Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11th October 2018, 20:33   #53141  |  Link
pirlouy
_
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: France
Posts: 634
The abuse of "quote" and "img" tags is too damn high. Polluters.
pirlouy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2018, 20:39   #53142  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,964
Quote:
Originally Posted by Klaus1189 View Post
This is correct, but there is something missing.

There are more specs to look at here:
1.) resolution -> UHD - 3840x2160
2.) color depth -> 12 bit per color
3.) Pixelformat -> RGB (no subsampling) or YCbCr 4:4:4 / 4:2:2 / 4:2:0
4.) matching refresh rate for framerate of video -> missing here

It is supported by HDMI 2.0, but only for low refresh rates.

The bandwidth of HDMI 2.0 is known and so you can calculate it by yourself, it isn't that hard
remind me of thsi line again when you come up with i want to learn.
i well know the HDMI spec.

Quote:
Sorry, but it is very humble. There is not only 50i/60i.
Every "flatscreen" (-> LCD/OLED/...) is native progressive.
Only old CRTs were able to display interlaced content natively.
AND the deinterlacers of TVs are not as good as software deinterlacers, just try them in comparison and we continue here.
I tested also 20k TVs (20k is not the resolution
the sony OLEd can do interlanced natively

and what software deinterlancer are you using in realtime which your HTPC?
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2018, 21:07   #53143  |  Link
mrmojo666
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by mytbyte View Post
Come on, what about UHD sports @ 50/60 fps????
aren't they interlaced ? so what's the point of this discussion ? better 60i to deinterlaced 60/2 fps UHD rgb 10bit 4:4:4 or deinterlaced 60/2*2 fps UHD rgb 8bit 4:4:4 or 60i deinterlaced 60/2*2 fps UHD YCbCr 4:2:2 ? who knows? could be personal decision ? until hdmi stardad is like that, ppl have to deal with.
always imho
__________________
AMD Ry 1500x - 8GB - RX460 4GB
TV Philips 55pus6501+ Marantz 1608 avr
WIN10(1903) 4K/444RGB
Mediaportal - Mpc-hc
MADVR-D3D11/10bit
mrmojo666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2018, 21:15   #53144  |  Link
mytbyte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 198
@mrmojo: There is no interlace with UHD. UHD broadcasts are 50/60 progressive. UHD broadcasts ARE TV. That's all my comment was about.

Last edited by mytbyte; 11th October 2018 at 21:24.
mytbyte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2018, 21:19   #53145  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,701
HDMI 2.1 will be nice but people care about 10/12 bit way too much, at least on most displays and using madVR it offers a very minimal quality improvement. If you want 60 Hz use 8 bit RGB, it is great quality and you probably couldn't tell whether or not it was using 10 or 12 bit in a blind test.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2018, 21:20   #53146  |  Link
mrmojo666
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by mytbyte View Post
@mrmojo: There is no interlace with UHD. They are progressive. 60 Hz does matter.

ok so know makes sense. I thought they still are interlaced the UHD broadcasting.

so no other choice for hdmi than YCbCr.
__________________
AMD Ry 1500x - 8GB - RX460 4GB
TV Philips 55pus6501+ Marantz 1608 avr
WIN10(1903) 4K/444RGB
Mediaportal - Mpc-hc
MADVR-D3D11/10bit
mrmojo666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2018, 21:30   #53147  |  Link
mytbyte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmojo666 View Post
ok so know makes sense. I thought they still are interlaced the UHD broadcasting.

so no other choice for hdmi than YCbCr.
That's right - so, sadly, no much benefit from MadVR chroma upsampling with 60fps UHD content.
mytbyte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2018, 22:11   #53148  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,964
just use 8 bit the topic is nothing new.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2018, 22:18   #53149  |  Link
blaubart
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
HDMI 2.1 will be nice..
..anything goes then and we all will happily buy new hardware..
blaubart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2018, 22:25   #53150  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 757
Quote:
Originally Posted by pirlouy View Post
The abuse of "quote" and "img" tags is too damn high. Polluters.
This is needed IMHO, very humble, so someone knows to what he/she is resonding to. But I agree, images should be used as external links. This hole thread is so freaking hard to read, too many prople interacting. I think I leave.

I never deinterlace a source when creating a file, only while playing a deinterlacer should be placed. It doesn‘t matter which one of LAV you use, you will never get a better deinterlacer in a tv. If you use a madvr, you also prefer the updcaling of it and don‘t let your tv handle it, right?
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2018, 23:53   #53151  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,227
Some people seem to think that replying to any post means you need to quote the entire thing or have no idea they can alter it. I'd guess about 25% of this thread is pointless quoting. Just mention it whenever it becomes a problem, I'd think some have learned as I've mentioned it multiple times. Would be nice if there was a mod here but it's not a huge problem, not a lot of newcomers so things should improve.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2018, 00:28   #53152  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,964
madVr doesn't support proper interlanced output.
the RGB conversation is enough to ruin it so it is not really possible to test Tv deinterlancer with it.
on the other hand YADIf will not "win" against a frame addptive deinterlanced that is used in GPU hardware deinterlancer.

while software deinterlancing has the "best" deinterlancer "QTGMC" which is hard to do in real time hardware deinterlancer are consider to be the part of the better ones.

edit: fixed major typo

Last edited by huhn; 12th October 2018 at 01:16.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2018, 01:48   #53153  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,322
The only real issue right now is that madvr can't deinterlace with the D3D11 decoder....at least not yet. Once it can, it'll be a good option.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2018, 07:29   #53154  |  Link
x7007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 251
Something weird that happened ...

