Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 16th November 2018, 13:51   #53721  |  Link
SirSwede
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 51
This might be a bit of a silly question to the more experienced of you users, but it makes me nervous - so here goes it:

Using Windows 7 Home Premium, is it possible to make any changes in Windows (excluding madVR's own settings, MPC-HC's settings, LAV Filter's settings, graphics card settings and changing the Windows Theme), that will affect how madVR displays the picture and how the picture looks on the TV, using madVR?

SirSwede is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2018, 18:47   #53722  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,051
aero and color management should do that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by austinminton View Post
I am using FSE after a long time and I noticed that it shows "composition rate" at 60hz even though I have a 24p video playing at 24hz refresh rate. Should composition rate really matter in FSE? Is there some setting I am missing somewhere please?
FSE should ignore the desktop composition but this is a hard topic because there is no FSE on win10 so hard to say there.

overlay rendering is ignoring the composition rate and i'm unsure of windowed d3d11 10 bit which is a special mode on it's own.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2018, 19:31   #53723  |  Link
SirSwede
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
aero and color management should do that.
Yeah, but nothing else?
SirSwede is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2018, 20:03   #53724  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,051
the GPU driver but that is not microsoft.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2018, 21:01   #53725  |  Link
SirSwede
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
the GPU driver but that is not microsoft.
Yeah, I never touch that. This PC is completely dedicated to madVR and I never make any changes (at least not on purpose) - all I do is open the Windows Explorer, transfer the file, close the Explorer, mark the file, click Enter, play the file, program ends, move the file to the Recycling Bin and emptying it.
SirSwede is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 01:53   #53726  |  Link
JNW
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 16
Do you guys overclock your GPUís? I have a VAIO with an old AMD Radeon 5470 that I use to watch stuff on in bed. I wanted to use super-xbr for chroma and upscale using Jinc but was falling short a few ms on some videos so I would have to fallback chroma to Jinc also. So I decided to do a slight overclock to squeeze that little bit more performance. Iím in happy dayís now lol but donít usually overclock. Temps are the same though and all looks good. Guess Iím paranoid of damaging something lol. Itís old but a lovely laptop. People mention there cards and settings but never mention if theyíve done anything to there cards or not so I guess I was just curious.
JNW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 04:34   #53727  |  Link
QBhd
QB the Slayer
 
QBhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 420
All I do is push the "power control" to +20% on my factory OC'd R9 270X... without this I would have to dial NGU back a notch... the card starts to throttle to quickly without the power control pushed to +20%

QB
__________________
QBhd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 05:45   #53728  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,259
I overclock a lot, on a 2080 Ti now, but ideally I de-volt for madVR. I don't need the full power for my ideal settings so running lower volts/clocks saves power/heat. I have never had issues damaging a video card by overclocking but madVR is one of the most intensive things you can run, if running close to 100% GPU usage, so make sure cooling is sufficient.

100% usage can use very different amounts of power with different loads, madVR is not Furmark but it takes more power than most games.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 06:07   #53729  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,912
Kinda silly not to overclock the memory at the least. If you don't need the extra performance to unlock a particular option then just leave things as they are unless you're gaming also.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 09:38   #53730  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,259
True, madVR really likes a memory overclock too.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 12:58   #53731  |  Link
Siso
Registered User
 
Siso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 354
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
True, madVR really likes a memory overclock too.
Why is that?
Siso is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.