Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 5th August 2011, 16:56   #1  |  Link
capridik
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6
problem decoding DTS-ES to stereo

Hi there,

I've an audio track here in DTS-ES 6.1 channel sound that I want to downmix to stereo.
I've installed ArcSoft decoder which did a good job for the 5.1 inputs so far but the output of
eac3to -down16 -down2
is crap. It contains a hissing and whistling over the whole track.
I already tried
eac3to -down16 -down6
but got the same result.
Forcing eac3to to use libav results in clean audio but compared to playing the DTS track directly it seems to lack the very low frequencies - not unexpected as eac3to writes "The libav DTS decoder doesn't decode the back channels."

Mediainfo on the file:
Channel(s) : 7 channels / 6 channels
Channel positions : Front: L C R, Side: L R, Back: C, LFE / Front: L C R, Side: L R, LFE
Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
Bit depth : 16 bits

Any ideas how to correctly downmix everything to stereo?

Thanks, capridik
capridik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2011, 18:41   #2  |  Link
Midzuki
Unavailable
 
Midzuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: offline
Posts: 1,477
Hi there to you too

IIWY, I would try the following (OK, it IS complicated and convoluted, but it may work):

install (register) LAV Audio, copy the file DTSdecoderdll.dll to its folder, build an appropriate .GRF file in GraphEdit (or GraphStudio), write a suitable Avisynth script, convert this to a 6.1 (or an already downmixed stereo) .WAV through wavi.exe.

HTH ^.^ ;
Midzuki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2011, 12:29   #3  |  Link
capridik
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Midzuki View Post
IIWY, I would try the following (OK, it IS complicated and convoluted, but it may work):

install (register) LAV Audio, copy the file DTSdecoderdll.dll to its folder, build an appropriate .GRF file in GraphEdit (or GraphStudio), write a suitable Avisynth script, convert this to a 6.1 (or an already downmixed stereo) .WAV through wavi.exe.
Hm, quite some new stuff to chew.

I can't see what benefit copying DTSdecoderdll.dll gives me. Also I didn't manage to use the Avisynth script as input to wavi (wavi Audio.avs Audio.wav resulted in
Error: Could not find PCM audio track in Audio.avs.).
And I also don't know what you had in mind of downmixing the stuff.

But what I did and what pretty much works is building a graph
DTS -> LAV Audio Decoder - > ffdshow Audio Processor (using the mixer matrix do downmix to stereo)
and the avs looks like this
Code:
DirectShowSource("Audio.grf", video=false)
SoundOut(output="WAV", filename="Audio.wav")
So thank you for pointing me to GraphEdit (a program I started a few times already but also closed right away) together with Avisynth. I'm nevertheless curious about details on the dll and wavi (and any other, maybe less complicated way of getting to my result).

cu, capridik
capridik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2011, 19:00   #4  |  Link
Midzuki
Unavailable
 
Midzuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: offline
Posts: 1,477
Quote:
Originally Posted by capridik View Post
Hm, quite some new stuff to chew.
Actually not so new. Doom9's forum is supposed to be visited once a week at least, not only when you meet some audio-/video-related problem

Quote:
I can't see what benefit copying DTSdecoderdll.dll gives me.
LAV Audio can hook directly onto ArcSoft's DTS decoder, whereas eac3to requires ASAudioHD.ax, checkactivate.dll, etc etc etc.

Quote:
Also I didn't manage to use the Avisynth script as input to wavi (wavi Audio.avs Audio.wav resulted in
Error: Could not find PCM audio track in Audio.avs.).
Hmmm, I will have to verify if the same thing happens over here.

