Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12th January 2021, 18:30   #61201  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 725
Quote:
Originally Posted by senzaparole View Post
Hello! Thanks for the reply.
Here is the screenshot of MPC-HC in playback mode:
Here is the screenshot of MPC-BE in playback mode:
As other people commented, they look close enough at least this doesn't explain the amount of dropped frames.
What happens if in both players, instead of using the internal audio renderers, you manually select the DirectSound audio device (Topping?) ? Do the frame drops stop then?
I know this is not what you want, but it's to find out if the audio renderer is the cause.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 1909, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, 6.0 speakers Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400, GeForce 1050 Ti
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2021, 23:32   #61202  |  Link
senzaparole
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Italia
Posts: 49
thank you so much. Everything works as you thought.

I changed the audio renderer:



now MHC-BE is perfect:


I never thought madVR would get swayed by audio. I'm afraid there are no solutions. I would prefer to select "MPC AUDIO RENDERER" but it is not possible.

MPC-HC with its internal audio Renderer is no problem. MPC-BE only

Thanks everyone for the help, much appreciated.
__________________
TV:LG B9 65 Amplifier: Denon X4500H Front Speakers: n. 3 XTZ Cinema M6 Subwoofer: XTZ 10.17 EDGE Atmos Speakers:n. 4 XTZ S2 Surround Speakers: n. 2 XTZ Spirit 2 - HTPC: Fractal Meshify C-RX 5700 XT

Last edited by senzaparole; 12th January 2021 at 23:35.
senzaparole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2021, 01:05   #61203  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,407
Quote:
Originally Posted by senzaparole View Post
MPC-HC with its internal audio Renderer is no problem. MPC-BE only
You should post all relevant info regarding this issue over in the MPC-BE forum so the audio renderer can be improved to prevent this from happening.
Wouldn't hurt to try the releases here download the standalone filters packages (x64)
and register it in the system it will then come up as another audio output that you can select in the drop down, then test and see if you can find a version that works without dropping frames.

Last edited by ryrynz; 13th January 2021 at 01:14.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2021, 18:48   #61204  |  Link
robl45
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 162
MadVR 3d

Hello, I've been using lav filters and Madvr for 3d for 4 or 5 years now with no issues. About a week ago, it stopped working. Anyone know anything about this? I've reinstalled madvr and lav and still it doesn't work, when it does flip into 3d, its like the 3d is in slow motion. I thought it might be my hdmi to ethernet converters screwing something up so I connected the computer to my spare projector with straight HDMI and it did the same thing. I thought it was one specific file as we had literally watched 3d the day before and then realized it was all of them. Anyone have any ideas? I'm thinking a windows 10 update maybe or something broke it. Its a windows 10 machine with I3 processor Skylake with internal intel graphics.
robl45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2021, 19:33   #61205  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 725
Impossible to say without more information, things do not break like that by themselves.
Under "View update history" in Windows Update settings, you can see exactly what date Windows installed updates, and also uninstall them. Maybe check that. Maybe it installed a new graphics driver?
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 1909, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, 6.0 speakers Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400, GeForce 1050 Ti
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2021, 04:03   #61206  |  Link
robl45
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by el Filou View Post
Impossible to say without more information, things do not break like that by themselves.
Under "View update history" in Windows Update settings, you can see exactly what date Windows installed updates, and also uninstall them. Maybe check that. Maybe it installed a new graphics driver?
Tried tonight after days of troubleshooting, reverted to previous version of windows and it works perfectly again, hopefully this helps someone.
robl45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2021, 18:19   #61207  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 725
When you say "previous version", was it a monthly ("quality") update, or a full new release ("feature update")? Can you give the two versions before/after the update?
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 1909, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, 6.0 speakers Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400, GeForce 1050 Ti
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2021, 23:36   #61208  |  Link
senzaparole
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Italia
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
You should post all relevant info regarding this issue over in the MPC-BE forum so the audio renderer can be improved to prevent this from happening.
Wouldn't hurt to try the releases here download the standalone filters packages (x64)
and register it in the system it will then come up as another audio output that you can select in the drop down, then test and see if you can find a version that works without dropping frames.
@el filou
@ryrynz

I solved the problem!!!!! In the MPC Audio Renderer settings it was enough to change the DEVICE BUFFER from 50 ms to DEFAULT!
Now I don't lose frames anymore and madVR's OSD is perfect!
Thanks for your help!
__________________
TV:LG B9 65 Amplifier: Denon X4500H Front Speakers: n. 3 XTZ Cinema M6 Subwoofer: XTZ 10.17 EDGE Atmos Speakers:n. 4 XTZ S2 Surround Speakers: n. 2 XTZ Spirit 2 - HTPC: Fractal Meshify C-RX 5700 XT
senzaparole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2021, 00:40   #61209  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,407
Cool thanks for letting us know.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2021, 12:41   #61210  |  Link
webbo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by senzaparole View Post
thank you so much. Everything works as you thought.


now MHC-BE is perfect:


I never thought madVR would get swayed by audio. I'm afraid there are no solutions. I would prefer to select "MPC AUDIO RENDERER" but it is not possible.

