Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 9th May 2018, 17:22   #50761  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,760
I used to avoid such troubles by entirely disabling audio passthrough, because I had no interest in playing through the TV speakers ever. If i needed audio, I would use the AVR. But I've long since abandoned HDMI audio entirely.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2018, 18:32   #50762  |  Link
pirlouy
_
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: France
Posts: 628
Oh ! And what do you use as replacement ? You use a soundcard as DAC and you use analog inputs of your AVR ?
__________________
Windows 10 x64; 1080p 60" TV, GTX 750; mpv or madVR+LAV Filters+MPC-BE
pirlouy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2018, 18:43   #50763  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,760
USB DAC and no AVR at all.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2018, 20:42   #50764  |  Link
pirlouy
_
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: France
Posts: 628
Ok, so adios 5.1. Not an option for me.
__________________
Windows 10 x64; 1080p 60" TV, GTX 750; mpv or madVR+LAV Filters+MPC-BE
pirlouy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2018, 20:59   #50765  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,895
Many AVR also accept AC-3 via S/P-DIF / TOS-Link.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2018, 21:01   #50766  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,778
a DAC is not limited to stereo and even if it is it can easily outperform atmos speaker using headphones.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2018, 21:23   #50767  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 713
Quote:
Originally Posted by pirlouy View Post
Ok, so adios 5.1. Not an option for me.
You can do up to 7.1 fine the way Nevcairiel does. The only thing you can’t do is decode format that require bitstream (and the AVR decoder) as there is no PC decoder, such as Atmos, DTS:X and Auro 3D.

If you don’t have any interest in 3D Audio, nothing stops you from having no AVR and letting the PC decode within the 7.1 limitation.
__________________
Win10 Pro x64 b1809 MCE
i7 3770K@4.0Ghz 16Gb@2.18Ghz EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 11Gb@2GHz 398.11 RGB Full 8bits
MPC-BE/LAV/MadVR/jRiver/MyMovies V5.25PR2
Denon X8500H>HD Fury Maestro>JVC RS2000
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2018, 21:37   #50768  |  Link
pirlouy
_
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: France
Posts: 628
- AC3 pls... DTS-HD or Dolby True-HD are the reference now
- USB/SPDIF (including Toslink) are limited to stereo (or lossy 5.1 format like AC3)
- No you can't do 7.1 lossless with a USB DAC (except if there are USB 3.0 DAC but I doubt it). I don't have interest in 3D Audio, but I need to send a 4.0 lossless signal. HDMI audio is the current way. PCI soundcards are another solution, but it's not common.
__________________
Windows 10 x64; 1080p 60" TV, GTX 750; mpv or madVR+LAV Filters+MPC-BE
pirlouy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2018, 21:41   #50769  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,778
3d audio is possible too. https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/stor...s/9n0866fs04w8

it's simply not utilized yet.

what'S the point of a dac to send a digital signal...
and it's not hard to google 7.1 USB dac.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2018, 22:02   #50770  |  Link
FDisk80
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Israel
Posts: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkauff View Post
I don't do anything special, except make sure the OS is showing only the display's native resolutions--no madVR, Nvidia, or CRU custom ones--before I start. The CRU "reset-all.exe" will accomplish that.

I'm using a DisplayPort connection. If you're using HDMI, make sure the HDMI block is included in your CRU custom res. CRU should add it automatically, but double-check.
Nope, no go.
I set up the exact same timings that I used with madVR (that worked on previous drivers) in CRU, restarted to apply the new timings.

madVR now shows the new timing as the default EDID.
But when I apply them I get the same error. "Rejected by the driver".

And if I just use the 24hz mode without applying in madVR it still results in 23.977hz with repeat frames.
FDisk80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2018, 22:10   #50771  |  Link
pirlouy
_
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: France
Posts: 628
@huhn: I'm sorry but you don't get it. And yes it's not hard to search on google because it doesn't exist.
"7.1" is everywhere for marketing. But USB 2.0 has limited bitrate which prevent lossless 7.1. Maybe USB 3.0 could allow true 7.1 input but after a quick search, I don't see any.
__________________
Windows 10 x64; 1080p 60" TV, GTX 750; mpv or madVR+LAV Filters+MPC-BE
pirlouy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2018, 22:53   #50772  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,778
i'm not going to do the math for usb. you can play a BD with PCM audio from a USB drive with absolute ease and the audio is a very very small part of the bistream it clearly possibile and there are 7.1 DACs.
and even if usb 3.0 is needed for what ever reason usb 3.0 is nothing new.

https://www.amazon.com/Xonar-U7-MKII...et_feature_div
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2018, 23:11   #50773  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,760
Quote:
Originally Posted by pirlouy View Post
"7.1" is everywhere for marketing. But USB 2.0 has limited bitrate which prevent lossless 7.1. Maybe USB 3.0 could allow true 7.1 input but after a quick search, I don't see any.
That is nonsense. USB Audio Class 2.0 devices over USB 2.0 can do full 7.1 and more. You get 480 Mbit/s of bandwidth afterall for USB 2.0, at 192 kHz/32-bit that would fit over 78 channel of audio. I know (professional) devices that support up to 64 channel. I've only used mine with up to 10 channel since thats the number of analog outputs it has, but I believe it can accept even more when you let it do the mixing.

