Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 24th August 2019, 23:35   #721  |  Link
jlw_4049
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 97
Update:

Tried the same 49.5 GB file on 3 different WD Red Drives. Took approximately 7 minutes after indexing for it the UI to come back up to where I could make changes.

The app goes into background processes here


I will try a little more.

EDIT: Same file, another machine, same version of StaxRip, does the same thing.

I use manual input. Drag the movie into the program, select FFVideoSource. I deselect everything, audio, chapters, everything. I only index the file, it doesn't take long, a couple minutes, the window goes away (not anywhere visible but in the task manager) for about 6 to 7 minutes and then it comes back up.|

EDIT: Moved video files to an SSD. Takes exactly 6 to 7 minutes before the GUI is usable again (meaning it has nothing to do with the storage medium). Going to try a couple more things.

Also tried 3 more HEVC Remux's HDR UHD. Even extracted 1 of them with MKVExtract to a hevc/x265 file and it does the same thing. Not quite sure what it is, but I can't find anything in the log.

Also, is there a folder name length limit that gives an error? Because when I open a file with a lot of characters after trying to index it fails. Once I lower it to a smaller name it seems to work.

Last edited by jlw_4049; 25th August 2019 at 04:39.
jlw_4049 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2019, 05:10   #722  |  Link
lifta19
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Natty View Post
update your lsfmod https://pastebin.com/NEyPaAig

it will take 10bit source and process and output 10bit clip. dont let source filters change color space or bitdepth
avisynth+ 2772
10bit Source

lifta19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2019, 09:42   #723  |  Link
NikosD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,589
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlw_4049 View Post
Tried the same 49.5 GB file on 3 different WD Red Drives.
Took approximately 7 minutes after indexing for it the UI to come back up to where I could make changes.
...
Moved video files to an SSD.
Takes exactly 6 to 7 minutes before the GUI is usable again (meaning it has nothing to do with the storage medium)
It seems it's not a bug eventually, it's a feature.

We have probably never encountered 50GB files like you and we hadn't noticed.

I don't know if the developers can do something about it.
__________________
Win 10 x64 (18362.356) - Core i3-9100F - nVidia 1660 (436.15)
HEVC decoding benchmarks
H.264 DXVA Benchmarks for all
NikosD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2019, 11:25   #724  |  Link
Natty
Noob
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlw_4049 View Post
Update:

Tried the same 49.5 GB file on 3 different WD Red Drives. Took approximately 7 minutes after indexing for it the UI to come back up to where I could make changes.

The app goes into background processes here


I will try a little more.

EDIT: Same file, another machine, same version of StaxRip, does the same thing.

I use manual input. Drag the movie into the program, select FFVideoSource. I deselect everything, audio, chapters, everything. I only index the file, it doesn't take long, a couple minutes, the window goes away (not anywhere visible but in the task manager) for about 6 to 7 minutes and then it comes back up.|

EDIT: Moved video files to an SSD. Takes exactly 6 to 7 minutes before the GUI is usable again (meaning it has nothing to do with the storage medium). Going to try a couple more things.

Also tried 3 more HEVC Remux's HDR UHD. Even extracted 1 of them with MKVExtract to a hevc/x265 file and it does the same thing. Not quite sure what it is, but I can't find anything in the log.

Also, is there a folder name length limit that gives an error? Because when I open a file with a lot of characters after trying to index it fails. Once I lower it to a smaller name it seems to work.
check how crop and preview windows are behaving after file is indexed
Natty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2019, 12:18   #725  |  Link
Natty
Noob
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by lifta19 View Post
avisynth+ 2772
10bit Source

hmm u need latest smdegrain , rgtools and masktools

put them in \AviSynth+\plugins64+\

https://pastebin.com/4y4Zw2xG

https://github.com/pinterf/RgTools/releases/

https://github.com/pinterf/masktools/releases/

and delete them from StaxRip/Apps/Plugins

because it does not auto load correctly from there. all needed plugins should be in 1 single auto load folder.
Natty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2019, 13:37   #726  |  Link
jlw_4049
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by Natty View Post
check how crop and preview windows are behaving after file is indexed
I will check after work. Around 5pm est and will get back to you.

Sent from my SM-G965U1 using Tapatalk


EDIT: Got an encode finishing up 4K, it's been going for 14 hours, so I don't wanna risk locking it up. I'll wait until it's done, about 3 hours.

Sooo, indexing still takes about 6 to 7 minutes. When I press preview it takes about 10 seconds before I can use it. Works normally. When I close preview it takes about 7 seconds to close.

