Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 27th November 2014, 10:47   #1  |  Link
Kurtnoise
Swallowed in the Sea
 
Kurtnoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Aix-en-Provence, France
Posts: 5,183
Flac 1.3.1 has been released

Quote:
General:

Improved decoding efficiency of all bit depths but especially so for 24 bits for IA32 architecture (lvqcl and Miroslav Lichvar).
Faster encoding using SSE and AVX (lvqcl).
Fixed bartlett, bartlett_hann and triangle functions.
New apodization functions partial_tukey and punchout_tukey for improved compression (Martijn van Beurden).
Retuned compression presets to incorporate new apodization functions (Martijn van Beurden).
Fix -Wcast-align warnings on armhf architecture (Erik de Castro Lopo).

FLAC format:
(none)

Ogg FLAC format:
(none)

flac:
Help output documentation improvements.
I/O buffering improvements on Windows to reduce disk fragmentation when writing files.
Only write vorbis-comments if they are non-empty.

metaflac:
(none)

plugins:
Fix symbol visibility in XMMS plugin.

build system:
Many fixes and improvements across all the build systems.

documentation:
Document new apodization windows.

libraries:
Fix CVE-2014-9028 (heap write overflow) and CVE-2014-8962 (heap read overflow) (Erik de Castro Lopo).

Interface changes:

libFLAC:
(none)
libFLAC++:
(none)
Sources | Windows binaries
Kurtnoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2014, 08:58   #2  |  Link
hello_hello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3,943
Thanks!
hello_hello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2014, 11:43   #3  |  Link
Thunderbolt8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,171
does this update have any practical relevance when using winamp to play flac files or eac3to to create flac files?
__________________
Laptop Acer Aspire V3-772g: i7-4202MQ, 8GB Ram, NVIDIA GTX 760M (+ Intel HD 4600), Windows 8.1 x64, madVR (x64), MPC-HC (x64), LAV Filter (x64), XySubfilter (x64)
Thunderbolt8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2014, 14:25   #4  |  Link
the_weirdo
Yes, I'm weird.
 
the_weirdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southeast Asia
Posts: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderbolt8 View Post
does this update have any practical relevance when using winamp to play flac files or eac3to to create flac files?
In case of using eac3to to create FLAC files, yes. It'll be faster.
__________________
“Never argue with stupid people, they will drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience.” — Mark Twain
the_weirdo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2014, 23:40   #5  |  Link
Thunderbolt8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,171
but madshi has to update libflac.dll for that, right?
__________________
Laptop Acer Aspire V3-772g: i7-4202MQ, 8GB Ram, NVIDIA GTX 760M (+ Intel HD 4600), Windows 8.1 x64, madVR (x64), MPC-HC (x64), LAV Filter (x64), XySubfilter (x64)
Thunderbolt8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2014, 23:54   #6  |  Link
Sparktank
47.952fps@71.928Hz
 
Sparktank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 899
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderbolt8 View Post
but madshi has to update libflac.dll for that, right?
I believe he said it's okay to update the library manually. It was asked before so if you do a search, you should see the post, recently this year, iirc.

Libav/ffmpeg is the the only thing with custom code, I believe.
__________________
Win10 (x64) build 17134 | GPU Caps Viewer 1.40.1.0
NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 (GP108) 2047MB/GDDR5 | (R417.22)
NTSC | DVD: R1 | BD: A
Sparktank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2014, 02:35   #7  |  Link
the_weirdo
Yes, I'm weird.
 
the_weirdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southeast Asia
Posts: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderbolt8 View Post
but madshi has to update libflac.dll for that, right?
As there's no API change in this new version, you can just replace it in place. (Download the new DLL from here, rename libFLAC_dynamic.dll to libFLAC.dll).

EDIT: Note that they've retuned compression presets (including -8 which is used by eac3to), so sometimes, the compression of new version may be worse than older versions a bit (usually less than 1%).
__________________
“Never argue with stupid people, they will drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience.” — Mark Twain

Last edited by the_weirdo; 1st December 2014 at 03:18.
the_weirdo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2014, 13:21   #8  |  Link
Thunderbolt8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,171
I guess I need the 32-bit version of libflac.dll for eac3to? or does that depend on my OS?
__________________
Laptop Acer Aspire V3-772g: i7-4202MQ, 8GB Ram, NVIDIA GTX 760M (+ Intel HD 4600), Windows 8.1 x64, madVR (x64), MPC-HC (x64), LAV Filter (x64), XySubfilter (x64)
Thunderbolt8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2014, 13:23   #9  |  Link
Groucho2004
 
Groucho2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: A wretched hive of scum and villainy
Posts: 4,359
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderbolt8 View Post
I guess I need the 32-bit version of libflac.dll for eac3to? or does that depend on my OS?
1.Yes
2.No
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2014, 14:12   #10  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,559
Quote:
Originally Posted by the_weirdo View Post
EDIT: Note that they've retuned compression presets (including -8 which is used by eac3to), so sometimes, the compression of new version may be worse than older versions a bit (usually less than 1%).
Before (1.3.0)
-8, --compression-level-8, --best Synonymous with -l 12 -b 4096 -m -e -r 6

Now (1.3.1)
-8, --compression-level-8, --best Synonymous with -l 12 -b 4096 -m -r 6

Seems the difference is
-e, --exhaustive-model-search Do exhaustive model search (expensive!)

