Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > High Efficiency Video Coding (HEVC)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 29th March 2015, 03:52   #2001  |  Link
Ajvar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeteorRain View Post
The file storage is quite confusing as I'm seeing Japanese and Russian mixing on a single web page.

But anyway I'll try with your settings and see what I can do.

= EDIT =

Switched to English and still have no idea how to get the files. Would you mind using some other storages?

And I tried with your settings. They just produced same files, binary identical on the video data part.
My bad. Updated with direct links now, sorry.
Settings is nothing. It's about different encoder version.

Last edited by Ajvar; 29th March 2015 at 03:56.
Ajvar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2015, 03:57   #2002  |  Link
MeteorRain
結城有紀
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NJ; OR; Shanghai
Posts: 524
Quote:
Originally Posted by ex.ua
"Express file" - server of information exchange.

To receive access to information by key you can use the form below.
Nope I can't download these files. Would you mind using mega or mediafile or some others?
MeteorRain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2015, 04:25   #2003  |  Link
MeteorRain
結城有紀
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NJ; OR; Shanghai
Posts: 524
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ajvar View Post
Will use MEGA now.
And, I tried different version, at least 439 445 448 and they produced exact the same result file (apart from the header, since they change every time)

Would you please also share your CPU info?
MeteorRain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2015, 04:31   #2004  |  Link
Ajvar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeteorRain View Post
Nope I can't download these files. Would you mind using mega or mediafile or some others?
Will use MEGA now.
https://mega.co.nz/#!kMh0ERrI!OUi1gf...0TLSGg8MZM8q3k
2 pass 8000kbps.
All files encoded by 444 and up don't play on LAV 0.64 with enabled CUDA decoding

Last edited by Ajvar; 29th March 2015 at 04:34.
Ajvar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2015, 05:34   #2005  |  Link
MeteorRain
結城有紀
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NJ; OR; Shanghai
Posts: 524
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ajvar View Post
All files encoded by 444 and up don't play on LAV 0.64 with enabled CUDA decoding
Reproduced.

Would you please tell us how you produce the "MKV" file? From RAW output to MKV?

And could you please try to encode to MKV directly using my build (-full)? And also try to encode to MP4 directly using my build (-full) then remux into MKV?

As far as I can tell, it's due to the "MKV" part.

Last edited by MeteorRain; 29th March 2015 at 05:40.
MeteorRain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2015, 10:43   #2006  |  Link
Ma
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeteorRain View Post
I also put my mod in my signature for those who want. Compiled with lavf and l-smash.
I decided to test new builds on 1080p file with my current settings.
Test file http://media.xiph.org/video/derf/y4m...oy_1080p50.y4m

But there is a problem with yours build -- the result line your build outputs to stderr instead of normal stdout and I have no 2nd time of your build. You can see my test-park-1080p.bat (attached in 7z). Why are you changed this?
Attached Files
File Type: 7z test-park-1080p.7z (693 Bytes, 10 views)
File Type: txt park_joy_1080p50-results.txt (6.7 KB, 23 views)
Ma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2015, 14:47   #2007  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,017
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ma View Post
But there is a problem with yours build -- the result line your build outputs to stderr instead of normal stdout
It's a common practice to write all textual output to the stderr stream, so that the stdout stream remains "clean" for piping the actual output data to the next process in the chain.

Imagine you would be running x265 to write the encoded H.265 bitstream to stdout, because you want to process the H.265 stream in another process, but then some status messages get "mixed" into the resulting stream... Bad idea
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.



Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 29th March 2015 at 15:49.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2015, 15:00   #2008  |  Link
Ajvar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeteorRain View Post
Reproduced.

Would you please tell us how you produce the "MKV" file? From RAW output to MKV?

And could you please try to encode to MKV directly using my build (-full)? And also try to encode to MP4 directly using my build (-full) then remux into MKV?

As far as I can tell, it's due to the "MKV" part.
Yes, I also noticed yesterday that RAW hevc plays fine. Also Win10 plays it fine too. But my main OS is Windows 7.
I used multiple mkv toolnix versions and result is the same.
EDIT: OK, i managed to mux in MP4 and it plays but... I will tet and describe everything in couple minutes.

