Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 22nd June 2018, 20:57   #51521  |  Link
mkohman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warner306 View Post
The colors might be oversaturating with it turned off. Enhanced colors produced by BT.2020 (DCI-P3) should be subtle compared to BT.709. The difference in gamut size is only 26%. It all depends on what color space you set your projector to. You should match that in madVR.

It is more likely the gamma is different with calibration controls disabled. When disabled, the gamma defaults to 2.20. When active, I think you are using a 2.40 gamma. Try changing the gamma setting in madVR with calibration controls enabled. It should produce a similar result. You don't have to match the gamma of your projector for HDR -> SDR. And the gamma setting won't impact SDR playback.
Thank you for this.. I will definitely try it

Stupid question.. Is DCI - P3 same as BT2020? When I press ctrl+j to see what madVR is displaying it says BT2020 -> DCI P3 is that what it's supposed to be? Thanks

Sent from my moto g(6) using Tapatalk

Last edited by mkohman; 22nd June 2018 at 21:01.
mkohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd June 2018, 21:44   #51522  |  Link
amichaelt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkohman View Post
Stupid question.. Is DCI - P3 same as BT2020?
No, different colorspaces.

Rec.2020


DCI-P3
__________________
My project BDSup2Sub++: https://github.com/amichaeltm/BDSup2SubPlusPlus
amichaelt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd June 2018, 21:48   #51523  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,890
DCI P3 is not the same as BT 2020 far from it.

it is most likely processing in DCI p3. there is no screen that can do BT 2020 and even DCI p3 is barely doable-
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd June 2018, 21:52   #51524  |  Link
mkohman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
DCI P3 is not the same as BT 2020 far from it.

it is most likely processing in DCI p3. there is no screen that can do BT 2020 and even DCI p3 is barely doable-
Hmmm I see.. Even though my JVC says BT2020 u guess it can only do DCI P3 then....?

Sent from my moto g(6) using Tapatalk
mkohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd June 2018, 21:53   #51525  |  Link
mkohman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by amichaelt View Post
No, different colorspaces.

Rec.2020


DCI-P3
Thank you

Sent from my moto g(6) using Tapatalk
mkohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd June 2018, 22:08   #51526  |  Link
mv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 15
IPTV stops playing after several seconds

Hi guys!

Can anyone please point me in direction of solving following issues.
I'm trying to use MPC-BE + madVR + external LAV filters to watch IPTV from my internet provider (UDP multicast stream).

1 problem is that with some channels, and most disappointing the channel that is broadcasting TV matches, playback stops after several seconds. To be clear - nothing crashes, playback just stops when using madVR as render (with other renders playback doesn't stop).
Other channels seem to work fine. Moreover, after oppening m3u playlist with several channels and switching them back and forth non-working channels seem to start working. Any ideas?
2. Deinterlacing done by madvr produce artefacts on moving objects. Clearly visible with moving text on news channel. Is it unavoidable or maybe I could tweak de-interlacing options somehow?
3. Before playback starts it hiccups for second or two with static picture. Tried to increase-decrease queu size and enable/disable option 'delay playback until render queue is full' but it doesn't help

Thanks!
mv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd June 2018, 23:07   #51527  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,890
are you using d3d11 for decoding?
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2018, 08:47   #51528  |  Link
mkohman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 31
Guys apologies in advance if this is going to ruffle some feathers or if this topic has been discussed before....

My current setup is as below :

HTPC >JVC

My HTPC is set to RGB FULL 444
madVR set to 0-256 10bit
JVC projector set to Enhanced / RGB

LAV filters also set to 0-256

My JVC info panel displays RGB when a movie is being played, however everyone else's seems to be showing YUV???

I have Googled JVC YUV OR RGB and in the images section of Google they all seem to display 12bit colour and YUV where as mine displays 12bit RGB...

I use KODI DSPLAYER with LAV filters which are also set to 0-256.. Basically everything in the chain is set to RGB FULL 4.4.4...

Can someone please tell me if this is correct and if so why does everyone else's displays information tab show the colour space as YUV?

