Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > New and alternative video codecs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 22nd February 2020, 10:44   #1  |  Link
ceshiwenfq
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 2
Wondering how can I start a constant quality encoding using aomenc.exe

Hey guys ,I'm just going to give it a shot ,see how aomenc performs in 2020.

However after downloaded aomenc.exe & carefully studied "aomenc.exe --help" , I couldn't find any settings about qp mode , I've just found tow params probably related to output quality ,which are "--end-usage=" & "--target-bitrate="

I'm wondering how can I achieve a same result as when I'm using e.g. "x265 --crf 20" ,without manually specify a output bitrate (Since it's usually hard to findout what bitrate those group of picutres should be.)

Need help ,thanks.
ceshiwenfq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2020, 14:40   #2  |  Link
Tadanobu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 37
--end-usage=q --cq-level=X

Note that q encode is not really the same as CRF. If it can help, here is my base line :

.\aomenc.exe input.y4m --output=output.ivf --end-usage=q --cq-level=35 --cpu-used=4 --row-mt=1 --threads=12 --width=1920 --height=1080 --tile-columns=1 --tile-rows=1 --bit-depth=10 --fps=24000/1000 --enable-fwd-kf=1 --kf-max-dist=250 --aq-mode=1 --noise-sensitivity=2

Also remember that aomenc performs 2 passes encode by default.
Tadanobu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2020, 17:57   #3  |  Link
ceshiwenfq
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tadanobu View Post
--end-usage=q --cq-level=X

Note that q encode is not really the same as CRF. If it can help, here is my base line :

.\aomenc.exe input.y4m --output=output.ivf --end-usage=q --cq-level=35 --cpu-used=4 --row-mt=1 --threads=12 --width=1920 --height=1080 --tile-columns=1 --tile-rows=1 --bit-depth=10 --fps=24000/1000 --enable-fwd-kf=1 --kf-max-dist=250 --aq-mode=1 --noise-sensitivity=2

Also remember that aomenc performs 2 passes encode by default.
Thanks dude.
Would you mind help me figure out what's the difference between --end-usage=q & --end-usage=cq?
ceshiwenfq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2020, 18:45   #4  |  Link
Tadanobu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 37
q is for constant quality
cq is for constrained quality

So cq is like q with a bitrate value not to be exceeded.
Tadanobu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.