Cropping takes about 7 seconds to open up. It works like it's supposed to it seems like.

UPDATE: Testing a 1080p remux now. Well apparently 1080p remux's are doing the exact same thing. Hmmmm. Going to reinstall AviSynth etc to see if it fixes it by chance.

Reinstalled AviSynth, Reinstalled VapSynth (i know I'm not using it), reinstalled LAV filters, reinstalled Python. Trying StaxRip on another HDD in the machine.

Last edited by jlw_4049; 26th August 2019 at 04:47.
jlw_4049 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2019, 04:50   #727  |  Link
Natty
Noob
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 193
same behaviour here. using older ffms2 build and it works snappy. i will post that old ffms2 here later today.
Natty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2019, 05:14   #728  |  Link
jlw_4049
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 97
FFMS2 version 2.23.1 (old version that's on github) indexes and the GUI is usable again in about 50 seconds. FFMS2 latest version included in StaxRip takes about 7 minutes before GUI is usable each time.


I'm really not sure if it's a bug or not. Maybe its supposed to take that long?

I just spent a bunch of time trying different versions of staxrip, extracted to different places, with different ffms2 versions.

I've got my smaller 1080p remuxs opening pretty much instant. However, when I get to the bigger 1080p remuxs like avengers end game or 4k avengers endgame, it seems to take about 2 minutes and 7 minutes.

I really wish I knew why. I assumed after it was done indexing the file the ffms2 had nothing else to do. But staxrip minimizes completely for 7 minutes, the hard drive stops working after 10 seconds, CPU usage is at 3% and memory around 650mbs.

It just pops back up around 7 minutes. It seems to me something is caught in a loop. Idk if it's the indexer or staxrip.

Last edited by jlw_4049; 26th August 2019 at 05:37.
jlw_4049 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2019, 06:19   #729  |  Link
NikosD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,589
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlw_4049 View Post
FFMS2 version 2.23.1 (old version that's on github) indexes and the GUI is usable again in about 50 seconds.
FFMS2 latest version included in StaxRip takes about 7 minutes before GUI is usable each time.
...
Idk if it's the indexer or staxrip.
So, on the exact same ~50 GB file, the old version of ffms2 takes 50 sec and the new one takes 8 times more (!) for indexing.

That's interesting and worths an investigation from the developers, if it's StaxRip or FFMS2.
__________________
Win 10 x64 (18362.356) - Core i3-9100F - nVidia 1660 (436.15)
HEVC decoding benchmarks
H.264 DXVA Benchmarks for all
NikosD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2019, 11:39   #730  |  Link
Natty
Noob
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 193
this ffms2 version works fine for indexing, cropping and previewing

https://www84.zippyshare.com/v/9itzqrGo/file.html

please test
Natty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2019, 12:21   #731  |  Link
Taurus
Registered User
 
Taurus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Krautland
Posts: 860
@Natty
Please use another filesharer.
Zippyshare is the worst spammer around and just gave me "403 forbidden"....
Taurus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2019, 12:57   #732  |  Link
lifta19
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Natty View Post
hmm u need latest smdegrain , rgtools and masktools

put them in \AviSynth+\plugins64+\

https://pastebin.com/4y4Zw2xG

https://github.com/pinterf/RgTools/releases/

https://github.com/pinterf/masktools/releases/

and delete them from StaxRip/Apps/Plugins

because it does not auto load correctly from there. all needed plugins should be in 1 single auto load folder.
Hi, Natty. What version are you using?
Because of the error, I just deleted version 2.0.3 and rolled back to version 2.0.2.0.
I'll just keep using 2.0.2.0 version.
Thank you

PS:
Aren't you the QXR encoder? LOL
lifta19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2019, 14:00   #733  |  Link
jlw_4049
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by Natty View Post
this ffms2 version works fine for indexing, cropping and previewing

https://www84.zippyshare.com/v/9itzqrGo/file.html

please test
Just waking up. Off of work today, I'll report back when I get on my PC to access my server here soon.

This version of FFMS2 took about 75 seconds on my 5400RPM 8tb storage drive. Latest version FFMS2 takes about 7 minutes and 30 seconds(I'm sure the latest version has better/more features).

The funny thing is, the hard drive is pretty much doing nothing. Meaning the indexer/program isn't utilizing it quickly/or barely at all, hence why it's taking so long.

