Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 28th December 2015, 15:18   #4961  |  Link
Zathor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,401
Code:
2627 [Main]                 detects during startup if AviSynth can be used
                            automatic fallback to the portable AviSynth
2626 [AvisynthWrapper]      updated to recent avisynth.h (requires AviSynth 2.6)
                            improved error handling
                            added x64 support
2625 [Flac Encoder]         fixed always using compression level 0 (regression of 2536)
Please report as usual issues with this new build. I expect some problems due to the switch to avisynth interface version 6 (before it was 2).
EDIT: A positive effect is that due to the improved error handler AviSynth should not be able to crash MeGUI anymore (like with FFM2 and fast cropping).
EDIT2: With hello_hello in mind I have compiled the wrapper also for XP. I hope it works :-)

Last edited by Zathor; 28th December 2015 at 16:54.
Zathor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2015, 17:36   #4962  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,876
IIRC, ITU AR are based on microsecond timings of TV signals designed for CRT TV sets, where a line has a length equivalent to the height of 702 lines. The simpler MPEG-4 AR are based on modulo-16 widths of 704 pixels.

I doubt any human would recognize the difference.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2015, 02:56   #4963  |  Link
Barough
Registered User
 
Barough's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 326
Thnx for the new release Zathor
Barough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2015, 03:16   #4964  |  Link
hello_hello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3,945
Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
IIRC, ITU AR are based on microsecond timings of TV signals designed for CRT TV sets, where a line has a length equivalent to the height of 702 lines. The simpler MPEG-4 AR are based on modulo-16 widths of 704 pixels.

I doubt any human would recognize the difference.
Is that a reason not to make the aspect ratios consistent throughout the GUI?

Plus the way I understand it, if the list of PARs here is correct, the PARs used by MeGUI ("almost exact and commonly used ITU-PARs") aren't correctly based on "microsecond timings of TV signals designed for CRT TV sets, where a line has a length equivalent to the height of 702 lines", and are in fact the least accurate.

Last edited by hello_hello; 29th December 2015 at 04:21.
hello_hello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2015, 03:29   #4965  |  Link
hello_hello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3,945
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zathor View Post
EDIT2: With hello_hello in mind I have compiled the wrapper also for XP. I hope it works :-)
Thanks. I'm updating to test as I type.
I still do intend to build a new PC. And it'll probably run Win7. And I'll try to do it this week while I'm on holiday, even though I've been saying that for a year.
But this old PC will keep running XP. As will the other one. So I hope XP support won't go away any time soon. I suspect there's a lot of old XP PCs out there that'd still like to be able to encode video.....
hello_hello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2015, 03:44   #4966  |  Link
hello_hello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3,945
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zathor View Post
EDIT2: With hello_hello in mind I have compiled the wrapper also for XP. I hope it works :-)
I've found one peculiarness.

When indexing with ffmsindex (I've tried a few different MKVs containing different types of video) the script creator opens with a black (blank) preview. No video. Changing the "improve AVS opening" setting doesn't make any difference. If I close the preview and re-open it without closing the script creator, the video then displays.
(Edit: I just discovered using the "reload video" button in the preview window also causes the video to display, no need to re-open the preview)
I'm using ffms 2.22. There's no preview problem with MeGUI 2624, although I've no idea if it's all XP's fault.

The preview when indexing with L-Smash works normally, although keep in mind I'm using L-Smash version r784 because it plays with XP, just in case that makes a difference.

Last edited by hello_hello; 29th December 2015 at 03:50.
hello_hello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2015, 04:01   #4967  |  Link
hello_hello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3,945
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zathor View Post
EDIT: A positive effect is that due to the improved error handler AviSynth should not be able to crash MeGUI anymore (like with FFM2 and fast cropping).
That was just cruel. I was so excited.
Next you'll be saying there's no such thing as Father Xmas.




I did discover when MeGUI is displaying a blank preview as I described above, it's very easy to crash MeGUI by cropping too quickly etc. When it's actually displaying video it requires more effort to cause it to crash.

