Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD & BD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 7th December 2021, 05:17   #30961  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,953
I'm at a loss as to what your test was supposed to prove.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2021, 11:49   #30962  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,105
tsMuxeR is not messing up the structure. It plays fine in a Sony player, HDR and all.
As to E-AC3 being re-encoded, it requires a core to be compliant, might be why BD_RB is re-encoding.
What are you using to burn your BD-RE?
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2021, 19:31   #30963  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,953
What you did is not what I did. As noted in my posting, I took a file with 2160p video and E-AC3 audio and told tsMuxer to create an ISO file, which would not play in my player. What you did wasn't even close to what I did. Frankly I do not know if tsMuxer created a Blu-ray compliant structure or a UHD compliant structure. There are no options, that I know of, in which to tell tsMuxer to create one, or the other. But, that is not an issue for BDRB.

E-AC3 requires a core for Blu-ray, but I can't find a requirement that it be so for UHD. E-AC3 plays just fine on my Sony UHD player Hence the need for BDRB to not re-encode if the source is 2160p and being place on a UHD created disc.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2021, 19:50   #30964  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Registered User
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 11,999
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVideo View Post
E-AC3 requires a core for Blu-ray, but I can't find a requirement that it be so for UHD. E-AC3 plays just fine on my Sony UHD player Hence the need for BDRB to not re-encode if the source is 2160p and being place on a UHD created disc.
All Blu-ray spec 'discs' encoded with Dolby Digital Plus audio require a Dolby Digital core. Regardless of the video being 2K (HD) or 4K (UHD)...
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |
SeeMoreDigital is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2021, 20:40   #30965  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,953
Thanks for the clarification. It is interesting that Sony, a member of the Blu-ray alliance, produces a UHD player that will play E-AC3 audio without a core. And my Denon AVR will handle it and indicate that it is DD+.

Regardless, I'm still begging for a version of BDRB that will allow the user to set an option to not re-encode E-AC3 audio. Even if it means setting an option that the user knows doing so is not to spec and is at the user's risk. The discs I create are for me and I know that I can play them.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2021, 22:19   #30966  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,105
Maybe you are switching around too many files.
m2ts is considered a media file like mkv or mp4 in a player.
That might the reason that the sony plays the m2ts but not the full structure, players tend to be more lenient about media files.
Your description mentions remuxing for audio tracks but no mention of how you are correcting the clpi or mpls.
In simple terms, I feed the apps compliant streams and they produce a compliant UHD (BD) structure.
How are you decrypting the disc?
If it is with MakeMKV to mkv file, remember that mastroka cannot have interleaved audio streams, that is why it separates the core out.
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2021, 03:11   #30967  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,953
The Sony will play the structure that BDRB builds, even after I remux the M2TS files that BDRB makes with M2TS files I remux using the BDRB M2TS and E-AC3 audio from the original MKV file. As mentioned, the only issue is that the video quits before the actual end of the file, when playing the UHD structure. The M2TS file plays to completion.

There are no discs involved. The Sony player is not lenient about MKV files, in that it will not play a MKV file with E-AC3 audio.

I'm doing nothing with the clpi or mpls files. I didn't figure that I would need to, since the new M2TS files are the same length as the BDRB originals, with the only difference being the AC3 audio being replaced with the E-AC3 audio. Besides, I know nothing about the structure of those two files and what would need to be fixed.

I was going to look at the BDRB created files, but discovered that BDEdit will not read BDRB created structures. It doesn't error. It just does nothing.

Last edited by MrVideo; 8th December 2021 at 03:40.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2021, 03:27   #30968  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,105
You cannot simply swap out m2ts files in a BD structure.
If you change any tracks you must correct the mpls and clpi files, possibly others as well.
You are looking at something like BDEdit to do it with the method you are using
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2021, 05:12   #30969  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonca View Post
You are looking at something like BDEdit to do it with the method you are using
As noted in my above posting, BDEdit will not work with BDRB output.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2021, 15:26   #30970  |  Link
Acerjen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVideo View Post
As noted in my above posting, BDEdit will not work with BDRB output.
Try making a BD structure with TsMuxer and then swap out the mpls and clpi files (along with the m2ts) that it makes replacing the ones that BDRB makes and see if the video will play to the end.