Thanks

Sent from my moto g(6) using Tapatalk


Last edited by mkohman; 23rd June 2018 at 12:37.
mkohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2018, 12:23   #51529  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,890
because you are sending RGB.

changing the settings in lavfilter to RGB is a very very dumb idea leave it at default.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2018, 12:33   #51530  |  Link
mkohman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
because you are sending RGB.

changing the settings in lavfilter to RGB is a very very dumb idea leave it at default.
Thanks but, I think it was at 0-256 by default in lav filter.. shall I change that to 16-235? Also shall I change madvr to 16-235? and keep my HTPC at RGB FULL 4.4.4 and JVC input level Enhanced? Thanks

Sent from my moto g(6) using Tapatalk
mkohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2018, 12:54   #51531  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,890
Quote:
Thanks but, I think it was at 0-256 by default in lav filter.
the point is not this setting alone it doesn't do anything with madVR but with a combination of other settings. but for what ever reason you like to change everything that is fine by default and correct by default.

Quote:
Also shall I change madvr to 16-235? and keep my HTPC at RGB FULL 4.4.4 and JVC input level Enhanced?
sounds wrong to me.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2018, 13:15   #51532  |  Link
mkohman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 31
No offence but what you have just written makes absolutely no sense.. I don't understand what you're trying to say. I am asking a very simple question and in return I got a string of sentences which made absolutely no sense to me.. Sorry..

Sent from my moto g(6) using Tapatalk
mkohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2018, 14:01   #51533  |  Link
littleD
Registered User
 
littleD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkohman
Can someone please tell me if this is correct and if so why does everyone else's displays information tab show the colour space as YUV?
http://madshi.net/htpc/page4.html and consider Ycbcr as yuv for simplicity
littleD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2018, 14:10   #51534  |  Link
mkohman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by littleD View Post
http://madshi.net/htpc/page4.html and consider Ycbcr as yuv for simplicity
Thanks for this. Much appreciated but still no idea which to select for madVR or lav filters? Should they be YCbCr or rgb? Thanks

Sent from my moto g(6) using Tapatalk
mkohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2018, 14:48   #51535  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,890
the YUV or RGB you see at your projector has nothing todo with madVR or lavfilter. it just tells you what the GPU is sending and RGB is fine.

use the default settings for this madVR lavfilter they are there for a reason.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2018, 14:58   #51536  |  Link
mkohman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
the YUV or RGB you see at your projector has nothing todo with madVR or lavfilter. it just tells you what the GPU is sending and RGB is fine.

use the default settings for this madVR lavfilter they are there for a reason.
Thanks

Sent from my moto g(6) using Tapatalk
mkohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2018, 15:16   #51537  |  Link
mkohman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 31
Judging by the images attached below which were both taken from the Kodi Wikipedia Website... I understand that this should be correct :

Desktop set to RGB FULL 4.4.4

madvr set to 0-256

Lav filter and JVC projector set to 16-235

I'll be happy to be corrected if I'm wrong.. Thanks for all the input..

Name:  1.jpeg
Views: 24
Size:  29.4 KBName:  2.jpeg
Views: 24
Size:  35.8 KB

Sent from my moto g(6) using Tapatalk
mkohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2018, 15:27   #51538  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,890
when madVR and the GPU driver are set to full range you need to set your projector to full range. i guess they use the word enhance.

lavfilter has nothing to do with this.

just read this: https://forum.doom9.org/showpost.php...16&postcount=2

attachment need admin approval no one will see them.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2018, 15:37   #51539  |  Link
mkohman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
when madVR and the GPU driver are set to full range you need to set your projector to full range. i guess they use the word enhance.

lavfilter has nothing to do with this.

just read this: https://forum.doom9.org/showpost.php...16&postcount=2

attachment need admin approval no one will see them.
Cool.. Thanks.. So I will leave everything as it is

Everything at FULL..

Cheers

Sent from my moto g(6) using Tapatalk
mkohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2018, 16:42   #51540  |  Link
mv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
are you using d3d11 for decoding?
Same issue with D3D11 or DXVA Copy-Back. But with D3D11 decoding de-interlacing is not enabled for some reason neither in madVR or LAV so switched to DXVA Copy-Back for now.
Tried to encrease buffer size in LAV splitter but thats is not the case.
mv is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.