Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10th July 2015, 17:34   #31641  |  Link
surgical
Dopax
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
That is correct if your TV does not support full RGB.

If you want the desktop correct as well you would need to switch Nvidia to limited RGB and madVR to full. This does reduce the quality of madVR because the GPU does a full to limited conversion which damages the video compared to madVR outputting limited range and the GPU leaving it untouched.
Many thanks Asmodian
surgical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2015, 18:00   #31642  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,716
Suggestion: Could we have a checkbox for image enhancement to just enable it if no luma upscaling is applied?
This would be useful to prevent sharpening of sharpening artifacts when also using it as an upscaling refinement.
I think it would be neat to help NNEDI3 with AdaptiveSharpen, but I don't want it combined AdaptiveSharpen of image enhancements, which on the other hand is neat to fight chroma blur a bit.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2015, 18:58   #31643  |  Link
James Freeman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 919
Quote:
Originally Posted by Braum View Post
Madshi do you plan on introducing a frame interpolation function in Madvr ?
Did you try SVP?
I would love to have a quality interpolation algo in madvR in the future myself.
__________________
System: i7 3770K, GTX660, Win7 64bit, Panasonic ST60, Dell U2410.
James Freeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2015, 19:43   #31644  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,716
Some more NNEDI3 vs super-xbr doubling test. Sorry about the image size, I don't know how to crop always exactly the same pixels.
However, I could do this in future if someone explained this to me.
720p -> WQHD, Jinc3AR chroma

super-xbr 100 is sharper than NNEDI3 64, but ringing gets more obvious and lines aren't as clean.
NNEDI3 64:


super-xbr 100:


With AdaptiveSharpen of 0.2 as an upscaling refinement for NNEDI3, the image still looks natural and clean, but is sharper than super-xbr 100 without sharpen:


Edit: as a reference, the original frame:
http://abload.de/img/frame6ro6g.png

I also notice the worse line reconstruction of super-xbr e.g. with clothes of news speakers.
Even though it's "just" doubling, the advantage of NNEDI3 is already noticeable.

Last edited by aufkrawall; 10th July 2015 at 19:50.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2015, 19:57   #31645  |  Link
leeperry
Kid for Today
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,463
Oh you nail it, indeed sxbr rings a lot....I was hoping that lowering its strength and increasing the SR sharpness could be helpful but maybe not, I still wish I could try sxbr37(25 is too soft and 50 rings a lot) on untouched DVD material though as temperature is seriously too hot around here these days to run NNEDI3 anyway. For now I slightly increase the SR softness in .15 in order to somewhat tame down the sxbr50 ringing.

Last edited by leeperry; 10th July 2015 at 20:28.
leeperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2015, 20:24   #31646  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,716
Too hot for NNEDI3?
I remember my 780 Ti getting loud with NNEDI3, the MSI Gaming design was too weak for the power consumption to remain silent.
With a MSI Gaming 970, you can set a manual fan curve so that it remains close to totally silent, if you don't mind high VRM temperatures and some coil whine.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2015, 20:31   #31647  |  Link
leeperry
Kid for Today
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,463
...and HDD temperature going up as well, I can keep my o/c HD7850 fairly silent as long as NNEDI3 isn't on.
leeperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2015, 21:05   #31648  |  Link
Braum
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by James Freeman View Post
Did you try SVP?
I would love to have a quality interpolation algo in madvR in the future myself.
Yeah I also tried AMD Fluid Motion, Interframe (which use svpflow), dmitrirender.

Interframe, dmitrirender and AMD Fluid Motion are great but I would love an integration in madvr.
Something of great quality based on madshi experience and user feedback.
Braum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2015, 22:09   #31649  |  Link
Mano
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 48
Sub was late so i downloaded raw. Then i notice in the subbed version there are shudders when camera move while there no such thing in the raw file.

I cut it with [ffmpeg -i shudder.mkv -ss 00:04:20.0 -c copy -t 00:00:08.0 cut.mkv] (not sure if this is the correct command to preserve everything).

shudder (https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B6_...ew?usp=sharing)
no shudder (https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B6_...ew?usp=sharing)

So is it my side problem or the encoder?
Mano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2015, 00:03   #31650  |  Link
tFWo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by aufkrawall View Post
Sorry about the image size, I don't know how to crop always exactly the same pixels.
However, I could do this in future if someone explained this to me.
I use GIMP for this.

Printscreen -> Paste the first image

Change madVR settings

Printscreen again -> Paste as NEW LAYER over the first one

Repeat if necessary.


Check if all layers are selected. Crop.

Now select each layer separately. "Copy visible" each one and paste as NEW IMAGE.