Interestingly (or not) if I crop too quickly with ffms2 decoding, the video being displayed in the preview now tends to come and go (the preview goes temporarily black). I don't know if that'll help find the cause....

PS I'm still curious about the missing PAR.

Last edited by hello_hello; 29th December 2015 at 04:05.
hello_hello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2015, 09:09   #4968  |  Link
Zathor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,401
Mhm, it does work for me. Could you please post your "versions" information?
Zathor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2015, 10:20   #4969  |  Link
hello_hello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3,945
Certainly.

Quote:
[Information] Log
-[Information] Versions
--[Information] [29/12/15 9:19:22 PM] MeGUI: 2627
--[Information] [29/12/15 9:19:22 PM] Operating System: Windows XP Professional x86 SP3 (5.1.196608.2600)
--[Information] [29/12/15 9:19:22 PM] .NET Framework: 4.0 (4.0.30319)
--[Information] [29/12/15 9:19:25 PM] AviSynth: 2.6.0.6 (31-03-2015) (inactive)
--[Information] [29/12/15 9:19:25 PM] AviSynth portable: 2.6.0.6 (21-09-2015) (active)
--[Information] [29/12/15 9:19:26 PM] AvisynthWrapper: 1.0.2626.0 (28-12-2015)
--[Information] [29/12/15 9:19:26 PM] Haali Matroska Splitter: 1.13.138.14 (14-04-2013)
--[Information] [29/12/15 9:19:26 PM] Haali DSS2: (14-04-2013)
--[Information] [29/12/15 9:19:26 PM] ICSharpCode.SharpZipLib: 0.85.5.452 (07-08-2008)
--[Information] [29/12/15 9:19:26 PM] MediaInfo: 0.7.80.0 (30-11-2015)
--[Information] [29/12/15 9:19:26 PM] MediaInfoWrapper: 0.7.61.0 (06-01-2013)
--[Information] [29/12/15 9:19:26 PM] MessageBoxExLib: 1.0.2218.28317 (19-12-2008)
--[Information] [29/12/15 9:19:26 PM] SevenZipSharp: 0.64.3890.29348 (02-01-2011)
--[Information] [29/12/15 9:19:26 PM] 7z: 9.20 (18-11-2010)
-[Information] Update detection
--[Information] [29/12/15 9:19:26 PM] Connected to server: http://megui.org/auto/
--[Information] [29/12/15 9:19:26 PM] No package requires an update
It's odd because if I crop or resize when ffms2 is decoding (even just a single adjustment) it can make the preview go black. Sometimes just for a little bit, mostly until I "reload the video". It also turns the cursor to "busy" for a while so maybe it's related to the old "cropping too quickly can crash MeGUI" problem, only now it has a more visible effect on the preview.
All that's without having "apply auto preview" checked.
L-Smash is still behaving.

Would this help?

Quote:
-[Error] Unhandled error
--[Information] [29/12/15 9:33:38 PM] Exception message: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
--[Information] [29/12/15 9:33:38 PM] Stacktrace
---[NoImage] at System.Windows.Forms.UpDownBase.UpDownButtons.TimerHandler(Object source, EventArgs args)
---[NoImage] at System.Windows.Forms.Timer.OnTick(EventArgs e)
---[NoImage] at System.Windows.Forms.Timer.TimerNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
---[NoImage] at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)
--[Information] [29/12/15 9:33:38 PM] Inner exception: null

Last edited by hello_hello; 29th December 2015 at 10:44.
hello_hello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2015, 11:32   #4970  |  Link
Zathor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,401
Quote:
Originally Posted by hello_hello View Post
I still do intend to build a new PC. And it'll probably run Win7. And I'll try to do it this week while I'm on holiday, even though I've been saying that for a year.
So Father Christmas must exist - but I believe it not sooner than when you write that you have done it :-)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hello_hello View Post
PS I'm still curious about the missing PAR.
Added in 2628 - no clue why it was left out.

