Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 2nd August 2018, 14:29   #51921  |  Link
khanmein
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 118
The issue of FSE on MPC-HC is not fixed yet in 398.82!
khanmein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2018, 14:49   #51922  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,796
FSE has practically been discontinued in Windows 10. Its being emulated by the OS instead of being "real". It would be best to just give it up in favor of Independent/Direct Flip modes.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2018, 14:52   #51923  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 837
i'm super happy with the current version of MADVR, anything added at this point is just gravy, just hoping AMD can fix my two main driver bugs, blown reds on all 23,976 SDR material and HDR toggle no longer triggering from MADVR, on AMD drivers after 18.3.4 - I have workarounds though, everything else works a treat.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2018, 17:53   #51924  |  Link
foozoor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
FSE has practically been discontinued in Windows 10. Its being emulated by the OS instead of being "real". It would be best to just give it up in favor of Independent/Direct Flip modes.
WTF! People are still using FSE in 2018! Yes, it's time to evolve a bit.
foozoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2018, 19:27   #51925  |  Link
brazen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 227
Probably be rather difficult to use 3D frame packed without FSE no? HDR as well, no? Without FSE enabled in madVR, the mode doesn't switch for me.
__________________
HOW TO-Kodi 2D-3D-UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W10 1903 9604GB RGB 4:4:4 @Matched Refresh Rates 8,10,12bit
KODI MPC-HC/BE PDVD19 DVDFab 3 & 5
65JS8500 UHD HDR 3D
brazen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2018, 22:34   #51926  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,285
That's not universally true. I did 3D in windowed mode and now do HDR in windowed mode on Windows 10. There's not a lot of consistency about what works for some and not for others unfortunately.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2018, 23:09   #51927  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,796
Quote:
Originally Posted by brazen1 View Post
Probably be rather difficult to use 3D frame packed without FSE no? HDR as well, no? Without FSE enabled in madVR, the mode doesn't switch for me.
3D and HDR both work in Windowed mode. FSE is no fundamental requirement for basically anything anymore on Windows 10, since Independent Flip gives the application almost full control of whats being rendered.
Of course this is theoretical, that is not to say that madVR may need some more work to fully adapt to what is required to handle all this.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders

Last edited by nevcairiel; 2nd August 2018 at 23:11.
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2018, 02:19   #51928  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,846
which nvidia just broke.

nothing wrong with adding newer better presenation mode but that doesn't change that FSE is and will still be required in the near future even newer games are not made with dx 11 or directx at all. just have a look at older unity engine games which doesn't support FSE and the major problems because of this...

and the major advantage of FSE which is now generally gone in windows 10 was that nothing was displayed in from of it. ohh your disk is "nearly" full let's tell you even through this is no problem at all on top of a FSE surface.

windows 10 is a regression for HTPC mostly for intantionally breaking FSE.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2018, 02:20   #51929  |  Link
iSeries
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 603
FSE absolutely works better for me on Win10 1803. However, windowed worked better for me on Win10 1709.

Windowed for me on 1803, the reported refresh rate in MadVR keeps jumping around. With FSE, it's rock solid. (Nvidia 1050ti)
iSeries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2018, 03:35   #51930  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,285
I've yet to try FSE on 1803 with HDR. I'm still getting my feet wet in the UHD world. The limited amount of titles I've played so far all seem to work fine in Windowed mode but i'm driving it at 8bit not 12. I've not had time yet to sit down and really play with madvr. I'm kind of in the same boat as jmone waiting for the next version that hopefully contains a fix for subtitle rendering. Right now I'm still using the last version that worked which is a fair bit behind. Has anyone played with the latest nVidia driver yet? I've not had time to install it and see what it breaks, er, I mean, fixes this time. LOL
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2018, 04:20   #51931  |  Link
khanmein
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
FSE has practically been discontinued in Windows 10. Its being emulated by the OS instead of being "real". It would be best to just give it up in favor of Independent/Direct Flip modes.
Alright, noted.
khanmein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2018, 05:06   #51932  |  Link
foxyshadis
ангел смерти
 
foxyshadis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lost
Posts: 9,413
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
which nvidia just broke.

nothing wrong with adding newer better presenation mode but that doesn't change that FSE is and will still be required in the near future even newer games are not made with dx 11 or directx at all. just have a look at older unity engine games which doesn't support FSE and the major problems because of this...

and the major advantage of FSE which is now generally gone in windows 10 was that nothing was displayed in from of it. ohh your disk is "nearly" full let's tell you even through this is no problem at all on top of a FSE surface.

windows 10 is a regression for HTPC mostly for intantionally breaking FSE.
That's largely because of the fact that windowed fullscreen is a better experience in virtually every scenario. I agree with you, I'm a fan of isolation, but when a mass of gamers speaks (and VERY loudly speaks) that they want the benefits of windowed fullscreen that looks like exclusive, then the driver writers are going to provide it for them. At this point, they've been working within WFS to implement most of the benefits of FSE, anyway, so we're starting to reap that without being a slave to crappy monitor scaling too.
__________________
There are four boxes to be used in defense of liberty: soap, ballot, jury, and ammo. Please use in that order.
foxyshadis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2018, 05:11   #51933  |  Link
QBhd
QB the Slayer
 
QBhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by iSeries View Post
FSE absolutely works better for me on Win10 1803. However, windowed worked better for me on Win10 1709.