Acerjen
Acerjen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2021, 18:03   #30971  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,953
I tried doing your suggested test. Unfortunately tsMuxer bitches about the E-AC3 audio stream and says that it is aborting. But it looked like it completed, until I went looking for the playlist file. It was not created. All of the other files were.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2021, 18:14   #30972  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,953
Looks like I am stuck between a rock and a hard place. Even if BDRB were to not re-encode the E-AC3 file, because tsMuxer is used, a playlist file won't be created. And since I suspect that BDRB uses the tsMuxer created clip and playlist files, I'm never going to be able to use the Atmos E-AC3 audio stream.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2021, 23:14   #30973  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,899
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVideo View Post
While working on the above project, I discovered a bug.

The video file contains a boat load of subtitles. I have BDRB set to only include the English subs. But, when I play the disc that BDRB created, pressing SUBTITLE on the player's remote cycles thru all of the subtitles that were in the original file. But, the M2TS file only contains the two English subtitles.
It's supposed to do that if you do a full backup. You'll find that selecting any of the non-ENG subtitles will actually select an ENG track. It has to do that, or the code of the original would have to be modified (which is out of scope for what BD-RB does).
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2021, 14:01   #30974  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
It's supposed to do that if you do a full backup. You'll find that selecting any of the non-ENG subtitles will actually select an ENG track. It has to do that, or the code of the original would have to be modified (which is out of scope for what BD-RB does).
Ah, OK. Solves that.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2021, 00:34   #30975  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,899
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVideo View Post
Ah, OK. Solves that.
I'll also add a hidden option that allows you to keep EAC3 (without core) -- assuming I can make it work. I won't document it in HIDDENOPTS.TXT (so people won't get pissed at me when it fails on another player), but I'll post how to use it here in the bug thread.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2021, 00:37   #30976  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,899
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVideo View Post
As noted in my above posting, BDEdit will not work with BDRB output.
BDEdit should work with a standard disc created by BD-RB. But if you want to edit any UHD disc, you have to donate to BDEdit and get an updated version. I did, and it is very helpful in developing/debugging/updating UHD support.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 10th December 2021 at 00:40.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2021, 04:12   #30977  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
I'll also add a hidden option that allows you to keep EAC3 (without core) -- assuming I can make it work. I won't document it in HIDDENOPTS.TXT (so people won't get pissed at me when it fails on another player), but I'll post how to use it here in the bug thread.
As I mentioned, txMuxer will not allow an E-AC3 audio stream to me muxed. So, if you are using tsMuxer to do the muxing, you'll need to find away around the issue.

That said, I greatly appreciate the effort.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2021, 04:19   #30978  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
BDEdit should work with a standard disc created by BD-RB. But if you want to edit any UHD disc, you have to donate to BDEdit and get an updated version. I did, and it is very helpful in developing/debugging/updating UHD support.
Nice to know. No where on the official website is it mentioned that the free version will not do UHD discs and that you need to donate to get the download version that has UHD support. How did you find out about it?
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2021, 10:17   #30979  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Registered User
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 11,999
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVideo View Post
As I mentioned, txMuxer will not allow an E-AC3 audio stream to me muxed...
That's not entirely accurate...

TSmuxerGUI is able to mux E-AC-3 (DD+) audio streams, with or without an AC-3 (DD) core into an .m2ts transport stream. It's just that the Blu-ray disc specification requires all E-AC-3 audio streams to have a DD core.

TSmuxerGUI supports a variety of transport stream muxing environments, it not just for creating Blu-ray discs.
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |
SeeMoreDigital is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2021, 14:12   #30980  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,899
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVideo View Post
Nice to know. No where on the official website is it mentioned that the free version will not do UHD discs and that you need to donate to get the download version that has UHD support. How did you find out about it?
It's discussed in the BDEDIT thread here on Doom9.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.