Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 19th April 2019, 20:35   #55841  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,706
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damien147 View Post
A bit confused.I have a BT.709 display and I am like this.
Is it suggested to create a gamma 2.2 BT.2020 3dlut(removing hdr to sdr 3dlut obviously) and put it in the calibration tab leaving madvr to do the tone mapping or am I doing the same thing?
that setup is fine if you don't want to use madVR tonemapping but displaycals and if your device is BT 709.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2019, 20:55   #55842  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 382
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexkral View Post
Here's a very interesting conversation about 3DLUTs in madVR.

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/139-d...l#post55172290
HAHAHA, reading it now, FLo FLo (fhoech) unleashed Fury upon incompetant user iSeries
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2019, 21:02   #55843  |  Link
Damien147
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
that setup is fine if you don't want to use madVR tonemapping but displaycals and if your device is BT 709.
The whole point is to have calibrated sdr,hdr + what's needed for hdr to be displayed on bt.709 display.To conclude shall I stay with how I am or gamma 2.2 bt.2020 in calibration tab is better for me?

Last edited by Damien147; 19th April 2019 at 21:06.
Damien147 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2019, 21:03   #55844  |  Link
toki
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
You should check madVR's OSD to see what is different when you see lower/higher GPU usage. You do have your "Power management mode" set to adaptive in the Nvidia Control Panel?

Also, "madvrcontrolpanel"? Do you mean "mad* home cinema control"? I only ever see one of those, what is bringing them up?
It was home cinema control. I'm not sure what was bringing them up. I have madVR preferred in mpc-hc. Another thing that is bothering now is the HDR and calibration. It looks cloudy to me and I really want to calibrate it, but 1: I'm not exactly sure how and 2: I'm worried that it's going to ruin the tone mapping. I would really just like madVR takeover and do it. If anyone could guide me on how to calibrate HDR, that would be great. I've been reading not to mess with brightness/contrast/backlight, but it really needs it.
toki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2019, 21:12   #55845  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,706
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damien147 View Post
The whole point is to have calibrated sdr,hdr + what's needed for hdr to be displayed on bt.709 display.To conclude shall I stay with how I am or gamma 2.2 bt.2020 in calibration tab is better for me?
it just depends if you want madVR tone mapping or not.
madVR tonemapping is nearly for sure better but cost a lot of performance.

if you are using madVR tone mapping things get more complicated.
@tp4tissue
can you stop things like this please...
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2019, 21:50   #55846  |  Link
Alexkral
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by toki View Post
It was home cinema control. I'm not sure what was bringing them up. I have madVR preferred in mpc-hc. Another thing that is bothering now is the HDR and calibration. It looks cloudy to me and I really want to calibrate it, but 1: I'm not exactly sure how and 2: I'm worried that it's going to ruin the tone mapping. I would really just like madVR takeover and do it. If anyone could guide me on how to calibrate HDR, that would be great. I've been reading not to mess with brightness/contrast/backlight, but it really needs it.
https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...28#post1865828
Alexkral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2019, 21:59   #55847  |  Link
Damien147
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
it just depends if you want madVR tone mapping or not.
madVR tonemapping is nearly for sure better but cost a lot of performance.

if you are using madVR tone mapping things get more complicated.
@tp4tissue
can you stop things like this please...
I don't have a particular preference.Are both solutions giving the same result with difference in tone mapping quality or are there more benefits with madvr tone mapping(and the gamma 2.2 bt.2020 in calibration tab)?
I am looking for what to do to achieve calibrated picture to conclude + what's needed for hdr to be displayed on a bt.709 display.
Damien147 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2019, 22:02   #55848  |  Link
toki
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexkral View Post
thnak you very much
toki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2019, 22:17   #55849  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,706
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damien147 View Post
I don't have a particular preference.Are both solutions giving the same result with difference in tone mapping quality or are there more benefits with madvr tone mapping(and the gamma 2.2 bt.2020 in calibration tab)?
I am looking for what to do to achieve calibrated picture to conclude + what's needed for hdr to be displayed on a bt.709 display.
both give you a calibrated image but the results will be different there isn't a clear spec for HDR-> SDR conversation.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2019, 22:26   #55850  |  Link
Damien147
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 273
Ok,then I am staying with how I am I guess.Thank you and all.
Damien147 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2019, 23:35   #55851  |  Link
Alexkral
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 98
Still I think there's a reasonable doubt about possible clipping when the source profile of the 3DLUT is BT.2020. This is from madshi 11-24-2017:

Quote:
Gamut:

madVR doesn't convert the gamut, unless the 3DLUT (SDR or HDR, doesn't matter) expects a different gamut than the source provides. E.g. if your 3DLUT is BT.2020 and the video is also BT.2020 then madVR doesn't do any gamut processing. However, if your 3DLUT was made for BT.709 videos, but the video is BT.2020, then madVR will convert gamut from BT.2020 to BT.709. Basically madVR makes sure that the 3DLUT receives the pixels in the format it expects.
Pixel shader math is done in ICtCp and when the result is converted to RGB, some colors may fall out of gamut. When madVR converts the gamut, it maps those colors back in gamut, but in this case it could simply clip them, or let the 3DLUT clip them, which would make them look oversaturated.

I guess it maps them back in gamut anyway, but maybe using a source DCI-P3 3DLUT is safer.
Alexkral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2019, 00:12   #55852  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,706
very easy to test but i don't see a reason to do gamut mapping twice.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2019, 00:43   #55853  |  Link
Alexkral
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 98
Well I think it's not that easy when you don't know the MaxCLL that madVR is using, clipping could be happening for whatever other reason.
Alexkral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2019, 03:15   #55854  |  Link
grendelrt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 13
So I noticed that when I have FSE enabled on Windows 10, I am getting a mismatched composition rate to display rate, 60hz instead of 24hz. Should composition rate even be showing in FSE? If I turn off FSE I get 24hz/24hz. Any inherit disadvantages to leaving FSE off? I do use MadVR for SDR and HDR tonemapping.
grendelrt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2019, 03:45   #55855  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,706
the FSE used in win 10 isn't exclusive anymore it should be there but that how FSE now works. FSE avoids bugs like sending 10 bit to the GPU driver when the GPU has to send 8 bit where it will produce banding (powered by nvidia).
there is a way to get a more "FSE" FSE on win 10 but you should be fine with WFS which can easily get a composition rate mismatch too.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexkral View Post
Well I think it's not that easy when you don't know the MaxCLL that madVR is using, clipping could be happening for whatever other reason.
HDR-SDR 3D LUT are created for this. this may matter for tone mapping which isn't used here.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2019, 03:58   #55856  |  Link
grendelrt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
the FSE used in win 10 isn't exclusive anymore it should be there but that how FSE now works. FSE avoids bugs like sending 10 bit to the GPU driver when the GPU has to send 8 bit where it will produce banding (powered by nvidia).
there is a way to get a more "FSE" FSE on win 10 but you should be fine with WFS which can easily get a composition rate mismatch too.



HDR-SDR 3D LUT are created for this. this may matter for tone mapping which isn't used here.
Thanks for the reply, sorry I may be misunderstanding this part, are you saying it can be an issue when dithering from 10bit source to 8bit output?
grendelrt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2019, 04:17   #55857  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,706
the GPU driver doesn't dither in this case it does in FSE.

it's not a good idea to send the GPU 10 bit (madVR 10 bit output) when the GPU send 8 it to the display anyway.

a 10 or 8 bit source have nothing to do with that and shouldn't affect your choice if you send 10 bit to the display or not it's way more complicated this topic but in short you are fine with 8 bit anyway.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2019, 04:20   #55858  |  Link
grendelrt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
the GPU driver doesn't dither in this case it does in FSE.

it's not a good idea to send the GPU 10 bit (madVR 10 bit output) when the GPU send 8 it to the display anyway.

a 10 or 8 bit source have nothing to do with that and shouldn't affect your choice if you send 10 bit to the display or not it's way more complicated this topic but in short you are fine with 8 bit anyway.
I am currently sending 8bit to display due to the 12bit bug with JVC projectors, whenever that gets fixed (hopefully) I might go back to 12bit output.
grendelrt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2019, 04:22   #55859  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,706
then make sure you are not outputting 10 bit with madVR ever.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2019, 04:46   #55860  |  Link
Cowboydude99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 1
What am I doing wrong here!?

Hi. What am I doing wrong here!?

if (srcWidth == 1920) "1080p"
else if (srcWidth == 720) "720p"
else if (fps > 30) and (srcWidth == 2160) "4K60"
else "4K"


It seems that if the screen size is 2160, it always plays the "4K" profile. If I remove the 2160 on line 3, then it works normally...
Cowboydude99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.