Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD & BD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10th February 2020, 01:28   #29261  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,694
Re-encoding UHD video takes a lot longer via software.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2020, 02:04   #29262  |  Link
BuddTX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
One other point. There's also the option to choose the fastest speed for X265 in BD-RB. My guess would be that it is similar to hardware encoding in quality -- and is a lot faster than, say, the default "High Quality" mode in BD-RB.
Interesting Observation JDobbs! I will take "your guess" any day!

So are you saying that the hardware encoding will not give as good quality as software encoding?

The whole idea of wanting to go to HW encoding is speed, but I also want good quality.

I don't want to spend hundreds of dollars on a new video card, and find out that the "best" it can do in HW encoding, is similar to the SW encoding "fastest speed for X265".

Even though I have a relatively new, GTX 1050 TI, it sounds like I would need to upgrade again, to take advantage of all the latest HW encoding options.

So am I understanding this correctly, that with HW encoding, there are limited options for video quality?

If that is the case, HW encoding does not interest me as much now. Of course, we all want speed, but quality is very important to me also.

I would not mind a "several hours-half day-similar time" encode, if I could use HW encoding and also use the "ENCODE_QUALITY=4" setting.

Thanks!
BuddTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2020, 12:34   #29263  |  Link
Mike-uk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Dorset
Posts: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by terrykuntz View Post
I just put together a PC with a AMD Ryzen 3900X processor and currently trying to shrink UHD Aladdin to a 50GB disk. Why is my frame rate only 2-3 frames per second? I do have it set to do the highest quality. With this same settings on other Blu ray's I get frame rates around 40 frames per second?
UHD is 4x the resolution compared to bluray ( 1080 ) and I guess HDR adds some time so Hella al lot more pixels to process
Mike-uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2020, 12:47   #29264  |  Link
Mike-uk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Dorset
Posts: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by BuddTX View Post
Interesting Observation JDobbs! I will take "your guess" any day!

So are you saying that the hardware encoding will not give as good quality as software encoding?

The whole idea of wanting to go to HW encoding is speed, but I also want good quality.

I don't want to spend hundreds of dollars on a new video card, and find out that the "best" it can do in HW encoding, is similar to the SW encoding "fastest speed for X265".

Even though I have a relatively new, GTX 1050 TI, it sounds like I would need to upgrade again, to take advantage of all the latest HW encoding options.

So am I understanding this correctly, that with HW encoding, there are limited options for video quality?

If that is the case, HW encoding does not interest me as much now. Of course, we all want speed, but quality is very important to me also.

I would not mind a "several hours-half day-similar time" encode, if I could use HW encoding and also use the "ENCODE_QUALITY=4" setting.

Thanks!
taken from another site hardware 265 encoding is coming on hopefully they can get turing cards better, and hopefully the next gpu cards will be equal

Hey mate, depending on what card you have, NVENC can perform as good as Slow on the right bitrate. Pascal and Maxwell cards don't beat x265 Faster. However Turing cards do. Turing cards in H.265 get much closer to Medium and Slow on x265. If you have a Turing card, and you use FFMPEG with some good options like -g 240 and spatial adaptive quantisation, you can basically get anything x265 can get. Some settings will still use CPU for rc-lookahead and the 2-pass preset "slow", but in terms of speed and quality Turing is the way to go now.

Last edited by Mike-uk; 10th February 2020 at 12:49.
Mike-uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2020, 14:23   #29265  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,626
Given a high enough bitrate -- almost anything can give excellent quality. But at a given bitrate, you'll be hard pressed to find any solution that can beat X265. When backing up a blu-ray the average bitrate is fixed based upon the target size and the length of the source. While I haven't done any testing, I have doubts that a hardware solution could match it.

With that said... the bitrates are typically pretty high in BD backups, and its debatable whether most people would see a difference.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 10th February 2020 at 14:26.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2020, 17:18   #29266  |  Link
BuddTX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 66
Thank you Mike-UK and JDobbs!

Mike-UK, I have a GTX 1050 TI, and that apparently does not have Turing, and am not anxious to upgrade my video card again! My 9 year old PC is still a workhorse, (6 core Xeon processor (12 threads with Hyperthreading), 24 gig RAM, 2 SSD HD, 2 physical HD), and was hoping to wait a few years before upgrading, because no matter what I buy, two years down the road, it is "not the latest and greatest!"
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike-uk View Post
If you have a Turing card, and you use FFMPEG with some good options like -g 240 and spatial adaptive quantisation, you can basically get anything x265 can get. Some settings will still use CPU for rc-lookahead and the 2-pass preset "slow", but in terms of speed and quality Turing is the way to go now.
Mike, I would not know how to apply those command line parameters in the context of using BD Rebuilder, however your comment does make me ask a new question!