Quote:
But what I did and what pretty much works is building a graph
DTS -> LAV Audio Decoder - > ffdshow Audio Processor (using the mixer matrix do downmix to stereo)
and the avs looks like this
Code:
DirectShowSource("Audio.grf", video=false)
SoundOut(output="WAV", filename="Audio.wav")
So thank you for pointing me to GraphEdit (a program I started a few times already but also closed right away) together with Avisynth.
You're welcome.
Midzuki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2011, 22:48   #5  |  Link
Midzuki
Unavailable
 
Midzuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: offline
Posts: 1,477
Quote:
Originally Posted by capridik View Post
Also I didn't manage to use the Avisynth script as input to wavi (wavi Audio.avs Audio.wav resulted in
Error: Could not find PCM audio track in Audio.avs.).
Now I can confirm that, wavi.exe apparently doesn't like DirectShowSource on .GRF files

As for avs2pipe(mod).exe:

Code:
avs2pipemod [error]: avs files return value is not a clip.
Midzuki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2011, 07:25   #6  |  Link
Midzuki
Unavailable
 
Midzuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: offline
Posts: 1,477
Hmmm, I've run some more tests with two different graphs (one includes ffdshow audio processor, whereas the other does not), and several AVS files (with and without an audiodubbed BlankClip). wavi.exe likes Audiodub() without ffdshow, but detects 6 channels instead of seven. As for VirtualDub and MPC, they show 7 channels with ffdshow, but only 6 channels without ffdshow.

----------------
EDIT

After UN-registering Gabest's AC3/DTS Source Filter and by using LAV Splitter, now wavi.exe does accept the following graph:

FileSource -> LAV Splitter -> LAV Audio

Code:
=>wavi 6p1-DTS.avs

[dts @ 00d42060] max_analyze_duration 5000000 reached at 5002667
[dts @ 00d42060] Estimating duration from bitrate, this may be inaccurate
Found PCM audio: 7 channels, 48000 Hz, 24 bits, 27.259396 seconds.

Last edited by Midzuki; 7th August 2011 at 10:29. Reason: overdue correction
Midzuki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2011, 09:29   #7  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,727
Quote:
Originally Posted by capridik View Post
...
I've installed ArcSoft decoder which did a good job for the 5.1 inputs so far but the output of
eac3to -down16 -down2
is crap. It contains a hissing and whistling over the whole track.
Is a know ArcSoft decoder bug with 6.1, you need the 1.1.0.0 old version.

Quote:
Forcing eac3to to use libav results in clean audio but compared to playing the DTS track directly it seems to lack the very low frequencies - not unexpected as eac3to writes "The libav DTS decoder doesn't decode the back channels."
libav work fine and to downmix to stereo the back channel is not needed.
I can't understand the lack at low frequencies, please put a sample.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2011, 17:17   #8  |  Link
capridik
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Midzuki View Post
Hmmm, I've run some more tests with two different graphs ...
Thank you Midzuki for your research! I haven't available the strange DTS file anymore (I'm doing recoding for saving space and delete it afterwards if all is fine).
But I definitely appreciate your work and keep this thread bookmarked for reference.
capridik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2011, 17:22   #9  |  Link
capridik
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
Is a know ArcSoft decoder bug with 6.1, you need the 1.1.0.0 old version.

libav work fine and to downmix to stereo the back channel is not needed.
I can't understand the lack at low frequencies, please put a sample.
Ah, there we go. I'll have a look for the old version of the decoder. Are there any known drawbacks for not using the later versions?

Sorry, I can't provide samples since I have that file anymore (I'm doing recoding for saving space and delete it afterwards if all is fine). It wasn't a scientific inspection I conducted and maybe I was wrong. On the other hand listening to the back channel alone there was quite some effects happeing.
capridik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2011, 04:52   #10  |  Link
Midzuki
Unavailable
 
Midzuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: offline
Posts: 1,477
Quote:
Originally Posted by capridik View Post
Ah, there we go. I'll have a look for the old version of the decoder. Are there any known drawbacks for not using the later versions?
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...78#post1508578

Welcome to the ArcSoft hell
Midzuki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2011, 10:51   #11  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,899
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
Is a know ArcSoft decoder bug with 6.1, you need the 1.1.0.0 old version.
Actually, its a problem in eac3to. The only thing absolutely broken in the ArcSoft decoder is 6.0, 6.1 works fine.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.