Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 13th January 2018, 02:10   #48301  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 187
be interested to know anyone elses AMD GPU stats running madvr

my scaling settings: everything else is default in MADVR apart from I have no trade performance options ticked.

chroma upscale - lanczos
downscale - lanzos
image upscale - NGU sharp medium

GPU= 90%

If I drop downscale to lanczos gpu runs at 45%

I dont really want to max my GPU out like this so I'll have to stay away from NGU, problem is I dont actually know if this has always been like this as a second reboot fixed the black screen and everyting is playing normal now, does anything one 90% is too high for NGU sharp medium on an RX 550?
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2018, 08:09   #48302  |  Link
psyside
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 46
Well i tried everything, and there is basically 0, not 5% just 0 difference in IQ with quite high settings in madVR MPHC vs VMR 9 Renderless HQ

Here are the screenshots for anyone interested or in doubt

1



2
psyside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2018, 08:37   #48303  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,605
Sorry but that's just not true at all. There are plenty of differences depending on what's selected and the content at play.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2018, 08:59   #48304  |  Link
austinminton
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 42
and your point being? we should stop using madvr based on your 2 screenshots? I dont understand the point of such posts.
austinminton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2018, 08:59   #48305  |  Link
psyside
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
Sorry but that's just not true at all. There are plenty of differences depending on what's selected and the content at play.
I know, i don't deny that madVR works, just in my scenario it does not make any difference, OR the KM player DOES use the madVR somehow at default instead of the regular rendered (impossible since it perform much better)

i'm out of ideas, ill try new settings with a help of a forum user
psyside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2018, 09:01   #48306  |  Link
psyside
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by austinminton View Post
and your point being? we should stop using madvr based on your 2 screenshots? I dont understand the point of such posts.
I got alot more screenshots, from different videos, same results, either i mess up something, or it DOES NOT work as well when you use it for 4k playback/videos on 1080p monitor.
psyside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2018, 09:54   #48307  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,818
I believe you were using Bicubic75 for downscaling? That would explain it. Other high quality renders might use something very similar to madVR's Bicubic75 for downscaling but nothing else uses anything as good as SSIM or Jinc.

Edit: I should add that madVR's greatest strength is SD at 1080p or 720/1080 at 4K. SSIM is very impressive but other than that it is hard to be obviously better when downscaling, downscaling looks pretty good even with the old fast methods like bicubic or even bilinear.
__________________
madVR options explained

Last edited by Asmodian; 13th January 2018 at 10:00.
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2018, 10:44   #48308  |  Link
nsnhd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
I believe you were using Bicubic75 for downscaling? That would explain it. Other high quality renders might use something very similar to madVR's Bicubic75 for downscaling but nothing else uses anything as good as SSIM or Jinc.

Edit: I should add that madVR's greatest strength is SD at 1080p or 720/1080 at 4K. SSIM is very impressive but other than that it is hard to be obviously better when downscaling, downscaling looks pretty good even with the old fast methods like bicubic or even bilinear.
What's about DXVA downscaling, is that good or bad in comparison with Jinc/Bicubic/Bilinear..., my iGPU can only afford DXVA downscaling of 4K
nsnhd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2018, 10:48   #48309  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,818
DXVA is usually similar to Bicubic75 or perhaps Lanczos 3. It is dependent on the GPU hardware and its drivers. Jinc and SSIM are significantly better than any DXVA scaling.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2018, 11:53   #48310  |  Link
tobindac
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 112
Q: I noticed that sometimes madVR reported "dropped/repeated frames per time" but now I don't see that feature on the HUD. On what does it depend on?
tobindac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2018, 12:49   #48311  |  Link
tobindac
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by tobindac View Post
Q: I noticed that sometimes madVR reported "dropped/repeated frames per time" but now I don't see that feature on the HUD. On what does it depend on?
Hrm I seem to have triggered it when I changed to 75Hz. Does it not support odd frequences?

