Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 9th February 2019, 13:20   #54641  |  Link
mrmojo666
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni View Post
No, no, Asio4all is just for REW

I use HDMI bitstream for movie audio playback.
thank you for the answer, but.....what do you mean as REW ?
__________________
AMD Ry 1500x - 8GB - RX460 4GB
TV Philips 55pus6501+ Marantz 1608 avr
WIN10(1903) 4K/444RGB
Mediaportal - Mpc-hc
MADVR-D3D11/10bit
mrmojo666 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2019, 14:03   #54642  |  Link
KoKlusz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni View Post
No idea, I haven't tested and don't have any HDR games.
If you would like to test it, Shadow of the Tomb Raider and Resident Evil 2 have free demos on steam that support HDR.
KoKlusz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2019, 14:31   #54643  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 700
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmojo666 View Post
thank you for the answer, but.....what do you mean as REW ?
Room EQ Wizard https://www.roomeqwizard.com/

Quote:
Originally Posted by KoKlusz View Post
If you would like to test it, Shadow of the Tomb Raider and Resident Evil 2 have free demos on steam that support HDR.
Thanks, I might if I find the time, but not a priority here. Also how am I supposed to know if the metadata is correct or not? At least with UHD Bluray we know what the correct metadata is, plus MadVR shows it in the OSD.

nVidia is sending metadata, it's just not the correct one. the only way to know is to know what should be sent in passthrough mode.
__________________
Win10 Pro x64 b1809 MCE
i7 3770K@4.0Ghz 16Gb@2.18Ghz EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 11Gb@2GHz 398.11 RGB Full 8bits
MPC-BE/LAV/MadVR/jRiver/MyMovies V5.25PR2
Denon X8500H>HD Fury Maestro>JVC RS2000
Manni is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2019, 15:08   #54644  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,646
it's usually 4k with 10000 nit as pure white (will be clipped anyway so they didn'T bother.)

you will have sliders to control the meta data and you only need to look into the sun the max nit you setup.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2019, 15:11   #54645  |  Link
KoKlusz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 20
Tomb Raider internally reaches max 1500 nits, while RE2 4000 nits, so those values should be somehow reflected in metadata. If you gonna get the same values as with madVR, than metadata is fake.

That said this is purely to satisfy mine and sat4all's curiosity, so don't bother with this if you have better things to do.
KoKlusz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2019, 15:21   #54646  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 379
Quote:
Originally Posted by KoKlusz View Post
Tomb Raider internally reaches max 1500 nits, while RE2 4000 nits, so those values should be somehow reflected in metadata. If you gonna get the same values as with madVR, than metadata is fake.

That said this is purely to satisfy mine and sat4all's curiosity, so don't bother with this if you have better things to do.
This is confusing.

The color graders don't have the right equipment.

We don't have the right equipment.

Neither parties have the right equipment to view the standard..
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2019, 18:48   #54647  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,646
it'S a computer game and only light source like the sun have this brightness.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2019, 20:31   #54648  |  Link
OakLover
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 2


It is an expected behaviour for the GPU to reject every single optimized pixel clock up to clock number 32? A compatibility of 85 sounds a little bit more promising than that.

Am I doing something wrong or it is the display of my TV driving me nuts?
OakLover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2019, 21:06   #54649  |  Link
madjock
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by OakLover View Post

It is an expected behaviour for the GPU to reject every single optimized pixel clock up to clock number 32? A compatibility of 85 sounds a little bit more promising than that.

Am I doing something wrong or it is the display of my TV driving me nuts?
Not really, I never had any success with that side of madVR myself, so just always used older nVidia drivers that accepted custom resolutions. I always found the numbers that madVR was saying would work were of no use.

I think others have more success by inputing the numbers madVR gives into CRU, I never had much success with that, but lots of others did.
madjock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2019, 21:11   #54650  |  Link
brotherscro1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 1
Can anyone recomend me good settings for madVR can't seem to find some good settings most of what I have found is for older versions and with some video stutters
I have gtx 980ti i7 5930k and watching on 1440p screen mostly 1080p content sometimes 4k if that helps
Thanks
brotherscro1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2019, 21:16   #54651  |  Link
madjock
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by brotherscro1 View Post
Can anyone recomend me good settings for madVR can't seem to find some good settings most of what I have found is for older versions and with some video stutters
I have gtx 980ti i7 5930k and watching on 1440p screen mostly 1080p content sometimes 4k if that helps
Thanks
https://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php...942#pid2238942

The guide above is very relevant. It works best if you create profiles as in the guide for each resolution you are using.

