Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 16th September 2017, 06:03   #45641  |  Link
walstib
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 7
madvr + FSE + JRiver MC23 + 3D MVC

Having issues with the combo of madVr 0.92.3, JRiver MC23, and MVC 3D playback.

I have an nVidia 1080TI (latest drivers), and in order for MVC to work properly, it has to kick into FSE. Unfortunately since Jriver 23, this rarely if ever works. madVr won't switch out of windowed mode. If I use the hotkey to try and kick it into exclusive mode it merely states "exclusive" but does not actually switch.

This is only for 3D MVC playback; if I playback 2D, it does indeed switch.

In JRiver MC22, this was not a problem at all.

JRiver folks seem to not care about this issue; curious if anyone else has had problems with this combo and if not, perhaps you can share settings.

Thanks in advance. Suspect a JRiver MC23 + madVr integration issue, but have no hard evidence of that
walstib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2017, 09:19   #45642  |  Link
ForceX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Not sure how/why MPC-BE should make trouble here when PotPlayer doesn't. Usually with problems like this the media player isn't at fault. But I suppose there's always an exception to every rule.
It seems it has to do with something Microsoft did with their Game Mode implementation in Creator's Update. After doing some research on games stuttering I updated to build 16288 and the issue is mostly gone. Guess PotPllayer uses different code paths that avoided Game Mode hooks being called in FS or something.
ForceX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2017, 12:47   #45643  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,714
You can call GameBar with Winkey + G and disable/enable gamemode for every 3D application.
I btw. downgraded to Win 10 Anniversary Update because of stuttering in games. I guess it's not impossible that the Creators Update could show problems also in conjuction with madVR (however, I didn't experience that).
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2017, 15:13   #45644  |  Link
CruNcher
Registered User
 
CruNcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,949
Quote:
- probably requires Windows 8.1 or Windows 10
What is or should braking the Windows 7 SP1 Platform Update here ?

other D3D11 renderer work also without problems ?

sounds strange that you dont know exactly if it will work why ?
__________________
all my compares are riddles so please try to decipher them yourselves :)

It is about Time

Join the Revolution NOW before it is to Late !

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168004

Last edited by CruNcher; 16th September 2017 at 15:23.
CruNcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2017, 15:34   #45645  |  Link
lvqcl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by CruNcher View Post
What is or should braking the Windows 7 SP1 Platform Update here ?
LAVFilters reqiure Win8+ for D3D11 decoding.
lvqcl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2017, 16:43   #45646  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 528
Quote:
Originally Posted by BetA13 View Post
But, thinking about your question and reviewing my tests, i would say, for me, on my machine, there isnt really a reason for the FSE Mode, (that is, if this "color" thing is a placebo), or if i stumble on something again and FSE would help..

Heres a quote of the guides i was reading back then. (taken from the jriver wiki)

That was kinda also the reason for using it, and the preventing of notifications also is a huge PLUS for me..
FSE mode could give better performance and less glitches on Windows 7, but if it doesn't as per your testing then it doesn't have much advantage over Windowed.
As for that JRiver advice, Windowed more can also present frames in advance (I don't know if it was a limitation when that was written).
For the colours, do you have a calibration profile enabled? That's the only thing I see that could change colours between FSE and Windowed.
Maybe try "Windowed Overlay" mode too?

Quote:
Originally Posted by aufkrawall View Post
You can call GameBar with Winkey + G and disable/enable gamemode for every 3D application.
I btw. downgraded to Win 10 Anniversary Update because of stuttering in games. I guess it's not impossible that the Creators Update could show problems also in conjuction with madVR (however, I didn't experience that).
I initially updated to Creators on ryrynz' suggestion to see if game mode could bring more consistent performance for MediaPortal, but it was the opposite: with Game Mode, just seeking or displaying MediaPortal's OSD or GUI would make playback stutter like mad, sometimes freezing for many seconds.
Edit: I think Game Mode isn't made for processes that need to regularly read and/or write from/to disk, maybe it slows down all storage I/O as that's what slows down games most of the time? Anyway I think it doesn't work for media playback.
Windows couldn't keep Game Mode enabled for MPC-HC no matter how many times I checked "This is a game" and "Remember this as a game" so I couldn't test with MPC-HC, but I ended up disabling Game Mode for MediaPortal and now everything is as good as on Anniversary.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 1809, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, 6.0 speakers Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400, GeForce 1050 Ti

Last edited by el Filou; 16th September 2017 at 16:47.
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2017, 16:55   #45647  |  Link
CruNcher
Registered User
 
CruNcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,949
Quote:
Originally Posted by lvqcl View Post
LAVFilters reqiure Win8+ for D3D11 decoding.
Huh ?

