Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 23rd February 2018, 01:35   #1  |  Link
beto@endrix
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 8
Issue with MPC-BE + madVR + LAV + XySubFilter

So yesterday I found out just how much better this combo is compared to VLC, and spent my night configuring it (following this and this) and getting it ready to watch a BluRay 4K movie today.

However, I stumbled on a problem: the movie is in a matroska container and it has forced french .pgs subtitles coded in, although it has many others in the same file (forced and not). When I switch to another language, or when I set my preferred language to play at start, as soon as the first subtitle appears, the video loses all its quality, the image appears really dull and washed. I think that happens because the renderer swaps to internal, or madVR crashes. Maybe it's none of that, still new to this.

Can someone tell me what is happening and how can I fix it?

Windows 7
1070 on the latest drivers

Happy to provide more information if you need.

Last edited by beto@endrix; 23rd February 2018 at 02:42.
beto@endrix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2018, 02:19   #2  |  Link
Aleksoid1978
Registered User
 
Aleksoid1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Russia, Vladivostok
Posts: 2,257
Try use internal filters + madVR.
__________________
I7 2600K@4.2 /Asrock P67 Extreme4 Gen 3 /Kingston HyperX 8Gb 1866 (4x2) Kit /OCZ Vertex 3 256Gb /Gigabyte GTX 960 /BenQ EW2430 /LG 47LM620T /Yamaha RX-V471 + NS-555 + NS-C444 + NS-333 + YST-SW215
Aleksoid1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2018, 02:42   #3  |  Link
beto@endrix
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 8
That works, but the trade-off is losing LAV, which I'd prefer not to...
Is that the only solution that comes to your mind or is there something else I could try?
beto@endrix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2018, 04:12   #4  |  Link
Aleksoid1978
Registered User
 
Aleksoid1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Russia, Vladivostok
Posts: 2,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by beto@endrix View Post
That works, but the trade-off is losing LAV, which I'd prefer not to...
Is that the only solution that comes to your mind or is there something else I could try?
If no problem without LAV ...
__________________
I7 2600K@4.2 /Asrock P67 Extreme4 Gen 3 /Kingston HyperX 8Gb 1866 (4x2) Kit /OCZ Vertex 3 256Gb /Gigabyte GTX 960 /BenQ EW2430 /LG 47LM620T /Yamaha RX-V471 + NS-555 + NS-C444 + NS-333 + YST-SW215
Aleksoid1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2018, 08:40   #5  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,492
I'm pretty sure it's xysubfilter (I also use lavfilters but with the internal subengine). You can try to drop xysubfilter first to see what will change.
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(2160p@23/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2018, 18:08   #6  |  Link
beto@endrix
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by chros View Post
I'm pretty sure it's xysubfilter (I also use lavfilters but with the internal subengine). You can try to drop xysubfilter first to see what will change.
Yeah, that's it. The thing is, it works fine on the usual 1080p H.264 stuff. Maybe a conflict with HEVC?
I guess I have to drop that to watch 4K...

Another thing, is using Direct3D 11 for presentation on the rendering settings of madVR supposed to give you a better performance? Every time I turn that on and reset, the player freezes all over the place..
beto@endrix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2018, 18:19   #7  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,818
If its HDR content, xysubfilter will probably "lose" the HDR metadata in the process.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2018, 20:45   #8  |  Link
beto@endrix
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 8
It's Dunkirk, pretty sure it has HDR, so that should be the problem. Damn shame, the subtitles look way better with xysub, but I guess I have to live with it..

Nothing on the D3D 11 thingy?

Also, thank you so much for the help thus far, really appreciate it!
beto@endrix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2018, 21:44   #9  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,495
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
If its HDR content, xysubfilter will probably "lose" the HDR metadata in the process.
But XySubFilter sits between splitter and renderer, not between video decoder and renderer? And has its own input into madvr that's independent?
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2018, 02:16   #10  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,683
Use whatever works better, D3D11 or D3D9. There aren't any major performance improvements in D3D11, just that it might interact with new OSes a little better.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2018, 05:31   #11  |  Link
beto@endrix
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
Use whatever works better, D3D11 or D3D9. There aren't any major performance improvements in D3D11, just that it might interact with new OSes a little better.
That's exactly what I wanted to know, thanks a lot.
beto@endrix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2018, 10:56   #12  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,492
Quote:
Originally Posted by beto@endrix View Post
Damn shame, the subtitles look way better with xysub ...
Although I have never used xysub but I don't have any issues with the internal subfilter, not to mention the ability to use subresync (ctrl+6). Take a look at these posts, it can be problematic to set it up properly:
- https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...37#post1819937
- https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...39#post1820039

And here's a modded Android remote for this setup
Enjoy!
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(2160p@23/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2018, 11:05   #13  |  Link
beto@endrix
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by chros View Post
Although I have never used xysub but I don't have any issues with the internal subfilter, not to mention the ability to use subresync (ctrl+6). Take a look at these posts, it can be problematic to set it up properly:
- https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...37#post1819937
- https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...39#post1820039

And here's a modded Android remote for this setup
Enjoy!

