Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 AVC / H.264

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 6th August 2013, 20:32   #1  |  Link
robo731
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 40
x264 crashes at the end of every encode

My x264 is crashing as soon as it finishes each of my encodes. It completes it and the files are fine. It's not really an issue, but I'd like to prevent it if possible. The log doesn't indicate any errors either.
robo731 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2013, 20:41   #2  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,551
Are you using AviSynth? Often these problems are related to AviSynth not closing correctly and can be fixed by an AviSynth update or playing around with the filters a bit. You should be able to test it if you just pipe to NUL, e.g. "avs2pipemod -y4mp script.avs > NUL" - if it still crashes it is not related to x264 itself.

Last edited by sneaker_ger; 6th August 2013 at 20:43.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2013, 16:09   #3  |  Link
robo731
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 40
I see, thank you. It's not an issue since the encodes finish fine, but I'm glad I know why now.
robo731 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2013, 16:21   #4  |  Link
Groucho2004
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 5,008
Quote:
Originally Posted by robo731 View Post
It's not an issue since the encodes finish fine
x264 crashing all the time would bother me a lot, even if the files seem fine.
Quote:
Originally Posted by robo731 View Post
but I'm glad I know why now.
You do? Care to share?
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2013, 04:02   #5  |  Link
robo731
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 40
Well, I think it's safe to assume that it's an avisynth problem, especially since I'm using multithreading. If you could explain (or link me to information about) exactly how I can test to figure it out, then I'd be more than happy to follow your instructions.
robo731 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.