Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 18th December 2016, 00:50   #41581  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,640
xy subfilter and assfilter mod are using the "new subtitle interface" if you care about correct colors in subtitles than this is needed.

rendering complex subtitles at UHD is kind of impossible without assfilter mod.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2016, 01:18   #41582  |  Link
Oguignant
Registered User
 
Oguignant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
xy subfilter and assfilter mod are using the "new subtitle interface" if you care about correct colors in subtitles than this is needed.

rendering complex subtitles at UHD is kind of impossible without assfilter mod.
Thks, I appreciate the help. It's my weekend of "learning to use madvr"
__________________
"To infinity, and beyond!"
Oguignant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2016, 01:29   #41583  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,528
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oguignant View Post
On my tv, when I use 4k 60mhz resolution per hdmi, the noise reduction and mpeg noise reduction are disabled. I do not know why.

The noise reduction by nvidia works only if i choose nvidia cuvid as hardware decoder?

In the panel of nvidia, I always use the options of noise reduction and edge enhancement, by the media player. And Use inverse telecine enabled. It's okay like this? Or should I enable it to do it nvidia?
I don't have much experiance with those features, sorry. I always disable them. I am not interested in real time noise reduction and believe the resulting picture is usually worse than without it.

madVR will bypass all of Nvidia's video (damage) algorithms unless using DXVA2 decoding, I am not sure about CUVID. You can try turning on denoising in Nvidia's control panel to see if you like the resulting picture more.

Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
rendering complex subtitles at UHD is kind of impossible without assfilter mod.
I really like assfilter mod. It has been working perfectly for me and I appreciate the performance and that the correct calibration is applied to subtitles. It did help with some issues I had with xysubfilter and UHD subtitles.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2016, 01:39   #41584  |  Link
Georgel
Visual Novel Dev.
 
Georgel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Bucharest
Posts: 196
Is it possible to use madVR on a very noisy source to smooth out the noise but keep sharpness on edges?

Something like watching horriblesubs rips which are TV rips, and are very very noisy but to at least lower the noise but keep edges clean (?)
Georgel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2016, 01:39   #41585  |  Link
Oguignant
Registered User
 
Oguignant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
I don't have much experiance with those features, sorry. I always disable them. I am not interested in real time noise reduction and believe the resulting picture is usually worse than without it.

madVR will bypass all of Nvidia's video (damage) algorithms unless using DXVA2 decoding, I am not sure about CUVID. You can try turning on denoising in Nvidia's control panel to see if you like the resulting picture more.



I really like assfilter mod. It has been working perfectly for me and I appreciate the performance and that the correct calibration is applied to subtitles. It did help with some issues I had with xysubfilter and UHD subtitles.
I enabled them and saw no difference. So I leave them disabled. Only activate "Use inverse telecine".

For now I will continue to use internal subtitle render. Work fine for me. I have very little uhd content (only 10 or 15 uhd movies, and almost 400 fhd) I do not find where to download uhd content from torrent.

Note: I learned how to use the profiles. Wow surprisingly helpful.
__________________
"To infinity, and beyond!"

Last edited by Oguignant; 18th December 2016 at 01:42.
Oguignant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2016, 01:44   #41586  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,640
Quote:
Originally Posted by Georgel View Post
Is it possible to use madVR on a very noisy source to smooth out the noise but keep sharpness on edges?

Something like watching horriblesubs rips which are TV rips, and are very very noisy but to at least lower the noise but keep edges clean (?)
these are not TV rip (forum rules) and they are not noisy and if there is noisy there is a reason for that.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2016, 02:15   #41587  |  Link
Georgel
Visual Novel Dev.
 