Windowed for me on 1803, the reported refresh rate in MadVR keeps jumping around. With FSE, it's rock solid. (Nvidia 1050ti)
The exact same for me. 1803 was a big step backwards.

QB
__________________
QBhd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2018, 05:34   #51934  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,846
Quote:
Originally Posted by foxyshadis View Post
That's largely because of the fact that windowed fullscreen is a better experience in virtually every scenario. I agree with you, I'm a fan of isolation, but when a mass of gamers speaks (and VERY loudly speaks) that they want the benefits of windowed fullscreen that looks like exclusive, then the driver writers are going to provide it for them. At this point, they've been working within WFS to implement most of the benefits of FSE, anyway, so we're starting to reap that without being a slave to crappy monitor scaling too.

when did gamer every cry about it? it was a choice in the past now it isn't really one anymore. some games worked a lot better with FSE and some worked bad with it.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2018, 09:46   #51935  |  Link
tony359
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 64
Hi there,
I have a few minor issues since I've updated to 1803 and to the latest madVR 0.92.14


1. madVR does not move a scope picture at the bottom of the screen anymore. I have "automatically detect hard coded black bars" and "always shift the image" enabled.

(edit: I remembered having the same issue before and searched the forum: it does not work with DXVA native! Thanks!)


2. When I switch from exclusive to windowed mode, there is a long delay (usually it was almost instantaneous, only the first time after switching on the set it would take a few seconds). But mostly, when the picture reappears, it's frozen -the audio never stops - and eventually restarts in sync after 4-5 seconds.

I have uninstalled and reinstalled madVR and the player (MPC-HC) to no avail.

Any suggestions?
madVR is definitely working, I have a 3D lut file which is visibly enabled and if I change other parameters, I can see the picture changing.

Thank you!

Last edited by tony359; 3rd August 2018 at 09:51.
tony359 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2018, 10:44   #51936  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 837
no FSE, no 3D or HDR for me on AMD CARD WIN 10 1709 - although...I havent tested this for a while, perhaps latest AMD drivers which no longer trigger HDR might actually work in window mode with the new drivers, i hadnt though of though, Ill test this later tonight.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2018, 16:08   #51937  |  Link
Weirdo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by tony359 View Post
When I switch from exclusive to windowed mode, there is a long delay (usually it was almost instantaneous, only the first time after switching on the set it would take a few seconds). But mostly, when the picture reappears, it's frozen -the audio never stops - and eventually restarts in sync after 4-5 seconds. I have uninstalled and reinstalled madVR and the player (MPC-HC) to no avail.
Must be a few weeks (or months) that I that have (almost) the same problem that is, when switching from normal to exclusive mode too. Also, the syncing takes place after 10 seconds (old video card). I guess it's caused by a recent Windows update.

Some say "oh don't use FSE in W10" but exactly what is the alternative? Do OS notifications stop automatically when in full-screen mode or there's always the risk of interruptions?
__________________
Win 10 Pro x64
Weirdo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2018, 19:45   #51938  |  Link
thighhighs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 50
You have all Windows 10 focus assist features disabled? It fix "frozen video" for me.
thighhighs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2018, 00:10   #51939  |  Link
tony359
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 64
must be Windows 1803 as my main PC is doing exactly the same and I have recently updated to 1803.

thighhighs, on my main PC the focus assist feature is already disabled but I experience the same delay - thanks for your input though.
tony359 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2018, 04:15   #51940  |  Link
jaytrinitron
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 13
MPC-HC and Vapoursynth Integration?

Hello, sorry if I posted this in the wrong place as it is only tangentially linked to madvr, but this does relate to @madshi. I was wondering whether it is possible to somehow "hook" vapoursynth into mpc-hc or madvr or something, similar to how ffdshow "hooks" avisynth scripts into mpc-hc. I stumbled across this thread after some quick googling: https://github.com/vapoursynth/vapoursynth/issues/305

Am I to take this thread to mean somehow vapoursynth scripts can be implemented into mpc-hc/madvr? Can anyone shed some light on this?
jaytrinitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.