What you are thinking about sounds like USB Audio Class 1.0

7.1 192kHz 32-bit PCM only uses short of 50Mbit/s of bandwidth, there is a lot of room in 480 Mbit/s for a lot of audio.

The Xonar U7 that huhn linked is a good entry-level device, full 7.1 at OK quality - not audiophile levels of course, but its pretty good (on the DAC level anyway, i don't care about other fancy features that some people might like).

But this is really quite off-topic for madVR now.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders

Last edited by nevcairiel; 9th May 2018 at 23:20.
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2018, 23:18   #50774  |  Link
pirlouy
_
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: France
Posts: 628
@huhn: Wow, when I was about to tell you you don't get it, I realised I was wrong. Arf, feel bad I had a wrong idea in mind all these years. I'll certainly try a 7.1 USB DAC in the next years.
__________________
Windows 10 x64; 1080p 60" TV, GTX 750; mpv or madVR+LAV Filters+MPC-BE
pirlouy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2018, 23:19   #50775  |  Link
jkauff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Akron, OH
Posts: 433
Quote:
Originally Posted by FDisk80 View Post
madVR now shows the new timing as the default EDID. But when I apply them I get the same error. "Rejected by the driver".
By "apply", do you mean running Optimize and then trying to save the optimized settings? Or just trying to get madVR to change the display to the settings you created in CRU?
jkauff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2018, 23:43   #50776  |  Link
FDisk80
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Israel
Posts: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkauff View Post
By "apply", do you mean running Optimize and then trying to save the optimized settings? Or just trying to get madVR to change the display to the settings you created in CRU?
To get madVR to change the display to the settings I created in CRU.

I also tried the optimized timings and to my surprise madVR actually applied those. But the "optimized" are not so optimized from the looks of it.
They change the composition rate to 23.977hz for some reason and result in frame drops about every 2 to 10 min.

I have no damn idea why it actually succeeds to apply the worst possible optimized timings with all the newer drivers but fails to apply perfectly synced 23.976hz timings with zero frame drops like it did in previous drivers.
FDisk80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2018, 01:24   #50777  |  Link
jkauff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Akron, OH
Posts: 433
Quote:
Originally Posted by FDisk80 View Post
To get madVR to change the display to the settings I created in CRU.
So on the first tab of Display Modes for your TV/monitor, you have (for example) 1080p23 in the list madVR can switch to, but when you play a movie it doesn't switch to the 1080p23 mode (23.976) you created with CRU?

While the movie is playing, which mode is shown as Active in the Custom Modes list?
jkauff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2018, 02:14   #50778  |  Link
wushantao
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 43
since KB4103721, fullscreen playback broken,it will be blackscreen

anyone have the same problem with me?

win10 x64 1803 17134.48

17134.1 is ok,17134.48(KB4103721) is broken
wushantao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2018, 06:38   #50779  |  Link
oldpainlesskodi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 174
[QUOTE=wushantao;1841688]since KB4103721, fullscreen playback broken,it will be blackscreen

anyone have the same problem with me?

win10 x64 1803 17134.48

17134.1 is ok,17134.48(KB4103721) is broken[/Q

No issue here with FSE 10bit.

Are you using AMD or Nvidia?
__________________
Sapphire RX 5700 XT (19.9.2) Ryzen 7 3700x, PRIME X570-Pro, Win 10 x64 (1903), Silverstone LC13B-E, Pioneer SC-LX501 Elite D3, Samsung UE55KS8000, Mission M33i speakers, Kodi Dsplayer 17.6 X64
oldpainlesskodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2018, 07:37   #50780  |  Link
FDisk80
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Israel
Posts: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkauff View Post
So on the first tab of Display Modes for your TV/monitor, you have (for example) 1080p23 in the list madVR can switch to, but when you play a movie it doesn't switch to the 1080p23 mode (23.976) you created with CRU?

While the movie is playing, which mode is shown as Active in the Custom Modes list?
It does switch to 1080p23 but completely ignores the custom timing I set up in CRU that should result in 23.976hz.
When it switches from 1080p60 to 1080p23 it just results to 23.977hz like I didn't even create any custom timings in CRU.
FDisk80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.