On the first post, JDobbs says:
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
CURRENT VERSION 0.61.05 (January 23rd, 2020)
2. While not required it is recommended you perform either one of the following (2A, preferred, or 2B):

2A. Download and install the LAV Directshow Filters. Use only the version linked here -- as other versions may result in out-of-sync audio. While not required for BD-RB to work, LAVFilters will improve functionality and are free. They are required for some functionality associated with HEVC import and processing.

2B. Download and install FFDSHOW and the Haali Matroska Splitter. While they are not required for BD-RB to work, they will improve functionality and are free. After the install, run "Video Decoder Configuration" for FFDSHOW from the "START/Programs" menu, and make sure MPEG2 decoding is enabled. Do the same using "Audio Decoder Configuration" to ensure "Uncompressed" is set to "All Supported".

2C. If you decide to install both 2A and 2B, make sure HAALI/FFDSHOW (2B) is installed first, followed by LAVFilters (2A). This will prevent issues with HEVC splitting.
I have always only done "2A", and BD rebuilder has always been reliable for me. However, in reading this, should I be installing 2B also? I use BD Rebuilder exclusively to make MKV files, and want to only use X265 encoder.

Reason for asking the question is this line (see bolded sentence):
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
2B. Download and install FFDSHOW and the Haali Matroska Splitter. While they are not required for BD-RB to work, they will improve functionality and are free.
I certainly would like to "improve functionality" to BD Rebuilder! Please advise.

Thanks!
BuddTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2020, 19:03   #29267  |  Link
terrykuntz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 16
To increase the frame rate I tried 2 things, I added the option MULTIPROCESS=12 because I have the AMD Ryzen 3900X cpu which ended up changing nothing, frame rate still 3 frames per second. Then I changed the encoder settings to High Quality (default) and now the frame rate changes to 6 frames per second. Is there anything else I can change to increase the frame rate other than changing the encoder settings to a lower value?
terrykuntz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2020, 22:40   #29268  |  Link
Mike-uk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Dorset
Posts: 128
BuddTX, yes only the 20XX series Nvidia cards have turing chips, as for your other questions I have no idea but im sure there are people on here that can answer them
Mike-uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2020, 01:04   #29269  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,694
The GTX-1660 is also a turning card.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2020, 02:56   #29270  |  Link
terrykuntz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 16
Failure in attempt to multiplex???

I was trying to do the movie UHD movie Aladdin. It took 10 hours to build and it failed at the end: Failed to REBUILD, could you please tell me what went wrong???
----------------------
[02/10/20] BD Rebuilder v0.61.05
[09:58:22] Source: ALADDIN_00800
- Input BD size: 58.18 GB
- Approximate total content: [02:07:58.879]
- Target BD size: 46.26 GB
- Windows Version: 6.2 [9200]
- MOVIE-ONLY mode enabled
- Quality: High Quality (Default), ABR
- Decoding/Frame serving: FFMPEG
- Audio Settings: AC3=0 DTS=0 HD=1 Kbs=640
[09:58:29] PHASE ONE, Encoding
- [09:58:29] Processing: VID_00055 (1 of 1)
- [09:58:29] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00055]
- [10:16:09] Reencoding video [VID_00055]
- Source Video: HEVC, 3840x2160
- Rate/Length: 23.976fps, 184,109 frames
- Bitrate: 39,694 Kbs
- [10:16:09] Reencoding: VID_00055, Pass 1 of 1
- [18:19:40] Video Encode complete
- [18:19:40] Processing audio tracks
- Track 4352 (eng): Keeping original audio
- Track 4353 (eng): Keeping original audio
[18:19:40]PHASE ONE complete
[18:19:40]PHASE TWO - Rebuild Started
- [18:19:40] Rebuilding BD file Structure
- Failed in attempt to multiplex: MUX_MOVIE_ONLY.meta
- Demuxing time: 17 min 37 sec
[18:20:33] - Failed to REBUILD
terrykuntz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2020, 10:17   #29271  |  Link
Sharc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,711
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVideo View Post
The GTX-1660 is also a turning card.
Turning what/where? Towards the next model which is on the horizon?
Sharc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2020, 11:32   #29272  |  Link
Mike-uk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Dorset
Posts: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVideo View Post
The GTX-1660 is also a turning card.
yes 1660 is ok, but the 1650 does not support B-frames as its using the older chip
Mike-uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2020, 11:49   #29273  |  Link
Sharc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,711
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike-uk View Post
yes 1660 is ok, but the 1650 does not support B-frames as its using the older chip
The 1650 as well as the 1050Ti support B-frames for H.264 (AVC) but not for H.265 (HEVC).
Sharc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2020, 13:49   #29274  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharc View Post
Turning what/where? Towards the next model which is on the horizon?
Oops, my fingers got carried away.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2020, 16:18   #29275  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life looks better in UHD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 11,653
Quote:
Originally Posted by cartman0208 View Post
Yep, I just uploaded some Samples with different CRF, let the video enthusiasts decide ... I can't see much of a difference ... even at a tenth of the original filesize.
The encoding for each file took less than 10 seconds, but the secondary stream from the orignal is lost in the samples
Original.mkv - 270MB
.....................
H265Main10High10bitLvl5.1QP24.mkv - 38MB
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
[Edit] You're right... you'd never guess by looking that the 38MB file was compressed that much more than the 270MB original.
Agreed.... I extracted the Dolby Vision stream from the 'original.mkv' file and added it to the 'H265Main10High10bitLvl5.1QP24.mkv' encode using TSmuxer GUI 'open source'. The OPPO plays the new mux in Dolby Vision without any issues and it looks very good indeed. Amazing...

