Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 8th November 2019, 21:24   #57761  |  Link
tony359
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by Klaus1189 View Post
What GPU and what driver version do you use excatly?
nVidia 1050ti - driver version 431.70

Thanks!
tony359 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2019, 21:43   #57762  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 760
Please update your Nvidia driver to latest GRD, for infos see also my dedicated driver thread:
AMD, Intel and Nvidia driver issues and last recommended version

Please report back if done, perhaps better in the driver thread, since it is driver related at least I think so for now.
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2019, 15:48   #57763  |  Link
box4m
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 2
MADVR - duplicate monitors - one with HDR / one without HDR

Is this possible?

I cant get it working with my second monitor duplicated to the TV.

TV is HDR capable (and it works if its extended) and the monitor is not

Any particular setup for this, if its possible?

I maybe shoulve asked in this thread instead of making a new thread about it, not sure.

Thanks
box4m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2019, 20:04   #57764  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 872
it should work but you might need to have the TV as primary, i'm not sure really. I'm using my TV as my main monitor but I also have a non HDR HDMI dummy plug which I use for teamviewer remote connections, teamviewer drops to 480p if you dont have an active monitor turned on.

HDR works fine on my setup, i have mine setup as only show on monitor 1 though (TV), however it also works if I duplicate, it doesnt work if I extend.
__________________
OLED 4k HDR EF950-YAM RX-V685-WIN10 444 RGB 60hz-AMD RX 5700 19.11.3 KODI DS - MAD/LAV 92.17/0.74.1 - 3D MVC / FSE:ON / MADVR 10bit

Last edited by mclingo; 9th November 2019 at 21:49.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2019, 18:46   #57765  |  Link
d3rd3vil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 82
Could someone give me a tip what settings to use to upscale 240p-360p material as best as possible? Of course it looks shitty so upscaling wont do miracles. Still.....someone said add a bit of grain and then sharpen it?!

So under "chroma upscaling" and "image upscaling" what do I pick there, NGU Anti-Alias? What about under processing" what to do there under "image enhancements" and maybe "artifact removal"? God bless you in advance
d3rd3vil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2019, 19:16   #57766  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,964
if it is high quality 240+360p which i doubt you can use NGU sharp add grain helps NGU quite a lot in this case. if the quality is not "pristine" and the image has compression artifacts just use NGU AA and try add grain.

the rest is content specific.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2019, 20:05   #57767  |  Link
cork_OS
Registered User
 
cork_OS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Minsk (Blr)
Posts: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
if it is high quality 240+360p which i doubt you can use NGU sharp add grain helps NGU quite a lot in this case. if the quality is not "pristine" and the image has compression artifacts just use NGU AA and try add grain.
Very informative advice, I could only mention that adding sharpness could boost artefacts too, so you could play with the "Reduce compression artifacts" option.
__________________
I'm infected with poor sources.
cork_OS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2019, 20:19   #57768  |  Link
toki
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 57
I don't know if this is a madVR question or MPC-HC, but I can't get subtitles to show no matter what I do and I'm unsure of what's going on.
toki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2019, 20:21   #57769  |  Link
d3rd3vil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 82
Ok thank you. Do I activate NGU sharp (or AA) in both chroma and image upscaling categories?

And how do I add grain?
d3rd3vil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2019, 21:59   #57770  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,964
i personally not aware of a situation where NGU sharp is better then NGU aa for chroma i would generally use NGU AA or super xbr for chroma. this is totally different from image doubling chroma where the same algorithm is preferred and that what madVR trys to use.

you find add grain under upscale refinements in the past it was only usable for NGU sharp i know it works for NGU AA too now but not sure about the rest of the scaler. the grain is added before scaling this somehow help NGU sharp in upscaling beware at a low resolution the grain can get quite big.