Last edited by Ajvar; 29th March 2015 at 17:02.
Ajvar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2015, 16:54   #2009  |  Link
Ma
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoRd_MuldeR View Post
It's a common practice to write all textual output to the stderr stream, so that the stdout stream remains "clean" for piping the actual output data to the next process in the chain.
Thanks for the info. I will rewrite my *.bat file (maybe original x265 will be print all text to stderr).
Ma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2015, 17:01   #2010  |  Link
Ma
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ajvar View Post
Can't mux in mp4, I am GUI guy and YAMB doesn't let me mux it for some reason.
I downloaded your mkv-file and remuxed to mp4
http://msystem.waw.pl/x265/445-bug.mp4

I don't have nVidia graphics card, so in my system all your files work.
Ma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2015, 17:22   #2011  |  Link
Ajvar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ma View Post
I don't have nVidia graphics card, so in my system all your files work.
Yes, Did you notice that Mediainfo says that Heigh of mkv video is 1920x1088 instead of 1920x1080?
I also managed to mux to mp4 and then remux to mkv again and it now works... but I believe that is because after muxing to mp4 Heigh is fixed to 1080.
Now I have to understand why that happened and whose fault: mine, muxer or encoder.
EDIT: Also please check if RAW x265 file was chaged after muxing to mp4 (check checksumms).

Last edited by Ajvar; 29th March 2015 at 17:33.
Ajvar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2015, 17:34   #2012  |  Link
Ma
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ajvar View Post
Yes, Did you notice that Mediainfo says that Heigh of mkv video is 1920x1088 instead of 1920x1080?
I also managed to mux to mp4 and then remux to mkv again and it now works... but I believe that is because after muxing to mp4 Heigh is fixed to 1080.
Now I have to understand why that happened and whose fault: mine, muxer or encoder.
In my tests your original mkv file works, then I demuxed video and audio and muxed to mp4 -- it works too (1920x1088). But if I mux directly demuxed video & audio to new mkv file, it is only sound (not works). If I "add" to mmg.exe muxed mp4 file and save as new mkv file, everything is OK. Strange...
Ma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2015, 18:02   #2013  |  Link
Ajvar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ma View Post
In my tests your original mkv file works, then I demuxed video and audio and muxed to mp4 -- it works too (1920x1088). But if I mux directly demuxed video & audio to new mkv file, it is only sound (not works). If I "add" to mmg.exe muxed mp4 file and save as new mkv file, everything is OK. Strange...
So such behavior may say that there is something with encoded file meaning the way it was encoded.
May I ask you to download original file which is 1920x1080 and encode with the same settings I encode and tell me if such behavior persists (1920x1088 and mux troubles)? Something tells me that it might be due to --min-cu-size 16 because 16x68=1088 but perhaps that is just a shot in the dark.
Code:
--pmode --input - --input-res 1920x1080 --fps 30 --no-high-tier --min-cu-size 16 --no-open-gop --crf 22.7 --no-rdoq-level --no-psy-rdoq --vbv-maxrate 8000 --vbv-bufsize 8000 --deblock=-1:-1 --colormatrix bt470bg

Last edited by Ajvar; 29th March 2015 at 18:18.
Ajvar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2015, 18:49   #2014  |  Link
Ma
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ajvar View Post
May I ask you to download original file which is 1920x1080 and encode with the same settings I encode and tell me if such behavior persists (1920x1088 and mux troubles)?
I downloaded and encoded via MeGUI. Result http://msystem.waw.pl/x265/t.7z

MediaInfo shows 'Height' 1088 and 'Original height' 1080.
Ma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2015, 18:58   #2015  |  Link
Ajvar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ma View Post
I downloaded and encoded via MeGUI. Result http://msystem.waw.pl/x265/t.7z

MediaInfo shows 'Height' 1088 and 'Original height' 1080.
Yep, thank you very much. Problem found: if you set --min-cu-size 16 then frame size will be scewed (1088 instead of 1080) and that will bring a crash on LAV 0.64 if file encoded by x265 1.5+444 and up.

WOW! That was very tricky to find. Not sure if it is a bug or just evolution of x265 encoder/LAV decoder.
Ajvar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2015, 19:26   #2016  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,383
I think it's a bug in mkvmerge. I will make a report.

