Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD & BD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 1st August 2009, 14:04   #4301  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,670
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharc View Post
Will the .mkv workaround also help with hybrid progressive / interlaced VC-1 sources (as often found in the Extras)? That would be great.

(Is there a specific reason why not to use eac3to for the conversion? It has solved audio sync issues which I posted in the past)
I don't know -- in hundreds of discs I don't think I've seen a hybrid progressive/interlaced VC-1 source. What I had seen reported before turned out not to be when I scanned the files and found no pulldown flags. It was field-based interlaced. Can you point one out? It would probably end up with audio sync issues...
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 1st August 2009 at 14:09.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2009, 14:11   #4302  |  Link
tekmobile
Webmaster
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Are you telling me that it is 99% field-based interlaced? That just sounds really unlikely. If it is normal interlaced, there shouldn't be an issue. If there is an issue, the "**" will be shown next to fps in the source list. If it isn't there, it should decode/reencode without any problems.
As far as I can remember apart from a couple of extras then yes they are all like this.

I will rip it again to test the MKV workaround that may have been found.
tekmobile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2009, 14:15   #4303  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,670
Quote:
Originally Posted by tekmobile View Post
As far as I can remember apart from a couple of extras then yes they are all like this.

I will rip it again to test the MKV workaround that may have been found.
Hang on for a while and you can use the new version (probably later today).
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2009, 15:05   #4304  |  Link
Sharc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,726
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
I don't know -- in hundreds of discs I don't think I've seen a hybrid progressive/interlaced VC-1 source. What I had seen reported before turned out not to be when I scanned the files and found no pulldown flags. It was field-based interlaced. Can you point one out? It would probably end up with audio sync issues...
You may perhaps want to try these VC-1 clips - I am not sure about the frame structure, but after all they caused problems unless I decoded them with DG....NV tools:
http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?rt4djjjjwam
http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?dg0dmmlziun
Sharc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2009, 15:31   #4305  |  Link
Capsbackup
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,995
@Jake802;
What OS are you using? Is it Windows 7, Vista, XP?
If you are using W7, let us know.
If you have Vista or XP, try installing Windows Media Player 11.
Also, try setting ffdshow video decoder for VC-1 to WMV9.
This worked for me for Watchmen.
Capsbackup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2009, 15:44   #4306  |  Link
Capsbackup
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,995
@jdobbs;
Does BD-RB support Windows 7?
I seem to remember reading back a ways BD-RB, and its support software, has not yet supported W7, which, if true, may explain the decode issues of late.
Capsbackup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2009, 16:43   #4307  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,670
Quote:
Originally Posted by Capsbackup View Post
@jdobbs;
Does BD-RB support Windows 7?
I seem to remember reading back a ways BD-RB, and its support software, has not yet supported W7, which, if true, may explain the decode issues of late.
No. I don't plan to spend any time attempting Windows 7 compatibility until I know Windows 7 isn't the source of potential problems. That probably means when it is actually released.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2009, 16:44   #4308  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,670
Quote:
Originally Posted by Capsbackup View Post
@Jake802;
What OS are you using? Is it Windows 7, Vista, XP?
If you are using W7, let us know.
If you have Vista or XP, try installing Windows Media Player 11.
Also, try setting ffdshow video decoder for VC-1 to WMV9.
This worked for me for Watchmen.
I've found that if you have WMP 11 installed it is better to set the decoder to "disabled". That's the only setting that allows the WMV11 codec to be used.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2009, 17:01   #4309  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,670
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharc View Post
You may perhaps want to try these VC-1 clips - I am not sure about the frame structure, but after all they caused problems unless I decoded them with DG....NV tools:
http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?rt4djjjjwam
http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?dg0dmmlziun
Didn't check the frame structure, but playback/reencoding appears to work with the new MKV conversion procedure.

Cool... this has been a sore spot for me for quite some time.

BTW... this makes me suspect that it wasn't the CODEC that was at fault at all. It could be the way Matroska Splitter works with M2TS files. Don't know for sure, as there's always the possibility that the stream in altered in the conversion -- but both the WMV11 and WMV9 CODECs work when the same stream is put into an MKV container, and fails if you put it back into an M2TS.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 1st August 2009 at 17:18.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2009, 17:23   #4310  |  Link
tekmobile
Webmaster
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Didn't check the frame structure, but playback/reencoding appears to work with the new MKV conversion procedure.

Cool... this has been a sore spot for me for quite some time.

