Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 21st June 2018, 02:33   #51441  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmone View Post
Related issue is that on BD Menus some of the Button Text is drawn off screen.
Hadn't seen that yet but it's likely due to the overlay issue Nev told us about, yes. madshi is aware but I just wanted to post it here in case others weren't. Thanks for the info.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2018, 10:39   #51442  |  Link
mrmojo666
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
if i'm honest i'm not 100% sure, I am sure 18.5.2 was working the other day and now it isnt, i'm only back to 18.2.2 though because later drivers have been unstable for me, random freezes mainly using RDP conections to my machine from work.

18.2.2 is very stable for me, everything works as it should as far as I can tell.

EDIT, I have the blown out reds issue again after going back to 18.2.2, I need to look into this further.
opsss

in my system the only driver that desn't have any kind of issue is 18.2.1, all the further have some glitches
mrmojo666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2018, 10:48   #51443  |  Link
Dorohedoro
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quiet View Post
Just here to say that grain is life.
Only is if the grain is the result of the director's intent.
Dorohedoro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2018, 11:55   #51444  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 872
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmojo666 View Post
opsss

in my system the only driver that desn't have any kind of issue is 18.2.1, all the further have some glitches
Same here, all drivers above 18.2.2 had stability issues for me, 18.5.2 was the first version to remain stable for me but I must have forgotten ti test HDR when I put it in.

However, i'm now up and running on 18.3.4, all is working except i'm having to calibrate MADVR to BT2020 to deal with blown out reds which I can live with as everything else is working perfectly.

have a go with 18.3.4 but use DDU to wipe you system first so you're starting with a clean registry.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2018, 12:42   #51445  |  Link
mrmojo666
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
Same here, all drivers above 18.2.2 had stability issues for me, 18.5.2 was the first version to remain stable for me but I must have forgotten ti test HDR when I put it in.

However, i'm now up and running on 18.3.4, all is working except i'm having to calibrate MADVR to BT2020 to deal with blown out reds which I can live with as everything else is working perfectly.

have a go with 18.3.4 but use DDU to wipe you system first so you're starting with a clean registry.
DDU for sure, i can't get any good results without using ddu before go to a new driver version.

OT: btw with latest drivers that are supposed to activate neflix 4k , they didn't do that.
mrmojo666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2018, 13:10   #51446  |  Link
XTrojan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 88
Kaby lake seems to have HDR support, does MadVR support HDR with Intel HD 620?
XTrojan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2018, 13:46   #51447  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 872
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmojo666 View Post
DDU for sure, i can't get any good results without using ddu before go to a new driver version.

OT: btw with latest drivers that are supposed to activate neflix 4k , they didn't do that.
disappointing but at least we have a fallback driver that fully works, not looking forward to being forced onto 1803 though, i've set it to delay by 365 days but i'm going to get it eventually, hopefully stuff will be working properly by then.

I've been tempted away to me spare NVIDIA 1050 but there are still plenty of issues with NVIDA drivers too so I think i'll just remain with AMD for now on 18.3.4

I'll keep trying new releases though in the hope they fix this, AMD have been in touch for some more information about the HDR switching issue, you never know, they may act on this.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2018, 14:37   #51448  |  Link
mrmojo666
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
disappointing but at least we have a fallback driver that fully works, not looking forward to being forced onto 1803 though, i've set it to delay by 365 days but i'm going to get it eventually, hopefully stuff will be working properly by then.

I've been tempted away to me spare NVIDIA 1050 but there are still plenty of issues with NVIDA drivers too so I think i'll just remain with AMD for now on 18.3.4

I'll keep trying new releases though in the hope they fix this, AMD have been in touch for some more information about the HDR switching issue, you never know, they may act on this.
just saying , i'm on 1803 with 18.2.1 and all seems good so i don't think 1803 is the issue
mrmojo666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2018, 15:56   #51449  |  Link
starlight2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by starlight2 View Post
Hi, i have a projector FullHD and gtx 970. I watch only mkv 1080p you could advise me the best setting for the boost image quality? I have to use only chroma with ngu? what else do you recommend?
Thank you
Help me pleasee?
starlight2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2018, 16:15   #51450  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 872
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmojo666 View Post
just saying , i'm on 1803 with 18.2.1 and all seems good so i don't think 1803 is the issue
I agree, what I meant was that the reason the HDR switching isnt working might be something to do with how AMD have been optimizing their drivers for the upcoming 1803, this HDR issue is only affecting the last two driver versions.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2018, 16:24   #51451  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 872
Quote:
Originally Posted by starlight2 View Post
Help me pleasee?
these settings are subjective, you just need to try them out for yourself and see which works best for you, there is no objective settings that anyone can recommend beyond those that are set at default install, these are set for max compatibility rather than quality.

start with NGU sharp high for Chroma and upscaling, if your card cant handle that tinker with it until it can.


There is plenty of documentation on this too for you to read.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2018, 16:46   #51452  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,126
Quote:
Originally Posted by starlight2 View Post
Help me pleasee?
There isn't a whole lot you can do to boost the image quality of a 1080p -> 1080p source. Choose any of the NGU or Reconstruction settings for chroma upscaling. Set dithering to Error Diffusion. Artifact removal is up to preference. If you want the image to be sharper, try image enhancements.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2018, 16:49   #51453  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,126
Quote:
Originally Posted by giulianoprs View Post
ok, I try this way, thanks to everyone, although I believe that with those filters set I will put a strain on my gpu, sorry my english not correct, hello and good evening !!!
I thought that might happen. If you choose NGU Sharp low - very high, you can use reduce compression artifacts for free. Turn off debanding. If that doesn't work, try reduce random noise. There might not be much else you can do for a bad source.