Georgel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Bucharest
Posts: 196
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
these are not TV rip (forum rules) and they are not noisy and if there is noisy there is a reason for that.
Was using it as an example since I avoid watching anything like a TV rip (better buy Blu Rays for anime that you really love), but there are series where the whole series has a bit of grain / noise over that I would still want to try and filter out.
Georgel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2016, 02:32   #41588  |  Link
plasma
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Georgel View Post
Was using it as an example since I avoid watching anything like a TV rip (better buy Blu Rays for anime that you really love), but there are series where the whole series has a bit of grain / noise over that I would still want to try and filter out.
Use ffdshow raw video filter as external filter under mpc hc. It renders the image before madvr. It has some decent denoising option.

After you denoised the image with its options you can use the madvr settings such as nnedi3, edge thinning and (very little adaptive sharpen). ngu can amplify input artefacts
plasma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2016, 07:47   #41589  |  Link
Oguignant
Registered User
 
Oguignant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 181
Hdr passthrough

The hdr passthrough option does not work yet? My TV (lg oled 65ef9500) when it detects HDR content, activates HDR Mode (netflix, anazon, and local playback). But not with madvr. Why?
__________________
"To infinity, and beyond!"
Oguignant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2016, 08:16   #41590  |  Link
Q-the-STORM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oguignant View Post
The hdr passthrough option does not work yet? My TV (lg oled 65ef9500) when it detects HDR content, activates HDR Mode (netflix, anazon, and local playback). But not with madvr. Why?
It passes through HDR, but it doesn't send the HDR infoframe, which activates HDR on your TV.... for now, you'd need another device the send the HDR infoframe, like the HDfury Integral...

if I remember correctly, madshi said he's going to implement/fix it once the APIs are public... until then, madshi can't do anything...
Q-the-STORM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2016, 08:25   #41591  |  Link
Oguignant
Registered User
 
Oguignant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by Q-the-STORM View Post
It passes through HDR, but it doesn't send the HDR infoframe, which activates HDR on your TV.... for now, you'd need another device the send the HDR infoframe, like the HDfury Integral...

if I remember correctly, madshi said he's going to implement/fix it once the APIs are public... until then, madshi can't do anything...
Oh, okay. Netflix has problems with hdr content, it does not look good. Amazon had the same problem, but I already solve it. I have no trouble viewing hdr content. Hdr is still in diapers.
__________________
"To infinity, and beyond!"
Oguignant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2016, 09:30   #41592  |  Link
cork_OS
Registered User
 
cork_OS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Minsk (Blr)
Posts: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by Georgel View Post
Is it possible to use madVR on a very noisy source to smooth out the noise but keep sharpness on edges?

Something like watching horriblesubs rips which are TV rips, and are very very noisy but to at least lower the noise but keep edges clean (?)
"Reduce ringing artifacts" madVR filter only removes haloing, not mosquito noise. So you shold try deringing & mosquito noise reduction Avisynth filters.
__________________
I'm infected with poor sources.
cork_OS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2016, 11:53   #41593  |  Link
SweetLow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
FAQ:
A) FreeSync / G-SYNC
For perfect motion smoothness, we want the display to show each video frame for *EXACTLY* the right amount of time, which is usually 1000 / 24.000 * 1.001 = 41.708333333333333333333333333333 milliseconds.
Just to be precise. You are right in case of ordinal (or pull) play mode. In case of live sources (or push mode) even exact and standard video rate from source is not our exact rate.
SweetLow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2016, 13:02   #41594  |  Link
Georgel
Visual Novel Dev.
 
Georgel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Bucharest
Posts: 196
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasma View Post
Use ffdshow raw video filter as external filter under mpc hc. It renders the image before madvr. It has some decent denoising option.

After you denoised the image with its options you can use the madvr settings such as nnedi3, edge thinning and (very little adaptive sharpen). ngu can amplify input artefacts
Thank you!

I will give it a shot!

