Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > VirtualDub, VDubMod & AviDemux

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 20th June 2019, 17:11   #861  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 679
Quote:
Originally Posted by wonkey_monkey View Post
Edit: confusion abounds because converttoyv12/y8 don't actually change the bit depth, so the problem is just that VirtualDub2 doesn't display (or throw an error for) float data.
Yes, something bad with error handling.
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2019, 21:17   #862  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 6,820
Hi Shekh,

Simple script
Code:
Colorbars
Try Export single image fails to show file selector dialog box when Menu/View/Enable_Output_Pane/ is disabled, OK when enabled.
[not sure if intentional, if so then maybe could alert to failure reason]
Build 43602
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???

Last edited by StainlessS; 21st June 2019 at 10:29.
StainlessS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2019, 21:30   #863  |  Link
Soulvomit
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 27
What are the chances of 32-bit ever being supported, if only for gamma-aware rescaling?
Soulvomit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2019, 23:23   #864  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 679
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soulvomit View Post
What are the chances of 32-bit ever being supported, if only for gamma-aware rescaling?
Not bad - there is internal FP32 format (rgb/rgba). There is no input support and I at least need to update "gamma" and "resize" filters.
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2019, 02:44   #865  |  Link
Soulvomit
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by shekh View Post
Not bad - there is internal FP32 format (rgb/rgba). There is no input support and I at least need to update "gamma" and "resize" filters.
Looking forward to it if you do decide to. Many thanks.
Soulvomit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2019, 12:49   #866  |  Link
pinterf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,214
Hi shekh, what are my choices when I'd like to display an RGB48 format from Avisynth+? Does VDub2 have any support for it on the VfW interface?
Right now I report BGR[48] (BGR0) but it is not recognized.
Or I'm doing something wrong.
Thanks.
pinterf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2019, 13:27   #867  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 679
Quote:
Originally Posted by pinterf View Post
Hi shekh, what are my choices when I'd like to display an RGB48 format from Avisynth+? Does VDub2 have any support for it on the VfW interface?
Right now I report BGR[48] (BGR0) but it is not recognized.
Or I'm doing something wrong.
Thanks.
Hi, such format is not supported. I think I should add decoding support for BGR[48] and b48r.
What's wrong if you add ConvertToRGB64 in script?
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2019, 13:38   #868  |  Link
pinterf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,214
Quote:
Originally Posted by shekh View Post
Hi, such format is not supported. I think I should add decoding support for BGR[48] and b48r.
What's wrong if you add ConvertToRGB64 in script?
Nothing wrong. But if a user would like to display such a format in VDub2,
- user applies ConvertToRGB64 at the end of the script (inconvenience, conversion overhead)
- Avisynth+ silently converts it to RGB64 and reports one of the RGB64 fourCCs. (conversion overhead)
- VirtualDub2 handles FourCC BGR[48] (I don't know if there is any extra conversion overhead on your side)
pinterf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2019, 15:59   #869  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 679
Quote:
Originally Posted by pinterf View Post
Nothing wrong. But if a user would like to display such a format in VDub2,
- user applies ConvertToRGB64 at the end of the script (inconvenience, conversion overhead)
- Avisynth+ silently converts it to RGB64 and reports one of the RGB64 fourCCs. (conversion overhead)
- VirtualDub2 handles FourCC BGR[48] (I don't know if there is any extra conversion overhead on your side)
Ok. If I implement packed BGR the conversion will expand it to internal planar format. To minimize overhead the best option is planar RGB (G3[0][16]), so current workaround should be 'just remove ConvertToRGB48 at the end of script'.
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2019, 16:09   #870  |  Link
pinterf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,214
Quote:
Originally Posted by shekh View Post
Ok. If I implement packed BGR the conversion will expand it to internal planar format. To minimize overhead the best option is planar RGB (G3[0][16]), so current workaround should be 'just remove ConvertToRGB48 at the end of script'.
I see. So it's better to convert it losslessly to planar rgb in Avisynth and report it as G3[0][16] then everybody is happy.

Now a similar workaround is working for the opposite direction: if planar rgb would not be supported, there is an optional rgb64 conversion if user wants to do so:
http://avisynth.nl/index.php/Interna...narToPackedRGB

thanks
pinterf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2019, 23:02   #871  |  Link
Keiyakusha
契約者
 
Keiyakusha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,576
shekh
is there any chance you could add something like %(selectionstart) and %(selectionend) options to these variables (external encoder) that would return frame numbers of the current selection (same values as in statusbar)?
Currently I am trying to use VirtualDub to cut some footage while saving to the intermediate format and these would help to form the filename to know where I made the cut from.
Keiyakusha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2019, 23:33   #872  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 679
Keiyakusha
This is easy, no problem.
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.