Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 17th November 2017, 14:51   #3761  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ikea Chair
Posts: 1,988
Sigh, I was actually about to do some proper avx2 speed tests. Then I saw that there's no installer and I'm going to go eat cookies instead. That is all.
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2017, 15:37   #3762  |  Link
real.finder
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Mesopotamia
Posts: 1,268
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myrsloik View Post
Sigh, I was actually about to do some proper avx2 speed tests. Then I saw that there's no installer and I'm going to go eat cookies instead. That is all.
put the Avisynth dll in same folder as avsmeter and it will work

iirc avsmeter allow you to use Avisynth dll from specific path too
__________________
My Avisynth Stuff
real.finder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2017, 16:00   #3763  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,897
Also there is the Universal Avisynth Installer which is just as regularly updated as the github releases. Just check at least twice how to set up the batch file with custom installation directories before use, especially when the path may contain spaces.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2017, 16:11   #3764  |  Link
Groucho2004
Registered User
 
Groucho2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: A wretched hive of scum and villainy
Posts: 4,375
Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
especially when the path may contain spaces.
There's no problem with spaces. However, some special characters such as parentheses and ampersands need an escape character.
__________________
Groucho's Avisynth Stuff
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2017, 02:48   #3765  |  Link
jinkazuya
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 89
Just get a question for pinterf or anybody else who has experience with avisynth+ MT. Just wonder if it is ok to add support for using more than 10 threads in the next avisynth+ MT build. In other word, will CPU like intel Intel® Core™ i9 series or AMD Ryzen or Threadripper be fully taken advantages of all their cores? Cuz right now whenever I use more than 10 or 11 threads, then MEGUI or the x264 will crash or freeze and cannot use over 10 threads.
jinkazuya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2017, 05:26   #3766  |  Link
DJATOM
Registered User
 
DJATOM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ukraine, Bohuslav
Posts: 164
jinkazuya
Just set reasonable Prefetch() and SetMemoryMax() and you will have near 100% CPU usage.
DJATOM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2017, 10:19   #3767  |  Link
pinterf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,240
Yes, as the memory usage (cache) is somewhat linear to the number of Prefetch threads, you are probably experiencing memory full issues. You can try AvsMeter with your script to see whether the memory usage is the bottleneck.
As DJATOM said you can experiment with SetMemoryMax and Prefetch count to see where it saturates your available memory. x64 version is recommended however (I don't know which version you are using)
pinterf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2017, 16:55   #3768  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,440
Question.

Script:
Code:
ffVideoSource("cut.mkv") 
mask=MaskHS(160,180, 100,80).mt_expand().BilinearResize(last.width, last.height)
overlay(last, GreyScale().ColorYUV(cont_y=50), 0, 0, mask)
Sample: https://mega.nz/#!tpUhhSZR!6g1OSKRzZ...eQwTRxU2dkuTbo

AviSynth 2.6.0:


AvisynthPlus-r2544-MT:



Why does it become grey?
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2017, 17:21   #3769  |  Link
pinterf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by sneaker_ger View Post
Question.

Script:
Code:
ffVideoSource("cut.mkv") 
mask=MaskHS(160,180, 100,80).mt_expand().BilinearResize(last.width, last.height)
overlay(last, GreyScale().ColorYUV(cont_y=50), 0, 0, mask)
Sample: https://mega.nz/#!tpUhhSZR!6g1OSKRzZ...eQwTRxU2dkuTbo

AviSynth 2.6.0:

AvisynthPlus-r2544-MT:



Why does it become grey?
MaskHS is giving a black clip for me on classic avs, and white on current avs+. And the whiteish mask makes the greyscale clip dominant.
Checked: r2173 was still o.k.

Edit: fixed on github. MaskHS was giving the inverse mask.

Last edited by pinterf; 29th November 2017 at 18:05. Reason: fix
pinterf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2017, 18:22   #3770  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,440
Thank you.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2017, 01:21   #3771  |  Link
jinkazuya
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by pinterf View Post
Yes, as the memory usage (cache) is somewhat linear to the number of Prefetch threads, you are probably experiencing memory full issues. You can try AvsMeter with your script to see whether the memory usage is the bottleneck.
As DJATOM said you can experiment with SetMemoryMax and Prefetch count to see where it saturates your available memory. x64 version is recommended however (I don't know which version you are using)
Ok, What do you guys suggest I do for the prefetch and setMemoryMax?