Thanks for the problem report with the cropping/blank - I will start my old XP VM to see if I can reproduce it there. As it works in my W10 and W7 machines currently I assume it must be related to WXP as everything else is the same for me (except of the source file).
Zathor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2015, 12:10   #4971  |  Link
hello_hello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3,945
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zathor View Post
So Father Christmas must exist - but I believe it not sooner than when you write that you have done it
Although I will always make sure to keep the old dual core operational for you so I can continue testing MeGUI on XP forever and ever and ever and ever and ever and ever.......
hello_hello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2015, 14:19   #4972  |  Link
Barough
Registered User
 
Barough's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 326
What about updating the 7-Zip dll file. 7-Zip v15.13 is out.

[EDIT]
Noticed that MediaInfo 0.7.81 was just released

Last edited by Barough; 31st December 2015 at 15:03.
Barough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2015, 18:03   #4973  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,876
7-zip 15.14 already, stable release.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2015, 19:39   #4974  |  Link
Barough
Registered User
 
Barough's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 326
MKVToolNix v8.7.0 was just released
Barough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2016, 08:24   #4975  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,876
And qaac 2.58 fixes issues with mono audio since 2.56.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2016, 19:32   #4976  |  Link
Zathor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,401
Thanks for the news :-)
Except 7z the other new files are now online. 7z I need to verify first if changing the dlls is really worth the hassle.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hello_hello View Post
I've found one peculiarness.
When indexing with ffmsindex (I've tried a few different MKVs containing different types of video) the script creator opens with a black (blank) preview. No video. Changing the "improve AVS opening" setting doesn't make any difference. If I close the preview and re-open it without closing the script creator, the video then displays.
I can confirm this behavior with XP and W7 using FFMS2 2.22 - I have not tried other FFMS2 or OS versions, but L-SMASH works. So it must be related to FFMS2 together with the new wrapper. I cannot do much there. Maybe I can load the video twice when FFMS2 is used as a workaround.
Zathor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2016, 21:55   #4977  |  Link
Bluedan
Registered User
 
Bluedan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: were people always get wet feet
Posts: 328
lost trace

Hi everyone, it's been 2 or 3 years ago that I had time to do transcodings with MeGui.
Now that things have made progress I am heavily missing a guide that's up to date.
Even the wiki linked from the programme itself via help button isn't online anymore.
It is really hard to gather info on your own, for Megui has so much options.
I know it is not intended for beginners anyway, but I have been using this for years !
__________________
I'm probably misconfused...
Bluedan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2016, 23:01   #4978  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 6,952
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zathor View Post
With hello_hello in mind I have compiled the wrapper also for XP. I hope it works :-)
Thanx Zathor, Hello_hello is not the only Stick-In-The-Mud.
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2016, 20:43   #4979  |  Link
Zathor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,401
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluedan View Post
Hi everyone, it's been 2 or 3 years ago that I had time to do transcodings with MeGui.
Now that things have made progress I am heavily missing a guide that's up to date.
Even the wiki linked from the programme itself via help button isn't online anymore.
It is really hard to gather info on your own, for Megui has so much options.
I know it is not intended for beginners anyway, but I have been using this for years !
Please use https://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/MeGUI
But thanks for the reminder. I have to update the links.

Btw. anyone can help and update there something. A lot of the information is outdated.
Zathor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2016, 05:31   #4980  |  Link
hello_hello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3,945
It appears when cropping while ffms2 is decoding, there's some picture resizing taking place in the preview, even without the auto-preview enabled. It doesn't happen all the time, but I've never seen it before. When increasing the cropping slowly, sometimes the displayed cropping increases in the preview as it should, but sometimes the displayed cropping stays the same and the picture moves a bit instead (it's stretched or squished to meet the cropping line). The rest of the time it makes the preview go black.

I though I'd point that out in case it helps you track down the ffms2 cropping problem because cropping changing the size of the video in the preview seems to be something new. It might be something else entirely but I wouldn't know. I couldn't repeat any of that with L-Smash.

Last edited by hello_hello; 8th January 2016 at 09:30.
hello_hello is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.