All this time I used Nvidia Output Dynamic Range - FULL - TV was set Black level - HIGH , MADVR was set to 0-255 . now suddenly when I watch a movie I see crushed blacks ... it didn't happen before 1809 I think or with other nvidia drivers. I am not sure when it was working fine . I usually watch HDR so it's limited there but I will also check this... what this setting needs to be with HDR in MADVR ?

Do we need to set 16-235 always now in MADVR even with OLED FULL Range support ?

LG OLED E6 5.30.30 ISF Dark Movie profile - Black Level - AUTO (HIGH)
Windows 10 1809 17763.55
Nvidia 1080 416.16 set to FULL and Use Default color settings

Last edited by x7007; 12th October 2018 at 07:31.
x7007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2018, 07:41   #53155  |  Link
jandari
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 4
HDR is working again with nVidia 416.34 drivers
jandari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2018, 07:43   #53156  |  Link
x7007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 251
Quote:
Originally Posted by jandari View Post
HDR is working again with nVidia 416.34 drivers
but it also worked 416.16 ... with hdr what do you set Madvr ? 16-235 or 0-255 ?

Weird,,,, HDR works fine with 0-255.... why SDR doesn't work now , I am sure it works fine before....

Anyone notice this also or something else ?? it really crush the black ( picture ) and it didn't do before, it just made it look better , making the washed up white light thing ...

If someone knows something or can check it please write ,,, I have no idea what's wrong . is that how it suppose to be ? If I choose for example

Nvidia - Limited . TV - LOW Madvr 0-255 ? would it work or I get also crash ? I mean it worked fine like this also before.


******* NEVER MIND I've found the issue, some of the potplayer settings has been change maybe some shortcuts I accidently clicked ..... rofl..........

some numbers with the bars has been somehow moved ... so I reverted them to 50%


Last edited by x7007; 12th October 2018 at 08:40.
x7007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2018, 11:27   #53157  |  Link
austonrush
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 33
Hey Guys, I've got a repeated frames glitch when starting a video file. The audio plays in the background but, the video portion initially freezes. This started after the latest windows 10 and nvidia upgrade, never had it before. It can freeze for up to 10 seconds sometimes. Anyone else seeing this? It is not exclusive to any one video.

https://imgur.com/a/t8eGSZZ on average it repeats about 900 frames before the video kicks in.

Once the video eventually begins playing I have no other issues for the remainder of playback.

MPC-HC 64 bit (tried both 1.7 and 1.8 builds)
External Lav (latest night build 73.0-1)
MADVR 92.17 (CPU Queue Size 16 and GPU Queue of 12)

If I use EVR custom Presenter instead of madvr I get Instant playback. I've tried uninstalling and reinstalling madvr as well.

- toggling between options for fullscreen exclusive mode and Direct3D 11 for Presentation had no effect.

Last edited by austonrush; 12th October 2018 at 11:47.
austonrush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2018, 11:35   #53158  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,956
I already had a similar issue under Windows 7 in MPC-HC with madVR when any other application using DirectX 11 functions (e.g. a 3D game) is already running.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2018, 11:39   #53159  |  Link
austonrush
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 33
game bar and game recording are disabled on my pc and I'm not running any gpu monitoring software. Nothing else running in the background, games etc.

Last edited by austonrush; 12th October 2018 at 11:43.
austonrush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2018, 12:03   #53160  |  Link
Sunset1982
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by austonrush View Post
Hey Guys, I've got a repeated frames glitch when starting a video file. The audio plays in the background but, the video portion initially freezes. This started after the latest windows 10 and nvidia upgrade, never had it before. It can freeze for up to 10 seconds sometimes. Anyone else seeing this? It is not exclusive to any one video.

https://imgur.com/a/t8eGSZZ on average it repeats about 900 frames before the video kicks in.

Once the video eventually begins playing I have no other issues for the remainder of playback.

MPC-HC 64 bit (tried both 1.7 and 1.8 builds)
External Lav (latest night build 73.0-1)
MADVR 92.17 (CPU Queue Size 16 and GPU Queue of 12)

If I use EVR custom Presenter instead of madvr I get Instant playback. I've tried uninstalling and reinstalling madvr as well.

- toggling between options for fullscreen exclusive mode and Direct3D 11 for Presentation had no effect.

had this problem too, after I updated Win10 to 1809. Did a restore to 1803 and everything is good again. The update also destroyed my ati driver panel. Did not have the tab to change RGB values after the update.

Maybe you should try a clean Install of Win10 1809 with latest nvidia drivers.
__________________
Intel i5 6600, 16 GB DDR4, AMD Vega RX56 8 GB, Windows 10 x64, Kodi DS Player 17.6, MadVR (x64), LAV Filters (x64), XySubfilter .746 (x64)
LG 4K OLED (65C8D), Denon X-4200 AVR, Dali Zensor 5.1 Set
Sunset1982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.