BTW... this makes me suspect that it wasn't the CODEC that was at fault at all. It could be the way Matroska Splitter works with M2TS files. Don't know for sure, as there's always the possibility that the stream in altered in the conversion -- but both the WMV11 and WMV9 CODECs work when the same stream is put into an MKV container, and fails if you put it back into an M2TS.
I wonder if trying to decode the extracted raw VC-1 stream would work the same without putting it into a MKV container don't know if its ever been tried yet but it would save an extra step if its wasn't required.
tekmobile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2009, 17:55   #4311  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,670
Quote:
Originally Posted by tekmobile View Post
I wonder if trying to decode the extracted raw VC-1 stream would work the same without putting it into a MKV container don't know if its ever been tried yet but it would save an extra step if its wasn't required.
I'm not aware of anything that decodes a .vc1 file directly. Of course that doesn't mean it doesn't exist -- just that I haven't seen it (there are more things on heaven and earth than are dreamt of in my philosophy).
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 1st August 2009 at 17:57.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2009, 18:09   #4312  |  Link
Jake802
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
When you configure FFDSHOW, what do you have selected as the decoder for VC-1?
It currently says wmv9? What should it be? Sorry guys I thought I had said earlier I am using Windows 7,I didn't think about it because this is the first time Ive had this type of problem. Win 7 64bit? FFDShow is VC-1 is set to wmv9.

Last edited by Jake802; 1st August 2009 at 18:12.
Jake802 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2009, 18:15   #4313  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,670
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jake802 View Post
I realize my Green Lantern BluRay doesnt need to be done. The point I was making was I ran it through the program and the program actually ran it didnt just sit there so I figured it was something to do with Watchmen. Thanks Though!
I'm running "Watchmen" right now -- and there doesn't seem to be any issues...
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2009, 18:23   #4314  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,670
BD Rebuilder v0.26.01 (beta)

I just posted a link to the newest release of BD-RB (v0.26.01) in the first post of this thread. Changes for this version:
Code:
- Added MKVMERGE.EXE and supporting code within
  BD-RB to enable reencoding of VC-1 field-based 
  sources, now no BD-5/9 backups will be blanked 
  automatically, and these streams will be reencoded
  rather than copied for BD-25.  My thanks to 
  apophis906 for pointing me in the right direction.
- Corrected a bug in which secondary audio was being
  kept even when "PROCESS_SECONDARY=" is set to "0".
- Made changes to the way in which STN tables are
  updated when "PROCESS_SECONDARY=" is set to "0". 
- Added code to automatically adjust the source path 
  when someone selects BDMV or STREAM directories.  
  Some folks who have gotten accustomed to certain 
  other packages just have a hard time understanding 
  where the source path BD structure actually starts.
- Corrected an issue in which the type and sample
  frequency of removed audio was sometimes not be 
  updated properly in the STN table of the MPLS.
- Made an additional adjustment to CRF estimation to
  make it slightly more accurate.
- Corrected error "00011, PredictandEncode(), 2810"
  that can occur on certain sources.
- Changed the SAR on 720x480 and 720x576 sources. It
  has reported that the new settings solve widescreen
  playback issues.
- Modified the error reporting for "Audio/PGS sizing
  Issue" (when the audio/pgs that is kept makes the
  output too large to fit what is required).  Now it
  only is reported on sources greater than 5 minutes.
  Others continue with fixed CRF.  Note that if you
  have a source that consists of a LOT of < 5 minute
  sections and you are keeping more audio than should
  fit (very unlikely) you may see oversizing.
- Other minor corrections and cosmetic fixes.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 1st August 2009 at 18:27.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2009, 18:43   #4315  |  Link
Jake802
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
I'm running "Watchmen" right now -- and there doesn't seem to be any issues...
I dont know what Im doing wrong Ive never had any issues before...oh well!
Jake802 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2009, 19:06   #4316  |  Link
chudm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 182
i did watchmen with 25.04 without problems!, ill try new beta with the bourne trilogy
chudm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2009, 19:17   #4317  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,670
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jake802 View Post
I dont know what Im doing wrong Ive never had any issues before...oh well!
Have you upgraded to Windows 7 recently or changed your FFDSHOW settings?
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2009, 19:52   #4318  |  Link
Jake802
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 114
No I have been on Windows 7. I dont recall changing my FFDShow Settings But I Did a System Restore and it shows I did. I am gonna start by uninstalling FFDShow completely...back track a little I think.
Jake802 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2009, 22:33   #4319  |  Link
jbecerril
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2
Well I still have problems with Fast and Furious no matter what I do. I went to my ffdshow video config to change vc-1 to use decoder wmv9. BD-RB still says Encoding Failed. What are my other options?.
jbecerril is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2009, 23:35   #4320  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,670
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbecerril View Post
Well I still have problems with Fast and Furious no matter what I do. I went to my ffdshow video config to change vc-1 to use decoder wmv9. BD-RB still says Encoding Failed. What are my other options?.
Open up the AVS file that fails (with Media Player) and see what error you get. 10 to 1 it's a configuration issue, though. Remove everything, go back to the first post of this thread, download and install specifically the versions of Haali and FFDSHOW that are there, and then reinstall BD-RB.

Then once it's configured and running, don't update or reconfigure Haali or FFDSHOW. That's typically where the problems start. It's also not unusual for "other" software to reconfigure your system without your knowledge when it installs (which is just plain rude).
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 1st August 2009 at 23:50.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.