MPC-HC with its internal audio Renderer is no problem. MPC-BE only

Thanks everyone for the help, much appreciated.

Regarding the screenshot of madVR info - how did you manage to almost set / sync display Hz to video Hz ?

Setting the TV to 23 or 24Hz would that suffice?
Appreciated
__________________
HTPC Build : 8700k / 16GB DDR4 / 1080Ti GPU - Setup for FullHD / 4K MKV Playback - PotPlayer + madVR

Display #1 - 32GK850G
Display #2 - Sony 49XF9005 (ISF Calibrated)
webbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2021, 13:18   #61211  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 1,224
23Hz is for 23.976Hz
24Hz is for 24.000Hz
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2021, 19:53   #61212  |  Link
Silver12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 1
Hi,
I have just downloaded beta 120, is there a way to copy HDR settings for different devices. I want to use the same settings, changing only DPL values. I don't know how to do that. Hopefully somebody can help me, thanks a lot to all of you
Silver12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2021, 20:08   #61213  |  Link
VBB
Registered User
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Long Beach, CA, USA
Posts: 554
@webbo - That's AMD You won't get nearly as close with Nvidia, but it's not too bad right now (about a drop/repeat every 1.07 hours).
__________________
Henry

LG OLED65C7P | Denon AVR-X3500H | ELAC Uni-Fi x7 | ELAC Debut 2.0 SUB3030 x2
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 | LAV Filters | madVR | MPC-HC | Plex | X-Rite i1Display Pro | DisplayCAL | HCFR
VBB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2021, 23:12   #61214  |  Link
senzaparole
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Italia
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by webbo View Post
Regarding the screenshot of madVR info - how did you manage to almost set / sync display Hz to video Hz ?

Setting the TV to 23 or 24Hz would that suffice?
Appreciated
Hello! It is madVR that changes the TV refresh rate adapting it to the native one of the movie.
__________________
TV:LG B9 65 Amplifier: Denon X4500H Front Speakers: n. 3 XTZ Cinema M6 Subwoofer: XTZ 10.17 EDGE Atmos Speakers:n. 4 XTZ S2 Surround Speakers: n. 2 XTZ Spirit 2 - HTPC: Fractal Meshify C-RX 5700 XT
senzaparole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2021, 16:13   #61215  |  Link
ashlar42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 433
I see a GTX 3050 could be coming. Would 4GB of RAM be enough for proper madVR use? I think GPU power should be plenty enough (but correct me if I'm wrong).
ashlar42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2021, 16:15   #61216  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,863
4 GB should be fine with current algorithms and UHD output.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2021, 20:17   #61217  |  Link
Stereodude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Region 0
Posts: 1,379
Is madVR or the video driver responsible for the depth information in 1080p 3D frame packed output? I found at least one of my 3D BD's when ripped to .mkv and played back from the PC has intermittent odd depth shifts (like the image will jump forward or backward a bit mid scene). The jumps aren't there when the 3D BD is played from a Blu-ray player.
Stereodude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2021, 12:58   #61218  |  Link
BogaMoge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Posts: 1
Hi everyone.

So I got a new LG CX OLED and I have this issue with subtitles using MPC-HC with MadVR :
- with the internal subtitle renderer, no problem with .ass subtitles (I can change their look) but in HDR, subtitles stay bright white whatever my changes
- with xySubFilter, .ass subtitles are out of whack (generally looking extemely small) but I can change the color of HDR subtitles
- with DirectVOBsub, any subtitle in SDR is easy to set up as I want, but then MPC-HC doesn't output in HDR (I guess since DirectVOBsub is not part pf MadVR)

Does anyone know the settings to be able to set the color of subtitles to light gray and with whatever font and size I want, whatever the resolution of the content and whether it is SDR or HDR?

Thanks
BogaMoge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2021, 14:41   #61219  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 2,038
Do you have issue with ass subs only? If so, upload it somwhwere.
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v398.18),Win10 LTSC 1809,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(2160p@23/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz) | madvr config
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2021, 15:53   #61220  |  Link
fotb
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by masodes View Post
Hi and happy new year!