Thanks for the helpful reply!

But what changes if my screen is better than 1080p? What's the impact of the "disable scaling if image size changes by only" option? Can I reduce/uncheck that?

Also, why does the Android remote need android.permission.READ_PHONE_STATE? Did you manage to completely remove the ads too? Because there still is ad activity unfortunately...
Good job modding it though, and thanks for telling me about it, appreciate it.
beto@endrix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2018, 11:39   #14  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,492
Quote:
Originally Posted by beto@endrix View Post
But what changes if my screen is better than 1080p?
That's fine as well. I just mentioned this in the first post because I specified pixel values couple of times (so you have to modify yours).

Quote:
Originally Posted by beto@endrix View Post
What's the impact of the "disable scaling if image size changes by only" option? Can I reduce/uncheck that?
From the 2nd post:
"---- it doesn't turn on the scaling algorithms for small size changes, e.g.: if your display is 1920x1080 and your video file 1904x1064 (e.g. with web-dls)"
So it save GPU power for unnecessary scaling, just use it this way.

Quote:
Originally Posted by beto@endrix View Post
Also, why does the Android remote need android.permission.READ_PHONE_STATE?
It can auto-pause/unpause playback during incoming calls.

Quote:
Originally Posted by beto@endrix View Post
Did you manage to completely remove the ads too? Because there still is ad activity unfortunately...
Well, I'm not sure about this one: at least they aren't visible anymore

Quote:
Originally Posted by beto@endrix View Post
Good job modding it though, and thanks for telling me about it, appreciate it.
Thanks, enjoy!

And let me know how the internal subengine compares to xysubfilter quality-wise after those settings were applied.
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(2160p@23/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)

Last edited by chros; 26th February 2018 at 19:56.
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2018, 13:38   #15  |  Link
beto@endrix
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 8
I can't seem to get the app to work, I followed your guide and I'm pretty sure I got the IP and port right. What is supposed to show up when you test the connection on the phone browser?

Subengine looks great now, but I prefer to get outlined subs instead of an opaque box, I think it looks better.

Thanks again for the help!
beto@endrix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2018, 15:18   #16  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,492
Quote:
Originally Posted by beto@endrix View Post
I can't seem to get the app to work, I followed your guide and I'm pretty sure I got the IP and port right. What is supposed to show up when you test the connection on the phone browser?
The player should be running (playing some content) and you should see the slider moving, the filename, etc. (Note that the app can't start the player itself, it can only communicate with a running instance.)
If it's not working and you're on the same subnet then it's probably some firewall settings on the PC (e.g. windows builtin firewall, antivirus firewall, etc.)
It's easy to test: have you taken a look at the guide inside the app itself?
If it still won't work until the evening, I'll write couple steps how to test it.
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(2160p@23/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2018, 19:45   #17  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,492
Quote:
Originally Posted by chros View Post
If it still won't work until the evening, I'll write couple steps how to test it.
Web Interface settings:
- x Listen on port: 13579
- x Enable compression
- only in MPC-HC: x Enable preview

Try out on the same PC first:
- start MPC-BE/HC
- open a browser use this URL: http://localhost:13579
-- you should see: dropdown with commands, and several links (e.g. File browser, Info page, etc)

Then do the same on your mobile:
- open a browser and use the IP address of the PC, eg.: http://192.168.1.6:13579

If it works then the app should also work.
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(2160p@23/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)

Last edited by chros; 26th February 2018 at 19:47.
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2018, 23:48   #18  |  Link
beto@endrix
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by chros View Post
Web Interface settings:
- x Listen on port: 13579
- x Enable compression
- only in MPC-HC: x Enable preview

Try out on the same PC first:
- start MPC-BE/HC
- open a browser use this URL: http://localhost:13579
-- you should see: dropdown with commands, and several links (e.g. File browser, Info page, etc)

Then do the same on your mobile:
- open a browser and use the IP address of the PC, eg.: http://192.168.1.6:13579

If it works then the app should also work.

Got it! It was an issue with Android's firewall, it's fixed now.

Thank you so very much, have a wonderful week!
beto@endrix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2018, 10:40   #19  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,492
Interesting , I'm glad it worked! And you too!
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(2160p@23/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
4k movie, bluray, madvr, matroska, mpc

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.