StvG's version (which is newish only takes the 75 seconds on larger files. So i'm assuming it's not an issue with staxrip, but more of an issue with the indexer. (could be both) You can get it here https://forum.doom9.org/showpost.php...postcount=2505)

Last edited by jlw_4049; 26th August 2019 at 15:12.
jlw_4049 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2019, 15:11   #734  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
stax76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,722
@jlw_4049

I just tried more than 20 test runs and the main dialog appeared instantly every time. There must be a special condition on your PC.

Is this PC under load when it happens?
Which Windows version is used?
Anitmalware software installed or a system tool like clipboard manager, shell extension or automation tool?
Is staxrip minimized while indexing and if so is it minimized to tray or to task bar?
Does it also happen with short files like a minute or only with 50GB files?
Please post mediainfo.
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2019, 15:23   #735  |  Link
jlw_4049
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by stax76 View Post
@jlw_4049

I just tried more than 20 test runs and the main dialog appeared instantly every time. There must be a special condition on your PC.

Is this PC under load when it happens?
Which Windows version is used?
Anitmalware software installed or a system tool like clipboard manager, shell extension or automation tool?
Is staxrip minimized while indexing and if so is it minimized to tray or to task bar?
Does it also happen with short files like a minute or only with 50GB files?
Please post mediainfo.


PC is a ryzen 7 1700. It's not under any loads when this is happening.
It's Windows 10 Enterprise v.1903 (also tested on my gaming rig Windows 10 Pro v1903)
Only antivirus I use is Windows Defender.
I don't have any other tools. I keep my system pretty bare.
It runs PLEX/QBitorrent full time though.

It only happens with larger files now. It WAS happening with shorter files, but I re-extracted the latest version of StaxRip and that seemed to fix it on all files that are under 25gbs.

I'll post media info to the larger one I have been testing right now.

Also @Natty is having the same exact problem as me.

Also to clarify, the Index window is there. It shows a progress bar from 0 to 100% like it's supposed to. Once it completes the entire program closes out, you can't see it on task bar, you can't see it anywhere, but in the process tab of Task Manger. This is happening on 3 of my computers at home.

That's when it takes its time 70 seconds to almost 8 minutes depending on which FFMS2 I have on the program at the time. When this happens PC is chilling, hard drive is at 0, CPU is at 0, and Ram is still using the same amount for StaxRip.

IDK if this helps, but I usually use StaxRip for 4k files and MeGui for 1080p. MeGui doesn't have this issue when I index with FFMS2. It takes it about 5 to 10 seconds after Indexing is to complete for the GUI to come up and work again (It is using the version 2.23.1 FFMS2 filter).

MediaInfo:

Quote:
Format : Matroska
Format version : Version 4
File size : 47.3 GiB
Duration : 2 h 10 min
Overall bit rate mode : Variable
Overall bit rate : 51.8 Mb/s
Movie name : Iron Man 3 4K
Encoded date : UTC 2019-08-07 02:14:53
Writing application : mkvmerge v35.0.0 ('All The Love In The World') 64-bit
Writing library : libebml v1.3.9 + libmatroska v1.5.2

Video
ID : 1
Format : HEVC
Format/Info : High Efficiency Video Coding
Format profile : Main 10@L5.1@High
HDR format : SMPTE ST 2086, HDR10 compatible
Codec ID : V_MPEGH/ISO/HEVC
Duration : 2 h 10 min
Bit rate : 44.1 Mb/s
Width : 3 840 pixels
Height : 2 160 pixels
Display aspect ratio : 16:9
Frame rate mode : Constant
Frame rate : 23.976 (24000/1001) FPS
Color space : YUV
Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0 (Type 2)
Bit depth : 10 bits
Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.222
Stream size : 40.2 GiB (85%)
Default : Yes
Forced : No
Color range : Limited
Color primaries : BT.2020
Transfer characteristics : PQ
Matrix coefficients : BT.2020 non-constant
Mastering display color primaries : Display P3
Mastering display luminance : min: 0.0050 cd/m2, max: 4000 cd/m2
Maximum Content Light Level : 572 cd/m2
Maximum Frame-Average Light Level : 565 cd/m2

