Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 18th February 2019, 00:07   #54801  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 426
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexnt View Post
Hi can some one explain me why cpu usage is so high?
https://postimg.cc/nXJ5cSvX
settings in lav filter
Check those LAV settings while playing a movie that gives high CPU load, and see which decoder is active. If it's avcodec then hardware decoding isn't active and that could explain it.
With hardware acceleration, CPU usage should be very low, definitely much lower than 66% @ 3,5 GHz
(Edit: do you have stuff like black bar detection enabled in madVR? That can use up some CPU, but I don't know how much exactly)
__________________
HTPC: W10 1809, E7400, 1050 Ti, DVB-C, Denon 2310, Panasonic GT60 | Desktop: W10 1809, 4690K, HD 7870, Dell U2713HM | MediaPortal 1/MPC-HC, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR

Last edited by el Filou; 18th February 2019 at 00:16.
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2019, 05:39   #54802  |  Link
70MM
X Cinema Projectionist NZ
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 278
Does "dont render frames during fade in and fade out" do anything like add artifacts to the image?
If one doesnt need to use it if their rendering stats are low is it better to untick it?
70MM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2019, 06:55   #54803  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,497
do you mean "don't rerender frames when fade in/out is detected"?

that's for debanding only and an special check for fades to use higher banding in these situation because they are proven to have more debanding.

so it does nothing without debanding and may only drop frames when the GPU can't rerender the frames fast enough i never tested it but it shouldn't do anything when deband strength is the same for both settings.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2019, 07:57   #54804  |  Link
white1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1
Hello guys,
I would like to add madVR to DVBDream 2.2 because it's not available in the Video Renderer list, can I do it?
white1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2019, 11:29   #54805  |  Link
madjock
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by white1 View Post
Hello guys,
I would like to add madVR to DVBDream 2.2 because it's not available in the Video Renderer list, can I do it?
From a quick Google that app is at version 3.4 now, but surely this is a question for the DVB Dream forum ?

https://www.dvbdream.org/
__________________
Windows 10-1809 | i5-3570k | GTX 1070 Windforce OC Rev2 8GB : 430.64 | Yamaha RX-V377 | Philips 65PUS6703 - 65"
madjock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2019, 14:31   #54806  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 340
Guys, is there a way to upscale render the whole movie through madvr, THEN watch it ?

Could this possibly be a future feature, because it would allow for some super-demanding settings to be played on MUCH lower powered hardware.
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2019, 15:25   #54807  |  Link
madjock
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by tp4tissue View Post
Guys, is there a way to upscale render the whole movie through madvr, THEN watch it ?

Could this possibly be a future feature, because it would allow for some super-demanding settings to be played on MUCH lower powered hardware.
So if we forget that this is not possible at all, how would you re-encode a whole movie with "super-demanding settings to be played on MUCH lower powered hardware"

If you don't have the hardware to play a file, what is going to re-encode it.
__________________
Windows 10-1809 | i5-3570k | GTX 1070 Windforce OC Rev2 8GB : 430.64 | Yamaha RX-V377 | Philips 65PUS6703 - 65"
madjock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2019, 15:29   #54808  |  Link
clsid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4,917
A two hour 10bit 60 fps UHD movie would require 6.8 terabyte of storage space in uncompressed format. With lossless compression approximately a quarter of that. So still a very large amount of space.

Apart from the above, what you want is not possible yet.
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2019, 16:25   #54809  |  Link
Alexkral
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by tp4tissue View Post
you're upscaling 4k to 8k ngu then downscaling to 4k ? < you shouldn't do this >
For 1920 x 2160 to 4k what do you think is better?

- Doubling and then downscaling the height.
- Just upscaling the width.
Alexkral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2019, 16:27   #54810  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 536
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexkral View Post
[...]1920 x 2160[...]
1080??
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2019, 16:38   #54811  |  Link
Alexkral
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Klaus1189 View Post
1080??
No, 3D OU 1920 x 2160
Alexkral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2019, 17:07   #54812  |  Link
alexnt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by tp4tissue View Post
I don't know what you saw before/after.

if the dxva says inactive "While the movie" is playing. That means the gpu acceleration is not compatible with the file you're trying to play.

-In which case- it will default to CPU decoding. Different files have different compatibility.

But overall, it does not look high to me.

