Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 1st May 2017, 08:41   #43561  |  Link
Ginnoji
Registered User
 
Ginnoji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 2
How to pass through HDR metadata on Windows 10 1703

This is how I was able to get HDR videos to pass through the HDR metadata to my TV:

Software used:
madVR v0.91.9
LAV Filters 0.69.0-44
MPC-HC 1.7.11.13 x64
Nvidia display driver 381.89
Windows 10 1703

Nvidia Control Panel:
http://i.imgur.com/M5KxTx3.png

Windows 10 System settings:
http://i.imgur.com/23Mp535.png

Media player Windows properties:
http://i.imgur.com/CMDgYy2.png

madVR settings:
http://i.imgur.com/qoR6NV6.png
http://i.imgur.com/XpRAzbx.png
http://i.imgur.com/4Pl6Rk1.png

Image quality was similar to the TV's internal media player.
Choosing Nvidia's API or Microsoft's API didn't seem to have an impact on image quality.
I used a 980 Ti to conduct the above test.
Ginnoji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2017, 09:49   #43562  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,452
Operating System? Nvidia driver version? Screenshot of madvr OSD during playback (ctrl+j)?
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2017, 10:06   #43563  |  Link
creativeopinion
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by sneaker_ger View Post
Operating System? Nvidia driver version? Screenshot of madvr OSD during playback (ctrl+j)?
Windows 7, x64
Nvidia Driver version: 381.89, release date 25/04/2017
OSD: https://www.sendspace.com/file/gkrisg
creativeopinion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2017, 11:53   #43564  |  Link
mueslibrown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 22
Creators update applied yesterday - all working fine for me ...

JRiver MC22 22.0.97
Nvidia GTX 980
Madvr 0.91.8
Geforce 381.65
Lav Nightly 0.69.0-44
mueslibrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2017, 12:17   #43565  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,192
Also just updated to Creators, changed NV control panel back to adaptive, re added the custom 24hz mode and it's running beautifully.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2017, 16:50   #43566  |  Link
Knight77
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 54
Hi guys, semi-OT here: my HTPC is using a GTX1070, let's say 99% just for madvr/Kodi and music. My Nvidia drivers are ones of a January release and everything works fine, should I update anyway or since everything is running well just let it be? What's your opinion on this topic?
Knight77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2017, 16:54   #43567  |  Link
Knight77
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by creativeopinion View Post
Hi!

I'm not sure if my settings are correct but when playing HDR content my picture mode doesn't change so it stays at cinema pro. I thought it will automatically switch to HDR mode but please feel free to correct me if I'm wrong here. Thanks!

Sony KD55-9305XD
Nvidia GeForce 1070
Latest madVR 91.9
MPC-HC nightly version: 1.7.10.296

madVR is setup -> tv -> hdr -> passthrough HDR content to the display -> send HDR metadata to the display -> use Nvidia's private API
Same video card and same TV (mine is 65XD9305 but shouldn't make any difference) and everything works fine with those settings. Maybe is the video file?
Knight77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2017, 17:28   #43568  |  Link
lunnar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by creativeopinion View Post
Hi!

I'm not sure if my settings are correct but when playing HDR content my picture mode doesn't change so it stays at cinema pro. I thought it will automatically switch to HDR mode but please feel free to correct me if I'm wrong here. Thanks!

Sony KD55-9305XD
Nvidia GeForce 1070
Latest madVR 91.9
MPC-HC nightly version: 1.7.10.296

madVR is setup -> tv -> hdr -> passthrough HDR content to the display -> send HDR metadata to the display -> use Nvidia's private API
Could also be related to the Nvidia Drivers version, what version are you on?
lunnar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2017, 17:33   #43569  |  Link
lunnar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cinemancave View Post
When a JVC projector receives HDR metadata it gets locked into HDR mode. This doesn't actually do anything other than turning off the dynamic iris and defaulting to a JVC predefined HDR-gammacurve. The major selling point for a JVC is the black levels, hence we want the dynamic iris. Also, custom gamma curves give better results than JVC's own solution so it's nice to have a user mode properly setup for HDR that doesn't default to a worse JVC curve.

The current go-to solution to get the best result with UHD material is to buy an HDFury Linker for 200$ in order to strip the hdr metadata before the JVC receives it. With Madvr, we are basically getting this functionality without having to buy a separate device.

