Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 23rd June 2018, 19:27   #51541  |  Link
Redemption80
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 15
Nvidia users who use custom modes, i know while most people were having issues with the driver rejecting this mode, some were not.

What are other Nvidia users doing now? I pretty much stuck with 390.77 for 6 months but out of curiosity i have been testing 398.11 and again can only use the EDID timings. Saying that, while my OCD dislikes the fact i have went from drops every few days to every 12mins, if im honest i can't say i actually noticed them over the course of average TV show.

Anyone who knows anything about drivers think this is a permanent change to the drivers that we will have to just live with?

Last edited by Redemption80; 23rd June 2018 at 19:34.
Redemption80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2018, 19:50   #51542  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,421
Create modes in the NVIDIA control panel, that works on all driver versions for me.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2018, 20:11   #51543  |  Link
veggav
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 74
Found this statement:

"My main problem with a 4:2:2 transport over HDMI is that a PC is always RGB, and a 4:2:2 transport is YCbCr, so when you play something on a PC the player converts the YCbCr file to RGB, then the graphics card converts it to 4:2:2 YCbCr for HDMI, and the TV again converts it to RGB, its two extra conversions that may (and do) incur extra loss on the image, and has the potential for mis-matching conversion matrices even throwing off your colors entirely."

Is this accurate?
It's impossible to have true YCbCr on PC?
veggav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2018, 20:24   #51544  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,051
not perfectly accurate but close enough.

you can't use YCbCr from source to HDMI on a PC.
the solution is simple just use RGB output.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2018, 20:24   #51545  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,421
Quote:
Originally Posted by veggav View Post
Is this accurate?
It's impossible to have true YCbCr on PC?
This is correct. PCs at least on any configuration that can run madVR are always RGB.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2018, 20:50   #51546  |  Link
veggav
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 74
Thanks
This clears some stuff for me to understand

If I set nvidia control panel to "let colors settings be set by application" I believe this will set color based on my TV edid.

I know about chroma subsampling test to see if it' 4:4:4 or 4:2:0.

Is there a way to know if in this situation my pc is using RGB or YCbCr?
veggav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2018, 21:05   #51547  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,051
just set it to RGB it's not much work.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2018, 22:42   #51548  |  Link
mv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
d3d11 doesn't support deinterlancing that'S why i ask.
can you make a screen of the OSD?
Sure -> https://imgur.com/a/sxqGvCx
That's after ~10-15minutes after the IPTV channel does start playing - which is one time out of 3-5. In most cases is stops after several seconds.
Other channels seem pretty same when looking at OSD but still somehow different because they do start playing without issues.
mv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2018, 23:21   #51549  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,051
nothing deviantly wrong with the OSD.
the only small things i see is the 6-8 queue for decoding and the presentation queue.
the DXVA max spikes look scary.

when deinterlancing is fail does it look the same?
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2018, 00:28   #51550  |  Link
Redemption80
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
Create modes in the NVIDIA control panel, that works on all driver versions for me.
Thanks, never even thought to do try that again

Not that i had an issue sticking with 390.77 as it was working fine for the games i play, but didn't want to stick with it forever and these days video playback and MadVR takes higher priority that gaming for me.
Redemption80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2018, 01:27   #51551  |  Link
Clammerz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by veggav View Post
If I set nvidia control panel to "let colors settings be set by application" I believe this will set color based on my TV edid.
No, that option lets you either override application colours using the sliders below that option, or leaving the colours as the application sends them to the driver.
Strongly suggest you leave that option as "application".

Quote:
Originally Posted by veggav
Is there a way to know if in this situation my pc is using RGB or YCbCr?
What your computer will send over the wire will be whatever you select in the Nvidia control panel "Change Resolution" section under "Output Format".
Strongly suggest you leave it as RGB.
Clammerz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2018, 06:49   #51552  |  Link
x7007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 235
Will there be new Madvr soon ?
x7007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2018, 12:40   #51553  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,913
Yes, some time this year.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2018, 16:21   #51554  |  Link
mv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
nothing deviantly wrong with the OSD.
the only small things i see is the 6-8 queue for decoding and the presentation queue.
the DXVA max spikes look scary.

when deinterlancing is fail does it look the same?
Seems that de-interlacing doesn't really matter. If it is disabled in madVR IPTV playback can also stop.
Tried tinkering with options and to max out CPU queue (128 frames) but nothing helps, playback just stops for some reason.
mv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2018, 19:30   #51555  |  Link
Clammerz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by mv View Post
playback just stops for some reason.
It's been a long time since I played with IPTV streams, but last time I remember the internal stream source of MPC-HC was kind of flakey with UDP streams. Not sure if that's improved over the years.
You could try using VLC as a buffer, demuxing the stream and repacking it in to another format and sending it over another protocol might help.
You could also try making the madVR buffers very small if you haven't already.
Clammerz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2018, 19:43   #51556  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 318
@mv Is there a way to increase the minimum buffer at the start of playback for network streams in your player?
With MediaPortal I had the same issues sometimes on Live TV, playback would sometimes stop like if it had reach end of stream because the player was starved of data. I fixed it by setting a 2 second buffer. It didn't happen only with madVR, but somehow it did occur much more often with it than with EVR.
__________________
HTPC: W10 1803, E7400, NVIDIA 1050 Ti, DVB-C, Panasonic GT60 | Desktop: W10 1803, 4690K, AMD 7870, Dell U2713HM | Laptop: Insider Slow, i5-2520M | MediaPortal 1/MPC-HC, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2018, 19:50   #51557  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,261
I have also noticed better performance with small buffers in madVR, I keep the "number of frames presented in advance" at 3 or 4 and GPU buffers at 4 or 6. I noticed this when I switched to Windows 10 but it doesn't seem to be a universal observation (there don't seem to be any universal observations).

It is a good idea to put "strength during fade in/out" on the same level as "default debanding strength" for reduce banding artifacts (if it is enabled) or keep the trade quality for performance option "don't rerender frames when fade in/out is detected" enabled (recommended anyway, in my opinion).
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2018, 21:21   #51558  |  Link
mv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 15
Thanks for advices guys!

Increased buffer size in LAV splitter (up to 512Mb) and tried increasing/decreasing buffer/queue size in madVR and somehow it did increase overall stability but unfortunately didn't fix the issue completely.
mv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2018, 08:26   #51559  |  Link
ccrys
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 5
Can't see any changes after upscale

Hi to everyone!

I'm trying to use some upscale settings for improving image quality using MPC HC and madvr.

My target is upscale from 720p and 1080p to 2160p.

I used 720p anime and 1080 bluray movie at medium settings and high profile to upscale 2160p but I can't see any changes for image compared to the original.I have a lot of drops frames seems to upscale algoritms working but when i pause and save image as png/bitmap 100% quality (alt+i) at from MPC I don't see any changes.

The screenshots result are identical wich is weird :
source 1920 x 804 (4.2mb) and after uscpale 1920 x 804 (4.2mb);

-1280 x 720 1.88mb (original) and 1280 x 720 1.95mb upscaled.

Another result for 720 source: (print screen)
-3840 x 2160 (720p source) 23.7mb bmp - 3840 x 2160 (720p source) 23.7mb bmp (after upscale)

My setup: Win 10 X64 with last update, latest MPC and madvr;
Intel Skylake i5 6500, 8gb ram, GTX 1050ti 4gb, ssd Samsung 256gb, Samsung TV 55ju7500 2160p resolution 60hz.
Attached Images
    
ccrys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2018, 08:33   #51560  |  Link
ccrys
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 5
Another ss's:
Attached Images
    
ccrys is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.