Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 4th December 2019, 22:09   #58001  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by el Filou View Post
What's the point of doubling 1080 content on a 1080 screen? Wouldn't sharpen/enhance detail do the job for much lower GPU load?
I did this on my plasma and it was beautiful. High quality upscaling and downscaling NGU sharp and SSIM 2D produce a superior image to say just sharpening alone. I used it for all cinema content with no extra sharpening required. You need a good GPU to pull this off.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2019, 04:47   #58002  |  Link
nsnhd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
I did this on my plasma and it was beautiful. High quality upscaling and downscaling NGU sharp and SSIM 2D produce a superior image to say just sharpening alone. I used it for all cinema content with no extra sharpening required. You need a good GPU to pull this off.
Ya, SSIM 2D much better than SSIM 1D. Maybe instead of using SSIM 1D, not using doubling is better.
nsnhd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2019, 05:02   #58003  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,245
Just depends on what sharpening you want at the end of the day. Fire up your favorite content and just watch for comparison. You should be able to determine a preference.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2019, 07:23   #58004  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,753
Quote:
Originally Posted by nsnhd View Post
Ya, SSIM 2D much better than SSIM 1D. Maybe instead of using SSIM 1D, not using doubling is better.
I think the benefit is from doing the sharpening at a the higher resolution. SSIM 2D is sharper than SSIM 1D but using bicubic downscaling is probably better than running the sharpening at the native resolution, assuming you do like the sharpening done at higher resolutions. It can look more natural after downscaling but it also ends up being not as strong.

If you don't want to sharpen at the doubled resolution it is pointless to double and then do a 50% downscale anyway.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2019, 13:27   #58005  |  Link
Siso
Registered User
 
Siso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by nsnhd View Post
Ya, SSIM 2D much better than SSIM 1D. Maybe instead of using SSIM 1D, not using doubling is better.
SSIM 2D is more demanding than SSIM 1D...Can't use it with my 1050 Ti.
Siso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2019, 21:27   #58006  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,056
you can just go into the nvidia control panel and test what you could do at 1440p by activating DSR x1.5 and setting the windows desktop to ~1440p. not 100 % accurate but close enough if you are careful.

this is obviously bad for image quality but that's not the point here.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2019, 03:19   #58007  |  Link
mambans
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 21
I managed to get FSE working without any dropped frames of glitches by disabling v-sync in Madvr and enabling g-sync and v-sync in Nvidia control panel.
mambans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2019, 03:24   #58008  |  Link
WuNgUn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 45
Upscaling 1080p....
Using NGU Standard.
Luma doubling is "medium"
Activate doubling is "always"

Someone help me... Luma is the actual grey scale image...? The resolution?
Because my 1080p video is still outputting at 1080p....
Shoukd it not be 2160p with doubling?
WuNgUn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2019, 03:27   #58009  |  Link
WuNgUn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 45
Or maybe it isn't...?
Scale 0,0,1920,1080 - 0,0,3840,2160
WuNgUn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2019, 03:46   #58010  |  Link
mambans
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 21
Small question, how do save your Madvr settings? Is it enough saving the registry at "Computer\HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\madshi"?
mambans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2019, 08:01   #58011  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,245
AFAIA absolutely everything that's saved in the settings.bin (if madVR has write permission to it's own directory) is also saved under that location in the registry. I like to have the bin file as well and keep that backed up.
You can export the madVR registry location you specified or you can allow write access to madVR's installed folder and have madVR create the settings.bin which you can then copy.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2019, 15:07   #58012  |  Link
mambans
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 21
@ryrynz
Ah oke, I'll also keep both settings.bin and the registry backup.
Thanks for the help.
mambans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2019, 18:33   #58013  |  Link
Morgin187
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 18
Hope someone can help with display modes. I currently have madvr display modes set as 2160p23, 2160p24, 2160p25, 2160p29, 2160p30, 2160p50, 2160p59, 2160p60. but still dont get smooth playback changed all the motion controls on tv but cant it perfect. Also tried the smooth motion options in madvr. My question is, is all content tv shows movies in 23/24hz? anything i watch is shown as 24p on my tv. The resolution changes but the frames per second always stays at 24p. Samsung qled Q9fn with gtx1080 i7 7700k. rendering settings under 35ms
Morgin187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2019, 18:50   #58014  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 810
2160p23, 2160p24, 2160p50, 2160p59, 2160p60 is enough and better, because 25 fps content can be interlaced and by using 25 Hz mode you drop the advantage of motion resolution of 50 Hz of 25fps interlaced content, same for 29/30 and 59/60.
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2019, 18:57   #58015  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 810
And you must decide between the two things:
A) You use refresh rate change with 2160p23, 2160p24, 2160p50, 2160p59, 2160p60
OR
B) You enable smooth motion of madvr and stick with 60 Hz

Try both and stay what you like best, and of course diable all smooth motion interpolation crap of your TV, regardless of the manufacturer.
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2019, 18:58   #58016  |  Link
Morgin187
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 18
Thanx for your reply and help. I'll try using those to see if it makes a difference. Do i need to include other resolutions or do they get included automatically?
Morgin187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2019, 19:05   #58017  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 810
You should only use 3840x2160, because then you let madVR do the scaling and you can take whatever scaling method you like and what your GPU can handle. Other refresh rates are not needed.

By the way, one of my TVs is also a Q9FN with thank god still 1270, do not upgrade your firmware to 1290, disable automatic firmware update now, there is an issue, I contacted Samsung already and they made screensots via Remote control and the Developers get the info. A smaller Samsung of me has already the issue, because it made an autoupdate to 1290 and I recognized the issue. In the meantime just stay with the firmware you have and wait for a fix.

Last edited by Klaus1189; 6th December 2019 at 19:07.
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2019, 19:08   #58018  |  Link
Morgin187
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 18
thanx but too late it automatically updated. i read somewhere else it makes local dimming better. what is the issue your having?
Morgin187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2019, 19:14   #58019  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 810
It only affects pc mode, which you must select of Samsung TVs to get 4:4:4/RGB color shown on the screen, 60 Hz is fine, but when using for example 50 Hz mode then the picture is cut off around (Overscan) and you can not change it in PC mode anymore.
To see the issue, you must set the TV to pc mode first then turn it off and after restart the error uccurs, I called Samsung and talked to them about 45 minutes with a very qualified person and I am pretty sure it will get fixed soon. I couldn't believe not a single one reported that to them, so it took quite long. But really nice that they can go on remote to your TV when there is an issue and take screenshots with OSD info of the TV and so on.
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2019, 19:24   #58020  |  Link
Morgin187
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 18
Buddy your the exact person i need for more info. Im loving the tv and using pc only for gaming and movies/tv shows just trying to get the most out of it. So i use PC mode with rgb full 8bit to get full chroma or 4:4:4. also hdmi level normal or low with one of these settings. With PC mode im losing settings (greyed out) and can only select dynamic or standard. for e.g i like to up the colour a little for more vibrance i'm not able to get it calibrated professionally
Morgin187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.