to undelete partitions)
Partition Resizer
Partition Saving
Free FDISK
MBRtool
MBRWork

Boot Managers
Smart BootManager
Gujin

File Managers
DOS Navigator
File Maven
NTFS Tools
Offline NT Password & Registry Editor
Active NTFS Reader for DOS
EditBINI

Memory Diagnosis
Memtest86
Memtest86+
Windows Memory Diagnostic
DocMem RAM Diagnostic

DOS Boot Disks
Bart's Network Boot Disk
Bart's CDROM Boot Disk
FreeDOS Boot Disk

Linux-based Rescue Disks
Tom's Boot Disk
Recovery Is Possible (RIP)
BasicLinux
Trinux

System Information
AIDA16
NSSI
PC-Config
PCI

Benchmarks
System Speed Test 32

Antivirus Tools
F-Prot Antivirus for DOS (Personal use only)
McAfee Antivirus Scanner

BIOS Tools
CMOS Password Recovery

Network Tools
Freesco (free router software)

http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/
__________________
BlackSun
The Concentric Circles of Audio and Video
BlackSun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2004, 12:32   #13  |  Link
BlackSun
CoreCodec
 
BlackSun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Toulouse
Posts: 726
oh, and myself I use Burn In Test to test the stability of the system:
http://www.passmark.com/products/bit.htm

Memtest86 will freeze using an Athlon 64 (tried many motherboards), get the latest Memtest86+ 1.15 or better from www.memtest.org, it has been fixed. If you own an ASUS Motherboard with a VIA chipset like the A7V8X-X, memtest86+ will freeze because a bug in the BIOS. Get the standard memtest86 (not the '+' version)
Intel motherboard simply freeze using any versions of memtest, to get it working, disabled the USB Legacy Support in the BIOS.

And a good way to test your hardware is simply to do an installation of Windows XP:
if you get a BSOD during the install saying IRQL_LESS_OR_NOT_EQUAL, or BAD_FAULT_IN_NON_PAGED_AREA then check your memory using memtest.
If you get errors while the installation copy the files to the hdd, check your CD, and see if it happens each time on the same file, this is probably the CD itself. Otherwise, if it's kinda random, you better use the HDD diagnosis tool for your HDD. If you own a Maxtor and get an error code ending with S57, try a low level format (got this information from Maxtor Ireland), most of the time the problem could be fixed using a LLF.
If Windows XP can't create the partition and get you in a loop asking to create the partition again and again, same think, try the hdd diagnosis tool for you HDD, something is wrong on this side.
If you get a BSOD INACCESSIBLE_BOOT_DEVICE, make sure you have a 80 conductors IDE cable, also it's possible that you installed the wrong chipset drivers and Windows cannot access the HDD anymore. If you changed your motherboard, the HAL (Hardware Abstraction Layer) is now uncorrect for the new hardware and a new fresh installation is mandatory.

Hope this help a little ^^

edit: removed a comma in the url O_o
__________________
BlackSun
The Concentric Circles of Audio and Video

Last edited by BlackSun; 27th May 2004 at 12:34.
BlackSun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2004, 13:07   #14  |  Link
techz
Registered User
 
techz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 163
Here's a few:

UBCD

http://ubcd.sourceforge.net/

Barts PE

http://www.nu2.nu/pebuilder/
techz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2006, 05:02   #15  |  Link
DVD_GR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Greece Crete Chania
Posts: 38
Regarding system stability issues,I would like to share my experience on these issues.prime is not needed for the purposes of video coding.My modile barton NEVER!! passed prime...and NEVER had problems with 8 hours of CCE!!maybe its 100% cpu usage but video coding doesnt really kill the cpu.Download OcBible from my sig and run some stress tests,its really helpfull.One other stability test is super pi to calculate 32M digits.They are effective for video coders.you can pass super pi and dont pass prime,and still be able to code for even 12 hours straight.if you dont pass basic pi calculations dont even try video coding!!
PS:memtest is a good program to verify that your memory,is in good shape!
DVD_GR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2006, 08:58   #16  |  Link
MrSeanKon
Registered User
 
MrSeanKon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Visit Athens
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by DVD_GR View Post
Download OcBible from my sig
Link is broken
Well OcBible and Guidemania are downloadable here for anyone.
The OcBible is complete package with many estimators etc...
Guidemania includes many enormous guides.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DVD_GR View Post
run some stress tests,its really helpfull.
LOL OcBible is not a stability program.
It includes CPU Stretcher but it is not a stability program; it is a CPU burn-in program.

A complete list with must have p/c programs is here
I voted yes for this guide I think it helps.

Last edited by MrSeanKon; 28th November 2006 at 14:32.
MrSeanKon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2009, 14:38   #17  |  Link
khat17
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 19
Some PC hardware problems could be caused by failing parts which may not always manifest themselves - or - show up while something else is being stressed and give you "false positives" kinda. A failing PSU may give you errors on any and all aspects of using you PC. I recommend periodically tearing down your PSU (don't do it if you don't know what to do or will void your warranty if you do) and oiling your fan and checking for any visibly obvious faults like burns near any component or bad capacitors.

www.badcaps.net

Get your rig cleaned out with a tin of compressed air or a compressor with a dehumidifier, or be careful if using one without it. Do that so you keep things clean and reduce the risk of stuff getting clogged up with dirt.

If you're a tech, then some tools like a POST card or PSU tester along with your troubleshooting experience would definitely help to pin-point your issue.

Too bad you can't vote twice..........or change the vote. The guide helps, but some additional stuff could be added to it by members.

Last edited by khat17; 14th November 2009 at 14:46.
khat17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2009, 15:17   #18  |  Link
laserfan
Aging Video Hobbyist
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Off the Map
Posts: 2,463
Quote:
Originally Posted by khat17 View Post
Too bad you can't vote twice..........or change the vote. The guide helps, but some additional stuff could be added to it by members.
You do realize you resurrected a 3 year-old thread!?

The latest/greatest system stability tester is Linx, which is a Linpack gui interface.
laserfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2009, 15:35   #19  |  Link
khat17
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 19
I see - but it was worth it. Now badcaps and linx are in the light as well.
khat17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2010, 09:07   #20  |  Link
brencreetle
Registered User
 
brencreetle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Oman
Posts: 5
Hardware problems / How to test system stability

Hi

Ive installed Myth TV in Debian on my mac mini but I dont have any video capture hardware. Does anyone know of any suitable video capture hardware that has linux ppc drivers and will work in Myth TV? It doesnt look like any of the Elgato hardware is supported.

I dont really want to have a separate backend PC as it wouldnt look good in my living room

Thanks.
brencreetle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.