Or there are other difference?
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2014, 15:23   #11  |  Link
the_weirdo
Yes, I'm weird.
 
the_weirdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southeast Asia
Posts: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
Or there are other difference?
http://git.xiph.org/?p=flac.git;a=co...0e1270b850b0a9

Also, I said sometimes the compression of new presets is a bit worse than before so that people don't surprise when that happens. In most cases, however, this version should perform better than old versions (or at least the same; compression-wise).
__________________
“Never argue with stupid people, they will drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience.” — Mark Twain

Last edited by the_weirdo; 1st December 2014 at 15:33.
the_weirdo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2014, 00:13   #12  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,559
@the_weirdo
Thanks for the info.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th December 2014, 17:49   #13  |  Link
Music Fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,666
Is there a way to use 1.3.1 with Flac frontend ? I installed the last GUI (v 2.1) but it use FLAC 1.3.0.
And there is no dll in FLAC Frontend's folder.
http://flacfrontend.sourceforge.net/
Music Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th December 2014, 20:30   #14  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by Music Fan View Post
Is there a way to use 1.3.1 with Flac frontend ? I installed the last GUI (v 2.1) but it use FLAC 1.3.0.
And there is no dll in FLAC Frontend's folder.
http://flacfrontend.sourceforge.net/
Replacing the flac.exe in the "tools" sub-folder doesn't work?
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.


LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2014, 16:13   #15  |  Link
Music Fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,666
Yes, thanks, I forgot the exe. I was focused on dll because just before I read something about the Flac dll for eac3to.
Music Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2015, 23:56   #16  |  Link
Overdrive80
Anime addict
 
Overdrive80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Spain
Posts: 646
Hey, somebody could tell me max. frame size in ms for flac? Thanks
__________________
Intel i7-6700K + Noctua NH-D15 + Z170A XPower G. Titanium + Kingston HyperX Savage DDR4 2x8GB + Nvidia GTX750 2GB DDR5 + SSD Vertex 4 256 GB + Antec EDG750 80 Plus Gold Mod + Corsair 780T Graphite
Overdrive80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2015, 11:05   #17  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,559
Quote:
Originally Posted by Overdrive80 View Post
Hey, somebody could tell me max. frame size in ms for flac? Thanks
It's not easy to know that, using info from https://xiph.org/flac/documentation_..._overview.html and https://xiph.org/flac/format.html#frame_header

Quote:
...Like most audio codecs, FLAC splits the unencoded audio data into blocks, and encodes each block separately. The encoded block is packed into a frame and appended to the stream. The reference encoder uses a single block size for the whole stream but the FLAC format does not require it.
Quote:
...In order to simplify encoder/decoder design, FLAC imposes a minimum block size of 16 samples, and a maximum block size of 65535 samples. This range covers the optimal size for all of the audio data FLAC supports.

Currently the reference encoder uses a fixed block size, optimized on the sample rate of the input. Future versions may vary the block size depending on the characteristics of the signal.
but:
Quote:
FLAC specifies a subset of itself as the Subset format. The purpose of this is to ensure that any streams encoded according to the Subset are truly "streamable",...

The Subset makes the following limitations on what may be used in the stream:
- The blocksize must be <=16384; if the sample rate is <= 48000Hz, the blocksize must be <=4608.
...
Like FLAC support:
Sample size in bits: 8, 16, 20 and 24 (1 to 3 bytes)
Channels: 1 to 8
Samplerate: 8 to 96 KHz

A theoric max framesize in ms. can be for a 1 channel, 8 bits (1 byte) and 8 KHz (8000 samples/s, 8 samples/ms):

Max framesize in ms: Max_BlockSize / (Channels x ByteDepth x Samples/ms)

Max framesize in ms: 65535 / (1 x 1 x 8) = 8191,875 ms

But blocksize is "optimized on the sample rate" and with limits in "Subset format" maybe we can have for a 2 channel, 16 bits (2 bytes) 48 KHz ( 48 samples/ms):

Max framesize in ms: 4608 / (2 x 2 x 48) = 24 ms

For 6 channels, 24 bits (3 bytes) and 48 KHz:

Max framesize in ms: 4608 / (6 x 3 x 48) = 10,667 ms
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.

Last edited by tebasuna51; 17th January 2015 at 11:14.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2015, 11:51   #18  |  Link
Overdrive80
Anime addict
 
Overdrive80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Spain
Posts: 646
Ok, thanks Tebasuna51, I am testing time-stretch option in matroska with opus and like I knew that with flac playback fine, I need config --framesize option properly. Regards.
__________________
Intel i7-6700K + Noctua NH-D15 + Z170A XPower G. Titanium + Kingston HyperX Savage DDR4 2x8GB + Nvidia GTX750 2GB DDR5 + SSD Vertex 4 256 GB + Antec EDG750 80 Plus Gold Mod + Corsair 780T Graphite
Overdrive80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.