Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 19th July 2018, 21:45   #51761  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,572
I have no idea. It just did.

I opened madVR's settings while in 60Hz, double clicked the 23 Hz mode, selected my EDID, test, save. Then put 2160p23 in madVR's list of display modes and madVR switches to it perfectly.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2018, 21:51   #51762  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,572
Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
(several seconds of blackness at the beginning of every video) gets buried under tons of issues which don't touch me; I may even abandon it...
Do you have to use Full Screen Exclusive for some reason?

Also, attitude check please. Are you sure "I don't care about these updates for others, so why spend time on them? My specific issue is not being fixed, so I will stop using it unless you fix it" is what you intended to convey?

I am sure you do not need to use madVR, it is your loss of quality.
__________________
madVR options explained

Last edited by Asmodian; 19th July 2018 at 21:56.
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2018, 21:54   #51763  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,165
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
I have no idea. It just did.

I opened madVR's settings while in 60Hz, double clicked the 23 Hz mode, selected my EDID, test, save. Then put 2160p23 in madVR's list of display modes and madVR switches to it perfectly.
Nifty! Well, I'll try again. I'm likely to DDU that machine and install a clean driver given the upgrade so I'll have a fresh start. I no longer have to worry about 3D so...
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2018, 22:58   #51764  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,875
@Asmodian:

This issue happens even in windowed mode.

And, well, you are right, it's just my issue, I may not even really need madVR, I may be all happy with e.g. EVR, often watching videos in windowed mode only. I don't want to make it sour for all other users. Sorry all. ... I just wondered if a separate thread for users with "luxury hardware" may have been useful. Not anymore, too late for splitting.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid

Last edited by LigH; 19th July 2018 at 23:00.
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th July 2018, 02:07   #51765  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,572
That is quite strange. This happens with all video modes? D3D9 Overlay too? With and without D3D11 enabled? Which GPU?

Do you have Aero disabled?
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th July 2018, 05:56   #51766  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,706
Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
And, well, you are right, it's just my issue, I may not even really need madVR, I may be all happy with e.g. EVR, often watching videos in windowed mode only. I don't want to make it sour for all other users. Sorry all. ... I just wondered if a separate thread for users with "luxury hardware" may have been useful. Not anymore, too late for splitting.
no one stops you from creating a thread.

you only mean a black video the rest is "normal" so the player controls are still visibile?
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th July 2018, 07:39   #51767  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,875
For the first ~5 seconds, the video renderer stays black, but the clip in general plays as you can hear from the dubbed audio, and the player window around the renderer rectangle (menu, controls, window border) is visible too; after the initial blackness, the video is visible, even if you stop and jump back to the beginning. So it just seems to have an initialization delay per clip, after opening the file, for the first playback start.

And yes, Aero Glass is disabled, I have an Aero Basic design (due to a few ancient applications which would force a switch to Aero Basic each time they start).
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th July 2018, 07:49   #51768  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,166
But what about the other options Asmodian mentioned? Almost sounds like something in memory interfering with the presentation.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th July 2018, 07:57   #51769  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,875
GeForce GT(S?) 450; the delay happens only with madVR, not with e.g. EVR or Overlay renderer; regarding the madVR rendering options, I will have to check in detail when I'm back home...
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th July 2018, 08:43   #51770  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,398
LigH, can you repeat which os, player, madvr settings do you use?
I don't have any issues on Win8.1, fse, 10bit.
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(2160p@23/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th July 2018, 08:45   #51771  |  Link
ABDO
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by waldnebel View Post
On Samsung TVs there's a special display mode to simulate HDR effects on SDR content called HDR+. It is used together with a function called optimal contrast.


Can we get such a feature for madVR? I guess those calculations done on the TVs are pretty low in quality?
i don't know what exactly Samsung TV do, but i always use 2006 (hdragc) filter for something like that with unbelievable result, it is slow, as it is did not hav MMX, SSE, SSE2 optimization, in some day (Didée) and (martin53) says that they will make an speed alternative to (hdragc) but unfortunately it does not see the light, it is nice dream to see something like that in madvr someday, but madshi already have a huge work in madvr.

Last edited by ABDO; 20th July 2018 at 08:49.
ABDO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th July 2018, 11:09   #51772  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 780
Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
For the first ~5 seconds, the video renderer stays black, but the clip in general plays as you can hear from the dubbed audio, and the player window around the renderer rectangle (menu, controls, window border) is visible too; after the initial blackness, the video is visible, even if you stop and jump back to the beginning. So it just seems to have an initialization delay per clip, after opening the file, for the first playback start.

And yes, Aero Glass is disabled, I have an Aero Basic design (due to a few ancient applications which would force a switch to Aero Basic each time they start).
I use KODI DS and MPC-BE and have very similar issues, however when in KODI ds, if I choose to play the same video via the internal player is starts straight away.

I've asked this myself before and was told it was fairly normal, MADVR is just starting up essentially, it may have to switch pixel/res and engage, take a few seconds. Yeah it can be a bit annoying if you are resuming a video but I've just got used to it and it no longer bothers me.

I'm also using D3D11 , FSE and windowed mode in KODI DS, it also does it in MPC-BE though so its nothing to do with that.

MADSHI could look at this i'm sure but with all the other issues that need sorting I can understand why its a low priority.

! remember though, nobody is paying MADSHI for this MADVR loveliness beyond donations so lets try and keep everything civil, however i've also been guilty of being frustrated and a bit offhand in the past and have had to be reminded of this myself.

