Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 AVC / H.264

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 18th April 2010, 04:36   #21  |  Link
Dark Shikari
x264 developer
 
Dark Shikari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8,688
Quote:
Originally Posted by MyCometG3 View Post
Humm.

To make single pass + smaller gop size works better, limiting qpmin seems to be one choice, I guess.

Currently QuickTime's default Key frame interval (used as keyint) is 24, it is too smaller value compared to rc_lookahead's default value.
If default keyint is larger value like 120 or so, rc_lookahead perfectly controls each frame's qp. But it is not for now.
Under this restriction (as common QuickTime Component), limiting QP-min value seems to be one of resonable solution.

Well-known user always changes, but novice user may not change. It is easy to overshoot on this case.
rc-lookahead doesn't even affect frame QP except in the case of VBV mode... and an rc-lookahead of 24 is quite fine enough for that.
Dark Shikari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2010, 04:36   #22  |  Link
Blue_MiSfit
Derek Prestegard IRL
 
Blue_MiSfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5,732
@Adub:
Yes, it absolutely is. It works almost everywhere that any other QuickTime component would. Strangely it crashes AJA VTRXchange (A simple capturing app for AJA's Kona cards).

@MyCometG3
I think you're a bit misguided in trying to mimic QuickTime. Why optimize around the corner case of short GOPs? I would bet the vast majority of people use the default max keyint of 250, as it's a well chosen number and x264 is highly adaptive in frametype decision.

I would VERY MUCH prefer if the defaults precisely mirrored x264cli, and the slider adjusted the --preset. This would make things a lot more familiar to us daily x264 users, as it's much closer to how other x264 GUIs have done things. Also, adjusting the --preset is basically the only adjustment most folks make (in addition to bitrate) between encode.

Having the slider adjust --qp-min doesn't make sense at all, because this value should almost NEVER be adjusted. Unless you think you're smarter than x264

~MiSfit

Last edited by Blue_MiSfit; 18th April 2010 at 10:01.
Blue_MiSfit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2010, 04:52   #23  |  Link
MyCometG3
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 35
Mapping preset as q-slider seems to be good idea.

But q-slider is analog, and no way to feedback what preset is specified. Also it seems to require re-design dialog, because under crf mode preset is specified in complex dialog.

If user doesnot see common compression dialog, it is easy though.

To achive all of request, user can not use common movie export component... Behaving as quicktime component seems to be not smart.

EDIT - I guess just ignoring slider is simple but best solution for ABR. Planed to implement on next update.

Last edited by MyCometG3; 18th April 2010 at 10:58.
MyCometG3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2010, 22:50   #24  |  Link
Adub
Fighting spam with a fish
 
Adub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,685
@Blue_MiSfit
Thanks for the info! Looking forward to getting my Macbook Pro and testing this out.
__________________
FAQs:Bond's AVC/H.264 FAQ
Site:Adubvideo
Adub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2010, 00:30   #25  |  Link
MyCometG3
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 35
Update: 1.2.6 - r1564

x264Encoder Version 1.2.6 is now available at:
- http://www003.upp.so-net.ne.jp/mycometg3/

Based on libx264.a r1564.

When abr, q-slider is ignored by default now.
MyCometG3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2010, 01:02   #26  |  Link
Blue_MiSfit
Derek Prestegard IRL
 
Blue_MiSfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5,732
Excellent!

I've always been confused as to how CRF mode worked in your QuickTime component.

If I set CRF mode in the config page, where do I enter the CRF number I want to use? Based on a previous post of yours, I see that the quality slider adjusts the CRF number - at least it did at one point. Is this still the case? If so, I assume moving the slider to the right will lower the CRF value, correct?

~MiSfit
Blue_MiSfit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2010, 03:22   #27  |  Link
MyCometG3
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue_MiSfit View Post
I assume moving the slider to the right will lower the CRF value, correct?
Yes.

Datarate:automatic runs as crf.
Datarate:any value runs as abr.

exeption: if you checked lossless, datarate/slider are ignored.
MyCometG3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2010, 20:35   #28  |  Link
porfitron
DivX Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: San Diego
Posts: 18
Very cool, MyCometG3.

Just tried it out with iMovie on Snow Leopard. Generally, I use auto-leveling, but do you think it would be possible to let users set to level 4.0 (you skipped up to 4.1).

I ask because our DivX Plus HD profile is 4.0: http://developer.divx.com/docs/divx_...ion_with_x264/

Also, is there a way to get it to export in a container other than MOV? It's very simple to mux to MKV with MKVtoolnix or MP4 with Subler, but if it is possible directly from iMovie/Quicktime I would like to know how.

