Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > (HD) DVD & Blu-ray authoring

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 23rd March 2012, 21:21   #1  |  Link
Lucius Snow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 83
BD9 and break layer on DVD DL

Hello all,

I burn some Blu-Ray (that i author) on DVD media, using AVCHD patcher 1.06 for a full compatibility (PS3, Panasonic etc).

I'd like to know how the break layer behaves on a DVD DL if i burn a H264 stream which makes more than 4,7 GB.

I hope my question is clear ...

Thanks.
Lucius Snow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd March 2012, 21:58   #2  |  Link
Capsbackup
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,995
If you use ImgBurn as I do, you never worry about the layer break for AVCHD. Only for DVD's on DVD DL media is the layer break important.
Capsbackup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd March 2012, 23:09   #3  |  Link
Lucius Snow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by Capsbackup View Post
If you use ImgBurn as I do, you never worry about the layer break for AVCHD. Only for DVD's on DVD DL media is the layer break important.
How do you do this ?
Lucius Snow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2012, 15:30   #4  |  Link
Capsbackup
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,995
There is NO layer break to set on AVCHD! Just use ImgBurn to "Create image file from files/folders" and then use it to "Write image file to disc". Or you can use it to "Write files/folders to disc".
Capsbackup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2012, 20:41   #5  |  Link
Lucius Snow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 83
Thank you.
Lucius Snow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2012, 22:46   #6  |  Link
IanB
Avisynth Developer
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 3,171
The catch with the layer break is a physical performance one. Drives take time to adjust from one layer to the second. It's got a lot better as the technology has matured, early drives could take seconds to resync. Good DVD-DL mastering would try to place the location of the layer break at a scene change or other suitable place such that the inevitable pause in playback would not disturb the movie experience (to much). Of course there are many examples of don't care mastering, where the movie stops dead during a high motion scene.

With modern drives it is really not an issue. If it were an to be an issue then playback would pause as the stream starved for data while the drive futzed about changing layers.
IanB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.