Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 30th October 2018, 19:06   #1  |  Link
Revan654
Registered User
 
Revan654's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 324
StaxRip 2.0 Support Thread



Quote:
StaxRip is a video encoding app for Windows with a unrivaled feature set and usability.
- Support for countless formats and tools
- Hardware encoding for AMD, Intel and NVIDIA
- AviSynth and VapourSynth code editor
- Cut/Trim/Edit feature, for MKV output no re-encoding required
- Minimal user interaction required due to rich configuration and automation features
- Pixel perfect High DPI scaling
- HDR10 & HLG Fully Supported
- HDR Metadata Injectors
- Thumbnail, Gif & aPNG Creators
- Massive Libiary of Filters for Both Avisynth+ & VapourSynth
- AV1 Supported in the Form of Rav1e Encoder

Docs: https://staxrip2.readthedocs.io/en/latest/index.html
Complete Release: https://github.com/Revan654/staxrip/releases/latest

You Also Can Grab New Builds at the Pipeline: Here



The Pipeline Builds Only contain the core Files and None of the External Files.

Last edited by Revan654; 20th January 2019 at 19:55.
Revan654 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2018, 13:22   #2  |  Link
-QfG-
QfG Group Germany
 
-QfG-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 18
Quote:
Removed MediaInfo 18.08.1 Due to Bugs it contains and Re-Added MediaInfo 18.05.
Thanks for this . For me, the best AVS based encoding GUI.
-QfG- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2018, 13:31   #3  |  Link
NikosD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,578
Excellent!

I'll try it using it with QSVEncC.

Get a good start for your new project.
__________________
Win 10 x64 (18362.356) - Core i3-9100F - nVidia 1660 (436.15)
HEVC decoding benchmarks
H.264 DXVA Benchmarks for all
NikosD is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2018, 13:36   #4  |  Link
NikosD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,578
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revan654 View Post
I may be blind, but I only see v1.9.0.0 of Staxrip
__________________
Win 10 x64 (18362.356) - Core i3-9100F - nVidia 1660 (436.15)
HEVC decoding benchmarks
H.264 DXVA Benchmarks for all
NikosD is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2018, 13:42   #5  |  Link
-QfG-
QfG Group Germany
 
-QfG-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by NikosD View Post
I may be blind, but I only see v1.9.0.0 of Staxrip
https://github.com/Revan654/staxrip/...es/tag/2.0.0.0
-QfG- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2018, 16:41   #6  |  Link
Revan654
Registered User
 
Revan654's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by NikosD View Post
I may be blind, but I only see v1.9.0.0 of Staxrip
2.0 is only Beta, Final is not ready yet. Only Stable Releases Are Shown.

Last edited by Revan654; 31st October 2018 at 16:44.
Revan654 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2018, 17:18   #7  |  Link
Trench
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revan654 View Post
2.0 is only Beta, Final is not ready yet. Only Stable Releases Are Shown.
Not sure what the expectation might have been, but on a Windows 10 x64 machine where I was running StaxRip 1.9.0.0 successfully including ffmpeg.exe encoding, when I tried to run StaxRip 2.0.0.0 on that same machine StaxRip didn't prompt me for any application installation updates. But ffmpeg failed to run, citing only the generic STATUS_DLL_NOT_FOUND (0xC0000135) in the StaxRip log.

Attempting to run ffmpeg.exe manually outside of StaxRip 2.0.0.0 reported VSScript.dll wasn't being found. Attempting to launch the VapourSynth installer failed because a suitable Python installation wasn't found. After installing Python, VapourSynth installation required download of the VC_REDIST for C++ 2017.

I think the expectation was that StaxRip 2.0.0.0 needed to realize the installations that hadn't occurred yet, rather than just hitting the non-descript failure to run ffmpeg.exe. So for what it's worth.
Trench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2018, 19:17   #8  |  Link
Revan654
Registered User
 
Revan654's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trench View Post
Not sure what the expectation might have been, but on a Windows 10 x64 machine where I was running StaxRip 1.9.0.0 successfully including ffmpeg.exe encoding, when I tried to run StaxRip 2.0.0.0 on that same machine StaxRip didn't prompt me for any application installation updates. But ffmpeg failed to run, citing only the generic STATUS_DLL_NOT_FOUND (0xC0000135) in the StaxRip log.

Attempting to run ffmpeg.exe manually outside of StaxRip 2.0.0.0 reported VSScript.dll wasn't being found. Attempting to launch the VapourSynth installer failed because a suitable Python installation wasn't found. After installing Python, VapourSynth installation required download of the VC_REDIST for C++ 2017.

I think the expectation was that StaxRip 2.0.0.0 needed to realize the installations that hadn't occurred yet, rather than just hitting the non-descript failure to run ffmpeg.exe. So for what it's worth.
FFMpeg has been Completely Rebuilt and Stripped away any unless codecs. It's under 50 Mbs right now.

