Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 19th November 2018, 04:21   #53701  |  Link
braddock
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 8
I created a custom 2160p 23.976 refresh rate for my gtx 1080 using the madvr optimizer. It works great in MPC-HC. However when I use this refresh rate with Kodi 18 or PowerDVD (I use these programs for some of my BD isos for full menu access) this refresh rate is noticeably stuttering every few seconds. Any idea why that would be happening?
braddock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2018, 17:02   #53702  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,102
Post an image of the display modes menu in the control panel. Something could be amiss with your rules.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2018, 17:16   #53703  |  Link
COOLak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warner306 View Post
Post an image of the display modes menu in the control panel. Something could be amiss with your rules.
Sorry, figured that myself, so I deleted that post. The wrong device was selected as my TV. Previously it wouldn't show me the right device in the device list, but now it did show it for the first time. The refresh rate change feature now works for me.

--------

However, I have another question. I have thousands of both dropped and repeated frames and presentation glitches (the amount of those varies depending on the video), but I don't see any actual problems at all. Render times are OK. The refresh rate matches video. Should I worry about that?
There are no presentation glitches in the exclusive mode, but I don't like it, so I guess it's fine that I have thousands of presentation glitches if it doesn't affect my perception of the material in any way?
As for dropped/repeated frames, there is equal amount of them when I watch a 1920x1080 29.970 fps interlaced video. Also not affecting performance in any way.

Last edited by COOLak; 19th November 2018 at 17:33.
COOLak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2018, 04:59   #53704  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,722
what do you under stand under "render times are ok"
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2018, 20:32   #53705  |  Link
jmonier
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 183
I have a problem with activating HDR via DisplayPort. This is with a LG 34BK95U - 5120x2160 which requires DP 1.4 to get the full width. HDMI (which limits it to 3840 width) works fine.

Basically, it seems that madVR does not recognize that HDR is supported via DP, and thus always does the HDR-to-SDR conversion. (And I have checked that HDR can be activated otherwise via DP.)

This is a heads up to anyone else who has or is thinking of getting this monitor (note that the LG 34WK95U is exactly the same).

I'll be generating a bug report after I gather some more data.

EDIT: I should mention that I have a Nvidia card. AMD could be totally different.

Last edited by jmonier; 20th November 2018 at 21:54.
jmonier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2018, 03:27   #53706  |  Link
Olivier C.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: France
Posts: 58
IMadVRSettings SettingsGetBinary / SettingsSetBinary

Hi madshi,

We can call IMadVRSettings::SettingsGetBinary in order to get the field value "displaymodesdata" (type : binary) but there isn't any SettingsSetBinary method to set it.

Could you add it in a near future ?

Code:
Set methods :
  STDMETHOD_(BOOL, SettingsSetString )(LPCWSTR path, LPCWSTR value) = 0;
  STDMETHOD_(BOOL, SettingsSetInteger)(LPCWSTR path, int     value) = 0;
  STDMETHOD_(BOOL, SettingsSetBoolean)(LPCWSTR path, BOOL    value) = 0;

Get methods :
 STDMETHOD_(BOOL, SettingsGetString )(LPCWSTR path, LPCWSTR value, int* bufLenInChars) = 0;
  STDMETHOD_(BOOL, SettingsGetInteger)(LPCWSTR path, int*    value) = 0;
  STDMETHOD_(BOOL, SettingsGetBoolean)(LPCWSTR path, BOOL*   value) = 0;
  STDMETHOD_(BOOL, SettingsGetBinary )(LPCWSTR path, LPVOID* value, int* bufLenInBytes) = 0;
Thanks a lot
Olivier C. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2018, 18:21   #53707  |  Link
yiandev
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 1
random questions are stupid mods remove them

Hi how can i set a manual renderer device for madvr? why is it automatically using the GPU to which the monitor player is located on.
I have a FHD TV connected to hdmi to a gt 430 because my main GPU rx580 has some issues running my monitor and my TV so i use a gt430 for TV, but when i use potplayer and move it to the TV madvr renderer is using gt 430 for rendering and it drops lots of frames since gt 430 is too weak gpu.
How can i set my main gpu RX 580 to render even when the player in located on a TV/monitor connected to a different GPU(gt430)?
I tried setting LAV video decoder to RX 580 instead of automatic but madvr still renders on gt430

Please madvr developer create an option to allow us GPU selection, dont render automatically on the gpu the screen is connected on thats just please no, dont do that.
yiandev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2018, 18:25   #53708  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,758
Rendering on any other GPU then the one connected to the screen would be extremely bad for performance, and extremely niche of a feature. Don't hold your breath.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2018, 08:25   #53709  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,722
you can already use a different GPU to render the on your screen. it's a default feature of windows 10.

you go to settings-> display-> graphics settings -> browse ->add your player

now you go to options and select high performance which should be your AMD card.

in my very limited experiences this works great with intel as the renderer and nvidia as the presentation GPU and totally terrible with nvidia as the renderer and intel as the presentation GPU.

you may run into vsync issues like tearing, PCIe bandwidth limitations, sync issues A/V and "stuff"...

and you may need to change the registry and disable the IGPU if present completely.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2018, 08:37   #53710  |  Link
svengun
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
driver and windows version have nothing todo with that.

what is your end device and is a AVR in between?
What would it matter , if there was an AVR in between. My Marantz SR6010 has a 4:4:4 UHD bypass, would there still be a sgnal or quality loss to be expected ?
svengun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2018, 08:42   #53711  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,758
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
you can already use a different GPU to render the on your screen. it's a default feature of windows 10.

