Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 14th December 2009, 07:16   #1  |  Link
BillyWilly
Registered User
 
BillyWilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 11
Quicktime Subtitles

Hi guys! I'm converting a movie to mp4 for playback on my ipod touch, but I've hit one problem. The video comes out fine and plays great on VLC, but when I open it in Quicktime, I have this problem: the text is really big and if there are too many words on the screen, they all overlap each other. I've attached pictures.
Thanks in advance for your help!
Attached Images
  
BillyWilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2009, 19:40   #2  |  Link
b66pak
Registered User
 
b66pak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: The Land Of Dracula (Romania - EU)
Posts: 934
read this:

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=147494
_

L.E. After viewing the images i say you need to break the subtitle line in two!
_

Last edited by b66pak; 15th December 2009 at 18:17.
b66pak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2009, 05:08   #3  |  Link
BillyWilly
Registered User
 
BillyWilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 11
The encoder I'm using automatically encodes them. How would I edit the code to allow it to break the line in two?

Last edited by BillyWilly; 18th December 2009 at 05:18.
BillyWilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2009, 06:49   #4  |  Link
Inspector.Gadget
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,618
Is the source a DVD?
Inspector.Gadget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2009, 07:24   #5  |  Link
BillyWilly
Registered User
 
BillyWilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 11
Yes, and I'm using the new update of Handbrake for the soft subtitle encoding.
BillyWilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2009, 07:32   #6  |  Link
Inspector.Gadget
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,618
I would go the normal DGIndex->Avisynth->x264 route and make your softsubs using Subrip so you can set line widths before muxing (worst case, edit the longest line by hand, although I've never had this problem).

I realize this is inconvenient from the perspective of direct DVD->iPod using Handbrake, so if you can find a way to do your normal thing with Handbrake and rip softsubs separately with Subrip and then mux, I'd do that.
Inspector.Gadget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2009, 07:39   #7  |  Link
BillyWilly
Registered User
 
BillyWilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 11
Yeah, I'm trying to add the subtitles post-rip. In the end, I may try that. Is there a way for Subrip to output in .SRT? If so, I can use Mp4box to mux them in.
BillyWilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2009, 07:44   #8  |  Link
Inspector.Gadget
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,618
Subrip does do SRT (among many other formats); google around for the ai4spam character matrix to save you a LOT of time on English subs.
Inspector.Gadget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2009, 07:55   #9  |  Link
BillyWilly
Registered User
 
BillyWilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 11
I was hoping there was a setting or a quick fix to get the perfectly functioning subtitles to work with Quicktime. Accursed Apple! Anyways, thanks everyone for all your help! I'll just try and set the line length.
BillyWilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2009, 10:10   #10  |  Link
setarip_old
Registered User
 
setarip_old's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 16,272
Hi!

It looks like you have to reduce the font size by about half...
setarip_old is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2009, 21:10   #11  |  Link
BillyWilly
Registered User
 
BillyWilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 11
That made sense to me, until I watched the file in Quicktime. For some reason it's just these beginning subtitles that are tripping up Quicktime, because about halfway through the movie I saw a part where the text started closer to the left side of the screen and resized itself so it would fit. Why doesn't it do that consistently throughout the movie, though?
BillyWilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ipod, mp4, playback, quicktime, subtitles

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.