Best bet is to set it up as per the guide and start low with options and work up to either what looks good to you, but is under the GPU utilization to stop issues.
madjock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2019, 04:12   #54652  |  Link
QBhd
QB the Slayer
 
QBhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 433
Quote:
Originally Posted by OakLover View Post

It is an expected behaviour for the GPU to reject every single optimized pixel clock up to clock number 32? A compatibility of 85 sounds a little bit more promising than that.

Am I doing something wrong or it is the display of my TV driving me nuts?
I have an old "720p" which is actually 1024x768 pixels... so I have 5 resolutions set up (59,60,71,72 and 75 Hz). The thing is, my TV will only accept resolutions with a Vertical Total around 800 (it seems to be +/- 10 around 800) Anything else and the TV rejects it; saying "invalid Format". It took a lot of errors before I realized what value was limiting my choices. Now when I optimize, if there is no suggestions with a vertical total around 800, I just play another video and try again.

So I suggest you look at every resolution your TV actually accepts and see if there is a value in those resolutions that is similar to one another... as I said, for me it was vertical total 800 (+/- 10), for you it may be something else, but it's worth paying attention to the resolutions that are accepted

QB
__________________
QBhd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2019, 12:40   #54653  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,067
Quote:
Originally Posted by OakLover View Post


It is an expected behaviour for the GPU to reject every single optimized pixel clock up to clock number 32? A compatibility of 85 sounds a little bit more promising than that.

Am I doing something wrong or it is the display of my TV driving me nuts?
It isn't expected behavior, but it happens. Often, the only option left is to try another video driver version or CRU.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2019, 22:02   #54654  |  Link
OakLover
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 2
That custom resolution feature seems to work for me right now. I played two different videos for over an hour each and tested two optimized pixel clocks with a compatibility of 50. I got two times a hit.

There is an Extension blocks section on the main window of the Custom Resolution Utility and I had to delete the resolution I currently try to optimize from two different Data Blocks called TV resolutions and HDMI support (Screenshot).



I don't use CRU to add those resolutions to my system. madvr is doing all this work and now I wonder if it will work a third time.

EDIT: It worked for a third time.

Last edited by OakLover; 10th February 2019 at 23:24.
OakLover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2019, 22:43   #54655  |  Link
actarusfleed
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 71
Excuse me guys, a simple question:

For an user forced to use D3D11 hardware decoding .... Isn't possible to put subtitles into viewing area?

Thank you so much
actarusfleed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2019, 22:47   #54656  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,383
There is no black bar detection with D3D11 native (or DXVA2 native). D3D11 copy-back or DXVA2 copy-back aren't fast enough on your system?
Workaround would be to (hard) set different subtitle position if your player allows this. But of course needs to be changed manually when you switch to a movie with different AR ...
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2019, 11:24   #54657  |  Link
ashlar42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 401
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni View Post
Still not an option for those who need HDMI passthrough for HDR, as the metadata is still not correct sadly. But if you use pixer shader tonemapping as I do, 418.81 seem to work great.
As a user of a plasma 1080p panel I have to admit that my future upgrade to OLED is looking scarier and scarier. There seems to be so many buts and ifs for UHD HDR playback that I dread the day I'll have to deal with them.
ashlar42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2019, 12:27   #54658  |  Link
madjock
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashlar42 View Post
As a user of a plasma 1080p panel I have to admit that my future upgrade to OLED is looking scarier and scarier. There seems to be so many buts and ifs for UHD HDR playback that I dread the day I'll have to deal with them.
Having bought a 4K TV a few weeks ago, it is quite daunting but I think only because we try and get the best out of it.

For example your average Joe will select a preset and away they will go, we are the ones worried about Gamma, crushed blacks and I do think we make things hard for ourselves, I know personally I was quite in awe of UHD when I played my first file, but by the time I have tweaked, changed settings it seems a lot flatter now, so unsure if I am doing more harm than good.

I also do not know how you would know if the metadata was not correct ?
madjock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2019, 12:53   #54659  |  Link
iSeries
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 599
Quote:
Originally Posted by madjock View Post
I also do not know how you would know if the metadata was not correct ?
Looks like we can't know unless the TV reports it. At first it looked like it was only 417.** and later drivers (I'm using 416.81) but then someone posted that this affected all drivers after the 398.** ones, so if true nvidia has been affected by this for a while now.

Last edited by iSeries; 11th February 2019 at 12:56.
iSeries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2019, 13:00   #54660  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,338
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashlar42 View Post
As a user of a plasma 1080p panel I have to admit that my future upgrade to OLED is looking scarier and scarier.
That's why I didn't dare to acquire one. Not to mention, I'd only need the quater of its features, and smart users can even find issues with those. Maybe just a huge monitor and that's it? But for what price? Maybe we need a separate topic exactly for "What display for madVR?"
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(2160p@23/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.