Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 9th April 2019, 21:58   #55661  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 837
i got nowhere with amd and this, and MADSHI doesnt have a contact at AMD to deal with issues like he can sometimes with NVIDIA, i just calibrate to BT2020 and it fixes it for me, none of this makes sense, i've discussed this in detail.

Anyway, its not a MADVR issue so we shouldnt discuss it here, go to the general thread.
__________________
OLED EF950-YAMAHA RX-V685-Win101809-4K 444 RGB 60hz-AMD RX580 19.9.2
KODI DS - MAD/LAV 92.14/0.74.1 - 3D / DIRECT3D11 / MADVR 10bit

Last edited by mclingo; 9th April 2019 at 22:03.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2019, 01:19   #55662  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,117
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunset1982 View Post
yes, exactly the same
Might as well complain again to AMD. You could send that link as a summary. It sounds like it isn't that hard to reproduce. It must not effect all AMD cards.
Warner306 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2019, 10:02   #55663  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 837
the general user wont see this though as they probably wont refresh rate match, it also only happens at sub 60hz resolutions, plus it doesnt happen if I put my TV in PC mode, not sure what that is either.
__________________
OLED EF950-YAMAHA RX-V685-Win101809-4K 444 RGB 60hz-AMD RX580 19.9.2
KODI DS - MAD/LAV 92.14/0.74.1 - 3D / DIRECT3D11 / MADVR 10bit
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2019, 10:54   #55664  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,468
What's the proper settings in madVR to output SDR content (including HDR2SDR pixelshader) to a DCPI-3P capable display?
- now I checked the "report bt2020 to display (nvidia only)" option for all SDR and HDR content (LG B8)
- set display to calibrated (until I'll create 3dluts)
- set DCPI-3P, pure power curve, 2.20 (in calibration tab) (and changing the gamma if it's needed)
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(2160p@23/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)

Last edited by chros; 10th April 2019 at 15:52.
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2019, 11:56   #55665  |  Link
madjock
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 221
see Warners signature.
__________________
Windows 10-1903 | i5-3570k | GTX 1070 Windforce OC Rev2 8GB : 430.64 | Yamaha RX-V377 | Philips 65PUS6703 - 65"
madjock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2019, 15:13   #55666  |  Link
Bl4ze87
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 11
Hello, there's a way to change color/dim the brightness of external subtitle while playing hdr file?
Bl4ze87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2019, 16:11   #55667  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,468
Quote:
Originally Posted by madjock View Post
see Warners signature.
Thanks and Warner as well, it seems I thought well:
"Notes:
- When BT.709 is converted to BT.2020 or DCI-P3, it is simply placed in a larger container for the display, which shouldn’t lead to any oversaturation of BT.709 content. So it is safe to choose BT.2020 or DCI-P3 for both SDR and HDR content if your display color profile matches this setting;
- Output in DCI-P3 may require report BT.2020 to display (Nvidia only) is checked under calibration due to the fact most displays will be expecting a BT.2020 input despite only covering all or part of the DCI-P3 color space."


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bl4ze87 View Post
Hello, there's a way to change color/dim the brightness of external subtitle while playing hdr file?
This is not the responsibility of madVR but the player, e.g. MPC-HC / Be (you can do this in them).
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(2160p@23/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2019, 16:25   #55668  |  Link
Bl4ze87
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by chros View Post
This is not the responsibility of madVR but the player, e.g. MPC-HC / Be (you can do this in them).
The change doesn't affect hdr file.
I ve already a greysh color for subtitle that works normally with all kind of file, except the hdr one
Bl4ze87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2019, 17:14   #55669  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 837
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bl4ze87 View Post
The change doesn't affect hdr file.
I ve already a greysh color for subtitle that works normally with all kind of file, except the hdr one
indeed if I calibrate for BT2020 in MADVR it doesnt change HDR titles at all, only SDR sub 60hz
__________________
OLED EF950-YAMAHA RX-V685-Win101809-4K 444 RGB 60hz-AMD RX580 19.9.2
KODI DS - MAD/LAV 92.14/0.74.1 - 3D / DIRECT3D11 / MADVR 10bit
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2019, 17:38   #55670  |  Link
madjock
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 221
https://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=259188


Most 4K UHD displays have separate display modes for HDR and SDR. Calibration settings in madVR only apply to the display's default SDR mode. BT.2020 HDR content is passed through unless a special setting in hdr is enabled such as converting HDR to SDR.
__________________
Windows 10-1903 | i5-3570k | GTX 1070 Windforce OC Rev2 8GB : 430.64 | Yamaha RX-V377 | Philips 65PUS6703 - 65"
madjock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2019, 21:19   #55671  |  Link
VBB
Registered User
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bl4ze87 View Post
The change doesn't affect hdr file.
I ve already a greysh color for subtitle that works normally with all kind of file, except the hdr one
Assuming your HDR files are REMUX, they all come with PGS subs, which are bitmap and not text based. Unfortunately, you cannot change them. Bothers me as well.
__________________
Henry

LG OLED65C7P | VIZIO M70-C3 | Denon AVR-X3500H | Elac Uni-Fi | Elac Debut 2.0 SUB3030
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 | LAV Filters | madVR | MPC-HC | Plex | X-Rite i1Display Pro | DisplayCAL | HCFR
VBB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2019, 21:32   #55672  |  Link
yok833
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 73
Hi,

I have an LG OLED 2017 and i would like to know if the last experimentals builds of madvr and measurment file can improve the tone mapping of my tv or is it mainly reserved for videoprojector ?

What would be the right "min target / real display peak nits" for an oled ?

Do I need tick "output video in HDR format" ?