If you are using Kodi, chances are DXVA2 image upscaling is using Bilinear upscaling, which will smooth the noise, but won't work well for good sources. It is a tradeoff no matter what you use.

Last edited by Warner306; 22nd June 2018 at 16:59.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2018, 16:52   #51454  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,126
Quote:
Originally Posted by brazen1 View Post
What's that saying? No grain..... no pain?
Some directors like Christopher Nolan make good use of film. But grain is an artifact, so it doesn't really serve any purpose. If the source isn't captured well, post-production usually isn't enough to improve it. I feel the same way about compressed sources. Once a source is compressed by a certain threshold, it becomes a lost cause and there is little point in attempting to enhance it.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2018, 17:17   #51455  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,959
grain on modern movies is intentionally added it's not an artifact.

even a mobilephone camera can capture images with less grain than todays films this should tell you everything you need to know.
the choicen refreshrate has obviously nothing todo with grain.

madVR has an option to add grain when upscaling i'm pretty sure madshi adds this feature with purpose.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2018, 17:17   #51456  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 872
i'm down with grain where it works but its the really bobbly stuff which can be very distracting to watch, you see this mainly in stuff like The walking dead, I rarely see it movies unless its a low light shot and that cant be helped really.

Rule of thumb to me is, if I notice it, either there is too much grain or the film isnt interesting enough, I dont go looking for it though and I rarely notice it
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2018, 18:41   #51457  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,126
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
grain on modern movies is intentionally added it's not an artifact.

even a mobilephone camera can capture images with less grain than todays films this should tell you everything you need to know.
the choicen refreshrate has obviously nothing todo with grain.

madVR has an option to add grain when upscaling i'm pretty sure madshi adds this feature with purpose.
Yes, but the grain is meant to create the look of old movies, which had this artifact. And adding grain to correct artifacts is another story. It is more of a post-production tool than a necessary part of the image.

I'm guess I'm saying, what is grain? What does it represent? Is it meant to represent a dreamlike state or an imaginary world? What place does it have in the real world?

Last edited by Warner306; 21st June 2018 at 19:08.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2018, 19:31   #51458  |  Link
brazen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 228
War of the Worlds (2005) is a perfect example of grain abuse. There are many others. Too many imo. Yes, the grain is intended by the director to 'enhance' the ambience of the movie. I just don't view it as an enhancement that benefits my experience more than without it. Just the opposite. It ruins it. Fortunately, we have been given a tool, RCA, to correct what I consider, a blunder. We've been given another one, add grain, for those that find it enhancing though I can't understand anyone in their right mind using it.

4k remasters of old titles are famous for pronounced grain/artifacts. Viewed originally 480p-1080p, much of it was hidden. Now remastered in 4k, it sticks out like a sore thumb. Why it isn't processed out, I don't know but thankfully our RCA tool will do it.

I still prefer digitally capturing frames in video vs burning it on nitrate film. Everything about it is superior imo. I've seen video commercials that add fake grain and artifacts to keep appealing to their old school audiences. It's kinda' funny really. And I agree, a 4k iPhone produces a cleaner image than expensive film cameras. Not to mention the upset in the industry regarding jobs and time that generates revenue opposed to video that a child can shoot and edit in real time producing a better picture than skilled hands. Still I realize Joe Public has a hard time adapting and adopting to new perspectives.

Look how many still pound fists that 2160p is not an upgrade from 1080p and use seating distances as excuses. HDR is deemed a gimmick too. Most media sold are DVD's. Many, many older people still prefer VCR's. Folks cling to what they know and what they were raised on. I was raised on all of this. I remember B/W TV with only 7 channels offered. When a show was an hour long and commercials, I mean 'sponsers' got a mention at the beginning and end of the show. The advancement of precision displays and clean video sources is a gift from heaven I'm able to utilize in my lifetime. For the sources clinging to old timey appeasement, thank you madshi for giving us spoons of sugar to sweeten this unpalatable cuisine. Thank you to display manufactures for the adjustments in your products to enhance sources to our tastes should we desire to break the mold. One day new generations will laugh at grainy film like we do at the quality of 1st gen 'talkies'. I think everyone here is looking for perfection. Consider yourself on the cutting edge.
__________________
HOW TO-Kodi 2D-3D-UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W10 1909 9604GB RGB 4:4:4 @Matched Refresh Rates 8,10,12bit
KODI MPC-HC/BE PDVD19 DVDFab 3 & 5 PotPlayer
65JS8500 UHD HDR 3D

Last edited by brazen1; 21st June 2018 at 19:38.
brazen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2018, 19:54   #51459  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,959
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warner306 View Post
Yes, but the grain is meant to create the look of old movies, which had this artifact. And adding grain to correct artifacts is another story. It is more of a post-production tool than a necessary part of the image.

I'm guess I'm saying, what is grain? What does it represent? Is it meant to represent a dreamlike state or an imaginary world? What place does it have in the real world?
upscale a dvd with ngu and compare it with add grain and without it.

you should quickly see what the idea behind it is.
not here to convince you to use it or something just here to show you it's purpose.

@brazen1
out of the box screen are more and more inaccurate so much about perfection.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2018, 20:34   #51460  |  Link
bisse
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 4
film grain

I absolutely LOVE film grain. It's pretty. I hate any kind of grain filtering/management.
bisse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.