Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 20th January 2019, 17:02   #54341  |  Link
madjock
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by actarusfleed View Post
I'll try also FSE but I can't imagine that is this the reason of my empty queue ...
It is because the graphics card is choking, others have mentioned issues unless in FSE with the new cards, also I see no mention of HDR on the OSD.

Try HDR passthrough as well before you use the newer HDR options (which you have switched off in Trade for Performance mostly) and work from there, but do what the others have said first.

Last edited by madjock; 20th January 2019 at 17:09.
madjock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2019, 17:16   #54342  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,650
Quote:
Originally Posted by actarusfleed View Post
Not checked but ... Billy lin (look at the image) is HEVC for sure.

Can someone of you post a capture of his LAV video decoder panel?
I want to see if your LAV reports something different of mine ...

thanks
you can check the file with properties in mpc-hc.

your lav filter setting are showing software decoding and you have a select a hardware decoder so this looks like an incompatible file format.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2019, 17:36   #54343  |  Link
actarusfleed
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 71
.....

Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
you can check the file with properties in mpc-hc.
Checked now. It's HEVC, mkw and HDR file. You can download it there....

https://4kmedia.org/lg-colors-of-journey-demo/

Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
your lav filter setting are showing software decoding and you have a select a hardware decoder so this looks like an incompatible file format.
I'm pretty sure this is the reason of my problem .... with every option under LAV decoder checked I can't see anything different on: hardware accellation = none.

Any idea to activate it?
Any option under nvidia control panel?
actarusfleed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2019, 17:46   #54344  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,650
there are many types of HEVC not all a hardware decodable.

check the demo you linked me first this file has hardware compatibility.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2019, 17:48   #54345  |  Link
ErMaC
Lurker in Training
 
ErMaC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Halfway Between The Gutter And The Stars
Posts: 160
Showing proper aspect ratio/zoom on Ultrawide Monitor for content that changes Aspect

Hey all,
So hopefully this is a simple question to answer, but I've been fighting this for some time and I don't seem to be any closer to solving it.
I have a 21:9 Ultrawide monitor. It works great watching films that are shot in CinemaScope.
Some films (mostly Nolan films) will change aspect ratio from 16:9 (for IMAX shots, for example) and then for normal shots will be 21:9. I'm trying to figure out a way to show all content with as few bars as possible. This would mean:

Zooming 21:9 shots to crop the letterboxes
NOT Zooming the 16:9 footage and showing pillarboxes.

I can't seem to get MadVR to do this. I've tried dozens of combinations of settings and the best I can do is have it either zoomed to 21:9 all the time (losing picture during 16:9 shots) or just showing pillarboxes ALL the time and then also showing letterboxes during 21:9 shots.

Here are the settings I have:
*Disable scaling if image size changes... Tried all different settings, currently on 3 lines or less

* Move Subtitles into active area

* Automatically Detect hard coded black bars (yes)

* if black bars change quickly ... don't switch more than every 5 seconds (tried disabling this too).

* Notify ... immediately after every change

* Zoom small black bars away

* crop black bars

With these settings, nothing seems to be happening at all. Dunkirk will just play in 16:9 with pillar boxes and letterboxes in 21:9 scenes.
If I enable:
* If there are big black bars... zoom the bars away completely

Then I get the entire movie at 21:9 with no boxes anywhere, because it's zooming them away... but then I'm losing a chunk of the frame.

Basically - MadVR either lets me have no boxes (pillar or letter) or just leaves it alone. This would work if I had a 16:9 monitor and I was playing 16:9 content that switched to 21:9 because the bigger frame is my native aspect ratio, but when the native ratio is wider than the film ratio, it seems like this causes issues.
For now, I have to flip in and out of zoom levels with keyboard shortcuts, but this sucks. Am I screwed? Is there no way to fix this?
ErMaC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2019, 17:56   #54346  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,650
what decoder are you using?
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2019, 18:06   #54347  |  Link
ErMaC
Lurker in Training
 
ErMaC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Halfway Between The Gutter And The Stars
Posts: 160
LAV Video Decoder 0.71.0
ErMaC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2019, 18:08   #54348  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,650
change the hardware decoder from dxva native or d3d11 to DXVA copyback.

blackbar detection is run on the CPU and with a native decoder the CPU never sees the image.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2019, 18:36   #54349  |  Link
ErMaC
Lurker in Training
 
ErMaC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Halfway Between The Gutter And The Stars
Posts: 160
Well egg on my face... seems to have fixed it! thanks so much
ErMaC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2019, 18:43   #54350  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,650
this is not well documented so what could you do.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2019, 19:01   #54351  |  Link
XMonarchY
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 487
This says that native dithering is possible with NVidia Linux drivers and Windows Quadro drivers and now regular GeForce cards, but I can't get it to work or figure out how to test it https://steamcommunity.com/groups/Sp...8172123104780/