Audio #1
ID : 2
Format : MLP FBA 16-ch
Format/Info : Meridian Lossless Packing FBA with 16-channel presentation
Commercial name : Dolby TrueHD with Dolby Atmos
Codec ID : A_TRUEHD
Duration : 2 h 10 min
Bit rate mode : Variable
Bit rate : 4 826 kb/s
Maximum bit rate : 7 887 kb/s
Channel(s) : 8 channels
Channel layout : L R C LFE Ls Rs Lb Rb
Sampling rate : 48.0 kHz
Frame rate : 1 200.000 FPS (40 SPF)
Compression mode : Lossless
Stream size : 4.40 GiB (9%)
Title : TrueHD Atmos 7.1
Language : English
Default : Yes
Forced : No
Number of dynamic objects : 13
Bed channel count : 1 channel
Bed channel configuration : LFE

Audio #2
ID : 3
Format : AC-3
Format/Info : Audio Coding 3
Commercial name : Dolby Digital
Codec ID : A_AC3
Duration : 2 h 10 min
Bit rate mode : Constant
Bit rate : 640 kb/s
Channel(s) : 6 channels
Channel layout : L R C LFE Ls Rs
Sampling rate : 48.0 kHz
Frame rate : 31.250 FPS (1536 SPF)
Bit depth : 16 bits
Compression mode : Lossy
Stream size : 597 MiB (1%)
Title : AC3 5.1
Language : English
Service kind : Complete Main
Default : No
Forced : No

Audio #3
ID : 4
Format : AC-3
Format/Info : Audio Coding 3
Commercial name : Dolby Digital
Codec ID : A_AC3
Duration : 2 h 10 min
Bit rate mode : Constant
Bit rate : 192 kb/s
Channel(s) : 2 channels
Channel layout : L R
Sampling rate : 48.0 kHz
Frame rate : 31.250 FPS (1536 SPF)
Bit depth : 16 bits
Compression mode : Lossy
Stream size : 179 MiB (0%)
Title : Commentary by Director/Writer Shane Black/Writer Drew Pearce
Language : English
Service kind : Complete Main
Default : No
Forced : No

Text #1
ID : 5
Format : PGS
Codec ID : S_HDMV/PGS
Codec ID/Info : Picture based subtitle format used on BDs/HD-DVDs
Duration : 2 h 10 min
Bit rate : 36.1 kb/s
Count of elements : 3480
Stream size : 33.5 MiB (0%)
Title : English
Language : English
Default : No
Forced : No

I deleted like 50 texts from the media info. As the post would have been too long.


You're version StaxRip 2.0.2.0 opens the GUI after indexing in 40 seconds. Latest almost 8 minutes. None of them are instant so far.

Last edited by jlw_4049; 26th August 2019 at 15:41.
jlw_4049 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2019, 15:50   #736  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
stax76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,722
Is the crop filter enabled? Maybe it's the auto crop feature.
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2019, 15:53   #737  |  Link
jlw_4049
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by stax76 View Post
Is the crop filter enabled? Maybe it's the auto crop feature.
I don't do anything with the program but launch it. I set the template from automatic to manual.

I drag my video file in. I choose FFVideoSource. The index selection comes up, which I de-select everything. I don't want to demux anything just index the file. It indexes from 0 to 100% (time takes 1-7 mins depending on size, which is normal)
The problem comes in, once that is done, the entire program goes away. It won't come back from 70 seconds to 8 minutes depending on filter version.

I never get a chance to crop/preview or anything else until StaxRip comes back up after the 8 minutes.

Currently running 2 more tests. One on my gaming PC with the file stored locally on it. One on my server with the file moved/stored locally on it. Going to see what happens, indexing is almost done.

EDIT: Just tested the same file on 2 different machines. One with latest version of StaxRip using FFMS2, it's been 4 minutes still hasn't opened.

The other program with VapourSynth (staxrip v2.0.1.0) after it was done indexing program opens instantly like it's supposed to. It definitely has something to do with the AviSynth ffms2, IDK if it's Stax or the filter though.

Last edited by jlw_4049; 26th August 2019 at 16:06.
jlw_4049 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2019, 16:01   #738  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
stax76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,722
Before you open a file, is the crop filter checked?
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2019, 16:09   #739  |  Link
jlw_4049
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by stax76 View Post
Before you open a file, is the crop filter checked?


This is what it looks like when I launch it. I drag the file in immediately after words.

Also a little update:
VapourSynth ffms2 works instantly in Stax.
AviSynth ffms2 just took 8 minutes for GUI to become usable afterwords.

Same file, 2 different machines.
jlw_4049 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2019, 16:15   #740  |  Link
jlw_4049
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by stax76 View Post
Before you open a file, is the crop filter checked?

I'm willing to let you teamview in my machine to see this first hand if you'd like.
jlw_4049 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aac, hdr, hevc, staxrip, x265

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.