Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > New and alternative a/v containers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 14th March 2013, 15:45   #1  |  Link
odyssey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 155
mp4creator for linux-compatible

I need a working mp4creator for linux, or more specifically my Synology NAS (Atom-based).

I have tried compiling it myself, but it fails, due to perl not being compiled with threads (and I have failed to compile perl as well).

I was wondering if it was possible to compile on a generic Linux-dist and run it on the NAS?

I also tried compiling it on OS X, but there it fails with
Code:
./cvs_bootstrap: line 12: libtoolize: command not found
Need a link for libtoolize to glibtoolize
Seems odd that it's nearly impossible to find anything on this with Google.

And no, I can't just use mp4box. Unless, someone has figured a way to mux h264+ac3 together with it, which is supported by iTunes/AppleTV. So far, I have only found Handbrake to do this properly, and it looks like it is build on mp4creator.
odyssey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2013, 16:28   #2  |  Link
filler56789
SuperVirus
 
filler56789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Antarctic Japan
Posts: 864
AFAIK, mp4box does support AC3 input since a couple of years ago.

The command-line mp4box -h format does NOT list ac3, but it's only because the maintainers of the source-code are too lazy
filler56789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2013, 19:15   #3  |  Link
odyssey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by filler56789 View Post
AFAIK, mp4box does support AC3 input since a couple of years ago.

The command-line mp4box -h format does NOT list ac3, but it's only because the maintainers of the source-code are too lazy
I didn't say that mp4box could not mux ac3+h264 - I said that it was not
Quote:
supported by iTunes/AppleTV
Edit: And don't ask me why. I can just see the difference reported by mp4box on the Handbrake-file and the mp4box-file:

Code:
$ mp4box output.mp4 -info 0

* Movie Info *
Timescale 600 - Duration 02:10:16.320
Fragmented File no - 2 track(s)
File suitable for progressive download (moov before mdat)
File Brand mp42 - version 0
Created: GMT Wed Mar 13 20:03:20 2013

File has root IOD (9 bytes)
Scene PL 0xff - Graphics PL 0xff - OD PL 0xff
Visual PL: AVC/H264 Profile (0x15)
Audio PL: No audio capability required (0xff)
No streams included in root OD
Code:
$ mp4box handbrake.mp4 -info 0

* Movie Info *
Timescale 90000 - Duration 02:10:16.320
Fragmented File no - 2 track(s)
File Brand mp42 - version 0
Created: GMT Wed Mar 13 20:37:33 2013

File has root IOD (9 bytes)
Scene PL 0xff - Graphics PL 0xff - OD PL 0xff
Visual PL: ISO Reserved Profile (0x7f)
Audio PL: No audio capability required (0xff)
No streams included in root OD

iTunes Info:
Encoder Software: HandBrake 0.9.8 2012071800
If you have a magic setting to make mp4box do the same stuff that Handbrake apparently does, please enlighten me

Last edited by odyssey; 14th March 2013 at 19:48.
odyssey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2013, 21:18   #4  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life looks better in UHD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 11,419
Quote:
Originally Posted by odyssey View Post
And no, I can't just use mp4box. Unless, someone has figured a way to mux h264+ac3 together with it, which is supported by iTunes/AppleTV. So far, I have only found Handbrake to do this properly, and it looks like it is build on mp4creator.
I seem to remember somebody mentioning (a long time ago) that Apple products require an mandatory AAC audio stream along with an AC3 audio stream. And that the AAC audio stream has to be assigned as the primary stream...
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |
SeeMoreDigital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2013, 21:21   #5  |  Link
odyssey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
I seem to remember somebody mentioning (a long time ago) that Apple products require an mandatory AAC audio stream along with AC3 audio stream. And that the AAC audio stream has to be assigned as the primary stream...
Edit: Deleted wrong information

Last edited by odyssey; 14th March 2013 at 22:46.
odyssey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2013, 21:42   #6  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life looks better in UHD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 11,419
Quote:
Originally Posted by odyssey View Post
I've seen that claim too, but I have already verified this claim to be false

Actually, the file shown above, that was created with Handbrake, contains only a video and an AC3 track, and it played flawlessy on my AppleTV.
That's interesting. Are you able to provide a short sample?
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |
SeeMoreDigital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2013, 22:43   #7  |  Link
odyssey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
That's interesting. Are you able to provide a short sample?
Well ain't that typical... You mess around for several nights trying to get something to work, and the minute you ask for help, everything clears up and makes sense!


Apparently you are right (although, I am quite sure I SOMEHOW got a file with just one AC3 track playing yesterday). However, I'm not able to reproduce that now.

Instead, I'm able to reproduce the claim that it will only work if an AAC-stream is also included (!!!)

It took quite some trials for me now, and I had to dig up some information that I had previously dismissed, but here is the right solution:

AC3 track MUST be disabled and be placed AFTER the AAC-track.
Both audio tracks MUST belong to the same group


This command should work for muxing together the streams properly:

Code:
mp4box -fps 23.976 -add video.h264 -add audio.aac:group=1 -add audio.ac3:group=1:disable -new apple_compliant.m4v
Which means, that with this, it should be possible to re-mux mkv files with h264-material for use with AppleTV's! YAY

It's worth noting, though that I've got the new refresh model (Apple TV 3,2), and I have not seen a High Profile 4.1 video that it wasn't able to playback. I don't know how previous models deal with this (other than it is not supported officially)

Thanks for your "help"

Last edited by odyssey; 14th March 2013 at 23:23.
odyssey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2013, 23:33   #8  |  Link
filler56789
SuperVirus
 
filler56789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Antarctic Japan
Posts: 864
4 sharing your knowledge

But anyway, now everybody knows the actual problem has always been iTunes and Apple TV ---

--- both of which "nobody uses"
filler56789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.