How does madvr detect hdr and where does it get the essential information?
I want to render a not tone mapped 4k hdr stream from a capture card, but madvr does not detect the video stream as hdr. For matrix, primaries and color range it only does a "(best guess)" with bt.709 and limited. When looking at the pin info, there is only VIDEOINFOHEADER set, but no VIDEOINFOHEADER2 with DWCONTROLFLAGS.
Is it possible to inject this information upstream of madvr or force madvr to do a "best guess" with bt.2020?

Pin info for the capture stream from the capture card:

Code:
Filter : Smart Tee - CLSID : {CC58E280-8AA1-11D1-B3F1-00AA003761C5}
    Module : C:\Windows\System32\qcap.dll
    
    - Connected to:
    
    CLSID: {17CCA71B-ECD7-11D0-B908-00A0C9223196}
    Filter: Game Capture 4K60 Pro MK.2 Video
    Pin: Video Capture
    
    - Connection media type:
    
    Video: YUY2 3840x2160 60fps 3667 mbit/s
    
    AM_MEDIA_TYPE: 
    majortype: MEDIATYPE_Video {73646976-0000-0010-8000-00AA00389B71}
    subtype: MEDIASUBTYPE_YUY2 {32595559-0000-0010-8000-00AA00389B71}
    formattype: FORMAT_VideoInfo {05589F80-C356-11CE-BF01-00AA0055595A}
    bFixedSizeSamples: 1
    bTemporalCompression: 0
    lSampleSize: 16588800
    cbFormat: 88
    
    VIDEOINFOHEADER:
    rcSource: (0,0)-(0,0)
    rcTarget: (0,0)-(0,0)
    dwBitRate: 3667656704
    dwBitErrorRate: 0
    AvgTimePerFrame: 166666 (60.000 fps)
    
    BITMAPINFOHEADER:
    biSize: 40
    biWidth: 3840
    biHeight: 2160
    biPlanes: 1
    biBitCount: 16
    biCompression: YUY2
    biSizeImage: 16588800
    biXPelsPerMeter: 0
    biYPelsPerMeter: 0
    biClrUsed: 0
    biClrImportant: 0

Pin info from a recorded clip of the capture card stream where hdr detection is working:

Code:
Filter : madVR - CLSID : {E1A8B82A-32CE-4B0D-BE0D-AA68C772E423}
    Module : C:\madVR\madVR64.ax
    
    - Connected to:
    
    CLSID: {EE30215D-164F-4A92-A4EB-9D4C13390F9F}
    Filter: LAV Video Decoder
    Pin: Output
    
    - Connection media type:
    
    Video: dxva 3840x2160 59.96fps
    
    AM_MEDIA_TYPE: 
    majortype: MEDIATYPE_Video {73646976-0000-0010-8000-00AA00389B71}
    subtype: MEDIASUBTYPE_P010 {30313050-0000-0010-8000-00AA00389B71}
    formattype: FORMAT_VideoInfo2 {F72A76A0-EB0A-11D0-ACE4-0000C0CC16BA}
    bFixedSizeSamples: 1
    bTemporalCompression: 0
    lSampleSize: 24883200
    cbFormat: 112
    
    VIDEOINFOHEADER:
    rcSource: (0,0)-(3840,2160)
    rcTarget: (0,0)-(3840,2160)
    dwBitRate: 0
    dwBitErrorRate: 0
    AvgTimePerFrame: 166778 (59.960 fps)
    
    VIDEOINFOHEADER2:
    dwInterlaceFlags: 0x00000000
    dwCopyProtectFlags: 0x00000000
    dwPictAspectRatioX: 16
    dwPictAspectRatioY: 9
    dwControlFlags: 0x7a421581
    - VideoChromaSubsampling: 5 (MPEG-2)
    - NominalRange          : 1 (0-255)
    - VideoTransferMatrix   : 4 (BT.2020)
    - VideoLighting         : 0
    - VideoPrimaries        : 9 (BT.2020)
    - VideoTransferFunction : 15 (SMPTE ST 2084 (PQ))
    dwReserved2: 0x00000000
    
    BITMAPINFOHEADER:
    biSize: 40
    biWidth: 3840
    biHeight: 2160
    biPlanes: 1
    biBitCount: 24
    biCompression: dxva
    biSizeImage: 24883200
    biXPelsPerMeter: 0
    biYPelsPerMeter: 0
    biClrUsed: 0
    biClrImportant: 0
I hope anybody has an idea. Thank you!

I was wondering if you ran into any favorable results in trying to figure this out. Ive been trying to accomplish this all month.
fotb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.