RCA and RRN have heavy effects on the image quality even on good source that's why it should be set depending on the source.
the results of NGU sharp change heavily if they are used because NGU sharp can't handle low image quality/compression artifacts and often enhance them.
RCA and RRN make the image pretty soft so using some sharpening filter to counter this is a good idea in such a situation but again heavily depends on the content so i can't do a recommendation here.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2019, 22:07   #57771  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,227
For some reason are 10 bit videos more demanding to upscale than an 8 bit ones? Both files full HD and scaling to 4K, using the same profiles and there are some huge differences here between the rendering times which I've confirmed on the OSD.
Showing the renderingsteps only shows that the bulk of it is going to chroma and NGU doubling. Is this normal? First time I've seen it.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2019, 22:29   #57772  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,964
the texture could be double the size with 10 bit which could impact scaling performance.

never really notice this you may also see more copy back impact.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2019, 23:18   #57773  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,833
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
For some reason are 10 bit videos more demanding to upscale than an 8 bit ones? Both files full HD and scaling to 4K, using the same profiles and there are some huge differences here between the rendering times which I've confirmed on the OSD.
Showing the renderingsteps only shows that the bulk of it is going to chroma and NGU doubling. Is this normal? First time I've seen it.
I wouldn't expect scaling to be any different, as I would expect madVR to use high bitdepth textures in all cases already.

Timing info can be treacherous, it might be influenced by another step entirely and only show there.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2019, 23:26   #57774  |  Link
d3rd3vil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
i personally not aware of a situation where NGU sharp is better then NGU aa for chroma i would generally use NGU AA or super xbr for chroma. this is totally different from image doubling chroma where the same algorithm is preferred and that what madVR trys to use.

you find add grain under upscale refinements in the past it was only usable for NGU sharp i know it works for NGU AA too now but not sure about the rest of the scaler. the grain is added before scaling this somehow help NGU sharp in upscaling beware at a low resolution the grain can get quite big.

RCA and RRN have heavy effects on the image quality even on good source that's why it should be set depending on the source.
the results of NGU sharp change heavily if they are used because NGU sharp can't handle low image quality/compression artifacts and often enhance them.
RCA and RRN make the image pretty soft so using some sharpening filter to counter this is a good idea in such a situation but again heavily depends on the content so i can't do a recommendation here.
God bless you I will try the good stuff
d3rd3vil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2019, 09:43   #57775  |  Link
Msarc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by toki View Post
I don't know if this is a madVR question or MPC-HC, but I can't get subtitles to show no matter what I do and I'm unsure of what's going on.
One reason I can think of is subtitles set to render too far below the frame.
You can find it under MPC options > Subtitles -> Override placement -> Vertical.
Set it to 95% or lower and see if that helps.

It's also possible that you have Default Style for subtitles enabled in MPC, which can do the same thing. Try fiddling with it under "Screen Alighnment & Margins".
Msarc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2019, 13:15   #57776  |  Link
toki
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Msarc View Post
One reason I can think of is subtitles set to render too far below the frame.
You can find it under MPC options > Subtitles -> Override placement -> Vertical.
Set it to 95% or lower and see if that helps.

It's also possible that you have Default Style for subtitles enabled in MPC, which can do the same thing. Try fiddling with it under "Screen Alighnment & Margins".
I figured out what the problem was. Thank you for your help.

Last edited by toki; 13th November 2019 at 13:31.
toki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2019, 16:48   #57777  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 760
What was the problem? On forums you should always post the reason if you know it.
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2019, 01:57   #57778  |  Link
Furgiuele
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Napoli, Italy
Posts: 10
Hi all and sorry for my bad English! I have a (clock deviation) issue. I use Jriver MC25 and Madvr .17, on htpc with I5 9600 cpu - Nvidia 2060 gpu. When I start watching a movie I have a big clock deviation with a frame drop every second or littlemore, but the cd decreases and frame drop time increases continuously. Then, after one hour, really I won't have any frame dropped and I won't have any stuttering or artifacts. I try to use custom resolution in Madvr, but my gpu driver didn't accept. Can someone help my to solve the strange issue? Thanks
Furgiuele is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2019, 06:07   #57779  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 760
Use the suggested settings of madVR for custom refresh rate and create it with CRU:
https://www.monitortests.com/forum/T...on-Utility-CRU
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2019, 10:51   #57780  |  Link
jeffk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
Hi,

Is there any trouble with the tone mapping ?

Here the screenshoot of the 1080p SDR version versus the 4K HDR tone mapped to SDR (using "Let MadVR decide" and "Pixelshader", they both have the same result)

1080p SDR :
https://reho.st/view/self/631eef439c...004bf6a411.jpg

4k HDR to SDR (downscaled to 1080 using Jinc)
https://reho.st/view/self/8319a1c769...516a19b141.jpg

Thanks,
jeffk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.