/edit:
reported: https://github.com/mbunkus/mkvtoolnix/issues/1152

/edit2:
Mosu has fixed the issue for mkvtoolnix 7.9.0. You can test the pre-version:
https://www.bunkus.org/videotools/mkvtoolnix/win32/pre/ (687 or newer)

Last edited by sneaker_ger; 29th March 2015 at 21:13.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2015, 22:13   #2017  |  Link
Ajvar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by sneaker_ger View Post
I think it's a bug in mkvmerge. I will make a report.

/edit:
reported: https://github.com/mbunkus/mkvtoolnix/issues/1152

/edit2:
Mosu has fixed the issue for mkvtoolnix 7.9.0. You can test the pre-version:
https://www.bunkus.org/videotools/mkvtoolnix/win32/pre/ (687 or newer)
Yes, thank you, I would never report this bug in such way with documentation and formulas.
It really fixed MediaInfo information about Height, but funny or not, it still crashes my player the same way if I mux in mkv, but plays fine if I mux in mp4

Even more! As I see those crashes have nothing with min-cu-size 16 because I just tested it with both settings! It is another bug in MkvToolnix because if I remux streams from affected video file or encode directly to MP4 and then remux to MKVToolnix (direct drop MP4 into the window) then and only then it works!

This is just hilarious. I spent all day, found 2 bugs in 2 different software (forced --min-cu-size 16 instead of 8 in Hybrid and crop in mkv toolnix) but STILL suffer from crashes by unidentified bug!
Samples here: working MP4 with LAV 0.64-CUDA and 2 non-workiing MKV with min blocks 8 and 16.

Long story short: encodes by x265 >=1.5+444 muxed in MKV will crash trying to play with LAV 0.64 and CUDA decoding.
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeteorRain View Post
And could you please try to encode to MKV directly using my build (-full)?
As far as I can tell, it's due to the "MKV" part.
Could you please give me command line for that so I would just edited source?

Last edited by Ajvar; 29th March 2015 at 22:20.
Ajvar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2015, 22:29   #2018  |  Link
Ma
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ajvar View Post
Long story short: encodes by x265 >=1.5+444 muxed in MKV will crash trying to play with LAV 0.64 and CUDA decoding.
It could be quite simple bug in mkvmerge -- you can try add "--no-info" option to x265 parameters and maybe there will be no crash (I guess).
Ma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2015, 23:41   #2019  |  Link
Ajvar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ma View Post
It could be quite simple bug in mkvmerge -- you can try add "--no-info" option to x265 parameters and maybe there will be no crash (I guess).
I found it. It's about setting vbv-max rate.
This line works fine:
Code:
x265 --preset slower --pools 8 --pmode --pme --input - --input-res 1920x1080 --fps 30 --no-high-tier --merange 58 --no-open-gop --keyint 300 --bframes 7 --crf 22.7 --qpfile GENERATED_QP_FILE --psy-rd 0.5 --psy-rdoq 1 --deblock=-1:-1 --output "T:\Temp\output.265"
This crashes.
Code:
x265 --preset slower --pools 8 --pmode --pme --input - --input-res 1920x1080 --fps 30 --no-high-tier --merange 58 --no-open-gop --keyint 300 --bframes 7 --crf 22.7 --qpfile GENERATED_QP_FILE --psy-rd 0.5 --psy-rdoq 1 --vbv-maxrate 8000 --vbv-bufsize 8000 --deblock=-1:-1 --output "T:\Temp\output.265"
And all became after 444+ encoder.
Now WHY is that? - That's the question. 439 is OK, 444 is NOT so it's narrow window.
HOW is that connected with LAV 0.64 with CUDA decoding - that's too. But this may be not the only symptom.
WHY only MKV but MP4 plays fine? - another mystery.
But I finally found this bug and... feel stupid that spent so much time on it But if it will be fixed, I will feel somewhat better
Here are samples, check yourself.

Last edited by Ajvar; 29th March 2015 at 23:49.
Ajvar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2015, 23:55   #2020  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,383
I think Ma was hinting at the size of the custom SEI x265 writes. With more parameters (esp. long ones like --vbv) it becomes longer and maybe it triggers a crash in LAV/CUVID because of that. Try to recreate your latest crash sample but with "--no-info". Either way, it's unclear where the bug is. Since it crashed in the Nvidia software I think they are to blame.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.