Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > New and alternative a/v containers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 1st May 2016, 18:22   #241  |  Link
gpower2
gMKVExtractGUI author
 
gpower2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Greece / Thessaloniki
Posts: 223
Quote:
Originally Posted by hello_hello View Post
MKVToolNix hasn't run on XP since version 7.8.0, so that's what I'm using. gMKVExtractGUI 1.8.0 seems to be working fine. There's probably little chance I'll ever upgrade XP on this PC. Maybe when I've played around with it more I'll switch to Linux, but other than that it'll be XP till it dies.
The PC's old. The next one will run Win7 until I'm hopefully comfortable switching to Linux and dumping Windows completely.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sneaker_ger View Post
XP compatibility of Mvktoolnix has been restored later.
I think that v8.8 works on XP, but I am not so sure if that's the case with newer versions.

Thanks to djcj valuable feedback, and Mosu's support, gMKVExtractGUI works on Linux too, so you wouldn't have to stop using it!
__________________
gMKVExtractGUI thread
gpower2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2016, 19:03   #242  |  Link
hello_hello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4,290
Thanks for the info. I stopped paying attention to MKVToolNix after it stopped working on XP, so I had no idea that had changed again. I just gave MKVToolNix 9.1.0 a spin and it seems fine. Aside from the way it displays directories. ie "E:/video.mkv" rather than "E:\video.mkv". Is that an XP thing or is it normal?

Cheers.
hello_hello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2016, 21:23   #243  |  Link
hubblec4
Matroska find' ich toll
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,164
Quote:
Originally Posted by hello_hello View Post
... Aside from the way it displays directories. ie "E:/video.mkv" rather than "E:\video.mkv". Is that an XP thing or is it normal?

Cheers.
Thats normal.
__________________
chapterEditor || Matroska-Playback || hSplit || DiscShare
hubblec4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2016, 06:55   #244  |  Link
bin_ch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by gpower2 View Post
Well, I changed the minimum size to 400x400 now, but I have to warn you that the layout of the "Actions" panel will be broken and I can't do much about it.
With this change, all new gMKVExtractGUI users will see a broken UI upon start. That's not making a good first impression IMO.
Users requiring such a small size shouldn't be the majority after all. Most users have to enlarge the window size which they probably don't need to previously.
Is it possible to make the initial size for the first run bigger than the minimum? I think it will create better user experience with this approach.
bin_ch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2016, 14:01   #245  |  Link
bin_ch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 37
A small bug:

If job mode is enabled, as soon as 'Add job' is pressed, the status text in the main window immediately shows 'Extraction completed!'

This bug was introduced in 1.7.0
bin_ch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2016, 17:48   #246  |  Link
gpower2
gMKVExtractGUI author
 
gpower2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Greece / Thessaloniki
Posts: 223
Thanks for the feedback bin_ch! Both bugs are fixed in trunk!
__________________
gMKVExtractGUI thread
gpower2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2016, 07:08   #247  |  Link
magsoud
Registered User
 
magsoud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Tabriz
Posts: 48
Add this:
1) Start main form's Auto fit Size!
2) Saved Setting! (last Window Size and ticked in Action item,...)

Last edited by magsoud; 5th May 2016 at 08:23.
magsoud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2016, 23:47   #248  |  Link
alfixdvd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 243
Since release 9.1.0 of mkvtoolnix I have trouble with almost mkv files.

I start gmkvextractgui, I browse and choose an mkv file and nothing happens. Panel is empty of information and gmkvextractgu hangs, mkvinfo don't retrieve any information.

With version 9.0.1 of mkvtoolnix all's fine
alfixdvd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th May 2016, 00:13   #249  |  Link
Wildfire
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by alfixdvd View Post
Since release 9.1.0 of mkvtoolnix I have trouble with almost mkv files.

I start gmkvextractgui, I browse and choose an mkv file and nothing happens. Panel is empty of information and gmkvextractgu hangs, mkvinfo don't retrieve any information.

With version 9.0.1 of mkvtoolnix all's fine
No problems here - it must be a system-specific issue.
Wildfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th May 2016, 07:08   #250  |  Link
alfixdvd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildfire View Post
No problems here - it must be a system-specific issue.
I don't think. MKVcleaver works fine with both versions of mkvtoolnix.
alfixdvd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th May 2016, 08:39   #251  |  Link
bin_ch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by alfixdvd View Post
Since release 9.1.0 of mkvtoolnix I have trouble with almost mkv files.

I start gmkvextractgui, I browse and choose an mkv file and nothing happens. Panel is empty of information and gmkvextractgu hangs, mkvinfo don't retrieve any information.

With version 9.0.1 of mkvtoolnix all's fine
No problems for me, too.