Again, you have other options, such as overclocking, if you need more oomph for hard to decode files. (not this one obviously)
it is active. everything looks ok in settings level

Quote:
Originally Posted by el Filou View Post
Check those LAV settings while playing a movie that gives high CPU load, and see which decoder is active. If it's avcodec then hardware decoding isn't active and that could explain it.
With hardware acceleration, CPU usage should be very low, definitely much lower than 66% @ 3,5 GHz
(Edit: do you have stuff like black bar detection enabled in madVR? That can use up some CPU, but I don't know how much exactly)
it is dxva2cb direct and black bar detection is disabled.

I reinstalled amd drivers but nothing changed. cpu multiplier not under 35

Last edited by alexnt; 18th February 2019 at 17:27.
alexnt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2019, 17:59   #54813  |  Link
ashlar42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 397
Quote:
Originally Posted by tp4tissue View Post
OLED will probably be obsolete in the TV space in ~3 years.. The Light modulation cell IPS/VA panels will replace them.
Source? The only tech that I knew had potential is MicroLED. What's this you're talking about?
ashlar42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2019, 18:04   #54814  |  Link
Siso
Registered User
 
Siso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 380
Is it worth pumping NGU Sharp high, instead of NGU Sharp medium for luma, or using error diffusion 2 for dithering. Both settings increase rendering times to ~ 24 ms.
Siso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2019, 18:34   #54815  |  Link
Sunset1982
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 277
ok guys, my htpc runs with an vega 56 for 2 weeks now. I am happy with it, accept for two things:

coil whine and oversaturated reds with the new amd card...

I will try to underclock the card to get rid of the coil noise. But I don't know what to do with the overstaurated reds...

Didn't have the problem with my old Rx 480, but I used it together with my lg oled.

Now I use my vega 56 with my girlfriends old sony lcd tv and the oled moved into the living room. So the vega or the combination of amd and the sony lcd caused this errror...
__________________
Intel i5 6600, 16 GB DDR4, AMD Vega RX56 8 GB, Windows 10 x64, Kodi DS Player 17.6, MadVR (x64), LAV Filters (x64), XySubfilter .746 (x64)
LG 4K OLED (65C8D), Denon X-4200 AVR, Dali Zensor 5.1 Set
Sunset1982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2019, 18:49   #54816  |  Link
madjock
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunset1982 View Post
oversaturated reds
Sounds familiar ?

https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...ds#post1852154
__________________
Windows 10-1809 | i5-3570k | GTX 1070 Windforce OC Rev2 8GB : 430.64 | Yamaha RX-V377 | Philips 65PUS6703 - 65"
madjock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2019, 19:08   #54817  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashlar42 View Post
Source? The only tech that I knew had potential is MicroLED. What's this you're talking about?
MicroLED will remain too expensive, since its just sooo many individual components.

What he is talking about is the technology to add an additional light-modulating layer to typical LCD displays, which can block the light on a per-pixel level, so you can get incredible blacks and the high brightness of LCD panels in one, without burn-in or aging that you get on OLED - and cheaper then MicroLED.

It'll probably be a few more years until this gets mainstream, but its definitely promising.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2019, 21:58   #54818  |  Link
mkohman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 51
Evening all, apologies in advance if this is a silly question however for those guys who use madVR along with a HTPC and projector, what setting is selected under calibration within madVR? BT2020 with power curve gamma 2.2 or DCI-P3 with power curve 2.2? The reason I ask is I know that 4HDR movies are supposed to be BT2020 but madVR defaults them to DCI-P3 and when I select DCI-P3 the colours seem to have a slightly more pop to them as BT2020 is slightly washed out in colour ? So was wondering in madVR is it correct to select this display is calibrated to BT2020 or DCI-P3? Here are some pics of my projector when DCI-P3 is selected . Colours are slightly more saturated and HDR has a bit more pop . Would appreciate your advice . Thank you ..
Attached Images
    
mkohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2019, 22:26   #54819  |  Link
madjock
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkohman View Post
Evening all, apologies in advance if this is a silly question
You would be quicker uploading the images to an image site, as they take a while to get approved.

As far as calibration goes...

"Most 4K UHD displays have separate display modes for HDR and SDR. Calibration settings in madVR only apply to the display's default SDR mode. BT.2020 HDR content is passed through unless a special setting in hdr is enabled such as converting HDR to SDR."

https://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php...942#pid2238942
__________________
Windows 10-1809 | i5-3570k | GTX 1070 Windforce OC Rev2 8GB : 430.64 | Yamaha RX-V377 | Philips 65PUS6703 - 65"
madjock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2019, 22:42   #54820  |  Link
masodes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3
Profile Command Line Execution

I need some help with command line execution with profile activation/deactivation. Is it possible to pass arguments on a batch file call? I tried but could not get it to work. For different profiles I would like to call the same batch file but with different arguments.
masodes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.