Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > VP9 and AV1

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 19th June 2020, 03:21   #1  |  Link
benwaggoner
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,977
Demos of AV1 + DRM?

Has anyone made a demo or test content of AV1 with DRM? Like a DASH adaption set with Widevine Level 1 & 3?

I understand how it should work, but can't seem to find anyone who has done or seen a proof of concept.
__________________
Ben Waggoner
Principal Video Specialist, Amazon Prime Video

My Compression Book
benwaggoner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2020, 04:02   #2  |  Link
Blue_MiSfit
Derek Prestegard IRL
 
Blue_MiSfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5,872
Hmm. Looks like Shaka packager should support this https://github.com/google/shaka-pack...3e89786a73a1b0

Should be no different from packaging any other codec in fMP4 with either CTR or CBCS (hopefully the latter). I've never tried tho
Blue_MiSfit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd June 2020, 16:19   #3  |  Link
benwaggoner
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,977
Yeah. I don't see much evidence that anyone has tried DASH adaptive streaming with AV1 + DRM yet.
__________________
Ben Waggoner
Principal Video Specialist, Amazon Prime Video

My Compression Book
benwaggoner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2021, 09:35   #4  |  Link
Balling
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 169
VP9 also uses so called profile 4 for DRM.
Balling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2021, 20:20   #5  |  Link
Blue_MiSfit
Derek Prestegard IRL
 
Blue_MiSfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5,872
Any context on that? I'm not aware of any reason why the encoding settings would need to change to be compatible with DRM?
__________________
These are all my personal statements, not those of my employer :)
Blue_MiSfit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th September 2021, 11:10   #6  |  Link
Balling
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue_MiSfit View Post
Any context on that?
Just this: https://stackoverflow.com/questions/...ideo-on-google
Balling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th September 2021, 18:32   #7  |  Link
benwaggoner
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,977
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue_MiSfit View Post
Any context on that? I'm not aware of any reason why the encoding settings would need to change to be compatible with DRM?
The encoding settings shouldn't need to change, correct.

I was (15 months ago!) looking for a test package to test AV1 DASH with DRM on different devices.
__________________
Ben Waggoner
Principal Video Specialist, Amazon Prime Video

My Compression Book
benwaggoner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
av1, dash, drm, widevine

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.