Are you using Non-English Windows?
If so, you might want to give the pre builds of MKVToolNix a try.
bin_ch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th May 2016, 10:07   #252  |  Link
Wildfire
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by bin_ch View Post
No problems for me, too.

Are you using Non-English Windows?
If so, you might want to give the pre builds of MKVToolNix a try.
My Windows is non-English too (Dutch, to be precise). No problems here.
Wildfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2016, 10:30   #253  |  Link
alfixdvd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 243
I will use MKVcleaver because it works fine with both versions of mkvtoolnix
alfixdvd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2016, 14:12   #254  |  Link
bin_ch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by alfixdvd View Post
I will use MKVcleaver because it works fine with both versions of mkvtoolnix
So have you tried the pre-builds?

I was suggesting the pre-builds of mkvtoolnix because version 9.1.0 introduced a bug in the output of mkvmerge identification, which gMKVExtractGUI relies on to get file info.
The bug has been fixed in pre-builds 01201 and higher.

If it's still no good with the pre-builds, then you might have indeed found a bug in gMKVExtractGUI.
In that case, you'll need to provide more detailed information for the author to investigate, for example, manually execute mkvmerge.exe --ui-language en --identify-verbose file.mkv and post the output.
bin_ch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2016, 15:22   #255  |  Link
alfixdvd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by bin_ch View Post
So have you tried the pre-builds?

I was suggesting the pre-builds of mkvtoolnix because version 9.1.0 introduced a bug in the output of mkvmerge identification, which gMKVExtractGUI relies on to get file info.
The bug has been fixed in pre-builds 01201 and higher.

If it's still no good with the pre-builds, then you might have indeed found a bug in gMKVExtractGUI.
In that case, you'll need to provide more detailed information for the author to investigate, for example, manually execute mkvmerge.exe --ui-language en --identify-verbose file.mkv and post the output.
I installed 9.1.0 final over 9.0.1 final without de-install, and now works fine.

I don't understand what happens.

If I have another issue I will try : mkvmerge.exe --ui-language en --identify-verbose file.mkv to try to identfy the problem.

thanks

Last edited by alfixdvd; 22nd May 2016 at 15:27.
alfixdvd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2016, 20:02   #256  |  Link
gpower2
gMKVExtractGUI author
 
gpower2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Greece / Thessaloniki
Posts: 223
Sorry for the delayed response alfixdvd...

In gMKVExtractGUI v1.8 & MKVToolNix 9.1.0 the identification process relies solely on mkvmerge.exe and not on mkvinfo.exe like it used to.
Perhaps something happened with your installation with MKVToolNix and that caused the problems you were having.

As the other users suggested, if you happen to run again into problems with gMKVExtractGUI, you could try to run the command "mkvmerge.exe --ui-language en --identify-verbose file.mkv" manually, and post the output here.

Thanks for your feedback!
__________________
gMKVExtractGUI thread
gpower2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd May 2016, 13:01   #257  |  Link
hello_hello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4,290
Quote:
Originally Posted by alfixdvd View Post
I installed 9.1.0 final over 9.0.1 final without de-install, and now works fine.

I don't understand what happens.
I generally download the portable MKVToolNix and unzip it to an appropriately named folder, after renaming the old MKVToolNix folder to something like "MKVToolNix_old". If you copy the ini file from the old MKVToolNix folder to the new one it'll retain the previous settings.

That way it's fairly easy to change the version of MKVToolNix gMKVExtractGUI is using, without having to uninstall/install it.
hello_hello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2016, 15:03   #258  |  Link
Perenista
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 75
I am having this problem here:
Extraction of track ID 1 with the CodecID 'A_MS/ACM' is not supported.

Tried to do this:
Perenista is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2016, 21:14   #259  |  Link
gpower2
gMKVExtractGUI author
 
gpower2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Greece / Thessaloniki
Posts: 223
You are posting a screenshot of another application (MKVExtractGUI2) and not of gMKVExtractGUI, so I can't help you.
__________________
gMKVExtractGUI thread
gpower2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2016, 12:33   #260  |  Link
Perenista
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by gpower2 View Post
You are posting a screenshot of another application (MKVExtractGUI2) and not of gMKVExtractGUI, so I can't help you.
This error I reported is happening with this app, gMKVExtractGUI. Here's the screenshot from gMKVExtractGUI:



And only affects this PCM 5.1 track:



In case you are wondering, this is not the only app that isn't capable of extracting this PCM 5.1 track.

As I reported on Doom9, these can't do the same, too:

- MKVCleaver
- MKVExtractGUI (see previous post)

So, that means this track is stuck inside my MKV (extracted from a Blu-ray - it's lossless).
Perenista is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
extractor, gmkvextractgui, matroska, mkv, mkv extract, mkvextract, mkvextractgui

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.