All information can be found on avsforum.
Wow I totally understand now, thanks.
lunnar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2017, 21:31   #43570  |  Link
Q-the-STORM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knight77 View Post
Hi guys, semi-OT here: my HTPC is using a GTX1070, let's say 99% just for madvr/Kodi and music. My Nvidia drivers are ones of a January release and everything works fine, should I update anyway or since everything is running well just let it be?
If you don't need HDR and everything else is working, don't update.
Q-the-STORM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2017, 21:59   #43571  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,192
Can you guys stop quoting entire posts and writing one line replies to it, it's annoying as hell.
All you have to do is delete everything but what you're replying to within the quote /quote statements.. Pretty simple stuff.

Last edited by ryrynz; 1st May 2017 at 22:01.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2017, 10:07   #43572  |  Link
Tobiwan
Registered User
 
Tobiwan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 27
Need help with Nvidia settings

Hi,

I have a few questions about the madVR settings with Nvidia etc and maybe someone can help me with it, because I always had a AMD card in the past and its very hard to understand all off it now, even with the wikis etc.

Nvidia have several VSYNC settings, I try fast (which I use for gaming too) but get video/picture disturbances at the playback; VSYNC off make nothing no speed benefit to VSYNC on... what are you use?

I'm trying a lot of settings to get a good rendering time for my 4K display with my 1060 card, what are you think about it?

Config1: 1080p
Chroma NNEDI3-64 / doubling xbr 100 / scaling Lanczos3 AR = ~20.45ms
Config2: 1080p
Chroma Lanczos4 AR / doubling xbr 100 / scaling Lanczos3 AR = ~10ms
Config3: 1080p
Chroma Lanczos4 AR / upscaling Jinc = ~14.80ms
Tobiwan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2017, 11:02   #43573  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,192
Ditch NNEDI3 for chroma and look at NGU AA, also compare NGU vs xbr and decide what you like there. Lanczos AR is fine for extra scaling, I also like Jinc AR here.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2017, 11:53   #43574  |  Link
Tobiwan
Registered User
 
Tobiwan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 27
Thank you ryrynz for your help:

NGU AA low + xbr 100 + Lanczos3 AR = ~11ms
NGU AA med + xbr 100 + Lanczos3 AR = ~12.80ms
NGU AA high + xbr 100 + Lanczos3 AR = ~16.00ms

XBR runs best as doubling on my system, I can use NGU's at low or the xbr 100...

What brings more benefit the upscaling or the doubling? If I use NGU AA for the chroma upscaling which NGU I should use for the doubling? What should be the target ms at the end?

Last edited by Tobiwan; 2nd May 2017 at 12:35.
Tobiwan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2017, 12:42   #43575  |  Link
Ver Greeneyes
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 445
I'd prioritize it like this: luma doubling > other enhancements > further upscaling/downscaling > chroma upscaling > chroma doubling. There are some situations where the chroma upscaling algorithm can make a noticeable difference, but they're few and far between, and the difference between chroma doubling algorithms will likely be invisible. The target ms depends on the frame rate of the content you watch, with 24fps content it's 41.67ms and with 60fps content it's 16.67ms. However you should probably leave 1-1.5ms of headroom. Ultimately what matters is that your buffers stay full, so just crank up your settings until your card can't keep up anymore and dial them back from there.

Last edited by Ver Greeneyes; 2nd May 2017 at 12:45.
Ver Greeneyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2017, 13:24   #43576  |  Link
Tobiwan
Registered User
 
Tobiwan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 27
41.67ms is very high, everything over 30ms is no go for me, the video lags even with smooth motion
Tobiwan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2017, 13:46   #43577  |  Link
Ver Greeneyes
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 445
Well, like I said it depends on the content. If anything over ~30ms lags then you're probably watching 30fps content (a frame every 33.33ms). You can create profiles with different settings for different kinds of content.
Ver Greeneyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2017, 15:14   #43578  |  Link
Tobiwan
Registered User
 
Tobiwan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 27
I'm not really sure what are you mean Ver Greeneyes. The rendering time in ms only means how fast it card works with the settings what does this have to do with the fps? Smooth motion is always on for me because my PC display doesn't support the original timings, so why should I care about the fps? Smooth motion "fix" the issue, I only need a fast and good rendering setting.
Tobiwan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2017, 16:22   #43579  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,788
the rendertime give on how long it takes to render a frame.

with a 24 fps source you have ~42 ms to render this frame with a 30 FPS source you have ~33 ms to render a frame and with a 60 fps source you have ~16 ms.

so stable rendertime of 38 ms for a 24 FPS source should be totally stable.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2017, 17:06   #43580  |  Link
Tobiwan
Registered User
 
Tobiwan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 27
Ok thank you, I think I understand it now. If I can run a 23fps without problems I can run every fps, so I tweak here. Good.

Did I get glitches and dropped frames because the settings are to high? I already go from NGU AA high to med but glitches too.

Last edited by Tobiwan; 3rd May 2017 at 13:22.
Tobiwan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.