Again, very nice work! Thanks!
__________________
I lurk @ DivX Labs: labs.divx.com | DivX Developer info: developer.divx.com | Our Free H.264 Decoder: DivX Plus
Follow @DivXLabs on Twitter for Software Updates, Betas, and More
porfitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2010, 14:54   #29  |  Link
MyCometG3
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by porfitron View Post
but do you think it would be possible to let users set to level 4.0 (you skipped up to 4.1).
Currently, it is limited to a few levels. I am not sure, but 4.0 seems to have little difference from 4.1. (VCL value only?)
Anyway, I can mod my code to add support 4.0 in addition to 4.1.

Quote:
Originally Posted by porfitron View Post
Also, is there a way to get it to export in a container other than MOV? It's very simple to mux to MKV with MKVtoolnix or MP4 with Subler, but if it is possible directly from iMovie/Quicktime I would like to know how.
I do not know any export component for mkv.
MPEG Streamclip works with mp4, but no support for mkv.

No plan to mkv exporter in next DivX for Mac?
MyCometG3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2010, 07:46   #30  |  Link
MyCometG3
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 35
Update: 1.2.7 - r1570

x264Encoder Version 1.2.7 is now available at:
- http://www003.upp.so-net.ne.jp/mycometg3/

Based on libx264.a r1570.

Support many levels now.
MyCometG3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2010, 09:07   #31  |  Link
smok3
brontosaurusrex
 
smok3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,395
i still need a short guide for dummies:
a. what do i clicky to get crf23 going &
b. what to clicky to get crf21 going (with default profile)?
(readme/docs stuff are totaly useless btw)

thanks for your work!
smok3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2010, 11:32   #32  |  Link
MyCometG3
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 35
CRF value takes analog values. Try log info checkbox.
Console log shows what crf value is specified when slider is changed.
MyCometG3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2010, 15:10   #33  |  Link
Gser
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 415
Oh I sooo would have needed this a year and a half ago. Thank Apothis that I will never need to use a Mac again.
Gser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2010, 18:49   #34  |  Link
creamyhorror
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by MyCometG3 View Post
CRF value takes analog values. Try log info checkbox.
Console log shows what crf value is specified when slider is changed.
No instant indicator for CRF value?

Keep up the good work!
creamyhorror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2010, 12:33   #35  |  Link
Mug Funky
interlace this!
 
Mug Funky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: i'm in ur transfers, addin noise
Posts: 4,555
hey, mycometg3! love your work - x264encoder has been a bit of a workhorse at my last workplace for about a year - much better for delivering proofs to clients than apple's crap colour-tainted stupid slow bad quality encoder.

perhaps a little textbox in the settings dialog that maps to the quality slider would help relieve the confusion. and if it's possible, the ability to set a crf in the textbox and have it change the position on the slider?

interesting about streamclip having mp4 output... i had been making movs and using applescript and some bash with mp4box to handle the mp4 creation after encoding.
__________________
sucking the life out of your videos since 2004
Mug Funky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2010, 00:24   #36  |  Link
MyCometG3
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 35
Update: 1.2.8 - r1583

x264Encoder Version 1.2.8 is now available at:
- http://www003.upp.so-net.ne.jp/mycometg3/

Based on libx264.a r1583.

Fix crash issue. Numeric field for crf is now available.
MyCometG3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2010, 20:29   #37  |  Link
porfitron
DivX Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: San Diego
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by MyCometG3 View Post
Fix crash issue. Numeric field for crf is now available.
You totally fixed the crash issue

Encoding some stuff now... I'll let you know what happens.
__________________
I lurk @ DivX Labs: labs.divx.com | DivX Developer info: developer.divx.com | Our Free H.264 Decoder: DivX Plus
Follow @DivXLabs on Twitter for Software Updates, Betas, and More
porfitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2010, 20:37   #38  |  Link
Blue_MiSfit
Derek Prestegard IRL
 
Blue_MiSfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5,732
Awesome! This keeps getting better and better!!
Blue_MiSfit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2010, 04:17   #39  |  Link
creamyhorror
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 118
MyCometG3, you're a real example to us. Thanks for implementing suggestions, and so quickly.

(Now someone needs to write a blurb about doing CRF encoding for all the QT users out there, so they know there's an alternative to 2-pass...)
creamyhorror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2010, 23:21   #40  |  Link
MyCometG3
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 35
Update: 1.2.9 - r1602

x264Encoder Version 1.2.9 is now available at:
- http://www003.upp.so-net.ne.jp/mycometg3/

Based on libx264.a r1602.

Support fake-interlaced.
MyCometG3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
mac os x, quicktime, x264encoder

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.