Everything worked under Win 7 before some stuff im reading here about DXVA failing now makes me pretty nervous im pretty unsure to update either lav filters, nvidia drivers nor madvr from this relatively stable state i was in (currenty im in), which suddenly seems broken for so many resulting even in crashes ?

http://i1.sendpic.org/i/9C/9CMQiC1Lm...ybS2E4GOFU.png

Or i gonna try newer lav filter, madvr first and driver update at the very end
__________________
all my compares are riddles so please try to decipher them yourselves :)

It is about Time

Join the Revolution NOW before it is to Late !

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168004

Last edited by CruNcher; 16th September 2017 at 17:11.
CruNcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2017, 17:12   #45648  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,714
You got that totally wrong. D3D11VA is a completely new video API and doesn't affect the state of DXVA2 at all (except that it will be useless at some point, since D3D11VA only has advantages over it, once properly supported).
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2017, 17:36   #45649  |  Link
CruNcher
Registered User
 
CruNcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,949
Idiotic movements someone should start doing a Vulkan Video Renderer and Decoder not following this crap path.
__________________
all my compares are riddles so please try to decipher them yourselves :)

It is about Time

Join the Revolution NOW before it is to Late !

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168004

Last edited by CruNcher; 16th September 2017 at 17:40.
CruNcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2017, 17:44   #45650  |  Link
FDisk80
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Israel
Posts: 162
https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...65#post1816765

Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Ok, thanks, I think I know what this problem is. Please let me know if they next madVR build has still not fixed this.
This is still happening with native mode and v0.92.3. But now it's random and when it does happen the video does not recover, it just freezes and I have to End Task MPC-BE.
FDisk80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2017, 17:51   #45651  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,714
Quote:
Originally Posted by CruNcher View Post
Idiotic movements someone should start doing a Vulkan Video Renderer and Decoder not following this crap path.

DX11 is technically perfectly fine for video on Windows.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2017, 18:51   #45652  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 528
Quote:
Originally Posted by CruNcher View Post
Idiotic movements someone should start doing a Vulkan Video Renderer and Decoder not following this crap path.
How do you access a DXVA texture from Vulkan without workarounds like Copy-Back?
D3D11VA is awesome, once madVR fully supports all its features (it's still missing deinterlacing) we'll have at least the same or better performance as DXVA2 Native, with better quality.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 1809, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, 6.0 speakers Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400, GeForce 1050 Ti
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2017, 19:22   #45653  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,714
Quote:
Originally Posted by el Filou View Post
How do you access a DXVA texture from Vulkan without workarounds like Copy-Back?
He doesn't seem to realize that Microsoft is reponsible for unified video APIs on Windows, and not developers like nev or madshi.
Not to say that LAV Filters and madVR are and will be Windows exclusive anyway.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2017, 22:04   #45654  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,269
Quote:
Originally Posted by walstib View Post
Having issues with the combo of madVr 0.92.3, JRiver MC23, and MVC 3D playback.

I have an nVidia 1080TI (latest drivers), and in order for MVC to work properly, it has to kick into FSE. Unfortunately since Jriver 23, this rarely if ever works. madVr won't switch out of windowed mode. If I use the hotkey to try and kick it into exclusive mode it merely states "exclusive" but does not actually switch.

This is only for 3D MVC playback; if I playback 2D, it does indeed switch.

In JRiver MC22, this was not a problem at all.

JRiver folks seem to not care about this issue; curious if anyone else has had problems with this combo and if not, perhaps you can share settings.

Thanks in advance. Suspect a JRiver MC23 + madVr integration issue, but have no hard evidence of that
I've not had this issue with my 1060 and the latest nVidia drivers. That being said, I'm not using FSE as much these days as I was in the beginning when I first got the card. When I get a free minute I can test this out and reply back. Just an FYI, I've switched to the 64 bit builds, not that it should be relevant to your issue. Although, who knows, worth trying?

EDIT: P. S. Do you have 3D enabled in Windows display settings? If so, you may try turning that off and letting madVR turn it on when needed. There's been some screwy issues with that lately and I ended up disabling it in Windows which solved the problems I was having.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED

Last edited by SamuriHL; 16th September 2017 at 22:08.
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2017, 22:08   #45655  |  Link
Jasch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 35
Hi Madshi, i still canīt get My TV to switch to HDR.
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Oh, I found the reason. It should be fixed in the next build.
For testing i made a new Install Win 10 1703.
AMD RX560 @Crimson ReLive Edition 17.9.1
Lav Nightly 70.2-74
Madvr 92.3