The readme/changelog tells you it requires VC_REDIST for C++ 2017. Windows 10 post Launch build has it already installed. It's nothing new that C++ runtimes are required, after all it runs on dotnet.
Revan654 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2018, 21:22   #9  |  Link
Trench
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revan654 View Post
The readme/changelog tells you it requires VC_REDIST for C++ 2017. Windows 10 post Launch build has it already installed. It's nothing new that C++ runtimes are required, after all it runs on dotnet.
Agreed on .NET Framework requirement & presence on Windows 10. The runtime in question is Visual C++ 2017 Runtime, which is not already present, and is a dependency of this latest VapourSynth and not StaxRip itself. But maybe we don't put Microsoft dependencies in the Apps folder like we do other dependencies; in which case letting VapourSynth download it from Microsoft.com instead of pre-resolving it from a local source is fine.

The observation I was raising isn't that it's unexpected that FFMPEG would require VapourSynth, nor unexpected that VapourSynth would require Python. The observation was that StaxRip 2.0.0.0 didn't appear to be aware of these dependencies, and wasn't intercepting "Hey, you're trying to run something that is going to require VapourSynth to be installed, here's an install button for you." (And in turn, first installing Python before installing VapourSynth.)

i.e. It wasn't expected to me anyway that 2.0.0.0 would run FFMPEG and let it fail with 0xC0000135, rather than guiding the user to install Python and VapourSynth first. I don't think I'm off base in thinking 1.9.0.0 and 1.7.0.6 did manage these dependencies; or else I'm not explaining myself correctly. Thanks.
Trench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2018, 13:45   #10  |  Link
Zetti
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Denmark
Posts: 207
Github Release Page: https://github.com/Revan654/staxrip/releases
Zetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2018, 14:47   #11  |  Link
NikosD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,578
Thank you all for the path of the latest version.

With my Skylake Core i5 6500, Win 10 x64 iGPU v6326, it seems that QSVEnc HW decoding doesn't work for any source codec (MPEG2, VC-1, H.264)

QSVEnc complains regarding missing DLL files which they are all present inside the app's folder.

Regarding this issue, I maybe have to check it out with rigaya.

Also when I select "Execute command" from the drop down menu inside StaxRip, depending of the path of the file on the disk, the CLI app crashes.

But the same process during normal dialogue of the StaxRip app works fine.

I'm not sure if this is a limitation of the CLI app or of the GUI.
__________________
Win 10 x64 (18362.356) - Core i3-9100F - nVidia 1660 (436.15)
HEVC decoding benchmarks
H.264 DXVA Benchmarks for all
NikosD is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2018, 16:44   #12  |  Link
Revan654
Registered User
 
Revan654's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by NikosD View Post
Thank you all for the path of the latest version.

With my Skylake Core i5 6500, Win 10 x64 iGPU v6326, it seems that QSVEnc HW decoding doesn't work for any source codec (MPEG2, VC-1, H.264)

QSVEnc complains regarding missing DLL files which they are all present inside the app's folder.

Regarding this issue, I maybe have to check it out with rigaya.

Also when I select "Execute command" from the drop down menu inside StaxRip, depending of the path of the file on the disk, the CLI app crashes.

But the same process during normal dialogue of the StaxRip app works fine.

I'm not sure if this is a limitation of the CLI app or of the GUI.
rigaya has a habit of leaving out import dll files, it happened with the last two releases too. My coding PC doesn't have intel encoder support so I have no way to test the exe file.
Revan654 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2018, 17:06   #13  |  Link
IbrahimKh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 50
Please add HDR to SDR script built in
IbrahimKh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2018, 18:59   #14  |  Link
Revan654
Registered User
 
Revan654's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by IbrahimKh View Post
Please add HDR to SDR script built in
One already exists, two if you add in 3dlut function.
Revan654 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2018, 20:42   #15  |  Link
shodan5000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revan654 View Post
One already exists, two if you add in 3dlut function.
Apologies, would you mind explaining the simplest approach to doing HDR to SDR using Staxrip? New to HDR content and it would be appreciated.
shodan5000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2018, 23:46   #16  |  Link
Revan654
Registered User
 
Revan654's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 324
Simple ha, HDR is very complex. There are help files for most filters.

Apps -> Manage -> Avisynth -> DGTonemap -> Help
Revan654 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2018, 07:15   #17  |  Link
JKyle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 2
Do I need to copy dlls to a specific system directory to run NVEnc?

Hi.

Here's my system information and error log:

-------------------------- System Environment --------------------------

StaxRip : 2.0.0.0
Windows : Windows 10 Home 1803
Language : English (United States)
CPU : Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-7300HQ CPU @ 2.50GHz
GPU : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 with Max-Q Design, Intel(R) HD Graphics 630
Memory : 8 GB
Resolution : 2560 x 1080
DPI : 120

...