update: it's unlikely to be that though since I had seen the feature before on other ones.
tobindac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2018, 14:33   #48312  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 187
Hi, are there any tricks to searching on this forum, its no surprise that stuff comes up over and over again as you just cant search for it. Here is an example. If you want to search for 3D issues, "3D" is too short, "3D MVC" is unrecognized or too short, "3DMVC" only brings back 3 results. Same problem with FSE, 3D FSE etc.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2018, 17:08   #48313  |  Link
austinminton
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 42
Finally moved to win10 fall update with nvidia 390.65 (gtx 1080). Everything works well, HDR switches automatically, 3D works properly (only on fse though). Have a weird minor problem, my mouse pointer disappears when I am watching 4K+HDR on fse. I dont want to disable fse as 3D definitely needs fse on my setup. Not sure if its something to do with madvr or in win10.

I have tested this problem on both my htpc and gaming pc. Both are on win10 1709 (fully updated), nvidia 390.65 (gtx 1080). MPC-HC(x64) + madvr (0.92.10).

I dont have mouse pointer trails enabled.
austinminton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2018, 18:40   #48314  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 339
Quote:
Originally Posted by austinminton View Post
Finally moved to win10 fall update with nvidia 390.65 (gtx 1080). Everything works well, HDR switches automatically, 3D works properly (only on fse though). Have a weird minor problem, my mouse pointer disappears when I am watching 4K+HDR on fse. I dont want to disable fse as 3D definitely needs fse on my setup. Not sure if its something to do with madvr or in win10.

I have tested this problem on both my htpc and gaming pc. Both are on win10 1709 (fully updated), nvidia 390.65 (gtx 1080). MPC-HC(x64) + madvr (0.92.10).

I dont have mouse pointer trails enabled.
You can use profiles with MadVR and only have FSE on with 3D. That's what I do.
__________________
Win 10 Pro x64 V1709 MCE add-on
i7 3770K@4.2Ghz 16Gb@2.1Ghz EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 11Gb@2GHz 390.65 RGB Full 4:4:4 12bits
MPC-BE / LAV / MadVR / MyMovies V5.24
Denon X7200WA to JVC RS500/X7000
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2018, 19:13   #48315  |  Link
Clammerz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by brazen1 View Post
Isn't 'smooth motion' a last resort setting and a huge memory hog?
To summarise some of the responses you may/have receive(d):
  • Some users don't like the delay when mode switching between different refresh rates
  • Some users cannot achieve (or want to put in the effort to achieve) perfect refresh rate matching
  • A lot of displays have "quirks" when using 23/24p refreshrates (downsampled chroma, cannot disable TV processing, internal judder in TV processing pipeline)
Regarding the latter, you'll also find a lot of users are willing to accept the quirks of the TV for temporal resolution/display BFI/etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
Hi, are there any tricks to searching on this forum
Try Google:
Code:
inurl:"https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=146228" "3D"

Quote:
Originally Posted by maiden View Post
Trying to get my movies to stop being jerky.
Quote:
Originally Posted by maiden View Post
new pic playing through remote desktop
You'll need to get a screenshot without RDP, and it may be useful to get a general idea if there's a trend in what the numbers are showing (e.g. presentation glitch number rises, or XYZ queue drops every Y often over a period of time where you see the issue occurring multiple times).

Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
does anything one 90% is too high for NGU sharp medium on an RX 550?
There have been reports of people getting frame drops when pushing their GPUs to 90+% usage. One thing to keep in mind that since madVR uses multiple components of a GPU, the core GPU utilisation may not be a true indicator of what components are at their max utilisation. Testing and checking frame rendering times and frame drops is the only way to know for sure if you are over the max capabilities for your card.

