Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Development

Old 15th December 2012, 17:13   #1  |  Link
Eyedunno

Idea for unusual deinterlacing method for retro games

Hello, this is my first time posting here, and my request (if it doesn't yet exist) is a little unusual, so please bear with me. I already posted it on VirtualDub Forums, and they thought somebody here might be more knowledgeable about whether this exists and/or how to make a relevant Vdub or avisynth filter. So without further ado...

I like to capture old video games with a capture card, but there are serious issues with deinterlacing things that have a 60fps flicker. Using half fields will either show a static image of the thing that is flickering or show nothing at all. Using blended fields will show static, semi-transparent objects.

A blended clip will generally blend the top and bottom fields with equal, 50%/50% opacities. But I wondered, "what if you were to blend a frame with a 75% top field/25% bottom field ratio, and the next frame with a 25% top/75% bottom ratio, and so on?"

I did a little proof of concept, but first a little warning: I don't have a website and didn't really feel like setting one up just for this, so I made a single HTML file with embedded base64 images, so it may take a minute or so to load, even on a fast connection. They are animated PNGs, so they will not show up properly in browsers other than Firefox or Opera. If you are using MSIE, Chrome, or Safari, sorry, nothing to see here. With that out of the way, here is the proof of concept:

http://www.dinkypage.com/161836