---------------- Error Video encoding using NVEnc 4.20 ----------------

Video encoding using NVEnc 4.20 failed with exit code: 1 (0x1)

The exit code might be a system error code: STATUS_WAIT_1

The exit code might be a system error code: Incorrect function.


------------------- Video encoding using NVEnc 4.20 -------------------

C:\Utilities\StaxRip\Apps\NVEnc\NVEncC64.exe --avhw cuda --vbrhq 2000 --codec h265 --preset quality --aq --vpp-deband -i "C:\Work\input.mkv" -o "C:\Work\input_temp\input_new_out.h265"

avcuvid: avcodec: failed to load dlls.
avcuvid: please make sure "avcodec-58.dll", "avformat-58.dll",
avcuvid: "avutil-56.dll", "avfilter-7.dll", "swresample-3.dll"
avcuvid: is installed in your system.
Failed to open input file.

Start: 10:45:09 PM
End: 10:45:15 PM
Duration: 00:00:05

...

The dll files are put in the same folder where NVEncC64.exe is.

This may sound like a very basic question but what extra steps do I need to take to avoid this error? I just copied the files in the released 7z file to my own specific folder and that was it. For a reference, I have no problem encoding a file using x264 or x265.


BTW, I run into the same 'missing dll files' error when I try to use qaac for audio encoding.

Last edited by JKyle; 5th November 2018 at 07:26. Reason: qaac encoding error added
JKyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2018, 21:59   #18  |  Link
Revan654
Registered User
 
Revan654's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by JKyle View Post
Hi.

Here's my system information and error log:

-------------------------- System Environment --------------------------

StaxRip : 2.0.0.0
Windows : Windows 10 Home 1803
Language : English (United States)
CPU : Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-7300HQ CPU @ 2.50GHz
GPU : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 with Max-Q Design, Intel(R) HD Graphics 630
Memory : 8 GB
Resolution : 2560 x 1080
DPI : 120

...

---------------- Error Video encoding using NVEnc 4.20 ----------------

Video encoding using NVEnc 4.20 failed with exit code: 1 (0x1)

The exit code might be a system error code: STATUS_WAIT_1

The exit code might be a system error code: Incorrect function.


------------------- Video encoding using NVEnc 4.20 -------------------

C:\Utilities\StaxRip\Apps\NVEnc\NVEncC64.exe --avhw cuda --vbrhq 2000 --codec h265 --preset quality --aq --vpp-deband -i "C:\Work\input.mkv" -o "C:\Work\input_temp\input_new_out.h265"

avcuvid: avcodec: failed to load dlls.
avcuvid: please make sure "avcodec-58.dll", "avformat-58.dll",
avcuvid: "avutil-56.dll", "avfilter-7.dll", "swresample-3.dll"
avcuvid: is installed in your system.
Failed to open input file.

Start: 10:45:09 PM
End: 10:45:15 PM
Duration: 00:00:05

...

The dll files are put in the same folder where NVEncC64.exe is.

This may sound like a very basic question but what extra steps do I need to take to avoid this error? I just copied the files in the released 7z file to my own specific folder and that was it. For a reference, I have no problem encoding a file using x264 or x265.


BTW, I run into the same 'missing dll files' error when I try to use qaac for audio encoding.
The Creator of NVEnc has a Habit of leaving out required dll files. Just download the Shared version of FFMPEG and replaced all the dll with those.

I don't have a Nvidia Card on this PC so I can't test if give Encoder works with a given Card.

Last edited by Revan654; 6th November 2018 at 22:02.
Revan654 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th November 2018, 18:04   #19  |  Link
JKyle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 2
NVEnc Error Fixed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Revan654 View Post
The Creator of NVEnc has a Habit of leaving out required dll files. Just download the Shared version of FFMPEG and replaced all the dll with those.

I don't have a Nvidia Card on this PC so I can't test if give Encoder works with a given Card.
I think I figured out the cause of the NVEnc error. It happens only when I choose 'NVEnc Cuda' as a decoder. 'NVEnc Native' and 'AviSynth/VapourSynth' do not cause any errors, although 'AviSynth/VapourSynth' imposes much more work load on CPU than 'NVEnc Native' does, which is quite natural considering the properties of the scripts.

BTW, I looked up the qaac issue on your GitHub site, and found your solution on the issue track. I applied it and the issue is fixed. Thank you very much.
JKyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th November 2018, 20:12   #20  |  Link
NikosD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,578
Quote:
Originally Posted by JKyle View Post
...although 'AviSynth/VapourSynth' imposes much more work load on CPU than 'NVEnc Native' does, which is quite natural considering the properties of the scripts.
Avisynth & VapourSynth means CPU decoding.
NVEnc native means HW DXVA2 decoding, which means < 5% CPU usage.
__________________
Win 10 x64 (18362.356) - Core i3-9100F - nVidia 1660 (436.15)
HEVC decoding benchmarks
H.264 DXVA Benchmarks for all
NikosD is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aac, hdr, hevc, staxrip, x265

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.