Quote:
Originally Posted by psyside View Post
Well i tried everything, and there is basically 0, not 5% just 0 difference in IQ
At first glance there's a couple of differences that stand out to me, but I'm not really one to pixel peep. If you can't see a difference then there's nothing stopping you from using VMR9. No one is forcing you to use madVR, but at the same time, you likely won't find someone to hold your hand and tell you exactly what you should set.
You've seen a few suggestions of what may improve and what people prefer but it's up to you to try to find out what looks best to you, since only you have your eyes.
Clammerz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2018, 02:50   #48316  |  Link
austinminton
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni View Post
You can use profiles with MadVR and only have FSE on with 3D. That's what I do.
Thanks for the suggestion. That worked for me. Guess its still a bug in fse, but we are all moving away from it in any case.

On a side note, I just realized "fullscreen" as a boolean value in profile rules does not work even though its listed as such on the post on profile rules.
austinminton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2018, 03:23   #48317  |  Link
psyside
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clammerz View Post

At first glance there's a couple of differences that stand out to me, but I'm not really one to pixel peep. If you can't see a difference then there's nothing stopping you from using VMR9. No one is forcing you to use madVR, but at the same time, you likely won't find someone to hold your hand and tell you exactly what you should set.
You've seen a few suggestions of what may improve and what people prefer but it's up to you to try to find out what looks best to you, since only you have your eyes.

Hi, i must first say that im sorry, since members here where very helpful, i'm not here to bash madVR or anything, i'm just trying, to figure out whats wrong in my case. I personally think the program i use to COMPARE the settings, is somehow overriding, and using madVR same as MPHC, since the pictures look identical to me, and few of my friends i asked, i never told them anything, i just ask them what they think about the pics.

With the help of Asmodian i managed to get madVR run much much better, but the issue is i still cannot see a difference, i zoomed 500-600% and used frame by frame method to get to exact same point of the video, no difference.

Usually you CAN very easy spot madVR difference, in videos i saw on youtube, and on tons of screenshots, the difference is huge, but im my case i see nothing even i use screenshots vs videos method, and we both know screeshots method is quite easier to spot.

What could be the cause? i have no idea really.
psyside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2018, 03:37   #48318  |  Link
nsnhd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by psyside View Post
What could be the cause? i have no idea really.
Have you tried other players ?
Personally, I prefer PotPlayer since it gives me no dropped frames while MPC-HC/BE does with the same madVR settings. Sometime you can't find explanations, just keep trying
nsnhd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2018, 03:48   #48319  |  Link
psyside
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by nsnhd View Post
Have you tried other players ?
Personally, I prefer PotPlayer since it gives me no dropped frames while MPC-HC/BE does with the same madVR settings. Sometime you can't find explanations, just keep trying
MPHC works fine, i just cant find a good player with different renderer to use it in order to take screenshot from to compare it with madVR enabled MPHC.

Edit, does this looks normal?



deinterlacing and limited range?


Last edited by psyside; 14th January 2018 at 04:21.
psyside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2018, 04:34   #48320  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,818
No, your render queue is empty, it should be 7-8 / 8 or maybe 6-8 / 8. In a similar fashion the present queue should be at least 2-4 / 4. The rendering time looks OK and even if it was paused the render queue should be full (present queue would be 1-1 / 4).

Are you using DXVA2 native decoding in LAV filters? This is known to provide poor quality on Nvidia GPUs, use DXVA2 copy-back instead. Still you might not notice, the issue is only a slight blurring of the chroma planes.

Your source may be soft enough that there aren't any visible differences, even with SSIM compared to Bicubic. SSIM is good at preserving single pixel scale detail and fine texture but if you don't have any in the source you cannot preserve anything.

Don't use DXVA2 native! Especially on Nvidia GPUs, but you don't want to use native decoding at all. Use DXVA2 (copy-back) instead.

The OSD doesn't show a decoding speed issue, the decoder queue would be empty if that was the issue, and the (DXVA2) indicates hardware decoding is active.

When using native you cannot pick the hardware device to use (it has to be the same device the display is plugged into) and you are not playing anything right now, which is why the Active Decoder is inactive. Look at that same screen while playing something.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.