Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 9th April 2020, 22:13   #59041  |  Link
Cowboydude99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 58
Hi there,
Can someone help me with my profile rules. I cannot seem to get this right...

If (scrWidth = 1920) "1080p"
Else If (scrWidth = 3840) and (fps > 30) "4K_24fps"
Else "4K_60fps"

The 4k 60 profile is never used, it always uses the settings in 4k 24fps. 1080p seems to work just fine.
Cowboydude99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2020, 22:32   #59042  |  Link
senzaparole
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Italia
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by QBhd View Post
Why have an HDR device and source and not use it... your settings make no sense to me.

QB
hi, thank you for your comment.
The conversion from HDR to SDR was not my initiative. I read that some users who own an OLED or LED TV have given up on converting HDR to HDR to switch to converting HDR to SDR.
At the beginning I was very skeptical too like you .. then I made several tests and I had to change my mind.
__________________
TV:LG B9 65 Amplifier: Denon X4500H Front Speakers: n. 3 XTZ Cinema M6 Subwoofer: XTZ 10.17 EDGE Atmos Speakers:n. 4 XTZ S2 Surround Speakers: n. 2 XTZ Spirit 2 - HTPC: Fractal Meshify C-RX 5700 XT
senzaparole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2020, 22:33   #59043  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 4,407
If (scrWidth <= 1920) "1080p"
Else If (scrWidth <= 3840) and (fps < 31) "4K_24fps"
Else "4K_60fps"
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2020, 22:42   #59044  |  Link
Cowboydude99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
If (scrWidth <= 1920) "1080p"
Else If (scrWidth <= 3840) and (fps < 31) "4K_24fps"
Else "4K_60fps"
Hi there. Thanks, but having the same issue. I just copied and pasted what you entered...

It looks like the 1080p is OK and the 4k 24fps is ok.
4k 60 plays the 4k 24fps profile... so line 2 seems to be catching the 4k60 file...?

Last edited by Cowboydude99; 9th April 2020 at 22:51.
Cowboydude99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2020, 23:00   #59045  |  Link
Cowboydude99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 58
When setting up MadVR, I set the HDR to passthrough.
HDR profile does show up on my projector.

If I Control+J the video to see the details, it shows up BT.709 (Best Guess). I'm playing 4k UHD files. I believe they're all BT2020.

Is there a setting I need to adjust? I have the PJ showing in MADVR with calibration of BT.2020.

Also HDR shows "Unknown".

NVIDIA control panel shows 8Bit RGB Full

Last edited by Cowboydude99; 9th April 2020 at 23:08.
Cowboydude99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2020, 00:01   #59046  |  Link
QBhd
QB the Slayer
 
QBhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 697
Code:
if     (srcHeight < 1081) and (deintFps < 25) "1080p23"
elseif (srcHeight < 2161) and (deintFps < 25) "2160p23"
elseif (srcHeight < 2161) and (deintFps < 61) "2160p59"

This is a very trimmed down version of mine:

Code:
if     (srcHeight < 721)  and (deintFps < 25) "720p23"
elseif (srcHeight < 1081) and (deintFps < 25) "1080p23"
elseif (srcHeight < 2161) and (deintFps < 25) "2160p23"
elseif (srcHeight < 721)  and (deintFps < 26) "720p25"
elseif (srcHeight < 1081) and (deintFps < 26) "1080p25"
elseif (srcHeight < 721)  and (deintFps < 31) "720p29"
elseif (srcHeight < 1081) and (deintFps < 31) "1080p29"
elseif (srcHeight < 2161) and (deintFps < 31) "2160p29"
elseif (srcHeight < 721)  and (deintFps < 51) "720p50"
elseif (srcHeight < 1081) and (deintFps < 51) "1080p50"
elseif (srcHeight < 721)  and (deintFps < 61) "720p59"
elseif (srcHeight < 1081) and (deintFps < 61) "1080p59"
elseif (srcHeight < 2161) and (deintFps < 61) "2160p59"
QB
__________________
QBhd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2020, 00:08   #59047  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1,348
Quote:
Originally Posted by senzaparole View Post
hi, thank you for your comment.
The conversion from HDR to SDR was not my initiative. I read that some users who own an OLED or LED TV have given up on converting HDR to HDR to switch to converting HDR to SDR.
At the beginning I was very skeptical too like you .. then I made several tests and I had to change my mind.

Hi, i've dabbled with this myself and i'm doing that at the moment for reasons I wont bore you with but my OLED is only 450 nits max so Its barely capable of HDR, I would say if you have a new OLED with 700+ nits you should probably output to HDR but also have a play with tone mapping in madvr to pull out a bit more highlight detail.
__________________
LG OLED EF950-YAM RX-V685-RYZEN 3600 - 16GBRAM - WIN10 RX 5700 - https://www.videohelp.com/software/madVR/old-versions
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2020, 00:23   #59048  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 4,407
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cowboydude99 View Post
Hi there. Thanks, but having the same issue.
Ah, use deintfps instead of fps, like QBhd did above, perhaps also use 26 instead of 30:

If (scrWidth <= 1920) "1080p"
Else If (scrWidth <= 3840) and (deintfps < 26) "4K_24fps"
Else "4K_60fps"
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2020, 00:39   #59049  |  Link
Cowboydude99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by QBhd View Post
Code:
if     (srcHeight < 1081) and (deintFps < 25) "1080p23"
elseif (srcHeight < 2161) and (deintFps < 25) "2160p23"
elseif (srcHeight < 2161) and (deintFps < 61) "2160p59"

