Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 22nd May 2019, 13:14   #56301  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 358
To Be fair, it looks almost identical, because most panels do 10-bit badly or are not true 10 bit designs.
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2019, 19:46   #56302  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,505
It would look almost identical even on a very good 10 bit display. The difference between well dithered 8 bit and well dithered 10 bit is simply very subtle.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2019, 19:49   #56303  |  Link
Daicon
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 6
Hi,

i am noob for here.
Have this problem:

Add images:


Same configuration settings TV




PLEX TV Oled c8 - HDR:





TV OLED c8 - Mode HDMI / MODE PC / MODE blueray
HTPC - Vega 11 - MAdvr HDR



The HDR logo is activated on TV. (this is not the problem)

Why is it lost in color?
Has anyone had problems with Vega 11?

THANKS
:-S

Last edited by Daicon; 22nd May 2019 at 19:54.
Daicon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2019, 20:09   #56304  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,505
Are you sure it isn't your TV? That looks like a very different white point and you do not mention what mode you are using for the PLEX. Try Expert Dark Room for both. Are you using madVR's tone mapping or just passthrough?

Sorry, I have no experience with Vega.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2019, 20:36   #56305  |  Link
DMU
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 40
Daicon
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
Are you sure it isn't your TV? That looks Are you using madVR's tone mapping or just passthrough?
It is also important the FSE (exclusive) or FSW (windowed) you use for Vega. What OS?

PS: No one noticed the image changes a change in Windows10 1903 with HDR passthrought?

Last edited by DMU; 22nd May 2019 at 20:42.
DMU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2019, 20:52   #56306  |  Link
Alexkral
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 84
That's usually the difference between 709 and 2020. You're using passthrough, or "output video in HDR format" (or 2020 in calibration settings). PLEX is converting to 709.
Alexkral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2019, 21:08   #56307  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,505
With 2020 displayed as if it was 709 I usually get obviously lower contrast. I don't have a lot of experiance trying to judge photos of displays but the contrast seems similar on both. It looks like a white point and tone mapping difference to me, but I could be wrong.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2019, 21:29   #56308  |  Link
Alexkral
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
With 2020 displayed as if it was 709 I usually get obviously lower contrast.
That's if the PQ transfer function is not applied to the HDR 2020, but in this case it is.

EDiT: But you're right, it seems a different color temperature.

Last edited by Alexkral; 22nd May 2019 at 21:55.
Alexkral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2019, 21:29   #56309  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 549
Anybody else tested 1903 and encountered some issues?
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2019, 22:08   #56310  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,121
Nope. Been running 1903 since it dropped in insider builds a while ago. No issues for me so far.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2019, 23:01   #56311  |  Link
Daicon
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
Are you sure it isn't your TV? That looks like a very different white point and you do not mention what mode you are using for the PLEX. Try Expert Dark Room for both. Are you using madVR's tone mapping or just passthrough?

Sorry, I have no experience with Vega.
Sure.
The TV have same settings and same mode (Technicolor) with Plex and HTPC Madvr.

just passthrough.
:-(


Quote:
Originally Posted by DMU View Post
Daicon

It is also important the FSE (exclusive) or FSW (windowed) you use for Vega. What OS?

PS: No one noticed the image changes a change in Windows10 1903 with HDR passthrought?
Windows 10.
I activated FSE, but dont have any effect different. :-S

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexkral View Post
That's usually the difference between 709 and 2020. You're using passthrough, or "output video in HDR format" (or 2020 in calibration settings). PLEX is converting to 709.
MMM
I have researched a little, and it seems that the problem continues that way ...

That is to say.
When I deactivate "passthrough", and I select in "calibration" 709, the image (SDR) is very similar in color to the HDR of PLEX (but without the brightness / etc of the HDR, of course.)
When selecting 2020, the image (SDR) becomes more muted, as it happens to me in HDR.

The problem is that I select the options that I select, when HDR is activated in full screen, I always get the SAME result as the 2nd image I have set.

Any solution?
What am I doing wrong...??
Daicon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2019, 23:23   #56312  |  Link
DMU
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daicon View Post
Windows 10.
I activated FSE, but dont have any effect different. :-S
What version of AMD drivers and Windows 10?
DMU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd May 2019, 00:47   #56313  |  Link
Alexkral
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daicon View Post
Any solution?
There is an issue in the c8 with some firmware not detecting the wide color gamut in PC Mode, it is supposedly corrected with firmware update (04.10.06).
Alexkral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd May 2019, 00:53   #56314  |  Link
thighhighs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Klaus1189 View Post
Anybody else tested 1903 and encountered some issues?
After the update, problems started with my 720p sources. Playback is not smooth, but the OSD shows no problems For example, 1080p sources work fine, which is a bit strange for me.
Since it seems that the new madVR build will not be soon and MS focused on more important features like blur, I used the magic button and rolled back to 1803. And everything works fine again
My current setup:
R7 2700, GTX 1660 Ti, 430.64, PotPlayer x64.
thighhighs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd May 2019, 07:57   #56315  |  Link
Daicon
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by DMU View Post
What version of AMD drivers and Windows 10?
Lastets both.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexkral View Post
There is an issue in the c8 with some firmware not detecting the wide color gamut in PC Mode, it is supposedly corrected with firmware update (04.10.06).
I have firmware .15
And i try mode hdmi and pc and blueray, same result
Daicon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd May 2019, 08:49   #56316  |  Link
DMU
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Klaus1189 View Post
Anybody else tested 1903 and encountered some issues?
There is an assumption that in the 1903 version FSE does not work any more. It seems to work, but like FSW.
DMU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd May 2019, 10:09   #56317  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,130
FSE isn't working for me (1903 + latest Nvidia) but IDC 'cos I don't use it anyway.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd May 2019, 16:08   #56318  |  Link
suanm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 120
Does anyone know why the two optional pulldown lists named '①color tweaks for fire and explosions; ②highlight recovery strength' go grey and they don't work when i click the button 'tone map HDR using pixel shaders'?
I don't know whats going on?What should i do to activate the two optional pulldown lists and make them work normally?
suanm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd May 2019, 16:11   #56319  |  Link
suanm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 120
MadVR 0.92.17 is running on windows10 1803 OS and nvidia 385.28 display driver
suanm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd May 2019, 16:48   #56320  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 451
@suanm: uncheck "compromise on HDR tone & gamut mapping accuracy" in rendering > trade quality for performance
__________________
HTPC: W10 1809, E7400, 1050 Ti, DVB-C, Denon 2310, Panasonic GT60 | Desktop: W10 1809, 4690K, HD 7870, Dell U2713HM | MediaPortal 1/MPC-HC, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.