Is this how it is supposed to look like in the registry https://drive.google.com/file/d/1uin...w?usp=drivesdk ?
__________________
8700K @ 5Ghz | ASUS Z370 Hero X | Corsair 16GB @ 3200Mhz | RTX 2080 Ti @ 2100Mhz | Samsung 970 NVMe 250GB | WD Black 2TB | Corsair AX 850W | LG 32GK850G-B @ 165Hz | Xonar DGX | Windows 10 LTSC 1809
XMonarchY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2019, 19:13   #54352  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,650
nvidia is using dithering in like forever and it's very easy to test.

the examples are more about the the type of dithering in an ideal situation we don't want the image from madVR to be dithered by the driver.

so the only useful situation i can see here is the 6 bit dithering which madVR can already do...
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2019, 19:20   #54353  |  Link
giulianoprs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 39
Set the hardware device to "Automatic (Native)" not the RTX 2070, always? in the LAV video filters do you have to put it this way? I set rx 560, so it's wrong?
giulianoprs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2019, 19:34   #54354  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,650
not selecting a GPU results in native mode which is supposed to be faster but you can't use all blackbar detection features and other stuff like deinterlancing.

selecting a GPU is better for compatibility but DXVA copyback does the same and DXVA copyback was faster than D3D11 copyback if i remember correctly but not that it matters.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2019, 20:19   #54355  |  Link
giulianoprs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 39
but the non-selection of the GPU in the lav is for 4k hdr files or for everything? me with 1080p material I feel very comfortable with DVXA copyback and I have no problems, reading the message of warner I came the doubt
giulianoprs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2019, 20:30   #54356  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,650
what no doesn't matter if your system works properly.

warners advise is clearly worth a try but it doesn't mean you have to do or use that.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2019, 20:31   #54357  |  Link
XMonarchY
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 487
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
nvidia is using dithering in like forever and it's very easy to test.

the examples are more about the the type of dithering in an ideal situation we don't want the image from madVR to be dithered by the driver.

so the only useful situation i can see here is the 6 bit dithering which madVR can already do...
I could never notice NVidia performing any dithering by itself, at least not in games or video playback without madVR and dithering-enabling filters/renderers.

Perhaps this was not the most appropriate place to post that info, but I generally wanted to know how to truly enable NVidia dithering for desktop. That way Netflix content gets dithered... I doubt we will ever see madVR support for Microsoft Store Netflix App. Therefore driver-forced dithering is the only way to enable it for Netflix...
__________________
8700K @ 5Ghz | ASUS Z370 Hero X | Corsair 16GB @ 3200Mhz | RTX 2080 Ti @ 2100Mhz | Samsung 970 NVMe 250GB | WD Black 2TB | Corsair AX 850W | LG 32GK850G-B @ 165Hz | Xonar DGX | Windows 10 LTSC 1809
XMonarchY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2019, 20:44   #54358  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,650
you missing the point there is nothing to dither after your netflix app/browser.

and games send presentation frame to the driver if they are not before that then there simply isn't anything to dither which wouldn't be dithered anyway.

it is very simple to test if nvidia is dithering.

you take a gray scale load it in madVR with 10 presentation and you force your GPU driver to send 8 bit RGB.

if you don't see 256 steps the driver is clearly dithering.

Quote:
In short, all displays dither but not all do it properly for various reasons (ex: TN panel displays).
You will either benefit from this, or see no difference at all.
If you see no differences with any of the options then congratulations your display does dithering proper.
if your display is fine with dithering you don'T see anything different?? that's not how this works...
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2019, 21:19   #54359  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 380
God Damn It, just noticed AMD Dxva 4KHDR causes banding.. That's it, Final Straw, I'm selling my RX580..

Not going to sit around waiting for fixes for 3 years..

Sad, because I got a great deal on this card, Overclocks like a champ and runs super cool.


Gonna have to buy another 1060, sigh... all these ebay miner 1060s look so ragged/shi77y ..
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz

Last edited by tp4tissue; 20th January 2019 at 21:21.
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2019, 23:26   #54360  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 770
Quote:
Originally Posted by tp4tissue View Post
God Damn It, just noticed AMD Dxva 4KHDR causes banding.. That's it, Final Straw, I'm selling my RX580..

Not going to sit around waiting for fixes for 3 years..

Sad, because I got a great deal on this card, Overclocks like a champ and runs super cool.


Gonna have to buy another 1060, sigh... all these ebay miner 1060s look so ragged/shi77y ..
cant say ive noticed any, under what conditions / material ?
__________________
OLED EF950-YAMAHA RX-V685-Win101809-4K 444 RGB 60hz-AMD RX580 19.2.2
KODI DS - MAD/LAV 92.14/0.72.2 - FSE / 3D / DIRECT3D11 / 10bit
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.