With the settings of my tv do I need to turn off the "dynamic contrast" to let madvr tone mapping do is job ?
yok833 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2019, 21:35   #55673  |  Link
VBB
Registered User
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by chros View Post
What's the proper settings in madVR to output SDR content (including HDR2SDR pixelshader) to a DCPI-3P capable display?
- now I checked the "report bt2020 to display (nvidia only)" option for all SDR and HDR content (LG B8)
Should be enough to put the OLED in "wide" mode. No need to check "report BT.2020...". "Wide" is the LG's native gamut. Really best to do this with LUTs, though. Calibrate with the TV in "wide", then create a LUT for all available SDR slots in madVR.
__________________
Henry

LG OLED65C7P | VIZIO M70-C3 | Denon AVR-X3500H | Elac Uni-Fi | Elac Debut 2.0 SUB3030
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 | LAV Filters | madVR | MPC-HC | Plex | X-Rite i1Display Pro | DisplayCAL | HCFR
VBB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2019, 21:38   #55674  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,670
I also have a 2017 LG OLED and madVR's tone mapping can improve HDR but it is impossible to turn off LG's tone mapping, if they end up interacting it can cause issues (clipping is the most obvious).

I use ~600 nits (this is close to but not quite a max brightness), and you do need to tick "output video in HDR" if you want the TV to go into HDR mode. If you do see clipping you can turn down madVR's target nits.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2019, 23:51   #55675  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,117
Are the highlights all turning white (ending up squished), or simply being compressed to a lower brightness? Does it work with brighter movies like Mad Max Fury Road when you set the target nits to something higher like 1,000 nits?

Clipping should imply the display is reading the metadata as being lower than it actually is (e.g. 500 nits) and it is cutting off some pixels (e.g. 500-600 nits). I don't think that is supposed to happen with PQ tracking that can hit 600 nits. That would be more like an internal display conversion to some type of gamma curve that is omitting some information.

Last edited by Warner306; 10th April 2019 at 23:58.
Warner306 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2019, 00:52   #55676  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,206
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
but it is impossible to turn off LG's tone mapping
It is possible with the 8 series and above though yeah?
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2019, 10:28   #55677  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,468
Quote:
Originally Posted by VBB View Post
Should be enough to put the OLED in "wide" mode. No need to check "report BT.2020...". "Wide" is the LG's native gamut.
Thanks, I didn't get that far yet, I have other issues I use Auto now, and it correctly switches to bt.2020 mode with "report BT.2020..." checked.

Quote:
Originally Posted by VBB View Post
Really best to do this with LUTs, though. Calibrate with the TV in "wide", then create a LUT for all available SDR slots in madVR.
I don't think that's necessary: I only want to create 1 3dlut for DCI-P3 slot and madVR will do all the necessary conversions. (Actually I'll create 2 for this: 1 for night and 1 for day usage and switching them in a script using hardlinks.)

Quote:
Originally Posted by yok833 View Post
I have an LG OLED 2017 and i would like to know if the last experimentals builds of madvr and measurment file can improve the tone mapping of my tv or is it mainly reserved for videoprojector ?
No, you can use it with any SDR capable display as well (e.g. with your oled).
Whether it's better than the TV's conversion, that I don't know, you have to judge this. 1 thing for sure, since you want to use your TV in SDR mode, you will treat your TV better (way lower oled light setting).

Quote:
Originally Posted by yok833 View Post
What would be the right "min target / real display peak nits" for an oled ? Do I need tick "output video in HDR format" ?
Go back couple of pages on that thread, multiple users attached screenshots of their settings (based on their real display nits).

Quote:
Originally Posted by yok833 View Post
With the settings of my tv do I need to turn off the "dynamic contrast" to let madvr tone mapping do is job ?
In general, you want to turn off every "stupid" TV processing/feature, including the mentioned one as well; but leave RealCinema On.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
It is possible with the 8 series and above though yeah?
No, you can't.
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(2160p@23/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2019, 11:50   #55678  |  Link
If6was9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warner306 View Post
Is your issue triggered similar to this post:

https://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php...748#pid2788748
It's not a bug (or at least not from AMD), why send 10bit to the display in SDR?
"The more there is the better", it does not always go well ...
Are you sure your panels are 10bit real?

I with my PJ 10bit, after several tests, I chose to always go out in 8bit plus dithering (in madVR and AMD gpu), the work done by madVR with dithering is above to 10bit: No banding

To use 10bit, you must have the whole chain that supports them 100% (HDMI port protocols, HDMI cables with sufficient bandwidth, and first of all the display)

Last edited by If6was9; 11th April 2019 at 13:12.
If6was9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2019, 13:24   #55679  |  Link
Solitaire01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 3
So I know I may be the outlier here, but I've come to determine the least problematic config for my 2070 is to have madvr set to pass through HDR but disabled passing meta data, followed by manually engaging the PS HDR as necessary. This last step I may script with autohotkey at some point.

The results appear every bit as good as they did prior to this driver debacle -- No perceptible difference in dynamic or colour range.

...?

Cheers!
Doug
Solitaire01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2019, 13:36   #55680  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,843
@If6was9

using up to 12 bit input support is a default feature on nearly all TV for over 6 years now.

in a perfect world even if your panel is 6 bit sending 10 bit wouldn't be worse at all. while i agree that blindly using 10 bit is not best for picture quality simply because far more TV produce bending with 10 bit input then not it has to work.

a GPU driver that is changing the colors of the image just by switching between 8 bit and 10 bit renderer is clearly not working properly.

how should someone write a color critical application with that behaviour?

intel and nvidia doesn't do this so they either both workaround an windows bug or the issue is at AMD.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.