Desktop is set to 1080 Full RGB 4:4:4
Win 10 HDR switch off
(when i use the Win10 HDR switch, TV is switching to HDR)
settings:

https://picload.org/view/dgdarccr/lav.jpg.html
https://picload.org/view/dgdarcil/relive.jpg.html
https://picload.org/view/dgdarcca/madvr1.jpg.html
https://picload.org/view/dgdarccl/madvr2.jpg.html
https://picload.org/view/dgdarcci/madvr3.jpg.html
https://picload.org/view/dgdarccw/madvr4.jpg.html
https://picload.org/view/dgdarcir/madvr5.jpg.html
https://picload.org/view/dgdarcia/madvr6.jpg.html

When Playing HDR content Madvr Overlay shows
https://picload.org/view/rwipgpaw/osd.jpg.html


One other thing maybe its the same Problem.
When i set manual 10bit my AVR info shows 10bit.
When madvr switches to 4k TV stream (Fashion 4K..), it (OSD) shows P010 10bit, but AVR info say 8bit.

Thx for your efforts, if you need more info, let me know.

MfG Alex

Last edited by Jasch; 16th September 2017 at 22:19.
Jasch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2017, 22:12   #45656  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,269
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasch View Post
Hi Madshi, i still canīt get My TV to switch to HDR.


For testing i made a new Install Win 10 1703.
AMD RX560 @Crimson ReLive Edition 17.9.1
Lav Nightly 70.2-74
Madvr 92.3

Desktop is set to 1080 Full RGB 4:4:4
(when i use the Win10 HDR switch, TV is switching to HDR)
settings:

https://picload.org/view/dgdarccr/lav.jpg.html
https://picload.org/view/dgdarcil/relive.jpg.html
https://picload.org/view/dgdarcca/madvr1.jpg.html
https://picload.org/view/dgdarccl/madvr2.jpg.html
https://picload.org/view/dgdarcci/madvr3.jpg.html
https://picload.org/view/dgdarccw/madvr4.jpg.html
https://picload.org/view/dgdarcir/madvr5.jpg.html
https://picload.org/view/dgdarcia/madvr6.jpg.html

When Playing HDR content Madvr Overlay shows
https://picload.org/view/rwipgpaw/osd.jpg.html


One other thing maybe its the same Problem.
When i set manual 10bit my AVR info shows 10bit.
When madvr switches to 4k TV stream (Fashion 4K..), it (OSD) shows P10 10bit, but AVR info say 8bit.

Thx for your efforts, if you need more info, let me know.

MfG Alex
I will admit that I don't know much about the 4k space and HDR yet, but, I do know that MS just pushed an update recently to Windows that defaults HDR to off. You probably know this but just in case, make sure it's enabled in Windows. If you have, my apologies for butting in where I don't know what I'm talking about. LOL
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2017, 22:14   #45657  |  Link
oddball
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,262
@Madshi

Still does not auto switch to HDR on AMD. I have to switch manually in Win10 display settings.
Still does not work in fullscreen exclusive mode (washed out colors).

EDIT: Just need to add that if I have 10 bit on in MadVR and 10 bit set in AMD display settings colorspace is wrong when playing 8 bit videos (everything is oversaturated). I have to manually set either the AMD display settings to 8 bit. Or MadVR to 8 bit in the display properties or use BT202 in MadVR calibration settings (close but not perfect doing it that way though) when both AMD and MadVR are set to 10 bit.

I need for MadVR to do all this switching automatically.

Last edited by oddball; 16th September 2017 at 22:32.
oddball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2017, 22:15   #45658  |  Link
Jasch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by el Filou View Post
D3D11VA is awesome, once madVR fully supports all its features (it's still missing deinterlacing) we'll have at least the same or better performance as DXVA2 Native, with better quality.
For me, deinterlacing is working if i use DX11 CB.
In LAV use DXVA11 and choose you GPU -> CB
Automatic -> native
Jasch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2017, 22:18   #45659  |  Link
Jasch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post
I will admit that I don't know much about the 4k space and HDR yet, but, I do know that MS just pushed an update recently to Windows that defaults HDR to off. You probably know this but just in case, make sure it's enabled in Windows. If you have, my apologies for butting in where I don't know what I'm talking about. LOL
It should be off, if i quote Madshi right.
If its on all non HDR Material has wrong Color.
Jasch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2017, 22:18   #45660  |  Link
oddball
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post
I will admit that I don't know much about the 4k space and HDR yet, but, I do know that MS just pushed an update recently to Windows that defaults HDR to off. You probably know this but just in case, make sure it's enabled in Windows. If you have, my apologies for butting in where I don't know what I'm talking about. LOL
It was always off for me. Anyhow I do not want HDR always on as it will completely screw up non-HDR video colorspace. I only want it on for HDR video playback.

The other issue is if I set my display to 10 bit then 8 bit colorspace gets screwed up in MadVR. Really I need MadVR to do all the switching for 8/10 bit and HDR sources.
oddball is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.