you go to settings-> display-> graphics settings -> browse ->add your player

now you go to options and select high performance which should be your AMD card.
This works with switchable graphics in laptops, but not with two dedicated graphics cards, not that I know of anyway.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2018, 08:44   #53712  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,722
sorry i don't trust anything any tech company writes on there products.

you have to test this.

as an example pure direct modes on Panasonic isn't pure at all and clearly not direct what so ever.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2018, 08:48   #53713  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,722
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
This works with switchable graphics in laptops, but not with two dedicated graphics cards, not that I know of anyway.
i just did it on a desktop PC the HDMI connector isn't even shared.

not sure if my board has two pcie "16x" slots and i'm currently not interested in creating one with a knife to test this.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2018, 05:10   #53714  |  Link
JarrettH
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 837
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
NGU AA low vs Medium Bear in mind this is enlarged 300%.

The jump from NGU AA low to medium is greater than medium to high, personally I prefer medium as my base quality setting but it's relatively minor at the end of the day. I say change it to low and be happy with the lower noise.
Thanks, by the way.

Do you mind showing me the same thing as super-xbr 100 vs ngu aa low? I'm curious if the low setting is any better.
JarrettH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2018, 06:59   #53715  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,169
NGU AA low vs Super-xbr 100 AR

Super-xbr 100 is a nice light weight option and my previous favorite but at 100 I feel is a tad sharp which you may notice as I did, at 75 however it should look fairly similar to NGU AA low.

Last edited by ryrynz; 25th November 2018 at 01:18.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2018, 08:17   #53716  |  Link
voyager6868
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 5
Request for implementing proper 3:2 pulldown

From what I can tell madVR doesn't do 3:2 pulldown properly (see more technical details below). That is, if I play a 24fps video on a 60Hz display, it doesn't seem to show a regular cadence of AAABBCCCDDEEEFF etc.

A few points I'd like to make in favor of fixing this:

Many TVs can automatically do reverse pulldown if the cadence is proper and can show the video without judder. With an unpredictable cadence like madVR appears to provide, this isn't possible.

So, why not just switch the video mode to 24Hz? One, it takes a few seconds for some TVs to switch (blank screen while it does so) between modes, and two (this may be uncommon) some TVs have different input lag at 24Hz versus 60Hz, so the lipsync setting on a receiver needs to be regularly adjusted back and forth (mine has a difference of 110ms).

Further, some users may have a screen that does not support 24Hz and are used to this type of judder (e.g., North American users), so don't want to devote the processing power to enabling smooth motion (or are more bothered by the smooth motion artifacts that this judder). The current implementation is more jarring than typical judder as it appears to be more unpredictable.

My methodology:

1. Download the test here:
https://www.rtings.com/images/test-m...15/305_24p.mp4

2. Ensure your screen is set up to reverse the 3:2 pulldown. On many Samsung TVs, for example, this can be done by turning on Auto Motion Plus, Custom, setting both sliders to 0. If your screen can't do this, you can still run the test, it will just have a different ideal result.

3. Play the video in MPCHC with madVR output.

4. While playing the video, take a 1-second exposure of the screen (this can be done, for example, using the Camera app in Pro mode on many recent Samsung phones)

Ideal result: If your screen does the pulldown, you should see 24 equally bright squares. If your screen does not, you should see a regular checkerboard pattern.

Result with current madVR: Squares appear to have random brightness with no discernible pattern.

Result with YouTube in Chrome browser (search rtings judder test), YouTube app on AppleTV, Infuse 5 on AppleTV, Windows 10 stock media player is the ideal result as above.

So, madVR seems to be an outlier with regards to this support.

If I use Handbrake to set the video's FPS to 60, everything looks correct in madVR, so seems clear it is the 3:2 pulldown algorithm that is at fault.
voyager6868 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2018, 10:23   #53717  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,169
Hmmmmm.. Yeah, known issue.

Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Ah, I see. So the imperfect 3:2 pulldown used by the current madVR build doesn't really bother you at all. You just noticed it, correct? I think since the introduction of smooth motion FRC most users don't use madVR's pulldown, anymore. Instead most users either have a matching framerate / refresh rate setup, or they use smooth motion FRC. So although I'm aware of that the pulldown needs an improvement, I don't think it's very urgent...
Been a few years madshi, maybe you can jump on this?

Last edited by ryrynz; 23rd November 2018 at 10:33.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2018, 10:41   #53718  |  Link
e-t172
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 568
Quote:
Originally Posted by voyager6868 View Post
From what I can tell madVR doesn't do 3:2 pulldown properly (see more technical details below). That is, if I play a 24fps video on a 60Hz display, it doesn't seem to show a regular cadence of AAABBCCCDDEEEFF etc. [...] Many TVs can automatically do reverse pulldown if the cadence is proper and can show the video without judder. With an unpredictable cadence like madVR appears to provide, this isn't possible.
I can confirm, as I reported this a few months ago. Here's a direct quote from madshi:

Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Yes, that is still the case. It's been on my to do list for ages to tune madVR to produce a repeatable 3:2 pattern when smooth motion is turned off, but I still haven't found the time to do that yet.
e-t172 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2018, 11:41   #53719  |  Link
j82k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 114
Interesting, that would explain why I'm getting weird hitching when playing 24p content over 60Hz even though my TV is supposed to be able to remove 3:2 pulldown judder.

Would be awesome if this could be fixed.
j82k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2018, 10:11   #53720  |  Link
stiffwin
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2
That would be great!

Yes I would love to see this implemented too - no pressure, Madshi
stiffwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.