Cheers
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |
SeeMoreDigital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2020, 05:09   #29276  |  Link
SquallMX
Special SeeD
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Mexico
Posts: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike-uk View Post
yes 1660 is ok, but the 1650 does not support B-frames as its using the older chip
The 1650 Super does, is the cheapest one, quality still is crap vs x265
SquallMX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2020, 05:13   #29277  |  Link
SquallMX
Special SeeD
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Mexico
Posts: 286
CFR mode produces badly undersized results in UHD mode, I think the issue is that the produced test pass has a lot of corrupted frames, and that screw the size prediction.
SquallMX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2020, 13:32   #29278  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,626
Quote:
Originally Posted by SquallMX View Post
CFR mode produces badly undersized results in UHD mode, I think the issue is that the produced test pass has a lot of corrupted frames, and that screw the size prediction.
Yeah. It definitely needs work. AVISYNTH apparently has a hard time locating a keyframe when pulling out encoding samples, and you end up with corrupted frames. I'd suggest using single-pass ABR instead until I can figure out a better way to select samples for prediction.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2020, 15:33   #29279  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,552
It's not really an AviSynth problem. Are you using LAV Filters to seek in HEVC-in-TS? It's a known limitation of LAV Filters to not seek to keyframes, then (because of the container not providing an index as opposed to mkv/mp4). I think with H.264 it at least mitigates the problem a bit by waiting for a keyframe which might be good enough for CRF/bitrate estimation. There's a reason people are more likely to recommend lwlibavvideosource() instead of DirectShowSource() outside of this sub-forum.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2020, 04:35   #29280  |  Link
terrykuntz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 16
Please tell me what is wrong??

I am trying to reduce the Jumanji UHD movie from 54 GB to 46 GB to burn on a 50 GB disk. The re-encode takes over 11 hours then when trying to re-build structure it fails?? Why?? This sucks?

[02/12/20] BD Rebuilder v0.61.05
[09:13:31] Source: JUMANJI_WELCOME_TO_THE_JUNGLE_00822
- Input BD size: 54.11 GB
- Approximate total content: [01:59:03.135]
- Target BD size: 46.26 GB
- Windows Version: 6.2 [9200]
- MOVIE-ONLY mode enabled
- Quality: High Quality (Default), ABR
- Decoding/Frame serving: FFMPEG
- Audio Settings: AC3=0 DTS=0 HD=1 Kbs=640
[09:13:33] PHASE ONE, Encoding
- [09:13:33] Processing: VID_00001 (1 of 1)
- [09:13:33] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00001]
- [09:27:15] Reencoding video [VID_00001]
- Source Video: HEVC, 3840x2160
- Rate/Length: 23.976fps, 171,264 frames
- Bitrate: 41,378 Kbs
- [09:27:15] Reencoding: VID_00001, Pass 1 of 1
- [19:59:21] Video Encode complete
- [19:59:21] Processing audio tracks
- Track 4352 (eng): Keeping original audio
- Track 4353 (eng): Keeping original audio
- Track 4354 (eng): Keeping original audio
[19:59:21]PHASE ONE complete
[19:59:21]PHASE TWO - Rebuild Started
- [19:59:21] Rebuilding BD file Structure
- Bitstream exception. Adjusting...
- Failed in attempt to multiplex: MUX_MOVIE_ONLY.meta
- Bitstream exception std::exception. It does not have to be! Please contact application support team for more information.
[20:08:22] - Failed to REBUILD
terrykuntz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.