Have you logged it as a bug?

http://bugs.madshi.net/view_all_bug_page.php
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th July 2018, 14:35   #51773  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,706
Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
For the first ~5 seconds, the video renderer stays black, but the clip in general plays as you can hear from the dubbed audio, and the player window around the renderer rectangle (menu, controls, window border) is visible too; after the initial blackness, the video is visible, even if you stop and jump back to the beginning. So it just seems to have an initialization delay per clip, after opening the file, for the first playback start.

And yes, Aero Glass is disabled, I have an Aero Basic design (due to a few ancient applications which would force a switch to Aero Basic each time they start).
madVR and literal every other rednerer will not work proerply without aero.

can you make a screen of the OSD?

@mclingo
windowed and FSE are multali exclusive to each other...
ligh said only thevideo IN player get black not the whole screen which has nothing todo with madVR.
the black screen from FSE is a GPU driver/screen thing as is changing refreshrate it will take as long as the screen will take to do it.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th July 2018, 14:59   #51774  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 780
@HUHN - if the video being played is in full screen then it is the whole screen isnt it?, anyway, you're in a far better position technically to help with this, i'll bow out of this one.

Cheers.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th July 2018, 15:06   #51775  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,706
it would be nice if you could make it clear if the screen is changing mode or not.

refreshrate changing will always create a blackscreen and switching between fullscreen windowed and FSE too.

you said you tried it with MPC-BE. so how does that this look? only the video window of mpc be or the whole screen?
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th July 2018, 16:21   #51776  |  Link
brazen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 224
I too get the black screen while audio is playing for a few seconds. FSE vs windowed makes no difference. (Sometimes video playback is started and I can see it and then it flashes again. I don't what is occurring during the 'next' black screen flash) I turned off 'launch files in fullscreen' in MPC-HC so I could determine if the entire panel was going black or just the player. It's not just the player. The entire panel goes black. It's happening during automatic refresh rate change. Once the change is made, the video displays but not until then. This seems perfectly normal to me. What needs to happen is for the player to delay playback until the rate change is completed. I suppose different displays take different timing for the rate change but I'd guess about 4 seconds would cover most if not all. Switching into modes like 3D or HDR may add even more time on top of the rate change. We should also take into account the order in which software is deployed. If the player was last in line, it would give madVR a head start to fulfill its refresh rate command before playback started. (this is why controlling refresh rate switch from madVR is more efficient than letting the player control it) Maybe an additional command in madVR to 'delay video playback'. But madVR might be dependent on the player before it can execute anything? Ultimately, a setting in the player to 'delay video playback' for x amount of m/secs might be the best cure? Undoubtedly, that is not going to be adopted. Any ideas how to stall the player until refresh rate and mode changes have occurred?

I've already tried switch to matching display mode when it goes fullscreen or when video starts. That makes no difference fwiw. Also, you may have noticed it takes a few seconds AFTER playback to return to original resolution and rate. Lastly, delay switch to exclusive mode helps a bit but I remember in the past it was problematic with something specific in my usage and I'm too old to remember exactly what it was. Trying it again until I realize what that was. Delay start until queue is full doesn't seem to help either. As a matter of fact, it's completely broken for me. Player starts paused and pressing play does nothing. Could be it's not harmonious with some other setting I have someplace though? No idea. I'm using 385.28 GPU driver, W10 1803, and latest madVR, LAV Filters, and MPC-HC fwiw. ISO vs MKV makes no difference either. Of interest, FAB Player and PDVD start audio and video simultaneous after rate change.
__________________
HOW TO-Kodi 2D-3D-UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W10 1903 9604GB RGB 4:4:4 @Matched Refresh Rates 8,10,12bit
KODI MPC-HC/BE PDVD19 DVDFab 3 & 5
65JS8500 UHD HDR 3D

Last edited by brazen1; 20th July 2018 at 16:50.
brazen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th July 2018, 16:35   #51777  |  Link
nussman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by brazen1 View Post
It's happening during automatic refresh rate change. Once the change is made, the video displays but not until then. This seems perfectly normal to me.
It is "perfectly normal"!

Imho changing the refresh rate is nothing that should by done by the renderer, but its difficult for player and renderer to offer this option for all use cases.

A few seconds black sreens seems to be a good compromise for me ...
nussman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th July 2018, 16:38   #51778  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,706
mpc-hc -> options -> playback -> fullscreen -> delay

edit: i have a screen that does it in about 200 ms this is a screen issue.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th July 2018, 16:59   #51779  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 780
I guess the easiest way to test the hypothesis that this is a screen issue is to setup madvr to play with same res / resfresh as your desktop so it doesnt have to change anything.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th July 2018, 17:02   #51780  |  Link
brazen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 224
I really don't mind the black screen either. I've become used to it yet I cringe every time it happens and noticed it really bothers others. As for the 'delay' setting in MPC, it's greyed out when you don't use the player to do the rate switching and are using madVR to control it instead. Also, I think 'delay' is going to delay the rate change itself which sort of exasperates the problem unless I'm mistaken which I often am.
__________________
HOW TO-Kodi 2D-3D-UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W10 1903 9604GB RGB 4:4:4 @Matched Refresh Rates 8,10,12bit
KODI MPC-HC/BE PDVD19 DVDFab 3 & 5
65JS8500 UHD HDR 3D
brazen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.