I have 32GB of ram and 16 cores? Even if I boost the setMemoryMax to higher number, checking and monitoring the RAM, the computer uses only about 3GB or 5GB most. But if I set prefetch over 10 to 11, then MEGUI crashes.

I uses x86 version cuz if I use the x64, most of the older plugins won't work.
jinkazuya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2017, 01:30   #3772  |  Link
DJATOM
Registered User
 
DJATOM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ukraine, Bohuslav
Posts: 164
I'm using setmemorymax(32000) and prefetch(24) on dual socket Xeon 5675 server with ~50 GB RAM, average load near 99%.

>I uses x86 version cuz if I use the x64, most of the older plugins won't work.
Just forget about high prefetch values with 32 bit avisynth. You will hit 32 bit app memory limit.
__________________
Me on GitHub | My Telegram

Last edited by DJATOM; 30th November 2017 at 01:33.
DJATOM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2017, 01:04   #3773  |  Link
jinkazuya
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJATOM View Post
I'm using setmemorymax(32000) and prefetch(24) on dual socket Xeon 5675 server with ~50 GB RAM, average load near 99%.

>I uses x86 version cuz if I use the x64, most of the older plugins won't work.
Just forget about high prefetch values with 32 bit avisynth. You will hit 32 bit app memory limit.
Then I guess you must encode 4k or 1080 bluray videos then. Is there a way for the 32bit plugins work with the x64 avisynth+? Or a way to make them backward compatible?
jinkazuya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2017, 01:23   #3774  |  Link
real.finder
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Mesopotamia
Posts: 1,268
Quote:
Originally Posted by jinkazuya View Post
Then I guess you must encode 4k or 1080 bluray videos then. Is there a way for the 32bit plugins work with the x64 avisynth+? Or a way to make them backward compatible?
that already discussed https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...30#post1824330
__________________
My Avisynth Stuff
real.finder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2017, 06:01   #3775  |  Link
edcrfv94
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by jinkazuya View Post
Then I guess you must encode 4k or 1080 bluray videos then. Is there a way for the 32bit plugins work with the x64 avisynth+? Or a way to make them backward compatible?
MP_Pipeline
But if you direct export or pass 9-32 bit clip will has green line on top, So need ConvertToStacked first.

Last edited by edcrfv94; 1st December 2017 at 06:04.
edcrfv94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2017, 06:20   #3776  |  Link
real.finder
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Mesopotamia
Posts: 1,268
Quote:
Originally Posted by edcrfv94 View Post
MP_Pipeline
But if you direct export or pass 9-32 bit clip will has green line on top, So need ConvertToStacked first.
ConvertToDoubleWidth ConvertFromDoubleWidth will be faster
__________________
My Avisynth Stuff
real.finder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2017, 06:10   #3777  |  Link
jinkazuya
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 89
Just wonder how to use the universal batch to set up avisynth+ x64...It is so confusing. Cuz whenever I used the regular avisynth+ installer, it always install avisynth+ into the "C:\Program Files (x86)", even I chose the x64 for avisynth+ installation. Then when I loaded the plugins for x64, the pop up appeared saying "cannot load x64 bit plugins dll into x86 avisynth+" something like that.
jinkazuya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2017, 07:19   #3778  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,897
^ You already asked that in the UAI thread where it belongs. This is an installer (usage) issue, not an AviSynth+ issue (the installer is not maintained primarily by AviSynth+ developers).
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2017, 21:02   #3779  |  Link
jinkazuya
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 89
Not sure if somebody could port RedAverage plugin or some other plugins to x64. It would be awesome if somebody could maintain or port most of the old 32 avisynth or avisynth+ plugins to x64. Thanks.
jinkazuya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2017, 22:28   #3780  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,897
This may be impossible in all the cases where the original authors did not provide sources of their plugins, or did not document their algorithms detailed enough to reprogram them. But where it is possible, a lot of efforts were already invested to implement them. The AviSynth Wiki lists many successful attempts. If you know some missing ones, always provide links to their original location, optimally with sources. A few special plugins may even be easily resembled using very generic tools like convolution or LUT functions.

Specifically regarding "RedAverage", Average is reported to do the same, just faster.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid

Last edited by LigH; 3rd December 2017 at 22:31.
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.