This is a very trimmed down version of mine:

Code:
if     (srcHeight < 721)  and (deintFps < 25) "720p23"
elseif (srcHeight < 1081) and (deintFps < 25) "1080p23"
elseif (srcHeight < 2161) and (deintFps < 25) "2160p23"
elseif (srcHeight < 721)  and (deintFps < 26) "720p25"
elseif (srcHeight < 1081) and (deintFps < 26) "1080p25"
elseif (srcHeight < 721)  and (deintFps < 31) "720p29"
elseif (srcHeight < 1081) and (deintFps < 31) "1080p29"
elseif (srcHeight < 2161) and (deintFps < 31) "2160p29"
elseif (srcHeight < 721)  and (deintFps < 51) "720p50"
elseif (srcHeight < 1081) and (deintFps < 51) "1080p50"
elseif (srcHeight < 721)  and (deintFps < 61) "720p59"
elseif (srcHeight < 1081) and (deintFps < 61) "1080p59"
elseif (srcHeight < 2161) and (deintFps < 61) "2160p59"
QB
Ah! That did the trick. I ended up using the following:

if (srcHeight <= 1080) and (FPS < 25) "1080_24fps"
elseif (srcHeight <= 2160) and (FPS < 25) "4K_24fps"
elseif (srcHeight <= 2160) and (FPS < 61) "4K_60fps"
Cowboydude99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2020, 00:47   #59050  |  Link
Cowboydude99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 58
BT.709 (Best Guess) help!

Hi,
Here is a screenshot of the issue with BT.709 (Best Guess).

I have an HDR projector (JVC) and the chain is:

Jriver Media Center + MadVR + SVP4 Pro -- Denon AVR -- Projector.

The PJ turns on the HDR profile.

The files are BT.2020 UDH disks.

Any idea what needs to be changed to ensure BT.2020 color and that HDR is actually in use?

Also, NVIDIA Control Panel = RGB 8Bit Full. 422.74 drivers (Win 10). I am able to change it to YCC422 10bit.

Screenshot below shows RGB 8bit, but I can set it to 422/10bit. It will show in the OSD, but it continues to show BT709.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1hw...puDwFyp9gNrSKk

Last edited by Cowboydude99; 10th April 2020 at 06:01. Reason: Screenshot
Cowboydude99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2020, 12:35   #59051  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,926
rule 8:
https://forum.doom9.org/forum-rules.htm

you have ffdshow or something else installed?
else this file claims to be 8 bit nv12 with no meta data.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2020, 13:17   #59052  |  Link
Cowboydude99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
rule 8:
https://forum.doom9.org/forum-rules.htm

you have ffdshow or something else installed?
else this file claims to be 8 bit nv12 with no meta data.
Ah, noted!

Yes. Ffdshow I believe is installed with SVP4 Pro. It has solved my stuttering issues.

I removed it for testing and now I see BT.2020 listed in the MADVR OSD.
It doesn't seem to want to switch to FSE mode.

I guess I'll reach out to the dev of SVP4 Pro, but something tells me there is no solution...

Would a TV/Projector play the HDR profile if it wasn't getting 10bit HDR?

Last edited by Cowboydude99; 10th April 2020 at 14:14.
Cowboydude99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2020, 16:04   #59053  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,926
yes they will play it if they don't get 10 bit i don't even know why you think this is related.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2020, 17:40   #59054  |  Link
tyguy
Registered User
 
tyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
I wouldn't have expected it to be a decoding issue, your decoding queue is full. Is your PCIe slot a x16 3.0 one?

Are you sure changing to native did not change the way HDR is being handled? You do need copy back to be able to run all the HDR tone mapping features so I suspect the improvement came from not being able to run those anymore, rather than an actual performance improvement from running native.

Is this true about needing copy back to use all the tonemapping features? I’m seeing conflicting information on this.
tyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2020, 18:47   #59055  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 4,407
It is for v0.92.17 to be at least, I am not sure about the various beta versions.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2020, 18:52   #59056  |  Link
SirMaster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 231
You do not need copyback for any tone-mapping feature on the betas for last year at least. You only need it for black bar detection and BluRay menu support.

It used to be that highlight detail recovery didn't work with native deciding. But it has for awhile now.
SirMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2020, 19:05   #59057  |  Link
tyguy
Registered User
 
tyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirMaster View Post
You do not need copyback for any tone-mapping feature on the betas for last year at least. You only need it for black bar detection and BluRay menu support.

It used to be that highlight detail recovery didn't work with native deciding. But it has for awhile now.

Okay thanks, I don’t use black bar detection and I don’t play blue rays with it so I think I’ll use d3d11 native.
tyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2020, 21:09   #59058  |  Link
amayra
Quality Checker
 
amayra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 285
can madvr detect what is my display Color Depth ?
__________________
I love Doom9
amayra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2020, 21:15   #59059  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 4,407
Yes, it also reports it as part of the first line in the OSD (ctrl-J).

Also, it defaults to "auto" for the display bit depth and will switch to 10 bit output if the display color depth is 10 bit or higher.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2020, 21:16   #59060  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,926
on nvidia only.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.