Quote:
Originally Posted by cork_OS View Post
"Reduce ringing artifacts" madVR filter only removes haloing, not mosquito noise. So you shold try deringing & mosquito noise reduction Avisynth filters.
Yes, something like mosquito noise is what I was seeing (didn't know the term before)

Thanks a lot for your help!
Georgel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2016, 21:48   #41595  |  Link
StinDaWg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 216
I have these resolutions set for madVR to switch to... 1080p23, 1080p24, 1080p25, 1080p50, 1080p59, 1080p60

If I'm using ffdshow raw (for SVP) madVR always switches to 1080p23 if the source fps is 29.97 or 30. I do not have this issue when I'm not using ffdshow raw.

If I use the MPC-HC built in switcher with ffdshow raw instead of madVR it works fine.

Has anyone seen this happen before?

I would just use MPC-HC switcher, but it doesn't work properly with madVRs film mode deinterlace. It doesn't switch to 23 hz.

Last edited by StinDaWg; 18th December 2016 at 21:51.
StinDaWg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2016, 02:22   #41596  |  Link
Oguignant
Registered User
 
Oguignant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 181
Agradecimiento desde Argentina

A productive weekend learning to use madvr and its wonderful functions. I want to thank all the members of this forum who took the time to answer all my questions. All very friendly.

Thanks again.
__________________
"To infinity, and beyond!"
Oguignant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2016, 04:37   #41597  |  Link
Oguignant
Registered User
 
Oguignant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 181
NNEDI3 or NGU?

Hello! I have a question. For upscaling from 2k to 4k, who does a better job? NNEDi3 or NGU? These days I was told that NGU was better with 4k native, so I did not use it for upscaling to 4k, but I have my doubts. I do not know when to choose NGU or NNEDI3.

NGU i can use it as "very high" to image/chroma upscaling. But nnedi3 only 128 n max.
__________________
"To infinity, and beyond!"
Oguignant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2016, 10:58   #41598  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,138
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oguignant View Post
Hello! I have a question. For upscaling from 2k to 4k, who does a better job? NNEDi3 or NGU? These days I was told that NGU was better with 4k native, so I did not use it for upscaling to 4k, but I have my doubts. I do not know when to choose NGU or NNEDI3.
It's up to you to decide. Once again, It's personal preference based on your content, your display and your eyes. There is no "best"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oguignant View Post
NGU i can use it as "very high" to image/chroma upscaling. But nnedi3 only 128 n max.
Higher isn't better. Please don't use use NNEDI3 128 neurons for chroma, it contributes to climate change.

Last edited by ryrynz; 19th December 2016 at 11:01.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2016, 11:28   #41599  |  Link
Oguignant
Registered User
 
Oguignant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
It's up to you to decide. Once again, It's personal preference based on your content, your display and your eyes. There is no "best"



Higher isn't better. Please don't use use NNEDI3 128 neurons for chroma, it contributes to climate change.
Maybe I ask wrong. I want to know what difference there is between each one. And also, for example, if instead of using "neddi3 d 128 q 32", it is the same to use "NGU high". Understand what I say? If with "NGU high" I get the same results, in performance terms I win, because "NGU high" is faster for me. "Different ways get the same result."

climate change? are you kidding?
__________________
"To infinity, and beyond!"
Oguignant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2016, 11:40   #41600  |  Link
hannes69
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
Please don't use use NNEDI3 128 neurons for chroma, it contributes to climate change.
Yeah, it also contributes to climate change using GPUs like many here which are drawing more power alone than my whole desktop computer system including the monitor... Maybe power is way too cheap in many countries...
It is definitely a question of efficiency. Is it efficient to invest 500% more power to gain 0.5% better picture quality
The trend here is obvious: Spending as much money as one wants for a certain GPU and then maxing the load (90% until frames are dropping). And if max drawing algorithms arentīt possible, throw away the half year old GPU and buying a new one. Reminds me sometimes of the gaming scene, there obviously it seems very important to get 500 frames per second for certain games, for whatever thatīs good for.
I think for the people who are so proud of their GPU handling 256 neuron NNEDI3 luma and chroma quadrupling thereīs some need for the possibility of 512 neuron octopling
No offense, only a way of thinking about that.
hannes69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.