Export each image as PNG.
tFWo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2015, 00:09   #31651  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,716
I just tried a bit around with AdaptiveSharpen vs. FineSharp as upscaling refinements, and I have to say that I now understand why some people describe FineSharp as pure destruction.
It increases ringing in a very unpleasant way, but you need need a lot of strength to make it actually sharpen things noticeably.
With AdaptiveSharpen, you can use much smaller values and it will really sharpen areas which actually need the sharpen. It also doesn't suffer by ringing like FS in LL.
Some textures still get brighter, but probably this is how sharpen just works to some degree?
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2015, 00:30   #31652  |  Link
JarrettH
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 838
Maybe not everyone's source needs sharpening or there is no detail to bring out
JarrettH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2015, 01:17   #31653  |  Link
AngelGraves13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 239
I'm really liking super-xbr at 50 for chroma and image doubling with bilinear upscaling/downscaling. Upscaling DVDs with Jinc AR looks pretty terrible, but Bilinear hides the source artifacts quite well. Sharpness is nice, but not if it makes the videos look worse.

I'm basing this on watching Batman: The Animated Series.

Last edited by AngelGraves13; 11th July 2015 at 01:21.
AngelGraves13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2015, 02:12   #31654  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,716
Thanks, tFWo. Will try it out.

Phew, I'm not really good in judging quality of SuperRes for filmed material. I'm lacking samples for which I'd really know at what I'd have to pay attention to.
At least I wouldn't choose algo 2 because of the softness and between 1 and 3, I don't see a real difference with 720p content I've quickly thrown at it. But since 1 tends to make some colors to bright with cartoons, maybe there's no good reason not to use 3?

New SuperRes still improves sharpness with the corresponding parameters, I don't agree that the image would look "dirty" with it.

It's neat to improve the result with any non-NNEDI3 scaler for filmed material. But I honestly rather use NNEDI3 + AS.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2015, 04:20   #31655  |  Link
MistahBonzai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by surgical View Post
Greetings to all:
.
.
.
I'm connected via HDMI to a TV Sony KDL 32EX-500 (Bravia Engine 3) that, if I'm not mistaken, does'nt support 0-255 (although I'm not sure if this TV Works internally the signal in limited RGB or YCbCr)
It is correct my config ?
Thank you all in advance
I scanned through the users guide (https://docs.sony.com/release/KDL32F...X500-EX501.pdf) and although no mention was made specifically of a 'full range RGB' setting I did note the presence of an analogue 'VESA' RGB compliant connection for a PC which implies full range RGB. Now this may not be the case with HDMI unless so noted. In the end most all displays utilize RGB to the final display processing stage.

I have a run-of-the-mill (KDL40w3000) 8 YO 40" Sony Bravia and it provides selection of either full range or limited RGB under "Video Options">"RGB Dynamic Range" for each of the HDMI inputs. YMMV

Last edited by MistahBonzai; 11th July 2015 at 04:38.
MistahBonzai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2015, 05:19   #31656  |  Link
JarrettH
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 838
When image doubling, does chroma upscaling happen before chroma doubling?

In that case, would the chain look like...

chroma > super-xbr (chroma upscaling) > super-xbr (chroma doubling)

Last edited by JarrettH; 11th July 2015 at 05:47.
JarrettH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2015, 07:29   #31657  |  Link
QBhd
QB the Slayer
 
QBhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 473
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mano View Post
Anyone see any improvement with AMD Catalyst 15.7 compare to 13.12?
Nope... just tried 15.7 and madVR can still push my GPU further with 13.12

QB
__________________
QBhd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2015, 11:31   #31658  |  Link
surgical
Dopax
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by MistahBonzai View Post
I scanned through the users guide (https://docs.sony.com/release/KDL32F...X500-EX501.pdf) and although no mention was made specifically of a 'full range RGB' setting I did note the presence of an analogue 'VESA' RGB compliant connection for a PC which implies full range RGB. Now this may not be the case with HDMI unless so noted. In the end most all displays utilize RGB to the final display processing stage.

I have a run-of-the-mill (KDL40w3000) 8 YO 40" Sony Bravia and it provides selection of either full range or limited RGB under "Video Options">"RGB Dynamic Range" for each of the HDMI inputs. YMMV
Thanks for your comments
Yes............................. I'd also taken into account that information but , unfortunately , don't have that option ; I mean , it doesn't allow me the space color change in the HDMI inputs . What's more, it doesn't indicate what space color are using that HDMI input............... simply says "not available for the current input"
Greetings
surgical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2015, 14:02   #31659  |  Link
xabregas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by aufkrawall View Post
Some more NNEDI3 vs super-xbr doubling test. Sorry about the image size, I don't know how to crop always exactly the same pixels.
However, I could do this in future if someone explained this to me.
720p -> WQHD, Jinc3AR chroma

super-xbr 100 is sharper than NNEDI3 64, but ringing gets more obvious and lines aren't as clean.
NNEDI3 64:


super-xbr 100:


With AdaptiveSharpen of 0.2 as an upscaling refinement for NNEDI3, the image still looks natural and clean, but is sharper than super-xbr 100 without sharpen:


Edit: as a reference, the original frame:
http://abload.de/img/frame6ro6g.png

I also notice the worse line reconstruction of super-xbr e.g. with clothes of news speakers.
Even though it's "just" doubling, the advantage of NNEDI3 is already noticeable.
I see better detail retention with super-xbr, in the windows, no matter the ringing, sometimes ringing is part of the source. Windows have much more detail
xabregas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2015, 14:34   #31660  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,716
True. But without comparison, one will probably never notice this, contrary to the unstable lines of super-xbr.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.